View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019
CorribsideSteve
18/07/2019, 9:05 PM
Such a contrast to Dundalks performance last night. Rovers play lovely expansive football. Spraying it all about and some lovely passing and movement in tight areas and score two goals off it. Carr is good in that role when holding onto something or as an out man.
Well done rovers! Who can they get next?
Appollon Limassol, apparently
mcgonigle
18/07/2019, 9:17 PM
Such a contrast to Dundalks performance last night. Rovers play lovely expansive football. Spraying it all about and some lovely passing and movement in tight areas and score two goals off it. Carr is good in that role when holding onto something or as an out man.
Well done rovers! Who can they get next?
It's about progression. Rovers played some lovely football against us and how did that end?
Fair play to Rovers though, Byrne, Carr and the back 5 were excellent. Pity it's overshadowed again by their numpty fans
Dalymountrower
18/07/2019, 9:29 PM
Well done to all 3 clubs tonight.
Brave stuff from Cork and Pats.
Thought Rovers would have hammered Bran but a great comeback all the same.
D24Saint
18/07/2019, 9:35 PM
Petty tribalism aside fair play to Rovers for flying the flag tonight.
RathfarnhamHoop
18/07/2019, 9:52 PM
Why didn't Jack Byrne sign for Dundalk?
Used to train with Rovers a lot over summer the last few seasons and gets on really well with Bradley.
Pity it's overshadowed again by their numpty fans
Hardly overshadowed, not great optics but not like the headlines will be about any of those idiots.
Ezeikial
18/07/2019, 10:02 PM
Hardly overshadowed, not great optics but not like the headlines will be about any of those idiots.
Agreed. Great result - fair play to all involved, including Bradser
The pitch invasion stuff has become a regular habit of a section of the Rovers supporters and reflects poorly on SDCC, AGS or external security firms responsible for crowd control at Tallaght Stadium. I hope Shamrock Rovers are able to pass the fines on to them; it's certainly not fair that the club should have to take responsibility for any stadium mismanagement
18/07/2019, 10:04 PM
That might change when the UEFA delegate submits his report and UEFA land Rovers with the fine. There were plenty of headline about the Palestinian flag fine for Dundalk albeit there was a different dynamic on that whole affair. It looks bad when it happens in the league and looks very bad in Europe. I dont think it overshadows the result but it takes some of the shine off.
RathfarnhamHoop
18/07/2019, 10:13 PM
Agreed. Great result - fair play to all involved, including Bradser
The pitch invasion stuff has become a regular habit of a section of the Rovers supporters and reflects poorly on SDCC, AGS or external security firms responsible for crowd control at Tallaght Stadium. I hope Shamrock Rovers are able to pass the fines on to them; it's certainly not fair that the club should have to take responsibility for any stadium mismanagement
It's not even that section it's the muppets that just show up for the big games which makes it even more annoying. If it was someone giving the club a couple hundred quid over the season it makes it a bit easier to take than someone giving the club not even half of that.
Real ale Madrid
18/07/2019, 10:15 PM
Another absolute s--t show from us after going 2-0 up. I suppose we had to find the most painful way possible to go out as has been our downfall over the past 18 months.
Cracking stuff from Rovers especially after going a goal down. Limassol will be tough though.
Kingswood Rover
18/07/2019, 10:20 PM
There was a Palestinian flag in the South Stand this evening from the West Bank Hoops. Lads Carr is muck even in the 10 minutes he was on sitting on his hole at the slightest touch, not closing down quick enough and when he got the ball towards the end he could not get into the corner to run down the clock.There was also a quick pass played into him that he did not see as he had his head down. He gets a lot of stick from the section i stand in. APPARENTLY The muppet that threw the plasitc bottle was sorted out by the fans around him. Best atmosphere this Season the noise from the South was incredible with the fans really getting behind the team when they went one down. Cummins, i dunno Greene is better in every Depts if he could just get some confidence and finish a few. Eathan boyle i am not sure. ICH BIN EIN HAPPY HOOPER. excellent attendance i thought we might of got 4 k but well over 5 k i reckon.
