View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

sbgawa
14/06/2019, 2:30 PM
I think the 10,000 northie nut jobs are exactly what they would be looking for (along with a few disso hangers on from here.)
Unfortunately football would have little to do with it so best left alone even though it would be financially great - huge crowd, probably TV money and little travel.

To be fair to the Nordie nut jobs , bohs fans have been generally well behaved of late so might not be that much trouble in the Aviva

marinobohs
15/06/2019, 9:16 AM
To be fair to the Nordie nut jobs , bohs fans have been generally well behaved of late so might not be that much trouble in the Aviva

How’s the cretin that took his top off last night ?😁 watching him fall on his fat ass was almost as much fun as watching Mandroiu destroy your over rated midfielders 😎

Even more fun than watching your scum abuse their own players at FT .

sbgawa
16/06/2019, 5:04 AM
How’s the cretin that took his top off last night ?😁 watching him fall on his fat ass was almost as much fun as watching Mandroiu destroy your over rated midfielders 😎

Even more fun than watching your scum abuse their own players at FT .

Jaysus will you relax that nordie crack was supposed to be a joke

16/06/2019, 5:54 AM
Anyway

The wiki page for the Europa League has the second round draw down for the day after the first round draw. That seems strange; is it correct?

Ezeikial
16/06/2019, 8:37 AM
First round of CL draw takes place on Tues and Second round on Weds

https://www.dundalkfc.com/champions-league-draw-all-you-need-to-know/

D24Saint
16/06/2019, 9:38 AM
Anyway

The wiki page for the Europa League has the second round draw down for the day after the first round draw. That seems strange; is it correct?

Yeah but seems a bizarre move since the draw is computerised these days.

16/06/2019, 11:06 AM
More than that though - the reason the first two rounds were on the same day was so you could meet the opposition club officials on the day.

This seems to demand that small clubs' officials stay an extra day in Switzerland at a time when there's a lot of work to be done in a short period of time.

Don't understand the logic at all.

D24Saint
16/06/2019, 3:13 PM
Will the pots be released tomorrow or only on the day of the draw.

sbgawa
16/06/2019, 6:37 PM
Love this time of year.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 7:33 AM
Love this time of year.

Christmas Eve.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 10:55 AM
Dream draw : Any of the Baltic country’s.
Middle of the road: Aberdeen or Kilmarnock.
Nightmare: Norway, Sweden, Iceland or Rangers.
Meh: Crusaders

PartySaint
17/06/2019, 11:04 AM
Dream draw : Any of the Baltic country’s.
Middle of the road: Aberdeen or Kilmarnock.
Nightmare: Norway, Sweden, Iceland or Rangers.
Meh: Crusaders

I'm not sure about your nightmare draws there in a draw where we could end up in Belarus or Kazakhstan.

I'd gladly take a trip to Glasgow to play Rangers.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 11:10 AM
I'm not sure about your nightmare draws there in a draw where we could end up in Belarus or Kazakhstan.

I'd gladly take a trip to Glasgow to play Rangers.

Based it on regional pots but your right you have to allow for UEFA adding such countries to bulk out the pots.

PartySaint
17/06/2019, 11:29 AM
Based it on regional pots but your right you have to allow for UEFA adding such countries to bulk out the pots.

I think there's 23 unseeded team from what would be considered our region and only 15 seeded teams so a few of the unseeded ones will get shafted.

If they go by co-efficient points the seeded pots from our region will be:

Pot 1

Malmo
Sweden

Zalgiris
Lithuania

Aberdeen
Scotland

Brondby
Denmark

Crusaders
Northern Ireland

Pot 2

Rangers
Scotland

Ventsplis
Latvia

Stjarnan
Iceland

Norrköping
Sweden

Brann
Norway

Pot 3

Haugesund
Norway

Cork
Ireland

Riteriai
Lithuania

Levadia
Estonia

Kilmarock
Scotland

That would rule us out of pot 3 with Cork in it so we'd be extremely unlikely to get put into a pot with our region but then again they probably don't just base the pots on co-efficient points.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 11:45 AM
Had a look on Berts European football site & forum and even the boffins there are none the wiser.

seand
17/06/2019, 12:41 PM
I think there's 23 unseeded team from what would be considered our region and only 15 seeded teams so a few of the unseeded ones will get shafted.

