View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)
EastTerracer
18/07/2009, 7:03 PM
Is there a pic of him? I've heard he lost weight before and he still looked big. He's really top heavy.
I found a photo from the game but its not a great angle and hard to judge. It can only do him good to lose the weight and hopefully it helps his game this season. I wouldn't rule out a recall from Trapp if he can start off well.
http://www.sportbox.tv/images/actionimages/football/2009/07/16/1247775051_spt_ai_darlingtonvsunderland_04.jpg
18/07/2009, 7:42 PM
Another pic:
http://www.safc.com/home/17895/in-pictures-safc-in-training.html?1=1&cp=12
We'll see when the season starts anyway. The most anticipated season I can remember for me in a few leagues.
18/07/2009, 8:42 PM
Another pic:
http://www.safc.com/home/17895/in-pictures-safc-in-training.html?1=1&cp=12
We'll see when the season starts anyway. The most anticipated season I can remember for me in a few leagues.
He does definitely look in better shape there. For those who think he doesn't have weight issues -I saw him interviewed on TG4 a while back about his love of crap singer/songwriters (in fairness I think the interview may have been done a year ago or more) and if hadn't known him beforehand I'd have found it hard to believe the person being interviewed had gainfull employment as a professional sportsperson. He was out of shape. He had beer diddys, a gut and more chins than a christian brother. It was shocking.
Fair play to him for doing the work but it's long overdue.
TerryPhelan
25/07/2009, 7:53 PM
http://www.safc.com/page/PhotoGallery/0,,10281~1727389,00.html?imageNo=4#picture
http://www.safc.com/page/PhotoGallery?imageNo=8#picture
Really hope he is as trim as people say he is. Would love to see him back in the Irish squad.
zenokelly
25/07/2009, 10:31 PM
http://www.safc.com/page/PhotoGallery/0,,10281~1727389,00.html?imageNo=4#picture
Really hope he is as trim as people say he is. Would love to see him back in the Irish squad.
Jesus the second picture could be deceptive but he looks a different man. :ball:Andy
25/07/2009, 11:58 PM
Looks like someone has been at them with Photoshop ;):p
26/07/2009, 12:31 PM
Sunderland signed midfielder Cana off Marseille so doesn't look like Reid will be playing in a central position much this season.
26/07/2009, 1:43 PM
RTE were showing the 0-0 draw away to France under Brian Kerr today in the Sports Files.
Reid played in the second striker role when he came on for Morrison, and linked up really well with Duff on the left side. France certainly were not able to deal with them.
For short periods against Bulgaria at home, Duff and McGeady were playing on the same side of the pitch, and it was the same situation, the opposition didn't know who to mark, who to track, or who to tackle. Could be an effective tactic, used in short bursts in games.
27/07/2009, 9:19 AM
Reid doesn't expect to be in the squad for the friendly, despite losing a stone over the summer: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/slimline-reid-downbeat-on-callup-hopes-1842038.html
Den Perry
27/07/2009, 9:30 AM
Reid doesn't expect to be in the squad for the friendly, despite losing a stone over the summer: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/slimline-reid-downbeat-on-callup-hopes-1842038.html
Fair play to him, he looks trim. Got to say he's been very dignified about his absence from the squad. Pity Stephen Hunt couldn't learn from him and keep his mouth shut a bit more
Scram
27/07/2009, 12:46 PM
A bit off topic but I watched the 0-0 France v Ireland game yesterday shown on RTE. Great game and reminder of the great atmosphere in Le Stade
Morrison went off (I was glad at the time) ending up by default with a 4-5-1 , Andy on the centre left with Duff outside. The number of chances we created and the football we played was excellent. Even without Roy Keane, we have the players that should be able to produce this type of display again.
I've always said that Robbie upfront as the lone striker is not a great option but in the France game he did well. I'd still always play Doyle in this role before Robbie but just saying how he did perform well on that night.
I'd love to see this 4-1-3-1-1 in action. Even with S. Reid as a holding midfielder it is much more attack minded than current starting elevens
....................Given...............