RathfarnhamHoop
18/07/2019, 10:32 PM
There was a Palestinian flag in the South Stand this evening from the West Bank Hoops. Lads Carr is muck even in the 10 minutes he was on sitting on his hole at the slightest touch, not closing down quick enough and when he got the ball towards the end he could not get into the corner to run down the clock.There was also a quick pass played into him that he did not see as he had his head down. He gets a lot of stick from the section i stand in. APPARENTLY The muppet that threw the plasitc bottle was sorted out by the fans around him. Best atmosphere this Season the noise from the South was incredible with the fans really getting behind the team when they went one down. Cummins, i dunno Greene is better in every Depts if he could just get some confidence and finish a few. Eathan boyle i am not sure. ICH BIN EIN HAPPY HOOPER. excellent attendance i thought we might of got 4 k but well over 5 k i reckon.
Shhhhh don't tell UEFA. unless we can claim the owner is Palestinian? Because then it's not political
Your man was definitely sorted out. Could see it from the main stand.
Announced as "over 5k" I'd say roughly 5.2k
marinobohs
18/07/2019, 10:42 PM
Well done shams deserved it over the two games, even if they did it the hard way. Byrne very impressive tonight and once he equalized it always felt a result was on.
Won’t comment on the bottle throwing or pitch invasion, no doubt the sensitive souls on here will be up in arms for days 😁
sbgawa
18/07/2019, 10:44 PM
Very happy and well deserved over the two legs.
Your a bit hard on Dan KR he won headers that created both goals.
Decent crowd , more than I expected
The Lilywhites
18/07/2019, 11:00 PM
Excellent result for Rovers. They should have won the first leg. In saying that they had a bit of luck for the first goal tonight which turned the tie back in their favour but fair play coming from behind. Well done 👏
sbgawa
18/07/2019, 11:01 PM
What was lucky about the first goal?
The Lilywhites
18/07/2019, 11:03 PM
You won't see it on the replay on Twitter but in the build up to it Brann should never have let it get that far. Shocking to concede.
Kingswood Rover
18/07/2019, 11:09 PM
Very happy and well deserved over the two legs.
Your a bit hard on Dan KR he won headers that created both goals.
Decent crowd , more than I expected
I would love to get him to look at the way he moves on the pitch in a cold calculating way, he has to be better than what he was showing, Bradley must see something in training he could be so much better. The coaching staff could put a camera high up in the south stand and review what he does, the runs he makes or doesnt, his reactions and reading of the game and let him see where he can improve to me he is the most infuriating Player we have had in 10 years and yes he does do some good stuff but that is far outweighed by his Gormlessness. Look what do i know
El-Pietro
18/07/2019, 11:10 PM
Great recovery from Cork. Delighted for the fans who kept faith in the team.
What about those of us who lost all faith bit still travelled?
RathfarnhamHoop
18/07/2019, 11:17 PM
I would love to get him to look at the way he moves on the pitch in a cold calculating way, he has to be better than what he was showing, Bradley must see something in training he could be so much better. The coaching staff could put a camera high up in the south stand and review what he does, the runs he makes or doesnt, his reactions and reading of the game and let him see where he can improve to me he is the most infuriating Player we have had in 10 years and yes he does do some good stuff but that is far outweighed by his Gormlessness. Look what do i know
There's a camera on the south gantry every game
Kingswood Rover
18/07/2019, 11:23 PM
Grand job i will e mail them and let them know, jeez i am still buzzin cant sleep, just looking at that Cypriot team we are not without a chance
sbgawa
19/07/2019, 12:52 AM
Just watched the match back,
Can't believe how lucky we are to have jack Byrne, but for how long?
ger121
19/07/2019, 12:55 AM
Who have Rovers got in the next round? Minimum 6 games left for LOI sides and some good points tonight for the co-efficient.
sbgawa
19/07/2019, 1:28 AM
Appolon limassol from cyprus
19/07/2019, 1:43 AM
It's the birth of his child. Some things are more important than football.
If it was a Rovers player I'd be fully behind him choosing to stay by his partner's side. Some things are more important, as you say. His partner needed him and he did what any man should do.
19/07/2019, 2:13 AM
Great result. Thought once Brann got their goal it was going to be another one of those nights but Carr changed the game when he came on and Byrne was just magnificent. Absolutely buzzing to have another round to look forward to.
Olander
19/07/2019, 2:56 AM
Lads Carr is muck even in the 10 minutes he was on sitting on his hole at the slightest touch, not closing down quick enough and when he got the ball towards the end he could not get into the corner to run down the clock.There was also a quick pass played into him that he did not see as he had his head down. He gets a lot of stick from the section i stand in.