If they go by co-efficient points the seeded pots from our region will be:

Pot 1

Malmo
Sweden

Zalgiris
Lithuania

Aberdeen
Scotland

Brondby
Denmark

Crusaders
Northern Ireland

Pot 2

Rangers
Scotland

Ventsplis
Latvia

Stjarnan
Iceland

Norrköping
Sweden

Brann
Norway

Pot 3

Haugesund
Norway

Cork
Ireland

Riteriai
Lithuania

Levadia
Estonia

Kilmarock
Scotland

That would rule us out of pot 3 with Cork in it so we'd be extremely unlikely to get put into a pot with our region but then again they probably don't just base the pots on co-efficient points.

I don't think your pots make any sense, tbh

Hopefully later today we'll know the groupings ahead of tomorrow's draw

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 1:05 PM
Cork getting pencilled in as one of the weaker seeds on berts forum.

El-Pietro
17/06/2019, 2:53 PM
Cork getting pencilled in as one of the weaker seeds on berts forum.

Fair. We would probably have been considered one of the weaker seeds even if we weren't as bad as we appear to be this year I'd imagine, but we are exactly the kind of team I would have thought would be beatable if we could have gotten them when we were unseeded.

First time in our history we are seeded and we are ****. Frustrating.

seand
17/06/2019, 3:03 PM
Champions League groups.....
https://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/news/newsid=2611300.html

Dundalk v Piast (avoid, avoid, avoid), Linfield, HB, Valur, Riga or the preliminary round winners

17/06/2019, 3:07 PM

Belarus is fairly handy to get to, and they've relaxed their visa policy too, as long as you fly in/out.
In footballing terms, it's difficult but not out of the question.
We won in Minsk last year, and we were brutal last year.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 3:24 PM
Belarus is fairly handy to get to, and they've relaxed their visa policy too, as long as you fly in/out.
In footballing terms, it's difficult but not out of the question.
We won in Minsk last year, and we were brutal last year.

Are some parts still not a bit dodgy with radiation , I heard the the NI fans got a warning about eating certain food in the country.

DFCForever
17/06/2019, 3:29 PM
As long as we avoid Piast I’m happy
I’ve heard Linfield tipped as the ideal draw, granted we’d have the best chance of beating them but I fear the game would be the kind of circus we’d like to avoid.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 3:40 PM
The faroes is the plumb draw in football terms , probably a nightmare for fans to get to.

17/06/2019, 3:45 PM
Are some parts still not a bit dodgy with radiation , I heard the the NI fans got a warning about eating certain food in the country.

Food is all grand. Only limited foods grown with 50km of Chernobyl are permitted for sale.
Minsk is a really nice town too, could do worse.

PartySaint
17/06/2019, 3:45 PM
Champions League groups.....
https://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/news/newsid=2611300.html

Dundalk v Piast (avoid, avoid, avoid), Linfield, HB, Valur, Riga or the preliminary round winners

Avoid Piast and you'd fancy Dundalk against any of the rest. How many CL rounds do you have to go through before a defeat will put you straight into the EL group stage?

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 3:51 PM
Avoid Piast and you'd fancy Dundalk against any of the rest. How many CL rounds do you have to go through before a defeat will put you straight into the EL group stage?

Playoff round I think isn't it ?

17/06/2019, 3:57 PM
I'm damn nervous about tomorrows draw! Not knowing what Peak6's minimum requirement for a return on their involvement means there is additional worries on getting a disasterous draw. Positives ahead of the draw - Generally we have been improving in Europe, more saavy(or clued in on the dark arts), building our co-efficient to be seeded early on. We have a very settled squad and will be as well prepared as possible with plenty of European experience. Parachuting in to EL I suppose does ease things a little when there is a 2nd chance. Possible negative - as a management team will we miss the ability that Kenny had to instill that belief that we can go and compete. We havent been the luckiest side either for one reason or another eg While the squad has been strengthened we have been seriously hit my injuries. Larnaca was a chastening experience but Gannon being injured meant Hoare was badly exposed as a makeshift fullback and McEleney wasnt near match fitness and the heat did have an impact. We were out of the game before any changes could be made and probably Larnaca took the foot off the pedal. Away to Rosenborg Gannon was concussed and we were punished ruthlessly but could have progressed taking the tie to ET. We have had a mixed bag with the draw over the last decade Luxembourg sides twice, Icelandic and Estonian once but after that Poland, Croatia, Bulgaria, Belarus twice, Cyprus was really an unknown but wouldnt have jumped out as a nightmare, and Rosenborg while not the powerhouse they were it was the toughest draw iirc.