Finnan....Dunne...St. Ledger...........O'Shea
...................S. Reid........................
S.Ireland......A.Reid.............Duff
....................Keane.......................
....................Doyle........................
23/08/2009, 12:29 PM
"My parents were in Lansdowne Road the night I made my debut against Canada. My granddad was there as well -- he's died since then -- and when the National Anthem was played and they saw me on the pitch, the three of them were crying. That's how much it meant to them to see me playing for my country.
"I want Ireland to win and I'm happy for them when they do, it's not just them, it's us, it's Ireland. And if I'm not at the World Cup next summer, I want to be watching them on the telly.
"I'm always ready to play for Ireland. I will go and play in a 'B' international if that's what I need to do. It's a privilege to play for your country and I don't think people realise how much of a privilege it is. Maybe it took me being out of the squad to realise even more, maybe I took it for granted before. It's made me realise how much of an honour and how much of a privilege it is to play for Ireland. With all the history that surrounds the country and how proud everybody is to be Irish, it's a massive, massive honour -- and it's probably even more of a privilege than an honour."
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/bringing-it-all-back-home-1867349.html
Razors left peg
23/08/2009, 1:43 PM
Thats the kind of attitude you want from players that are being left out,all he can do it work his socks off for the season and if he is playing well enough to hope to get a run out in a friendly if there are a couple of injuries. I still standby my belief that he should be one of the first players named in the squad ever time
dr_peepee
23/08/2009, 8:40 PM
I'd say his Gallstones twinge every time he sees Miller named in the squad!!
23/08/2009, 9:36 PM
Really hope he is as trim as people say he is. Would love to see him back in the Irish squad.The first picture there puts paid to any notion that Reid is "big boned" and not just simply overweight - by professional athlete standards, not by regular punter standards.
Still, I think his exclusion from the squad is all down to his attitude at not starting than to his fitness or condition. Trapp is no fool - he can see the guy is talented but he can also see that having a squad all thinking positively without any sulkers or nay-sayers is worth leaving out a good player or two.
Razors left peg
23/08/2009, 10:10 PM
The first picture there puts paid to any notion that Reid is "big boned" and not just simply overweight - by professional athlete standards, not by regular punter standards.
Still, I think his exclusion from the squad is all down to his attitude at not starting than to his fitness or condition. Trapp is no fool - he can see the guy is talented but he can also see that having a squad all thinking positively without any sulkers or nay-sayers is worth leaving out a good player or two.
I think its a bit harsh to completely shut out Reid though even if that was the case. The lad has said that he would swim to Ireland to play for us and he has said that being away has made him almost apreciate it more... I think a lad with that kind of attitude deserves a 2nd chance, if he causes hassle again then fair enough he would have to be left out
23/08/2009, 10:13 PM
In agree with that. I think he should be in every squad. I'm just pointing out that the "he's not a Trapp type player" remark is a spurious argument in my opinion. Reid over Miller every day for me.
Colbert Report
24/08/2009, 5:23 AM
Just seven minutes of action for Andy Reid in Sunderland's first three league matches this season. Didn't get on the pitch yesterday in their 2-1 win over Birmingham. He needs to move to a lower team where he can get his game and prove his fitness to Trapattoni. If he's serious about playing for Ireland, he needs to be playing regularly for a club - any club - in the Premiership or Championship. Simple as that.
24/08/2009, 10:01 AM
love reading stuff like this:
"I'm always ready to play for Ireland. I will go and play in a 'B' international if that's what I need to do. It's a privilege to play for your country and I don't think people realise how much of a privilege it is. Maybe it took me being out of the squad to realise even more, maybe I took it for granted before. It's made me realise how much of an honour and how much of a privilege it is to play for Ireland. With all the history that surrounds the country and how proud everybody is to be Irish, it's a massive, massive honour -- and it's probably even more of a privilege than an honour."
24/08/2009, 11:48 AM
Just seven minutes of action for Andy Reid in Sunderland's first three league matches this season. Didn't get on the pitch yesterday in their 2-1 win over Birmingham. He needs to move to a lower team where he can get his game and prove his fitness to Trapattoni. If he's serious about playing for Ireland, he needs to be playing regularly for a club - any club - in the Premiership or Championship. Simple as that.
