View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019
bohsmug
26/06/2019, 2:23 PM
I'd hate to see the LOI go down the path of using supply and demand to decide prices. Firstly we'd mostly be getting in for free or close to and our clubs would be bankrupt in a few months, but more importantly that's what has happened in the US and UK and it prices out the working class and you end up with a tv sport with very little atmosphere.
Totally agree with this.
The league has to find the balance between making enough money while also being accessible/affordable. Dundalk fans don't seem to mind judging by comments on here but your club is ripping you off.
marinobohs
26/06/2019, 2:28 PM
Totally agree with this.
The league has to find the balance between making enough money while also being accessible/affordable. Dundalk fans don't seem to mind judging by comments on here but your club is ripping you off.
I would hope some provision was made for regular match goers (this often happens at Bohs with reduced prices for members, season ticket holders etc for additional matches) I have less sympathy for those day trippers that turn up for European matches. Gouge away :D
I presume most Dundalk fans would prefer a dearer ticket for a smaller capacity at oriel than a cheaper ticket with the match moved to Tallaght ?
D24Saint
26/06/2019, 2:54 PM
Johnny Ward ran the predecessor forum back in the late 90s. Many of the original posters here were on there as well.
There was normally good craic on the old forum , different times no Twitter , Facebook etc. It was the only way fans had to discuss the league.
26/06/2019, 2:54 PM
Johnny Ward ran the predecessor forum back in the late 90s. Many of the original posters here were on there as well.
what was the name of that forum back then pineapple? I wasnt on the predecessor forum then.
David BOHie
26/06/2019, 3:25 PM
Twenty is plenty.
Ezeikial
26/06/2019, 3:28 PM
I would hope some provision was made for regular match goers (this often happens at Bohs with reduced prices for members, season ticket holders etc for additional matches) I have less sympathy for those day trippers that turn up for European matches. Gouge away :D
I presume most Dundalk fans would prefer a dearer ticket for a smaller capacity at oriel than a cheaper ticket with the match moved to Tallaght ?
€20 into the ground in Oriel versus >€25 +for Tallaght (€15 ticket plus >€10 travel costs) is a no-brainer from an economic perspective alone
D24Saint
26/06/2019, 3:41 PM
what was the name of that forum back then pineapple? I wasnt on the predecessor forum then.
Don’t remember it being called anything fancy if memory serves , Eircom League Forum or something similar.
marinobohs
26/06/2019, 4:06 PM
€20 into the ground in Oriel versus >€25 +for Tallaght (€15 ticket plus >€10 travel costs) is a no-brainer from an economic perspective alone
Makes sense alright. only 'down side' I can see would be regular attendees that would be annoyed a the price hike, but they may be happy enough to pay more for CL football. Personally I would prefer a smaller more partisan 'home' crowd (more likely at Oriel) at a match like this (at least until EUFA rules necessitate a move in later rounds).
I think it was just called the eircom League forum. Was hosted on DCU servers for a good bit. No moderation back then either. Halcyon days.
atfconline
26/06/2019, 7:55 PM
eircom League message board (eLmb) it went by.
EatYerGreens
26/06/2019, 10:55 PM
Hopefully Dundalk get a full house. We thought the same a few years ago and went with too high a price and had a lot of empty seats.
Same when Derry charged £25 for their Minsk game last year.
Clubs shouldn't be looking to European tie tickets as a cash cow IMO. Especially against fairly unattractive teams like Riga. It's bad form, and carries a large risk of poor publicity and diminished income.
ToberonaTornado
26/06/2019, 11:51 PM
The majority of the tickets are €20.Match looks like it will be a sell-out.
Season ticket holders were out in force when tickets went on sale weds morn.
https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/resizer/750/563/true/1561543096927.jpg--champions_league_fever_hits_dundalk.jpg?1561543097 000
Ezeikial
27/06/2019, 9:28 AM
Same when Derry charged £25 for their Minsk game last year.
Clubs shouldn't be looking to European tie tickets as a cash cow IMO. Especially against fairly unattractive teams like Riga. It's bad form, and carries a large risk of poor publicity and diminished income.
Most Dundalk fans appear to understand and accept the extra 5euro on the ground tickets, in much the same way as the reduced price tickets for previous domestic cup games. The local fans come to watch Dundalk as opposed to being attracted by the opposition
marinobohs
27/06/2019, 9:52 AM
The majority of the tickets are €20.Match looks like it will be a sell-out.
Season ticket holders were out in force when tickets went on sale weds morn.
https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/resizer/750/563/true/1561543096927.jpg--champions_league_fever_hits_dundalk.jpg?1561543097 000
Lad in Adidas top - 'is this the queue for Westlife tickets ?' ;)
mcgonigle
27/06/2019, 12:34 PM
Lad in Adidas top - 'is this the queue for Westlife tickets ?' ;)
"Well, I saw everyone else lining up, so, uh - I thought you were selling drugs!"
27/06/2019, 2:24 PM
Clever enough to put them out on dole day. Queue twice in the one morning.
ArFella
27/06/2019, 3:39 PM
Hope the Pat's fans that took such umbrage with Dundalk gouging us fans for a UCL game don't fall off their high horse:
https://twitter.com/stpatsfc/status/1144252105793921024
€30 for a friendly? Some might even call that extortionate... but that's none of my business
27/06/2019, 3:45 PM
Gouge away for a friendly against an English underage side in fairness. Different group of fans entirely.
D24Saint
27/06/2019, 3:47 PM
Hope the Pat's fans that took such umbrage with Dundalk gouging us fans for a UCL game don't fall off their high horse:
€30 for a friendly? Some might even call that extortionate... but that's none of my business
Thankfully we aren’t badges kissers in these parts when our club is gouging we will call them out on it , which in this situation they are. It’s wrong to sting any loyal set of supporters who watch the regular fare for a day out.