Sooo whats on order then, decent draw (not BATE again!!), luck with players fitness with just about the month to get players up to match fitness - this mini break will have players fresh hopefully and there are 3(?) games before Europe. Cut out the tendency to concede just after scoring or just before half time. No conceding in the first few minutes and chasing a tie from the off especially at home. For the team to click in to the sort of form we know they are capable of but has been patchy in the league. For Hoban to hit a really hot streak of scoring from play, ye get the feeling that at any point he is going to start putting chances away. We need to really up the conversion of chances to goals rate. If dropping in to the EL early then a Linfield again and a third round buy (if its still possible :p ). So not asking for too much......

*ok bar Plast that group isnt so bad eeek!:nails:

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2019, 4:55 PM
Winners of the preliminary round - Happy days

Piast Gliwice (POL) - Tough - but have never won a Euro game and will be out of season.

Valur Reykjavík (ISL) - potential banana skin. Dundalk only beat FH on away goals and they are not as strong now, maybe Valur not as good as FH either, gave Rosenborg a nice fright last year.

Linfield (NIR) - should be handy enough out of season.

HB Tórshavn (FRO) - ideal draw.

Riga (LVA) - there are easier teams but should have too much for them.

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2019, 5:11 PM
Group 1 (seeded sides in bold)

Vaduz (LIE)
Kilmarnock (SCO)
Brann (NOR)
Vitebsk (BLR)
Malmö (SWE)
Shamrock Rovers (IRL)
Ballymena (NIR)/NSÍ (FRO)
Connah's Quay Nomads (WAL)
KuPS Kuopio (FIN)
Breidablik (ISL)

Group 4 (seeded sides in bold)

Rangers (SCO)
Brøndby (DEN)
Cork (IRL)
Molde (NOR)
Crusaders (NIR)
Progrès Niederkorn (LUX)/Cardiff Metropolitan University (WAL)
B36 (FRO)
Inter Turku (FIN)
KR (ISL)
Prishtina (KOS)/St Joseph's (GIB)

Group 8 (seeded sides in bold)

Haugesund (NOR)
Aberdeen (SCO)
Stjarnan (ISL)
Norrköping (SWE)
Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
Riteriai (LTU)
Liepāja (LVA)
Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Barry Town (WAL)/Cliftonville (NIR)
Saint Patrick's (IRL)
RoPS Rovaniemi (FIN)
KÍ (FRO)/Tre Fiori (SMR)

17/06/2019, 5:14 PM
Vaduz and Riteriai/Stjarnan the targets there. Cork need to avoid Progres (who beat Rangers two years back). Some tough draws too though, as to be expected when unseeded

Would be interesting to see LoI v SPL

EatYerGreens
17/06/2019, 6:20 PM
Would be interesting to see LoI v SPL

Depending on the teams involved though.

I wouldn't give Pats much chance of beating Aberdeen, for example. But would Rovers over Kilmarnock.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 6:25 PM
Haugesund (NOR)
Aberdeen (SCO)
Stjarnan (ISL)
Norrköping (SWE)
Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
Riteriai (LTU)
Liepāja (LVA)
Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Saint Patrick's (IRL)
RoPS Rovaniemi (FIN)
KÍ (FRO)/Tre Fiori (SMR)

couple of sticky ones in there in both football and travel. My preferences are.
1: Riteriai (LTU)
2:Aberdeen (SCO)
3Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
4:Norrköping (SWE)
5:Haugesund (NOR)
6:Stjarnan (ISL)

17/06/2019, 6:49 PM
We're going to Minsk aren't we ? Would like to get Stjarnan, mainly cos I can't help thinking of the song every time I see the name. You know the one. " There's a Stjarnan waiting in the sky":D

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 7:19 PM
How did the Derry fans get to Minsk, best solution I can see is the train from Vilnius. I dont think any Pats fans made our trip over the last time with the short notice. The good news ive seen is no visa required for stays under five days.

DFCForever
17/06/2019, 7:54 PM
How did the Derry fans get to Minsk, best solution I can see is the train from Vilnius. I dont think any Pats fans made our trip over the last time with the short notice. The good news ive seen is no visa required for stays under five days.
I stayed in Minsk when we played BATE in 2015. We got the club charter flight, probably the best shout given the difficulties with entering the country.

El-Pietro
17/06/2019, 8:09 PM
If you fly direct to Minsk you get limited time Visa free entry. If you enter the country elsewhere then you need to worry about queues for Visas at the border. You can get to Minsk from lots of European cities. From memory I had options from Berlin I think and maybe somewhere in Poland.

