View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019
Ezeikial
28/06/2019, 10:40 AM
Unpopular Dundalk fan opinion: I’m a season ticket holder in the stand. The 30 euro price was definitely greedy in my opinion on the clubs behalf. It’s been pointed out to me be fellow fans,things like reduced capacity etc. but this is no different to games v FH and Rosenberg in recent years. I have no problem paying the extra money,but there is a faction of the Dundalk fans now who can see no wrong in anything that the club is doing(for example the distribution of Cork away tickets last year to buddies etc).Dundalks operational costs are massive now,as is the European prize money. But please don’t try and tell me the extra 5er off a few fans in the stand was necessary. In all likelihood success in this competition will mean a more expensive day out in Tallaght,so rather than remind fans of how they are still saving money at 30 a ticket,it would have been better for the club to keep ticket price at €25 for this game,with a potential rise to €30 for Quarabag(still in oriel I believe)game if we advanced.
As I say this is just my opinion. I just can’t see any rational reason for the price hike,as compared to other seasons campaigns at same stage.
I doubt that your opinion is so unusual or unpopular at all among the majority of Dundalk fans
However there is certainly an irritation with the faux outrage, exaggeration and hype coming from others who have no skin in the game at all.
For my part, I think that the ground ticket prices are fine, but that the stand pricing should have been maintained at last years price levels. The additional revenue taken from the extra €5 is of little consequence in the overall picture, particularly when this will only take in an additional €3k to €4k.
It's a poor decision and reflects badly on those who made it
A N Mouse
28/06/2019, 12:40 PM
€30 a pop for tickets for that game you reckon? :)
Dude.
€20 for the majority of the tickets.(€15 concession/€10 u-12)
Bottom of the poster A N Mouse.
Common mistake to make.
https://scontent.fdub4-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/64870124_2263394763715071_354944661506228224_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=104&_nc_oc=AQnj5zvl5iJlgDADHjtOGvqaBAXg4lBkIaUKuhqpsDk Muv0HGj9tJUg7SZIKMixjpa0&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub4-1.fna&oh=7e4bb6548f4f1dfe66a9364b4a73b12b&oe=5D85C331
Tbf I was goin on the headline price, and Derry's usual ticketing policy one price(concessions available, one kid free with paying adult)
But prices on that poster instead of making it all ok just makes it seem worse. It isn't just bogging the arm in for the sake of it. It's cynically hitting those that want to sit in the main stand with a larger increase in order to make other increases seem like a value proposition. Why not just have a flat increase across the board?
marinobohs
28/06/2019, 4:32 PM
Totally agreed, I would be of the opinion that every LoI club should make hay while the sun shines, financially, in whatever way they can, teams do these friendlies all the time. However the pontificating on here and social media of how much of a "disgrace" it was that Dundalk are actively trying to increase revenue on what will almost certainly be a sellout due to reduced capacity is what makes this particular money-spinner hilarious.
Personally I will most likely not pay 30 euro to see Bohs V Chelsea, I would however pay that and more to see us play a European tie. My money my view - everyone should do whatever they believe suits them. Nobody “gouged” unless they allow themselves to be.
ger121
28/06/2019, 6:14 PM
Personally I will most likely not pay 30 euro to see Bohs V Chelsea, I would however pay that and more to see us play a European tie. My money my view - everyone should do whatever they believe suits them. Nobody “gouged” unless they allow themselves to be.
That would be my opinion too. Que me July 2020. “****ing Bohs charging €25 for poxy EL”
I doubt that your opinion is so unusual or unpopular at all among the majority of Dundalk fans
However there is certainly an irritation with the faux outrage, exaggeration and hype coming from others who have no skin in the game at all.
For my part, I think that the ground ticket prices are fine, but that the stand pricing should have been maintained at last years price levels. The additional revenue taken from the extra €5 is of little consequence in the overall picture, particularly when this will only take in an additional €3k to €4k.
It's a poor decision and reflects badly on those who made it
Agree with all of this, €25 into the stand last time in CL v Rossenborg is enough, should have left well alone, ridiculous increase, and I was giving out for days to anyone at home /at work who would listen.
Then last wed, 9.30am, email arrives, thank you for your order !
Perhaps as a compromise, to placate the offended non-Dundalk fans, we can give the additional money from the increased ticket price to Shamrock Rovers to compensate them for the tickets they decide not to sell to away fans.
Agree though, it's overpriced for a stand where 80% of the seats have obstructed or very obstructed views. Really it's in everyone's interest for Dundalk to succeed in Europe. 3 or 4 seasons in the CL groups and we might consider putting a roof on the away end.
D24Saint
01/07/2019, 11:13 AM
Norrhoping beaten at home last night by a midtable side, they looked poor from reports.
