View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

03/12/2008, 10:15 PM
http://video.aol.com/video-detail/andy-reidunplugged/3470164135

The real reason is that Il Trap hates Damien Rice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JitDWQI9qc

The resemblance is uncanny.

03/12/2008, 10:18 PM
Very enjoyable TG4 program, Andy is the session king.

All he needs to learn are a few lullabies :)

03/12/2008, 11:31 PM
Yeh good programme alright. Recorded when he was with Charlton. Seeing how decent a guy he is and hearing Kerr say he's the last person in the squad that'd be a disruptive influence I'm still really wondering what happened in Mainz. I have a feeling Trap may have put a lot of the blame on Reid for half the squad being up at 2 in the morning.

04/12/2008, 9:11 AM
He told Ray D'Arcy yesterday that he would swim across the Irish sea to play for Ireland and the last thing he s gong to do is refuse to play for Ireland. He sad he did not want to talk about the incident. Seems like a great reaction too from Andy Reid. Hopefully he can work his way back in to Il Traps plans.

Irish_Praha
05/12/2008, 8:33 PM
http://video.aol.com/video-detail/andy-reidunplugged/3470164135

The real reason is that Il Trap hates Damien Rice.

Funny, there was a link on that webpage:

Sponsored Links
Oprah's Awesome Diet Plan

See how I lost 42 Lbs on Oprah's amazing diet plan.

05/12/2008, 8:37 PM
Should be interesting to see how he gets on under a new manager. Keane seems to think he can't play his normal game when the opposition are pressurising and he's probably right (if the Germany and Cyprus games are anything to go by). But I still think he was very harsh considering his performances last season, almost all of which were in the centre. I doubt Sunderland would have stayed up without Reid tbh.

irishfan86
05/12/2008, 9:00 PM
Should be interesting to see how he gets on under a new manager. Keane seems to think he can't play his normal game when the opposition are pressurising and he's probably right (if the Germany and Cyprus games are anything to go by). But I still think he was very harsh considering his performances last season, almost all of which were in the centre. I doubt Sunderland would have stayed up without Reid tbh.

I agree. There are two kinds of managers when faced with a team of a similar level.

There is the kind that would play a playmaker and game-changer like Reid in the middle, and hope to win a game by outclassing the opposition, and then there is the kind that want to stifle the opposition and capitalize on their mistakes.

Sunderland played attacking football during their promotion campaign, and continued in this spirit in their first season back in the Premiership.

But this year something changed.

Instead of building around the players that had helped Sunderland stay up, Roy decided to bring in a whole new squad.

Think about how much change Sunderland have had to endure. They've got 6 new starting players this year when fit (Cisse, Tainio, Malbranque, Chimbonda, Ferdinand, McCartney).

That kind of change is ridiculous. I think bringing in 3 new starting players is the most you can hope to integrate into a team at a time.

Take Trap's discussion about what he would do with Ireland: he said that he would only make small changes at the beginning, as that would be the most effective.

Colbert Report
06/12/2008, 6:30 PM
Ninety-six minutes today for Reid at Old Trafford. Sunderland played the entire match with eleven men behind the ball and were beaten at the death. The goal attempts were something like twenty five to zero, Sunderland won their one and only corner at around the 88th minute.

He didn't do much in the way of creative football (misplaced two passes that I can remember) but surely this must go to show Trappatoni that he is capable of filling that defensive midfield role when playing against superior opposition like Bulgaria and Italy.

06/12/2008, 6:37 PM
Did he not play just behind the striker though.

Junior
06/12/2008, 7:10 PM
Did he not play just behind the striker though.

Formation is kind of irrelevant. This was 11 men behind the ball and no mistake.

Colbert Report
06/12/2008, 7:10 PM
Sunderland got past the halfway line about four times the entire match. I can't tell you how many times Sunderland cleared the ball to the centre circle in the middle of the pitch where it was met by Van Der Saar. No joke. So it is not really accurate to say he played behind the striker, Diouf for example was tagged as a left winger at the start of the match but played almost the entire game at left-back, patrolling the area around the corner flag.

Noelys Guitar
13/12/2008, 2:25 PM
Great ball to Jones for Sunderland's first goal.

Noelys Guitar
13/12/2008, 2:42 PM
Excellent header from Reid for Sunderland's third goal. Arrived late at the far post and headed it back across the keeper into the other corner. Great to see.

Irish_Praha
13/12/2008, 3:27 PM
Looks like Keane made the right decision for Sundeland to leave.

