View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

14/04/2008, 8:09 AM
The guys judging the man of the match for the premier league fantasy football really do love Reid. Chosen as 2nd best player yet again. 5th game in a row in the top 2 players. Dunne was chosen as motm. I watched the first half and Reid wasn't as involved as usual.

lionelhutz
14/04/2008, 10:39 AM
I saw the full match and although it wasn't his best performance recently, he certainly made a positive impact. He constantly looked for the ball and nearly always found his man with a forward pass. He's so comfortable on the ball and when he found himself under pressure he easily got himself out of trouble and made space. Once there were 3 men surrounding him and with 2 touches he had found a gap and went through it.

He also protected the back four and made some good tackles and kept tracking runners. Also, he picked out Whitehead with a beautiful cross for their goal. There's no doubt he controls the game for Sunderland with his football intelligence. Just as a comparison, Ireland for City was anonymous and didn't contribute to the game in any way. None of the City midfielders contributed as much as Reid

14/04/2008, 10:42 AM
It's also worth noting that Reid was well marked by Man City because I wondered whether he could cope with playing under constant pressure.

amaccann
14/04/2008, 10:58 AM
Players like him are always going to get special attention from opposing teams, I can't see why he wouldn't be well used to it by now!

Wolfie
14/04/2008, 12:24 PM
He played well there for a few seasons and then Spurs brought him in to fill that roll.

Did this role involve Breakfast Rolls?

cartman
14/04/2008, 12:30 PM
Did this role involve Breakfast Rolls?

hahaha
hahaha
hahaha
hahaha
hahaha

my sides are splitting

Wolfie
14/04/2008, 12:37 PM
hahaha
hahaha
hahaha
hahaha
hahaha

my sides are splitting

You'll identify with Andy so.

as_i_say
14/04/2008, 12:59 PM
there should be a separate steven ireland hair and andy reid blubber jokes forum at this stage.

Wolfie
14/04/2008, 1:10 PM
He's a great footballer and we need him...end of.

Fair enough. No more fat jibes. Cheap shots aside, I DO subscribe to the view above.

Dr. Ogba
14/04/2008, 1:51 PM
there should be a separate steven ireland hair and andy reid blubber jokes forum at this stage.

its already there, its called rubbish...

amaccann
14/04/2008, 9:54 PM
Wouldn't mind, but I'd hazzard a guess Reid is many times fitter than half the people that frequent these forums, so in fairness, the less said by people the better ;)

Qwerty
15/04/2008, 3:37 AM
Wouldn't mind, but I'd hazzard a guess Reid is many times fitter than half the people that frequent these forums, so in fairness, the less said by people the better ;)

It's a bit like John O'Shea ( GOAL not JOSH ) sniping at Stapleton constantly about his lack of speed and challeging Frank to a 100M sprint. Speed was not a part of Frank's game and didn't slow him down ha ha. I think Reidy has a physique like Maradonna had, sorta. with a bit of work like. :o but it doesn't impact his game right now at least, he'll need to shed some wight though in the coming years.

15/04/2008, 1:04 PM
Players like him are always going to get special attention from opposing teams, I can't see why he wouldn't be well used to it by now!
For us, against Germany he wasn't put under any pressure.
In our next 2 games he was much less effective as he was given more attention.
I think it would take a very careless coach not to see the difference between his influence in those games.
Trap will have to earn his reputation with us, he has real job now.

17/04/2008, 5:17 PM
Haven't been watching much footy lately but every UK paper I read harps on about Andy Reid's talent week in week out, usually in the vein of "Reid doesn't look like an athlete but he's one hell of a player". Given that these guys don't look at him with the green tinted specs that most of us do, that's fine praise. With his physique any chance of slating him would be taken I reckon.

20/04/2008, 2:54 PM
Reid did very well today playing off the front men. I'd say his pass rate success was very good and was probably the best player creatively on the pitch.

Duff came on for a run and did ok.

