View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

19/01/2011, 3:47 PM
I'd agree with that and also think the same is true of Stephen Reid. Both good players, no question but I cant help feeling that they have been given an elevated status purely because they havent featured for one reason or another.

I agree on Andy Reid (the other Reid has retired from international football) but I suppose the problem is that Trap has excluded him from the squad and included less talented players. I thought Reid was class when he first hit the scene and was playing for Forest at a lower level but the truth is he hasn't made it at Premiership level. He is definitely worth a squad place but he isn't the unrecognised Messiah.

Junior
19/01/2011, 8:36 PM
(the other Reid has retired from international football)

Yeah I know but prior to reitrement and even post retirement I think my comment holds true.

20/01/2011, 11:26 AM
I think there is an element of truth in regards to Steven Reid, absence makes the heart grow fonder. But I think that there is little to question in regards to a fit Steven Reid and what he would have brought to the team. Robson identified him as central to the team way back and also Trap would have been purring contentedly with a fit Steven Reid and quite content with him in CM. At present, an almost permanently banjaxed Steven Reid would not bring much to the set up and it would be foolish to think he would.

gastric
25/01/2011, 7:42 AM
Speed surprised at Reid's omission from Irish squad.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/speed-surprised-by-omission-of-excellent-reid-2509014.html

TrapAPony
31/01/2011, 1:49 PM
SkySports_Simon: #SkySources Andy Reid having medical at BlackpoolFC. Fee agreed with SunderlandFC for around £1m #SSNTDD

SwanVsDalton
31/01/2011, 1:57 PM
Good move but he's running out of chances at Premiership level. If Adam moves, it's a great opportunity to become Blackpool's go-to creative force. Keep them in the Premiership and remind everyone (especially Trap) how good he is.

31/01/2011, 1:59 PM
confirmed (sort of)
from http://twitter.com/#!/SkySports_Simon/status/32089269631713281

Andy Reid joins BlackpoolFC until the end of the season. #SSNTDD (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23SSNTDD)

Brendan 82
31/01/2011, 2:09 PM
Great news

31/01/2011, 2:23 PM
Reidy can do a job at Blackpool. Ireland recall next if he impresses?

Noelys Guitar
31/01/2011, 2:45 PM
Taken from BBc site "Andy Reid to Blackpool!? At least sales of pies in Blackpool will not be impacted by Charlie Adam's probable departure!"
Joking apart great move for Reid. Guaranteed playing time. No reason he can't get back to the level he showed for Sunderland last season during Sunderland's good run of early/mid season results.

theworm2345
31/01/2011, 3:24 PM
Reidy can do a job at Blackpool. Ireland recall next if he impresses?
He could be impressing for Barcelona and I still doubt it would happen.

Sullivinho
31/01/2011, 3:34 PM
I'd be shocked if he ever wears the green again while Trap is in charge. Great move for him though, he could become a real hero in those parts if he turns it on.

31/01/2011, 6:39 PM
http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/01/31/2331645/official-blackpool-sign-andy-reid-from-sunderland-for
Official: Blackpool sign Andy Reid from Sunderland for undisclosed fee

seanfhear
31/01/2011, 6:39 PM
Blackpool play attacking football and Andy is an attacking player so it could be a good move for him.

Rrightly or wrongly we(Ireland) are not an attacking team so Andy does not really suit our "style"

the bear
31/01/2011, 7:05 PM
great move for him, if he puts the work in and gets as fit as he was at the start of last year he will be immense in that team, look how good adam looks playing for them. if he doesn't put the work in he'll be answering phones in reidys cabs this time next year

31/01/2011, 8:53 PM
Charlie Adam deal is definitely off now. Not sure if that's bad or good for Andy, but Ollie definitely picked him up as a like-for-like swap so probably bad.

Serb
01/02/2011, 12:14 AM
Charlie Adam deal is definitely off now. Not sure if that's bad or good for Andy, but Ollie definitely picked him up as a like-for-like swap so probably bad.