He was injured for the first game and hadn't trained before the 2nd. Give him a chance. For the 10th time he was excellent in pre-season. Let's see how he does in the carling cup and after.
24/08/2009, 4:42 PM
Richardson is injury prone so it is only a matter of time before Andy Reid gets his chance to impress Bruce. I'd hope he would get a run out tonight against Norwich.
24/08/2009, 4:47 PM
He'll surely start tonight and it's on Sky Sports.
Razors left peg
24/08/2009, 7:00 PM
He did start for Sunderland and Im absolutely gobsmacked at how much weight hes lost
24/08/2009, 7:16 PM
Scores for Sunderland
24/08/2009, 7:22 PM
Second one for Reid! :ball::ball:
musicinmouth
24/08/2009, 7:22 PM
Amazing goal!! He should be in our squad!
24/08/2009, 7:28 PM
I had just swithed my stream on to see if Reid was playing and the first thing I see is this little chubby player :D chipping the goal keeper from the left
side of the field outside the area. Great goal commentator compared him to Messi :eek: and Hoddle :rolleyes:.
Normally when I switch a stream on it's just as Harrington hits one into the lake!
(atually he didn't look particularly chubby, probably slimmer, hard to tell on a stream)
carloz
24/08/2009, 7:30 PM
He is not really in Bruces mind for the starting II so this kind of performance is exactly what he needs. Delighted for Reid. Nice guy and is taking his exclusion from the squad very well, better than most would
Razors left peg
24/08/2009, 7:32 PM
I had just swithed my stream on to see if Reid was playing and the first thing I see is this little chubby player :D chipping the goal keeper from the left
side of the field outside the area. Great goal commentator compared him to Messi :eek: and Hoddle :rolleyes:.
Normally when I switch a stream on it's just as Harrington hits one into the lake!
(atually he didn't look particularly chubby, probably slimmer, hard to tell on a stream)
Looks about 2 stone slimmer. I must have repeated it about 20 times in the thread but no body will ever convince me that Andy Keogh is a better option for us on the wing than Reidy
stiffler
24/08/2009, 7:32 PM
Has scored 2 now!
24/08/2009, 7:39 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8219070.stm
Goooooooaaaaaaaaal
That's why Andy Reid is a bit of folk hero for the Sunderland fans. Kenwyne Jones finds his run down the left but with the defender making ground quickly, the angle looks too tight for the shot - so Reid looks up and produces an exquisite chip over the keeper.
24/08/2009, 7:46 PM
Beautiful finish. Come on Reidy!!
FarBeag
24/08/2009, 8:21 PM
I love this guy, always have. Anytime I have seen Reid and Duff on the team sheet for Ireland I always thought we could beat anyone. We all make mistakes, Andy has and is paying a heavy price. I am sure Trap has made lots of mistakes in his time and in my view is still making a big one in not having Reid in the squad.
He is a good footballer ,a nice lad, trained hard to prove a point and passionate about playing for his country. I am sure he has apologised for his wrongdoings What more can a man do?:confused:
24/08/2009, 8:49 PM
I love this guy, always have. Anytime I have seen Reid and Duff on the team sheet for Ireland I always thought we could beat anyone. We all make mistakes, Andy has and is paying a heavy price. I am sure Trap has made lots of mistakes in his time and in my view is still making a big one in not having Reid in the squad.
He is a good footballer ,a nice lad, trained hard to prove a point and passionate about playing for his country. I am sure he has apologised for his wrongdoings What more can a man do?:confused:
Just keep putting in solid performances and hope the Trap is the forgiving type.
25/08/2009, 12:55 AM
Bruce had this to say about him: "Andy Reid's done extremely well with his fitness and conditioning - he's come back and lost something like nine kilos from last year. All he can do is play like that and he's posed a few questions."