20/04/2008, 3:02 PM
Reid did very well today playing off the front men. I'd say his pass rate success was very good and was probably the best player creatively on the pitch.

Duff came on for a run and did ok.

I echo Owl's comments.

Liam Miller and McShane on the other hand were a shambles. I'd be very surprised if Keane keeps them on next season.

Irish_Praha
20/04/2008, 3:34 PM
I echo Owl's comments.

Liam Miller and McShane on the other hand were a shambles. I'd be very surprised if Keane keeps them on next season.

Well Miller is already transfer-listed. Depending on if they stay up and who they can attract to the club in the Summer, I'd reckon he'd prefer to send McShane out on loan to the Championship. Hopefully to a club where he would have an experienced partner to learn from.

Ordinary Fan
22/04/2008, 2:20 PM
Reid class with the ball and not afraid to get stuck in.

Duff gave reid a bit of a kicking when he came, must reckon that his place is under threat.

FarBeag
22/04/2008, 4:40 PM
Reid class with the ball and not afraid to get stuck in.

Duff gave reid a bit of a kicking when he came, must reckon that his place is under threat.

Yeah, I saw that which surprised me as i thought they were mates.

Razors left peg
22/04/2008, 5:21 PM
Yeah, I saw that which surprised me as i thought they were mates.
Ya cant read anything into that.Ive played sunday league against mates and if anything we always went in harder against eachother.Theres no mates on the other team for the 90 minutes

irishfan86
22/04/2008, 5:56 PM
To be honest it was one of Reid's more ineffective games in a Sunderland shirt.

He doesn't have the mobility to be playing behind the front man, and I think he's been far more effective when allowed to sit and hold the midfield as a playmaker.

On the plus side, I was pleasantly surprised by Duff's play when he came on as a substitute. He looked faster than his first few games back, he must be doing some sprint training and regaining that pace.

He'll need to maintain that pace recovery if he's to touch his former level of play.

23/04/2008, 8:07 AM
It's just not natural for Reid to play behind the striker any more. He looked much more comfortable when Richardson came on, taking the ball from defence and distributing it.

Reid chased Duff back too and Duff went down easy to win the freekick. As someone else said, if you're playing a match and you know 1 player off the opposition you'll tend to feel more of a duty to chase him. :)

23/04/2008, 9:08 AM
ya exactly EB, just look at gaelic training and you'll always go in harder on those ye know, instead of those ye dont know!

Pike B
23/04/2008, 9:13 AM
Is the weight he is carrying genetic??
I think he has a superb left peg, but the weight.
Surely there is a diet or training regime that could make him look like a footballer.
I just can't see why any pro these days can be the shape he is.
It's holding him back in my opinion.
But he has great potential..

23/04/2008, 9:14 AM
It's holding him back in my opinion.
I actually think it's helping him. I'd love Nakamura to have his physique so he could play central midfield. Reid is rarely pushed off the ball.

lionelhutz
23/04/2008, 9:33 AM
He's got great upper body strength which, as EB says, helps him hold off opponents. I think his defensive play is under rated too. He provides excellent cover just in front of the back four - he never allows space between the defence and midfield

FarBeag
23/04/2008, 10:02 AM
Reid is the best player we have along with Dunne and Given. He may have an extra few pounds but he never stops running and his determination and attitude is second to none. He is an extremely intelligent ball player. IF he could stay fit he would be good enough for any of the top four imo.

Pike B
23/04/2008, 10:29 AM
Reid is the best player we have along with Dunne and Given. He may have an extra few pounds but he never stops running and his determination and attitude is second to none. He is an extremely intelligent ball player. IF he could stay fit he would be good enough for any of the top four imo.
But why can't he shed the weight?? If Jan Molby had the dieticians and nutritionist's in his day, he'd have been even more incredible. But he didn't, that's his excuse. What's Reid's?? I am not trying to argue his quality, because he has it in spades, but it has to be addressed if he's ever to be taken serious.

irishfan86
23/04/2008, 10:24 PM
To be honest after watching him play quite a bit since his move to Sunderland, I think it's just the frame of his body.