It does look like Holloway picked him up as an Adam replacement, but Blackpool seem to switch between 4-3-3 and 4-2-3-1, so I think Reid and Adam could be accommodated quite well in either of those systems. He could fit in on the left side of attack (the kind of position Robinho was playing for City) instead of Grandin / Varney, or maybe on the left side of midfield, with Adam moving to the right-hand side of the middle three as he has done on a good few occasions this season already.

01/02/2011, 7:48 AM
Steve Bruce was talking yesterday about Andy Reid. He said last season he got himself really fit and in great shape for 4 months and played great football, but he got injured and never got himself right after that. Says it all really.

01/02/2011, 8:26 AM
Last chance saloon for Andy I think. No doubting his talent but he now needs to get fit, stay fit and play well consistently. If he does, he could find himself back in the Irish fold and at a bigger club in 18 months. If he doesnt, well....

01/02/2011, 11:16 AM
It does look like Holloway picked him up as an Adam replacement, but Blackpool seem to switch between 4-3-3 and 4-2-3-1, so I think Reid and Adam could be accommodated quite well in either of those systems. He could fit in on the left side of attack (the kind of position Robinho was playing for City) instead of Grandin / Varney, or maybe on the left side of midfield, with Adam moving to the right-hand side of the middle three as he has done on a good few occasions this season already.
It's hard to tell - Adam is the go to player in that side and all the other midfielders work hard to enable him to be that player. Not sure if that will suit Reid.

02/02/2011, 11:11 AM
Last chance saloon for Andy I think. Don't let him near any saloons.

Serb
02/02/2011, 5:21 PM
It's hard to tell - Adam is the go to player in that side and all the other midfielders work hard to enable him to be that player. Not sure if that will suit Reid.

Interestingly, Adam has only started on the left-hand side of midfield 6 times in 23 league games this season. He is much more often the centre of a 3 man midfield with Vaughan to his left and Varney in a more advanced left-hand side of attack role. Looking at his passing for his last few games, he ends up all over the pitch really, even when he has technically started as a left-midfielder, so I think he'd be OK with Reid tucked in alongside him. It'll be interesting to see whether Holloway will be willing to accommodate him anyway. Assuming he's not really fat / unfit, I'd say it's likely he'll play both Adam and Reid.

TrapAPony
02/02/2011, 7:24 PM
Starting tonight for Blackpool on the right of a three man midfield.

theworm2345
02/02/2011, 7:39 PM
Starting tonight for Blackpool on the right of a three man midfield.
He has been excellent so far.

Brendan 82
02/02/2011, 7:59 PM
He looks quality on the ball and that was a smart innovative chip attempt on Rob Green, but I'm not sure how that Blackpool midfield will compete with other teams' energy and physicality. They are 1-3 down so far.

rebelmusic
02/02/2011, 8:13 PM
Their midfield is being destroyed by west ham. They'd utilise andy better as a winger i would say.

02/02/2011, 8:16 PM
The whole team is being destroyed. They've already been caught in possession several times across the back four in the second half. Really amateurish stuff.

TrapAPony
02/02/2011, 8:26 PM
Substituted on 60 mins.

02/02/2011, 10:29 PM
I think Bpool will go down, in a similar manner to Burnley last year.

02/02/2011, 10:35 PM
Ya but i think a lot of that coincided with Coyle leaving. at the time they were 4th from bottom and bolton were 2nd bottom.

Colbert Report
02/02/2011, 11:22 PM
Blackpool aren't that far from safety now, they really only need about thirty-nine points to stay up I reckon.

irishultra
02/02/2011, 11:34 PM
that tangerine jersey does andy reid no favours lol

CraftyToePoke
03/02/2011, 1:51 AM
I think Bpool will go down, in a similar manner to Burnley last year.

I was thinking of having a sly tenner on this myself, they are dropping fast and there are teams below them improving, if they get sucked in they could go.