25/08/2009, 1:59 AM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Norwich-1-4-Sunderland-Steve-Bruce-hails-two-goal-hero-Andy-Reid-as-his-Slimmer-of-the-Year-article129441.html
Steve Bruce hails two-goal hero Andy Reid as his 'Slimmer of the Year' :D
Drumcondra 69er
25/08/2009, 8:34 AM
That's all fair enough. Fact is though, it's taken him till this summer to get off his @rse and lose the weight, maybe Trap's attitude towards him was the kick up the backside he needed. Would he have done it had he kept being picked?
Let's hope he can break into the Sunderland team in the Premiership rather then do it in games against League One opposition and if he's still producing it then hopefully he can get back into the squad.
co. down green
25/08/2009, 8:44 AM
I suppose it tells us that Reid was overweight and under performing last season.
Great to see that he's decided to make an effort to get match fit and long may it continue.
McShane on his way back to Hull City.
Greenforever
25/08/2009, 8:49 AM
That's all fair enough. Fact is though, it's taken him till this summer to get off his @rse and lose the weight, maybe Trap's attitude towards him was the kick up the backside he needed. Would he have done it had he kept being picked?
Let's hope he can break into the Sunderland team in the Premiership rather then do it in games against League One opposition and if he's still producing it then hopefully he can get back into the squad.
Agreed, just hope he gets a run in the premiership for Sunderland, and gets a recall from Trap.
25/08/2009, 9:29 AM
In that piece where he was interviewed i dont remember him mentioning an apology or fully admitting he had done anything wrong. That is the biggest thing he has to admit something and say to trap im sorry, which he hasn't done yet. Even if he doesn't beleive if he really wants to get back in then he should do it.
25/08/2009, 9:40 AM
Typical Culchie no principles. He should only say sorry if he thinks he was wrong.
Great goal, the first one, although it was against a Norwich side who are extremely porous at the moment. I dont rate the guy as highly as some others on here at the moment, although I do think he should be in the squad. If he can force himself into the starting XI on a regular basis for Sunderland, Trap may call him up, but its unlikely to happen before the end of this campaign imo.
As an aside, poor Gaz Doherty appears to be having a torrid time at the bacl for Norwich.
Drumcondra 69er
25/08/2009, 10:18 AM
Typical Culchie no principles. He should only say sorry if he thinks he was wrong.
I don't think there's any doubt he was in the wrong, he broke a curfew and when given a second chance to leave after the initial break decided to hang on. That seems to be the accepted version of events in any case.
25/08/2009, 11:42 AM
Wrong!
25/08/2009, 11:44 AM
I think Trap has said implied that the row isn't the issue. He said he had lots of arguments with players in Italy. I still believe that he thinks that Reid's demeanour when not playing was the issue. Neil McD supplied quotes to back this up.
He's definitely good enough for our squad. He can play right across the middle-4 and as support to the forwards.
Duggie
25/08/2009, 11:44 AM
ffs he loves his sing song. big deal, hes learned from it im sure. i with trap all the way but i hate the fact reid isnt with us. hes pure class and has carried himself with dignity and passion when talking about playing for ireland. got himself fit for this season(never bothered me he was a bit chunky anyway). obvisouly trap just dosent want him and it dosent matter what andy does which is a real shame and a waste of a real talent. i just hope andy keeps his head down and does his stuff and hope for the best. if i was manager in the morning id be ringing andy to apologise. chin up andy :ball:
25/08/2009, 11:48 AM
Or, if playing for your country means doing anything he can, a lot easier and more realistic than swimming hte irish sea for example, biting his tongue and saying sorry means he can do it, then do it.
25/08/2009, 11:50 AM
Or, if playing for your country means doing anything he can, a lot easier and more realistic than swimming hte irish sea for example, biting his tongue and saying sorry means he can do it, then do it.
How do you know he hasn't already apologised?
25/08/2009, 12:04 PM
If the Mainz party was the big issue then Andy would not have been togged out and primed to come on against Montenegro.
Even if it was the issue between them, Andy looks the type of lad who could apologise, Not at all like having to wait forever for some Roscommon culchie to finally cop on and own up to their behaviour :)
theres certain times when you should apologise even when you dont think youre wrong - i think this is one of those times for the chubby funster.