Ezeikial
01/07/2019, 10:16 PM
For anyone who wants to swap faux-outrage for authentic fury and indignation, you need to be in the queue at Oriel Park before 10am tomorrow to purchase one of the last of the gouged/extortionate tickets for the low brow visit of Riga FC. To make matters even more severe, the only tickets remaining are for the Carrick Road end, normally reserved for long-suffering away fans
Dundalk FC
Verified account
@DundalkFC
#UCL TICKET UPDATE | After bumper sales tonight, we have a limited number of seats available in the Carrick Road Terrace for our Champions League home leg vs Riga. These go on sale at the Oriel Park ticket office ONLY at 10am tomorrow. Don't miss out!
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/1145815348576489478
D24Saint
01/07/2019, 10:45 PM
For anyone who wants to swap faux-outrage for authentic fury and indignation, you need to be in the queue at Oriel Park before 10am tomorrow to purchase one of the last of the gouged/extortionate tickets for the low brow visit of Riga FC. To make matters even more severe, the only tickets remaining are for the Carrick Road end, normally reserved for long-suffering away fans
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/1145815348576489478
Get Maxi to sort it out.
02/07/2019, 1:26 AM
Jesus lads, there have been some terrible arguments on this forum in the past but this one might just be the most inane.
We've got four clubs in Europe in the next couple of weeks - try and at least have a little bit of joy.
Ezeikial
02/07/2019, 6:23 AM
Jesus lads, there have been some terrible arguments on this forum in the past but this one might just be the most inane.
We've got four clubs in Europe in the next couple of weeks - try and at least have a little bit of joy.
I could not agree more Charlie.
I'm also glad that you jumped right in there early on to nip the "gouging" comments in the bud!
PartySaint
02/07/2019, 8:37 AM
try and at least have a little bit of joy.
Harry Keny has taken the joy out of everything. I want everyone to be as miserable as I am.
D24Saint
02/07/2019, 8:53 AM
Harry Keny has taken the joy out of everything. I want everyone to be as miserable as I am.
thank god I’m making a bit of a holiday out of Europe. I feel sorry for anyone rushing in and out just for our match.
patrickccfc
02/07/2019, 9:02 AM
You're not a cork fan at the moment, so it could be worse. Cardiff Met would beat us handily enough right now.
As much as Cummins was not great for Cork this season, I still would have held on to him for at least the euro games, there's not a goal in that team at the minute.
Maybe it was terms of the deal that Rovers wanted him for Europe, still leaves Cork with almost zero firepower.
sbgawa
02/07/2019, 10:02 AM
I think Coustrain will do well for Cork, he is direct and was unlucky that we had so much talent in midfield.
He originally came in when the squad was very thin but was kept on as he definitely offered something.
I think the Cork lads will be surprised , he is super fit and deserves a break.
Cummins body language when he was on the bench in Tallaght looked terrible , i suspect it was very "Mutual"
Ezeikial
02/07/2019, 10:30 AM
As much as Cummins was not great for Cork this season, I still would have held on to him for at least the euro games, there's not a goal in that team at the minute.
Maybe it was terms of the deal that Rovers wanted him for Europe, still leaves Cork with almost zero firepower.
If the choice for centre forward for european matches was between Carr, Cummins, Greene and a Hatstand, he probably ends up as 4th choice.
Cummins is a decent header of the ball and has very little else going for him. Expect the concession of lots of frees for offside and fouls against defenders
patrickccfc
02/07/2019, 10:59 AM
His lack of pace can be very frustrating too.
Pablo Escobar
04/07/2019, 10:27 AM
If the choice for centre forward for european matches was between Carr, Cummins, Greene and a Hatstand, he probably ends up as 4th choice.
Cummins is a decent header of the ball and has very little else going for him. Expect the concession of lots of frees for offside and fouls against defenders
Tbf he's an excellent header of the ball. If you give him service he'll score goals all day in the air. We didn't even come close to playing to his strengths.
Real ale Madrid
04/07/2019, 10:42 AM
He has as many goals from play this season as your spiritual leader - Pat Hoban. Playing in a team with a fraction of ability to create chances. If Cummins gets decent service he will score goals - he proved that last season - he scored 13 goals in the first 18 games last year before the wheels came off. That sort of strike rate for Rovers will be infinitly better than anything they have now.
Ezeikial
04/07/2019, 12:48 PM
Tbf he's an excellent header of the ball. If you give him service he'll score goals all day in the air. We didn't even come close to playing to his strengths.
He has as many goals from play this season as your spiritual leader - Pat Hoban. Playing in a team with a fraction of ability to create chances. If Cummins gets decent service he will score goals - he proved that last season - he scored 13 goals in the first 18 games last year before the wheels came off. That sort of strike rate for Rovers will be infinitly better than anything they have now.