There's no way a fat, unfit man is going to run around constantly for 90 minutes and still be able to do what he does.

It's not as if he's falling apart in the final 30 minutes of a game, in fact he scored a beautiful 90 minute volley a couple of weeks ago.

I've got a friend who looks nothing like a soccer player with a similar frame. He can run forever but he looks like a ****ing balloon.

Reid is stocky and has a big rib cage. Contrary to popular belief, fitness trainers can't fix that.

But oh well, it's good for a laugh isn't it? Let's criticize one of our most talented players for a weight problem he doesn't have, and after every game, let's say, "a big performance by a big man."

HAHAH, get it? Isn't that funny?

What a joke.

ken foree
24/04/2008, 8:53 AM
But oh well, it's good for a laugh isn't it? Let's criticize one of our most talented players for a weight problem he doesn't have, and after every game, let's say, "a big performance by a big man."

What a joke.

ha, well said. i agree the laffs are past their sell-by date.

Pike B
24/04/2008, 9:32 AM
I am not laughing. I hope your right, but doubt it.

youngirish
24/04/2008, 9:59 AM
To be honest after watching him play quite a bit since his move to Sunderland, I think it's just the frame of his body.

There's no way a fat, unfit man is going to run around constantly for 90 minutes and still be able to do what he does.

It's not as if he's falling apart in the final 30 minutes of a game, in fact he scored a beautiful 90 minute volley a couple of weeks ago.

I've got a friend who looks nothing like a soccer player with a similar frame. He can run forever but he looks like a ****ing balloon.

Reid is stocky and has a big rib cage. Contrary to popular belief, fitness trainers can't fix that.

What a joke.

I agree. He's small, compact and stocky not fat, there's a difference. It would be unnatural imo for him to lose weight and the effort involved (dieting, more pure fitness training) would probably do him more harm than good on the football pitch due to the negative effect it would have on his upper body strength.

He'd end up like his teammate David Connolly. A slight breeze would knock him off the ball.

Pike B
24/04/2008, 10:43 AM
I agree. He's small, compact and stocky not fat, there's a difference. It would be unnatural imo for him to lose weight and the effort involved (dieting, more pure fitness training) would probably do him more harm than good on the football pitch due to the negative effect it would have on his upper body strength.

He'd end up like his teammate David Connolly. A slight breeze would knock him off the ball.
Is there no in between?? Surely with proper training he could be like Messi or Tevez. Small athletic, but tough as nails and hard to knock off the ball.

dr_peepee
24/04/2008, 11:39 AM

I dunno.. I used to think that, but check out around his face as well. He has the chin bag and jowels...Plus he never takes his top off at the end of a game.... ever

Guidedbyvoices
24/04/2008, 12:04 PM
I dunno.. I used to think that, but check out around his face as well. He has the chin bag and jowels...Plus he never takes his top off at the end of a game.... ever

Would you like if he did take his top off? Do you usualy look out for that sort of thing at the end of a match?:D

24/04/2008, 12:11 PM
I dunno.. I used to think that, but check out around his face as well. He has the chin bag and jowels...Plus he never takes his top off at the end of a game.... everI saw photos of him swapping shirts after the 3-0 home win vs Cyprus, revealing very baggy and wobbly biceps!

He'll never be a waif but I'd love to see what Spurs' new ftness coach would make of him. Fat arse Robinson has shed loads of weight, Huddlestone & Robbie Keane too. I agree with Dr. PP, you can tell by looking at his face that there's weight to be lost. The average top flight footballer has minimal body fat these days, not unlike middle distance athletes, but with more strength. He's a class act despite this though and I'm sure his fitness is fine but I think with work could get better.