03/02/2011, 2:08 AM
Blackpool aren't that far from safety now, they really only need about thirty-nine points to stay up I reckon.
I suspect the "safety" total will go back above 40 this year for the first time in a few seasons. The league in general is that bit tighter than it has been.

Junior
03/02/2011, 9:34 AM
Havent Blackpool lost 7 out of their last 8 or something? I cant imagine the odds on them going down are that great, its not like the likes of Hull, Burnely etc.. havent shown that a bit of early form guarantee's you feck all.......

03/02/2011, 10:00 AM
Havent Blackpool lost 7 out of their last 8 or something? I cant imagine the odds on them going down are that great, its not like the likes of Hull, Burnely etc.. havent shown that a bit of early form guarantee's you feck all.......

2/1 with Powers. I think they'll go down too. The others are Wigan 4/9, Wolves 1/2, West Ham 5/6, West Brom 5/2.

Hopefully Reid can get a run of games and stay injury free. If he proves his fitness he could pick up a move to another promoted team or lower half Premier team.

DeLorean
03/02/2011, 1:39 PM
2/1 with Powers

Pretty generous odds for a team in free fall.

03/02/2011, 5:51 PM
I think Bpool will go down, in a similar manner to Burnley last year.I was mulling the same last night. Momentum and all that. I reckon they'll actually stay up but I think they'll cut it very fine.

ken foree
03/02/2011, 5:58 PM
didn't see the game - marks for reid overall? seems like he started well - did he fade badly? i've a lot of time for him but putting him in a midfield three seems a bit risky.

theworm2345
03/02/2011, 7:17 PM
didn't see the game - marks for reid overall? seems like he started well - did he fade badly? i've a lot of time for him but putting him in a midfield three seems a bit risky.
He was very lively in the first half hour and was decently lively in the last 15 of the first half, which was pretty frantic anyway. Blackpool were getting dominated in the second half and he came off after about 60 minutes (I'm assuming due to lack of match fitness). A few times he cut in from the right and tried the left footed curler into the far corner (as he did against Cyprus back in '04, as I recall) and wasn't far away. Coming off the commentators decribed his debut as "impressive."

03/02/2011, 8:05 PM
It was hard to notice anybody else on that pitch, other the messianic figure of Robbie Keane making his return. It was as if all the floodlights were focused on Robbie, such was the illumination that surrounded him.
Andy did a few nice things in the game, but it was not hard to be the outstanding talent in a dire Blackpool team. It is regrettable that Reid is not in the squad, as was already pointed out at the time, it was very hard to credit Keogh coming on as a sub against Slovakia when Fahy had to come off..

Colbert Report
04/02/2011, 4:10 AM
I love Reid but if Blackpool go down he'll be a very bad investment for Holloway. One million pounds sterling for Reid is what I've heard. Reid will be lucky to play ten game in the Premiership before the end of the season. That's 100k per match plus wages which are rumoured to be pretty high as well.

04/02/2011, 11:46 AM
If they go down all of his signings will have been bad investments.

irishfan86
04/02/2011, 11:19 PM
One million for Reid is a bargain and a great buy low sell high possibility for Holloway.

Colbert Report
05/02/2011, 7:10 AM
One million for Reid is a bargain and a great buy low sell high possibility for Holloway.

You really think Andy Reid will be sold for more than a million pounds at some point in the future?

05/02/2011, 5:38 PM
its not beyond the realms of possibility CR. He's a very good player when he quits the cake and stays fit. All he needs is one manager who can motivate him.

05/02/2011, 5:40 PM
that says a lot about the man himself.

05/02/2011, 5:51 PM
yes, for sure it does. But he is not the only player who requires motivation or guidance to stay focussed and out of trouble. I wouldnt necessarily hold it against him.

punkrocket
05/02/2011, 11:15 PM
He's a very good player when he quits the cake and stays fit
It's been the ruination of many a young fella
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwylBRucU7w

gastric
06/02/2011, 12:05 AM
Warmed the bench for the whole game yesterday. Hope this doesn't continue.