Is this a píss take? It's mad how people see games so differently. Watching as a neutral I thought Carr changed the game in Rovers favour. Cummins was sluggish and had little or no effect on the game. Carr injected a bit of pace, he had a hand in the first goal, making a nuisance of himself, cushioning a header down to Finn, who set up Byrne for the finish. I thought he stretched the game with his pace, did close down Brann defenders and ran the channels well. He did very well for the second goal also, holding up the ball and brushing aside the challenge of the Brann defender before setting up Byrne, who then set up O'Neill for the winner.
We must've been watching two completely different games. I watched both legs on eir as a neutral and thought Carr made more impact in the 15 minute cameo than Greene and Cummins combined over the two games.
Jack B
19/07/2019, 6:47 AM
The lads played well last night. It's a shame because we have a squad talented enough to be better than we're showing when they play at their optimum but Kenny can't get remotely close to that out of them.
Fiat play to Rovers. Can't say I wanted them to do it despite the general harmony of the LOI (we all have to draw the line somewhere) but credit where it's due that was a brilliant result.
mrtndvn
19/07/2019, 7:05 AM
Is this a píss take? It's mad how people see games so differently. Watching as a neutral I thought Carr changed the game in Rovers favour. Cummins was sluggish and had little or no effect on the game. Carr injected a bit of pace, he had a hand in the first goal, making a nuisance of himself, cushioning a header down to Finn, who set up Byrne for the finish. I thought he stretched the game with his pace, did close down Brann defenders and ran the channels well. He did very well for the second goal also, holding up the ball and brushing aside the challenge of the Brann defender before setting up Byrne, who then set up O'Neill for the winner.
We must've been watching two completely different games. I watched both legs on eir as a neutral and thought Carr made more impact in the 15 minute cameo than Greene and Cummins combined over the two games.
Carr MOTM for me. No Carr no Rovers win.
sbgawa
19/07/2019, 7:06 AM
At the risk of being on bohs side I can't see the bohs board as bizarre or lunatics. I'd throw the bob Marley fiasco and the social media team at times as being two more examples of naievity but all clubs have their moments and you have to balance that against positive stuff.
Also apart from the team underperforming on the pitch what have the cork board done that's so bad?
White Horse
19/07/2019, 8:03 AM
A very good night for LOI teams in Europe. Pats and Cork put in creditable performances away from home and can return to domestic football with heads held high.
Shamrock Rovers will delighted to be off to Cyprus. Even though they were favourites to go through after a great showing away from home, football usually throws up some surprises. Apart from the result, the real positive is that they did not let their heads drop after Brann scored late on in the game.
White Horse
19/07/2019, 8:11 AM
Such a contrast to Dundalks performance last night. Rovers play lovely expansive football.
Seriously? Dundalk controlled the game in Riga, moved the ball around very well, and used every inch of the ground.
Rovers played the same way but had less possession against Brann.
Sometimes, I wonder whether people actually watch the games they post about.
ger121
19/07/2019, 8:36 AM
Appolon limassol from cyprus
Regular EL Group Stage participants in recent years. Tough challenge but one to look forward to.
At the risk of being on bohs side I can't see the bohs board as bizarre or lunatics. I'd throw the bob Marley fiasco and the social media team at times as being two more examples of naievity but all clubs have their moments and you have to balance that against positive stuff.
Also apart from the team underperforming on the pitch what have the cork board done that's so bad?
The team is not underperforming. The team is bad, started the season with 25 senior players, which is crazy for the LOI. and still they had no talent upfront, only hard workers, DOConnor is the only winger in the squad, three left backs. Its bad planning, plus they spent more money than what they had. Low attendaces doesnt justify sending home half of ur team in July
marinobohs
19/07/2019, 9:00 AM
wrong thread mate ;) still buzzing after last night ?
Burnsie
19/07/2019, 9:18 AM
Great win and performance for Rovers, and as good an atmosphere as I've experienced at an LOI ground, notwithstanding the dopes behind the goal.
Byrne will take the limelight and generally he was superb but equally I could see why he must be so frustrating to manage as well. Finn and Grace both brilliant too, but Cummins looked like a fish up a tree, surely Carr or Greene has to come in for the next game.