I've posted this before, but a few years ago Munster and Man United were sharing the Celtic Manor hotel in preparation for a match at the Millennium Stadium. Ronan O'Gara, a very fit bloke himself I'm sure, said he couldn't believe how slight the United players were. I stood next to Gilberto Silva of Arsenal a while back and he hadn't a pick on him, yet these guys have such impressive core strength that they're tough as nails (unless you're a cheating girls blouse like Didier Drogba).

24/04/2008, 12:41 PM
Reid before injury last year:
http://www.goal.ie/fundraising/images/John%20O'%20Shea%20&%20Andy%20Reid%20-%20use.JPG

Reid with a bit of extra weight:
http://img.skysports.com/07/11/218x298/Andy_Reid_596512.jpg

Wolfie
24/04/2008, 1:00 PM
Its all about Reid remaining injury free.

With Traps "Band Camp" only a matter of weeks away in Portugal - a few weeks break - and then into Sunderland's pre-season training - he should be in decent shape for September.

Pike B
24/04/2008, 1:02 PM
Its all about Reid remaining injury free.

With Traps "Band Camp" only a matter of weeks away in Portugal - a few weeks break - and then into Sunderland's pre-season training - he should be in decent shape for September.
Ya like Bob Hoskins maybe:D

24/04/2008, 1:14 PM
Nothing to do with Reid but I literally cannot wait for this training camp and matches to begin. I haven't been this excited about our team since 2002.

Wolfie
24/04/2008, 1:20 PM
Nothing to do with Reid but I literally cannot wait for this training camp and matches to begin. I haven't been this excited about our team since 2002.

Indeed. Interesting times ahead.

danonion
24/04/2008, 6:22 PM
Reid before injury last year:
http://www.goal.ie/fundraising/images/John%20O'%20Shea%20&%20Andy%20Reid%20-%20use.JPG

Reid with a bit of extra weight:
http://img.skysports.com/07/11/218x298/Andy_Reid_596512.jpg

Reid must be standing on a box O'Shea is almost 6'4

24/04/2008, 8:26 PM
Reid must be standing on a box O'Shea is almost 6'4
That's why Reid looks so thin, his photo has been stretched.

25/04/2008, 6:32 AM
I think he is standing on a step

amaccann
25/04/2008, 8:15 AM
Maybe O'Shea's on his knees instead. Ooh err missus.

Scram
26/04/2008, 12:22 PM

Sorry, but I watched the Newcastle v Sunderalnd game and I can confirm that Andy is FAT at the moment!! I would guess he needs to loose 10 to 15 pounds to be near his best.

Wolfie
16/05/2008, 12:52 PM
Reid out of Republic squad through injury - RTE Sport

The Republic of Ireland squad trained without the injured Andy Reid in Malahide this morning prior to their departure for a week long training camp in Portugal.

Manager Giovanni Trappatoni has revealed that midfielder Reid will not be travelling with the squad due to his injury.

Goalkeeper Colin Doyle is also a doubt with a knee problem and will be assessed by doctors before being declared fit to travel.

The squad depart for Portugal later this afternoon and Trappatoni is happy with what he has seen thus far.

'I met the squad and we had a good training session in Malahide,' he said yesterday.

'The players have had a little bit of time off and it was good to get them going again.

'I am very pleased with the application of the players and I explained to them that this period of time together will give me an opportunity to get to know the players and it will give them a chance to familiarise themselves with my methods.

'From this point of view it went very well.'

zenokelly
16/05/2008, 3:53 PM
Not blaming Reid at all, as far as I know he at least turned up. But I just feel with the whole lot of withdfrawals and players in the wilderness (SI), this trip and brace of matches are nearly turning into as much of a farce as the US this time last year.

Bungle
16/05/2008, 4:58 PM
really poor show from some of the players. still, it will give the likes of garvan, whelan, foley and scannell a genuine chance to impress.

08/11/2008, 2:10 PM
Andy Reid sets up Cisse with a 60 yard pass up forward. :)