It's possible that the move to Rovers could give him a new lease of life and a good start may give him a much needed confidence boost.
I just can't see how new found confidence is going to give him any pace or the ability to run in behind defenders. He will certainly give lots of free kicks away from fouls and offsides.
Time will tell, but I doubt he is the missing link to turn Rovers into title winners
EDIT - He may even be less effective against typical european teams
04/07/2019, 6:10 PM
Cardiff Met doing a UCD; 1-0 up at home against Progres, and 1-1 on aggregate now. Winners face Cork.
Game is live on S4C; you can watch on skorlive.com
sidewayspasser
04/07/2019, 6:15 PM
Going by what I've seen so far, none of the two sides look like anything to be afraid of. But then, with City's current form, the same could be said...
sidewayspasser
04/07/2019, 7:34 PM
Cardiff Met 2-1 Progrès Niederkorn. Progrès progress on away goals.
05/07/2019, 2:03 AM
He will certainly give lots of free kicks away from fouls and offsides.
To be fair, offside won't be something he has to worry about because by the time all our midfielders have taken five touches and passed the ball sideways the defenders will all be back in position.
Ezeikial
05/07/2019, 6:23 AM
To be fair, offside won't be something he has to worry about because by the time all our midfielders have taken five touches and passed the ball sideways the defenders will all be back in position.
Prepare to be amazed
CityBoy
05/07/2019, 9:30 AM
Can any Rovers fan who went to Luxembourg a few years back recommend a decent pub for City fans?
oriel
05/07/2019, 10:08 AM
I can from our 2010 trip, Scotts Bar in the old town, overlooking a river and a nice medieval style tower / castle, short walk from the city centre (which is quite small around the main train station). It was decent spot to set up camp, was a good few photos doing the rounds at the time, flags drapped over the high walls, nice spot. One bigger spot across the road too, not sure what it was called, seem to recall Scotts for day time and the one over the road a bit more lively for night time, one thing I recall from both trips, the friendliest city I've been too. The cops were even drinking ! (non alco they said) at half time in the bar, really relaxed scene.
There is also a big open plaza with loads and loads of tables around that city centre area, I think behind the train station, nice for food, but not cheap, but you're on holiday !
I was over on a work trip in 2016 and I was curious so wondered around to Scotts Bar again, still going strong.
El-Pietro
05/07/2019, 10:23 AM
I travel to Lux for work semi regularly, though not in the last couple of years. Annoyingly I'll be going again in August, I was really hoping for Cardiff! Scotts is a decent bar, my personal favourite is the Updown bar which is cut into the face of the cliff. There are some decent bars, but beer choice in general is very poor, especially considering the proximity to Germany and Belgium. For example the Big Brewing Company who served two styles of beer the last time I was there.
The Grund area in general is probably the best place for City fans to float around.
D24Saint
05/07/2019, 10:41 AM
I travel to Lux for work semi regularly, though not in the last couple of years. Annoyingly I'll be going again in August, I was really hoping for Cardiff! Scotts is a decent bar, my personal favourite is the Updown bar which is cut into the face of the cliff. There are some decent bars, but beer choice in general is very poor, especially considering the proximity to Germany and Belgium. For example the Big Brewing Company who served two styles of beer the last time I was there.
The Grund area in general is probably the best place for City fans to float around.
I was six days in Luxembourg in 2016 after the game switching from a Thursday to Tuesday. It is the most boring country on earth and the local beer boferding isn’t the tops. The only perks are the public transport is top notch and you can visit France or Germany in a hour if staying any length of time.
El-Pietro
05/07/2019, 11:04 AM
I was six days in Luxembourg in 2016 after the game switching from a Thursday to Tuesday. It is the most boring country on earth and the local beer boferding isn’t the tops. The only perks are the public transport is top notch and you can visit France or Germany in a hour if staying any length of time.
I'd agree with this summary. It has some beautiful scenery but not much else. We've booked flights Wednesday to Sunday and are planning on getting out as soon as possible on Friday morning to a more interesting city in France or more likely Germany.
D24Saint
05/07/2019, 11:06 AM
I'd agree with this summary. It has some beautiful scenery but not much else. We've booked flights Wednesday to Sunday and are planning on getting out as soon as possible on Friday morning to a more interesting city in France or more likely Germany.
Id recommend Metz in France and Trier in Germany both a good day out.
CityBoy
05/07/2019, 1:03 PM
Thanks for the replies, folks. Is that place Scott's in Lux City or out near Niederkorn?
El-Pietro
05/07/2019, 1:11 PM
Thanks for the replies, folks. Is that place Scott's in Lux City or out near Niederkorn?
Its in Lux. The game is on in Dudelange not Niederkorn.