Ticket bought for next Thursday already
jimhacker
19/07/2019, 9:40 AM
certainly not fair that the club should have to take responsibility for any stadium mismanagement[/QUOTE]
So, who should take responsibility for staium mismanagement so?
Straightstory
19/07/2019, 9:43 AM
Looking at Rovers' previous results in Europe (handily reproduced in last night's programme), despite playing eighty games over 60 years, they've never really beaten anybody of note - with the exception of Partizan Belgrade in 2010. So the result last night is probably their second best ever European victory. Never thought they'd get back into it after going a goal down, so well done to them. Cracking atmosphere. Hope even more come to the next one.
Ezeikial
19/07/2019, 10:19 AM
So, who should take responsibility for staium mismanagement so?
You edited the answer to that out of the post you quoted (see below)
Shamrock Rovers should pass on the fines to all those who have been dictating stadium management and crowd control issues to them for years
sbgawa
19/07/2019, 11:28 AM
wrong thread mate ;) still buzzing after last night ?
Posting with a fuzzy head
oriel
19/07/2019, 11:32 AM
This was a very good night for LOI, tough on Cork, but their win will lend a little improvement to the overall LOI coefficent. I wonder how they played the last ten mins, any Cork fans online, I'd be interested to know, if it was me I'd have played almost 4 up front, gone to 3-3-4, they needed that 3rd goal to go though, and a 2-1 or 2-2 was worth nothing. Pity they fell just short.
Big win for Rovers, drawing and beating a team much higher ranked and being the unseeded team is no mean feat. Nice trip for the fans too for the next round.
As for the comment further above on Riga v Dundalk, this was an away game that Dlk controlled from box to box with the home team only coming out to play in the first 5 and last 10 mins.
19/07/2019, 11:48 AM
I think a slight touch of realism is needed here.
Rovers beating Brann is excellent.
Dundalk apparently controlling large parts of their game but ultimately unable to score over 210 minutes - against ten men for a small part of that - is a bit worrying. They weren't particularly impressive in the bits of the games I caught. Had they lost on penalties, would the overall view still be "very good"? Not sure. But the overall performance would have been the same.
Cork improved at least, but an apparently shambolic first leg has led to a first ever elimination by a Luxembourg side. Not entirely unexpected, but hardly very good.
Pats maybe exceeded expectations in only losing 4-1 overall. As with Cork, the second leg was better than the First, but 4-1 is a long way off previous LoI v Sweden ties.
Not meant as a dig at Cork or Pats of course; even their own fans were pessimistic. But one very good result doesn't really make a very good night I think.
In terms of rankings, we're back up to 38th, which is where we started. We've passed out Moldova and have been passed out by Latvia. There's still five leagues within 0.500 of us, so we could drop yet. Or we could catch the couple of leagues 0.500 above us yet.
3-year total still has us 48th, so Dundalk and Cork's run in 2016 is still holding us up a lot.
I think last night was no more than an enjoyably average one tbh
White Horse
19/07/2019, 12:16 PM
There is nothing wrong with realism but I don't think anyone is getting carried away. Dundalk fans are aware that they were the seeded side and that they failed to score. I'm sure Rovers are also being realistic regarding the positive and negative aspects of their performances.
However, the fact remains that we have two sides, with the potential to improve, into the next rounds of their competitions.
RathfarnhamHoop
19/07/2019, 12:25 PM
I think last night was no more than an enjoyably average one tbh
Obviously haven't got to watch the Cork or Pats games yet (any links would be much appreciated) but what was so enjoyable about the Rovers game was the way in which it was won and the fact the lads showed a bit of balls when they went behind but the football at times was simply stunning, some of the situations they can get out of playing just quick short passing when everyone around me is screaming to boot it justifys the heart attacks they give me.
I see Owen cowzer has somehow managed to give Pico a 6 for his performance? Must have been watching a different game to me, some of the other ratings he gave were bizarre too.
Interestingly there's a player that played for Partizan against Rovers playing for this Cypriot team, Marzovic, at least I'm 99% sure it's him. Hopefully that's a good omen.
RathfarnhamHoop
19/07/2019, 12:27 PM
Excellent result for Rovers. They should have won the first leg. In saying that they had a bit of luck for the first goal tonight which turned the tie back in their favour but fair play coming from behind. Well done 👏
There's a longer replay on the Rovers Instagram. Absolutely nothing lucky about the goal
19/07/2019, 12:29 PM
However, the fact remains that we have two sides, with the potential to improve, into the next rounds of their competitions.