Noelys Guitar
13/12/2008, 3:41 PM
Strange game. WBA are truely woeful. Reid should have scored a hat-trick. Blasted over when he should have passed it into the net. Then he missed a simple header. Substituted in the 78th.

13/12/2008, 4:39 PM
Excellent header from Reid for Sunderland's third goal. Arrived late at the far post and headed it back across the keeper into the other corner. Great to see.

What channel was the game on??

Noelys Guitar
13/12/2008, 5:26 PM
What channel was the game on??

It was on justintv. Korean commentary. Reid had a reasonable game against really poor opposition. The good thing is the new caretaker manager Sbragia seems to like Reid so he should be starting every game. Class ball for the first goal. And watch the celebration for Sunderland's third goal on MOTD. I think it was Cisse who lifts Reid way into the air. Hilarious and no mean feat.

13/12/2008, 6:07 PM
Probably did his back in though ;):D

13/12/2008, 6:37 PM
It was on justintv. Korean commentary. Reid had a reasonable game against really poor opposition. The good thing is the new caretaker manager Sbragia seems to like Reid so he should be starting every game. Class ball for the first goal. And watch the celebration for Sunderland's third goal on MOTD. I think it was Cisse who lifts Reid way into the air. Hilarious and no mean feat.

Cisse should enter next years strongman :D It's good to hear that Reidy is back on form - hope it continues.

14/12/2008, 3:29 PM
What position did Reid play yesterday? He set up the first goal from the right.

http://www.boxofficefootball.com/sunderland-4-west-bromwich-0-highlights/

Noelys Guitar
14/12/2008, 4:14 PM
What position did Reid play yesterday? He set up the first goal from the right.

http://www.boxofficefootball.com/sunderland-4-west-bromwich-0-highlights/

Free role. Switched wings constantly. I thought he played OK yesterday. Good first half. He had loads on time on the ball in the second half but too often chose the wrong option.

irishfan86
14/12/2008, 9:48 PM
He started on the left, but Sbragia seems to want the midfielders to switch around, as like you say, Reid was on the right for the goal.

He also found himself in the middle at times as well.

Sunderland were playing a fluid system and WBA just never seemed in it.

While I agree that Reid made a few poor decisions, these were when the game was done and it didn't matter.

At the end of the day, he played in a brilliant ball for Jones' goal, and scored a fantastic header as well.

One of the stars of the game, but it really was a team performance last night.

14/12/2008, 10:33 PM
Played as an orthodox left winger, only appeared in middle or on the right from broken play. Counter attacks or when he ambled over to take a free kick.

Made a few bad decisions. Like when he chased the ball to the byeline but after doing the hardwork, he didn't look up and overhit his cross. A quick free kick and quick corner didn't work out for him either but I wouldn't fault him for effort. Anytime he gave ball away, he worked hard to win it back. Tainio and Malbranque were the stars of the show and Richardson was ineffective. Would of preferred to see Reid in the middle.

Got a good reception when he was substituted. Can't see him featuring much for Trap. Not pacy enough for a winger.

Razors left peg
15/12/2008, 12:11 AM
Played as an orthodox left winger, only appeared in middle or on the right from broken play. Counter attacks or when he ambled over to take a free kick.

Made a few bad decisions. Like when he chased the ball to the byeline but after doing the hardwork, he didn't look up and overhit his cross. A quick free kick and quick corner didn't work out for him either but I wouldn't fault him for effort. Anytime he gave ball away, he worked hard to win it back. Tainio and Malbranque were the stars of the show and Richardson was ineffective. Would of preferred to see Reid in the middle.

Got a good reception when he was substituted. Can't see him featuring much for Trap. Not pacy enough for a winger.

Has to be a better winger than Andy Keogh though!

15/12/2008, 7:26 AM
From Saturday's Financial Times - why no mention of Andy Reid?

Teams should think twice before shedding their fat players
By Simon Kuper

Ronaldo, once the greatest footballer on earth, now has the belly of late-phase Elvis Presley. In spite of this, Corinthians in his native Brazil have just signed him. However, one of the last surviving fat men in sport will soon be squeezed out of the exit doors like so many other fatties this last decade. Their demise is sport's loss.

A century ago, there were sporting legends who could have eaten today's streamlined players as a pre-game snack. The Victorian cricketer W.G. Grace wielded his belly as proudly as his bat; his contemporary, the Chelsea goalkeeper William "Fatty" Foulke weighed 24 stones; and in baseball, Babe Ruth reportedly once limbered up for a Yankees game with four porterhouse steaks, eight hot dogs and eight sodas.