Edit: Differdange not Dudelange.
05/07/2019, 1:31 PM
Joker bar in Dudelange is ok if there's a few of ye there pre-match.
It'll be empty enough otherwise, but it's walkable
El-Pietro
05/07/2019, 1:58 PM
Joker bar in Dudelange is ok if there's a few of ye there pre-match.
It'll be empty enough otherwise, but it's walkable
I'd imagine we'd probably have somewhere in the region of 50-100.
We're actually playing in Differdange though not Dudelange. I mixed the two up earlier.
05/07/2019, 2:21 PM
Ah. Ignore so!
08/07/2019, 1:10 PM
Is it only Dundalk being televised or is Cork or Rovers on? I'm guessing the norwegians will televise it?
PartySaint
08/07/2019, 1:19 PM
Is it only Dundalk being televised or is Cork or Rovers on? I'm guessing the norwegians will televise it?
This week is Dundalk on RTE with Pats and Rovers on Eir
Next week Dundalk and Rovers on Eir.
D24Saint
08/07/2019, 1:49 PM
Very impressive doing a European double header, must a first for Irish tv.
EatYerGreens
08/07/2019, 3:24 PM
Eir's listings on Sky have MLS and other stuff down for the Thursday. Hopefully that's just because they haven't got round to updating their schedule yet, but they should get a wriggle on with it!
09/07/2019, 9:58 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0709/1060982-i-can-still-it-hitting-the-inside-of-the-post/
I can still remember the miss, from robinson I think, it was harder to miss but somehow he skyed it over the crossbar!
Edit:Hmm i thought i remembered one going off the crossbar when the goal was open
09/07/2019, 10:01 AM
Prepare yourself lads for a months worth of supportive "but they're crap really when you think about it" posts from pauloshea....
09/07/2019, 10:04 AM
Welcome Kingdom for your sole contribution. Did you watch the game in question or just come on to add some more nonsense? Besides a months a long time in European Football :P
PartySaint
09/07/2019, 10:28 AM
Dundalk, Rovers and Cork all to go through.
Pats to go out.
D24Saint
09/07/2019, 10:55 AM
Dundalk, Rovers and Cork all to go through.
Pats to go out.
Id say be our tie will be similar to our games v Odense a few years back. I think we can be competitive in the home leg but fear a hiding in the away game.
09/07/2019, 10:59 AM
Welcome Kingdom for your sole contribution. Did you watch the game in question or just come on to add some more nonsense? Besides a months a long time in European Football :P
I don't want to say "I rest my case", but....
https://foot.ie/search.php?searchid=330
dejadem
09/07/2019, 3:33 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0709/1060982-i-can-still-it-hitting-the-inside-of-the-post/
I can still remember the miss, from robinson I think, it was harder to miss but somehow he skyed it over the crossbar!
Edit:Hmm i thought i remembered one going off the crossbar when the goal was open
Hughes put it over the bar with the goal open, Robinson's shot hit the post and went across the face of the goal.
sparky12345678
09/07/2019, 8:49 PM
Interesting results tonight were lower seeds outperforming seeded teams.
AIK were the lowest seeded team but the Armenian team were also ranked very low. AIK have an away goal so i suppose still all to play for.
While the Macedonian team was seeded, the away win v Estonian opposition will stand to them and should also be a good example of what Irish teams should be aiming for. (edit: apparently Macedonia as a whole is ranked higher than Ireland so :s )
Great comeback from the Maltese against Lux opposition should give hope to Cork.
Red Star Belgrade were held 0-0 away from home but against Lithuanian opposition.
The kosovo teams are still unknown and clearly building their coefficients well but a 2-2 away from home against Welsh powerhouse TNS (both goals in the dying minutes) was also interesting.
Dundalk should be aiming to win tonight
but also the other teams should be taking heart from the ability of other teams with less of a footballing tradition to do well at this stage.
09/07/2019, 9:37 PM
Important year for the LoI as we've already dropped a place by losing 2014/15, and could drop more places this year.
Luxembourg would have gone ahead of us had Dudelange held on against Valletta. Their manager just jumped ship to the Belgian second tier, taking half their team with them, so I can't see them repeating last year's heroics.
TNS will be kicking themselves for throwing that lead, but Kosovan teams appear half-decent. That said, they're out of the bottom 4 now, which means no more easy points from the pre-qualifying, so while it looks like they'll storm past us, their rise should slow down now. Ditto Gibraltar actually.
Luxembourg, Bosnia, Finland, Malta, Latvia and Armenia are all within touching distance (less than 0.500) of us, Finland and Armenia by virtue of winning their first legs tonight.
After next year, we lose Dundalk's group stage, and if we haven't replaced it with something similar, we could actually be in real danger of dropping down to the Europa League pre-qualifying.