Absolutely. But I don't think that should be the target for a "very good" night in Europe is all.
19/07/2019, 12:54 PM
Interestingly there's a player that played for Partizan against Rovers playing for this Cypriot team, Marzovic, at least I'm 99% sure it's him. Hopefully that's a good omen.
soccerway.com is your friend for stuff like this.
Rovers v Partizan here (https://www.soccerway.com/matches/2011/08/18/europe/uefa-cup/shamrock-rovers-football-club/fk-partizan-beograd/1182121/); click into the player and he's at Apollon alright. Small world.
sidewayspasser
19/07/2019, 1:12 PM
Absolutely. But I don't think that should be the target for a "very good" night in Europe is all.
Calling it a "very good" night in Europe is probably a bit over the top, although it's sometimes fine margins between a "decent" night and a "very good" night. E.g. if Kevin O'Connor had converted that injury time free kick to make it 3-1 in Luxemburg and send City through, that might have been that fine margin.
Ezeikial
19/07/2019, 1:18 PM
Dundalk apparently controlling large parts of their game but ultimately unable to score over 210 minutes - against ten men for a small part of that - is a bit worrying. They weren't particularly impressive in the bits of the games I caught. Had they lost on penalties, would the overall view still be "very good"? Not sure. But the overall performance would have been the same.
A bit worrying?
I'd certainly preferred if they had scored a goal or two over the two legs, but it is encouraging to have kept clean sheets and performed solidly from a defensive perspective. Going through on penos versus a single goal win on aggregate hardly changes the outlook much for the next leg.
Progression to the next room was the always aim.
Job done. Doubters stand aside. Next please.
DeBluePhoenix
19/07/2019, 1:29 PM
Congratulations to Dundalk and Rovers - absolutely magnificent results - ye are an absolute credit to the league and ye did us all proud!
That Latvian side were worth 6.5 million. Dundalk about a mill(right or wrong).......the Brann team Rovers just beat over 2 legs were worth 10 mill!
The Latvians could afford to buy a Brazilian and a few other lads in the run up to this spending more than a million to try and squeeze through against Dundalk.
It was always a 50:50 game. Dundalk missed some good chances but can be proud of the way they played over the 2 legs and just like the game against the Icelandic Champions in the end it was enough.
Felt Dundalk missed their speedy winger a lot in the second leg where there was more space to do damage. Hopefully Qarabag will only look at the 2nd leg and wont know about him....secret weapon ahoy!!
Qarabag are indeed a different class of beast BUT.............really stretching for crumbs of optimism here so...... have a look at the actual teams they beat en route to the champions league group stages a few years back....the only strong team they beat was in the play-off round against FCCopenhagen who they are very very familiar with having met more often than anyone else....the rest are all teams that on our day, our champions would be able to give a good game to. They did pull off 2 draws against Athletico Madrid in the group stages.....that's frightening alright......from the seeding they got from that run they had favourable opposition draws so used that to regularly make it to EL group stages.
The Azeri league does not start til August so they are just playing European games and friendlies right now and next 2 weeks. It consists of 8 teams about 5 of them have grounds less 1400 - 5,000 capacity with a few with Tallaght sized ones too & access to bigger 30000+ stadium for later European games just like we`d use d`aviva. They do not have 30000 at every home game. Their league is sponsored by TOPAZ.
Their squad has a lot of Azeri internationals....its not just an international 11 bought by Petrochemical millions......For Dundalk to pull off even a draw or score draw would be incredibly tough but not impossible...
Apollon Limassol have a lot a Argentinian and Spanish lads playing for them with hardly a Cypriot in sight......there is more than a whiff of Tevez/Macherano-Iranian-3rd-party-agent-to-West-Ham-then-onwards-lark if you take a look at how they operate...
One of their directors sits on the UEFA exec board so this activity seems to go under the radar for now.......for Rovers to get anything out there would be magnificent
Here`s hoping!
TheBoss
19/07/2019, 3:00 PM
Ends a run of 7 games in a row without a European goal. Must be a record actually?
It was at 5 games before Rovers game in Brann which finished before Cork and Pats.
Record is in fact 12 games, both the 1987/88 and 1988/89 seasons had teams scoring no goals.