Few minded. In 1958, when Real Madrid were courting the great Hungarian footballer Ferenc Puskas, he told the club's president: "Listen, this is all very well, but have you looked at me? I am 18 kilos overweight." Real signed him regardless. In the 1970s, when a physical trainer approached the football manager Brian Clough and boasted that he could make his fittest player physically sick in 10 minutes, Clough replied: "The moment the league starts awarding two points for that, I'll give you a job."

As late as the 1990s English football featured pregnant-looking players such as Paul Gascoigne or Julian Dicks. Fans sang, "He's fat, he's round, he bounces on the ground," and "Who ate all the pies?" Secretly, they liked sportsmen who looked like them. It's no coincidence that the two most popular English cricketers since the 1970s have been Ian "Beefy" Botham, and Andrew "Freddie" Flintoff, now slimmer but who was nicknamed after the chunky caveman Fred Flintstone.

Admittedly, there always were puritans who persecuted fatties. When a woman chided the baseball player John Kruk for being a tubby smoker, he famously replied, "I ain't an athlete, lady, I'm a ballplayer," a response so good he later used it as the title of his autobiography. In 1995 Kruk retired, soon after telling a newspaper that he wanted to spend the rest of the year "eating at the Sizzler's buffet". Fat athletes were wobbling off stage.

Coaches had got hold of computers and were starting to measure more things. They followed Damon Runyon's dictum: "The race is not always to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, but that's the way to bet it." While the rest of us got fatter, athletes went the other way. Baseball players started using steroids. In football, Arsenal ditched its traditional pre-game meal of baked beans and Coca-Cola (not a joke). Even cricketers discovered the gym. In Basel during the 2008 European Football Championships, two leading managers had a quiet chat at a sponsor's evening. The content: "How many kilometres do your full-backs run? And your central midfielders?"

Teams began blaming failures on lack of fitness. Brazil flopped at football's 2006 World Cup with two strikers, Ronaldo and Adriano, who looked like blow-up doll replicas of themselves. No team of that stature will ever weigh that much again. To find fatties in sport today, you either have to admire the recent photos of Ronaldo or scour some obscure teams. The Bermudan cricketer Dwayne Leverock, an obese policeman, redeemed last year's World Cup with a brilliant one-handed slip catch and subsequent earthshaking jig.

As that suggests, fat athletes have their uses. One day last February, when Ronaldo was still playing for AC Milan, Daniele Tognaccini, one of the club's trainers mused about that.

Tognaccini was sitting at the pristine Milanello training ground listing Milan's keenest runners. "Cafu, Kaká - he is the kilometre man - and Gattuso." He risked a joke: "Ronaldo, no." But then Tognaccini revealed a counter-intuitive truth about soccer: there was no correlation between running lots of kilometres and winning matches. He said: "Often, it's better if you don't run."

Another Milan official in the room joked: "So Ronaldo is fantastic?"

"Yes," said Tognaccini seriously. "Football is not a physical sport."

The Oakland A's reached the same insight about baseball. In the book Moneyball, Michael Lewis explains how the A's signed fatties whom no other team wanted. None of them could "outrun the hot dog vendor in a 60-yard dash", but that didn't stop them hitting baseballs. Lewis concludes: "Titties are one of those things that just don't matter in a ballplayer."

They certainly haven't stopped Ronaldo. The Milan Lab, after measuring everything measurable in football, concluded that the key quality in the game was not body-fat percentage but "sensory perception": the ability to assess the field of play in an instant. "Ronaldo," says the Lab's director, Jean Pierre Meersseman, "can perceive a situation so fast and react to it, it's just amazing."

That is why fans of his favourite club, Flamengo, are now turning to black magic to punish him for joining Corinthians. The man's better than an athlete. He's a ballplayer.

15/12/2008, 10:14 AM
Andy Reid has become the standard defense reference when a footballer (like Scott McDonald) is accused of putting on 5 or 6 kilos,
'he's not fat, just big boned like Andy Reid'.

Just how do bones put on weight, become big and then lose it again on occasions?

lionelhutz
15/12/2008, 11:04 AM
I was at the game on Saturday and I thought Reid played very well. I watched him closely enough throughout and his work rate was excellent although he was sucking air at one stage! He played on the left for the entire game and only took set pieces from the middle or right. Reid did make a few bad passes in the 2nd half but the game was over at that stage.

It was a very strange game - West Brom had all the possession for the 1st 20 mins but they didn't create much. Then Sunderland scored, West Brom dropped their heads, conceded a second straight after and that was pretty much game, set and match.