17/06/2019, 8:21 PM
I got a train through Belarus in 2012, going from Köln to Moscow. It took four hours to cross the border. Partly that's because the wheels had to be changed - not an issued coming from Lithuania - and I think it'd be easier crossing groom another ex-Soviet state, but for a short-stay European trip, I'd be surprised if skyscanner couldn't sort something easier.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 8:50 PM
Hope to god it’s not Norway , the place is over 400km from Oslo and the prices in the country are mental.

17/06/2019, 8:55 PM
Internal flight should sort distance easily enough.

Prices - yeah.

D24Saint
17/06/2019, 9:16 PM
Internal flight should sort distance easily enough.

Prices - yeah.

Seems to be a airport nearby that cuts the distance to 90km so not too bad but €9 a pint would leave a sour taste. I will light a candle tonight for Vilnius or Aberdeen.

17/06/2019, 10:07 PM
9 euro if you're lucky! I'm in Norway at the moment, sipping on a 10 euro 330ml bottle.

Cans would be your only man I'd say

El-Pietro
18/06/2019, 7:54 AM
We were in Norway last year, some bars did do cheaper prices but yeah it wasn't cheap. We were able to fly direct to Trondheim from Amsterdam, I'm sure there will be plenty of options for you.

seand
18/06/2019, 8:21 AM
Group 1 (seeded sides in bold)

Vaduz (LIE)
Kilmarnock (SCO)
Brann (NOR)
Vitebsk (BLR)
Malmö (SWE)
Shamrock Rovers (IRL)
Ballymena (NIR)/NSÍ (FRO)
Connah's Quay Nomads (WAL)
KuPS Kuopio (FIN)
Breidablik (ISL)

Group 4 (seeded sides in bold)

Rangers (SCO)
Brøndby (DEN)
Cork (IRL)
Molde (NOR)
Crusaders (NIR)
Progrès Niederkorn (LUX)/Cardiff Metropolitan University (WAL)
B36 (FRO)
Inter Turku (FIN)
KR (ISL)
Prishtina (KOS)/St Joseph's (GIB)

Group 8 (seeded sides in bold)

Haugesund (NOR)
Aberdeen (SCO)
Stjarnan (ISL)
Norrköping (SWE)
Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
Riteriai (LTU)
Liepāja (LVA)
Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Saint Patrick's (IRL)
RoPS Rovaniemi (FIN)
KÍ (FRO)/Tre Fiori (SMR)

For my money Rovers got the toughest group of the 3 northern-ish groups, group 4 looks very weak. Would Rovers be favourites against any of these? Vaduz are a good Swiss second division side, the rest are pro clubs. Kilmarnock in pre-season would be interesting, Vitebsk possible the best shot for progress. Irish clubs really should be able to compete with the Belarussians.
Pats I'd fancy against Stjarnan or Riteriai. Cork I'd want to see avoiding Finland and to a lesser extent Luxembourg.

18/06/2019, 8:29 AM
Kilmarnock in pre-season with a new manager too. Steve Clarke, who led them to Europe, is now the Scotland manager. It's be a good time to get them.

PartySaint
18/06/2019, 8:38 AM
Kilmarnock in pre-season with a new manager too.

Antonio Conte's former assistant manager AFAIK

El-Pietro
18/06/2019, 9:02 AM
For my money Rovers got the toughest group of the 3 northern-ish groups, group 4 looks very weak.
I would say that we got the hardest of those groups from a seeded point of view, I'd be far happier with Group 1 or 8. Obviously the make up would be slightly different if we were in one of those groups as Pats/Rovers would need to be replaced.

D24Saint
18/06/2019, 9:12 AM
Reckon Cork have decent prospects in that pot, avoid Iceland & Finland and they should be favourites.

Pablo Escobar
18/06/2019, 9:16 AM
I would say that we got the hardest of those groups from a seeded point of view, I'd be far happier with Group 1 or 8. Obviously the make up would be slightly different if we were in one of those groups as Pats/Rovers would need to be replaced.

Yeah, the only draw that I think we'd fancy at this point is the side from the Faroes. Or if the Welsh side somehow progressed against Progres Niederkorn. It'll be very tough otherwise. I really hope we avoid the Kosovan side.

Pablo Escobar
18/06/2019, 9:17 AM
Reckon Cork have decent prospects in that pot, avoid Iceland & Finland and they should be favourites.

I don't agree. We won't be favourites against Progres and certainly not Prishtina.

18/06/2019, 9:30 AM

Flying in and out, or getting on the club's visa, are likely your only options due to time constraints.
Last time, I went via Amsterdam with Belavia. Wasn't too expensive. A cheaper option could be to Tallinn, then Air Baltic via Riga, which worked well once.