Noelys Guitar
20/12/2008, 3:36 PM
Very poor stuff from Reid today. Had a go at Sbragia when he was substituted.

Scram
20/12/2008, 3:55 PM

He can't have much argument now! they scored 3 after he went off.

ps. I'm a Sunderland fan since Keane left ;)

seanfhear
20/12/2008, 5:21 PM
Jeez what an idiot.Trap may have been right all along.

Noelys Guitar
20/12/2008, 6:42 PM
Jeez what an idiot.Trap may have been right all along.

Indulgent stuff from Reid today. Very poor game and rightly substituted. His dead ball play was very poor. Corner kicks not getting beyond the first defender. Sent two free kicks directly into the keepers hands.

co. down green
20/12/2008, 8:01 PM

Maybe it was as much frustration at his own poor performance but certainly lacking the professionalism he mentioned during the week.

"The manager's left and what a response we've had over the last couple of weeks, which shows our professionalism and will to win."

irishfan86
22/12/2008, 12:22 AM
Definitely not his best game, but that's the kind of player Reid is.

He'll always try the more incisive ball, and when it's not his day, he looks dire because of all the lost possession.

He's played very well for Sbragia so far, so I'm not certain that he'll lose his place for next game, but who knows?

Either way, if Sbragia's selections are anything to go by, the prediction myself and a few of us made that Reid is probably the only Irish player that will stick around seem to be looking fairly accurate.

seanfhear
22/12/2008, 4:58 PM
Malbranque is a pretty similiar player to Reid with a bit more ability to beat a man.
It may turn out to be one of those situations where there is not room in the same team for them.

irishfan86
23/12/2008, 5:42 AM
Malbranque is a pretty similiar player to Reid with a bit more ability to beat a man.
It may turn out to be one of those situations where there is not room in the same team for them.

They've done well by thrashing West Brom and Hull with both of them starting on either side, so I'm sure they can be accommodated in the same team.

Sometimes I don't buy this "luxury player" B.S.

Dr. Ogba
28/12/2008, 1:48 PM
Reid isn't even on the bench today. Doesn't look good but on the plus side it sounds like Sunderland are playing absolute rubbish...

28/12/2008, 2:06 PM
Reid isn't even on the bench today.
out with a stomach bug according to Sunderland's site

28/12/2008, 2:48 PM
He was their motm in the previous game against Blackburn. The new man definitely rates him highly. I'd say their disagreement last week was down to Reid probably being told he'll get to finally play 90 minutes. Anyway, the new manager seems to be more of a friend to the players than a boss.

irishfan86
29/12/2008, 8:26 AM
As Tets said, he missed the game with a bug.

Considering the performances of Murphy and Malbranque in the wide positions during his absence, I doubt he has anything to worry about.

08/01/2009, 3:05 PM
Headline in the back page of the Herald (i dont buy the rag by the way, one of the lads beside me does) Reid "id pay to play for Ireland" or something along those lines. Im sure they ran this exact same story only a few months back. Rubbish journalism and newspaper.

zenokelly
08/01/2009, 3:50 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/reid-desperate-to-end-his-exile-1595565.html

Noelys Guitar
31/01/2009, 12:33 AM
From the Daily Xenophobe (mail).

According to Sunderland insiders, the notoriously hot-headed striker (diouf)‘lost it completely’ and threatened Ferdinand with physical harm by warning him: ‘I’ll do you.’

More...Manchester City to splash £45m on Cruz, Given and Toure
Diouf leaves Sunderland and joins up with Allardyce again at Blackburn
BLACKBURN ROVERS FC NEWS FROM ACROSS THE WEB
SUNDERLAND FC NEWS FROM ACROSS THE WEB

Sunderland had resisted an earlier Blackburn bid for Diouf but had a change of heart after the midweek altercation and were said to be relieved at seeing the £2.8million deal go through.
Remarkably, it is not the first time he has squared up to a team-mate and caused ructions at the club. After a recent heavy defeat, Sbragia claimed some players were not giving their all.
Midfielder Andy Reid pointed the finger at Diouf and Djibril Cisse. Both confronted Reid in a bust-up that is believed to have come to blows.

If true I would have my money on Andy Reid.

hunt4the
05/02/2009, 10:04 AM
Where is everybody gone, reid supporters were up in arms after his exclusion from the squad, with his recent non-performances i see thats all settled down..

Ever since "roy-gate" there are ireland supporters and there are individual player supporters and that mentality lives on through any player who is now dropped/benched etc.

There is no respect for the manager or the decisions he makes, thats at both club and country level, only when expectation is at all time low is a manager allowed to get on with his job.

I am not the greatest admirer of Trappatoni but he has been given the job to do, he plays a rigid system and sticks to it and andy reid does'nt fit in, simple as that.

We are in a good position in the table and dodgy performances aside, you have to hand it to trappatoni he's doing a reasonable job regarding team selection and i commend him for not bowing to media pressure from idiots like dunphy etc who have the armchair comfort of changing their mind from one trashy column to the next.

DeLorean
05/02/2009, 10:16 AM
Where is everybody gone, reid supporters were up in arms after his exclusion from the squad, with his recent non-performances i see thats all settled down..

Andy Reid not being in the Ireland squad is similar to Robbie Keane not being in the Liverpool squad, brain dead!! it doesn'tt make any sense. The reason I'd imagine that it has calmed down is that people get sick of making the same points over and over not because they have now changed their mind about the situation just because he doesn't play 90mins every match for Sunderland, if Gibson had excelled recently u may have a point about Trapp being somewhat vindicated but he hasn't, so u don't.

hunt4the
05/02/2009, 10:33 AM
Andy Reid not being in the Ireland squad is similar to Robbie Keane not being in the Liverpool squad, brain dead!! it doesn'tt make any sense. The reason I'd imagine that it has calmed down is that people get sick of making the same points over and over not because they have now changed their mind about the situation just because he doesn't play 90mins every match for Sunderland, if Gibson had excelled recently u may have a point about Trapp being somewhat vindicated but he hasn't, so u don't.

Gibson is employed as a defensive midfielder and Andy Reid is not, there is no need to compare them or for me to vindicate trappatoni for that matter, your completely missing the point he is sacrificed because of the system Trappatoni wants to play and thats unfortunate for Reid while he's manager you'll just have to grin and bear it

DeLorean
05/02/2009, 11:50 AM
Gibson is employed as a defensive midfielder and Andy Reid is not, there is no need to compare them or for me to vindicate trappatoni for that matter, your completely missing the point he is sacrificed because of the system Trappatoni wants to play and thats unfortunate for Reid while he's manager you'll just have to grin and bear it

And grin and bear it I'm more than willing to do. However you lodging a big 'all ye Reid lovers where have ye gone?- cos he's clearly rubbish now that he doesn't play for Sunderland that much anymore' argument means you're probably missing the point. Obviously Gibson and Whelan are employed by Trapp as defensive midfielders and his system isn't rocket science but thanks for explaining it all the same, the exclusion of Reid from the SQUAD means that we have no alternatives if this system isn't working, god forbid. The whole context of your original post indicated that the Reid supporters have gone quite recently because he hasn't been performing and I think that is rubbish, it's has just been discussed to death. That's all.

Razors left peg
05/02/2009, 11:51 AM

What about the fact that against Poland Andy Keogh was picked to start on the wing. I can live with Traps reasoning that Reid doesnt fit the system to play center midfield but there is no way anyone will convince me that Reidy doesnt merit a place in the squad as back up on the wings.Keogh is a decent enough striker but he will never be a winger

hunt4the
05/02/2009, 12:41 PM
And grin and bear it I'm more than willing to do. However you lodging a big 'all ye Reid lovers where have ye gone?- cos he's clearly rubbish now that he doesn't play for Sunderland that much anymore' argument means you're probably missing the point. Obviously Gibson and Whelan are employed by Trapp as defensive midfielders and his system isn't rocket science but thanks for explaining it all the same, the exclusion of Reid from the SQUAD means that we have no alternatives if this system isn't working, god forbid. The whole context of your original post indicated that the Reid supporters have gone quite recently because he hasn't been performing and I think that is rubbish, it's has just been discussed to death. That's all.

As with Italy Trappatoni does not do any other system, I wasnt trying to say andy reid is sh1t now because he's not getting a game and anyone can see he is better then some of the players in the current squad. Andy Reid is clearly not happy on the bench, Trappatoni is still unaware the substitute ruling has come in, therefore Andy Reid as a squad player does not and cannot work imo

DeLorean
05/02/2009, 1:48 PM

I wasnt trying to say andy reid is sh1t now because he's not getting a game and anyone can see he is better then some of the players in the current squad.

Ok but maybe on reflection you may be able to understand why I may have jumped the gun a wee bit...

irishfan86
06/02/2009, 2:13 AM
I have never said that Andy Reid should be a definite starter.

What I have said, and what many others believe, is that he should be in the squad as an option.

I feel that he could play as a winger, or at worst act as cover for Robbie Keane in that withdrawn second striker position.