Meh, it's a friendly against a really big side. It's steep, but can see the logic in taking the money and running from the premiership heads.
ArFella
27/06/2019, 3:54 PM
Gouge away for a friendly against an English underage side in fairness. Different group of fans entirely.
Totally agreed, I would be of the opinion that every LoI club should make hay while the sun shines, financially, in whatever way they can, teams do these friendlies all the time. However the pontificating on here and social media of how much of a "disgrace" it was that Dundalk are actively trying to increase revenue on what will almost certainly be a sellout due to reduced capacity is what makes this particular money-spinner hilarious.
27/06/2019, 3:57 PM
Twenty is plenty.
Cool name. Catchy/
ArFella
27/06/2019, 4:00 PM
Thankfully we aren’t badges kissers in these parts when our club is gouging we will call them out on it , which in this situation they are. It’s wrong to sting any loyal set of supporters who watch the regular fare for a day out.
I disagree, this is the LoI, maximize revenue where ever you can, it'll not be long before any club is back in the poor house again and when things are going good pray that some money is spent on infrastructure that will be there for the real fans when the money is gone and the bandwagon is little more than a horse and trap. It has happened to us before and it'll happen again, I'd bet my life on it, I just hope at the end of it all we have at least 1 half-decent new stand, it may be cynical view but I feel it's steeped in realism.
PartySaint
27/06/2019, 4:06 PM
Absolutely no issue with milking barstoolers tbh. If they charge €30 for the Europa League game I'll be annoyed.
DFCForever
27/06/2019, 4:06 PM
So people here were posting on an LOI message board before I was born? Mad.
Also, isn’t it funny that charging €30 for a Champions League but charging €30 for a friendly is fine and dandy?
27/06/2019, 4:12 PM
Don’t remember it being called anything fancy if memory serves , Eircom League Forum or something similar.
yeah i heard that mentioned before! just didnt know who ran it!
Ezeikial
27/06/2019, 4:34 PM
Absolutely no issue with milking barstoolers tbh. If they charge €30 for the Europa League game I'll be annoyed.
How would you feel about miking barstoolers for a Europa League game?
patsdad
27/06/2019, 5:09 PM
The Chelsea first team squad will be training in Ireland and will play friendlies against Bohs and Pats. There are obviously very many Chelsea fans in Ireland who will be delighted to have the opportunity to see these players in action locally. Pats and Bohs are happy to facilitate Chelsea in giving those fans that opportunity and the ticket pricing reflects what those fans would expect to pay. Bohs and Pats fans can see their own team in competitive action, including in the Europa League in the case of Pats, for half the price. And, given that all money made by Bohs and Pats goes into improving the clubs on and off the pitch, I’d have thought their own fans would be happy that they’ll be getting this influx of money from Chelsea fans.
DFCForever
27/06/2019, 5:56 PM
I do wonder how many first-team players Chelsea will field. I remember seeing Dundalk play a pre-season game against Chelsea in 2012. Only 4 of Chelsea’s starting eleven that day have made a first-team appearance, with only two of those (Nathan Aké and Ruben Loftus-Cheek) having made more than one.
27/06/2019, 6:17 PM
Totally agreed, I would be of the opinion that every LoI club should make hay while the sun shines, financially, in whatever way they can, teams do these friendlies all the time. However the pontificating on here and social media of how much of a "disgrace" it was that Dundalk are actively trying to increase revenue on what will almost certainly be a sellout due to reduced capacity is what makes this particular money-spinner hilarious.
Well, you say that you're totally agreed, and then disagree with me!
I don't care how much Dundalk want to charge for their Euro game, but it's still not comparable to a friendly against a big English side. It's a different set of fans you're hitting. Dundalk are hitting their own loyal support; Pat's are hitting barstoolers.
If you don't mind paying thirty quid to see FC Riga, that's fine. But the comparison with Pat's v Chelsea doesn't stack up I think.
Dalymountrower
27/06/2019, 6:18 PM
I heard Chelsea gave some undertakings 're playing first team and squad players in both games and Bohs and Pats have had to give undertakings on playing their first 11's for at least one half or something similar. Not sure what impact that will have on Pats Euroopa league preps.
Anyway looks like Both homeclubs agreed on the pricing of tickets. Presumably Chelsea have to be paid so 30 euro fair enough.
ToberonaTornado
27/06/2019, 6:21 PM
EL h/t
Barry Town 0 Cliftonville 0
currently live on FB if anyone's interested.
https://www.facebook.com/sgorio
Ezeikial
27/06/2019, 6:28 PM
I don't care how much Dundalk want to charge for their Euro game, but it's still not comparable to a friendly against a big English side. It's a different set of fans you're hitting. Dundalk are hitting their own loyal support; Pat's are hitting barstoolers.
Have St Pats issued some sort of appeal to their own loyal support not to attend the Chelsea match?
27/06/2019, 6:34 PM
Team from Luxembourg struggling to break down the team of students too. 0-0 at half time between Progres and Cardiff Met. Winners play Cork.
Also live on Progres' facebook page.
patrickccfc
27/06/2019, 7:30 PM
Finished 1-0 to Progres. Both sides looked very poor by all accounts, I didn't get to watch it. Maybe we should be a bit more hopeful, but it's hard to have much confidence due to how poor we are.
joey B
27/06/2019, 7:55 PM
Ballymena 2 up in their game good for the new United Ireland Super league !
ToberonaTornado
27/06/2019, 8:08 PM
EL h/t
Barry Town 0 Cliftonville 0
currently live on FB if anyone's interested.
https://www.facebook.com/sgorio
FT 0-0
Hope no one linked to it.Truly awful match. :o
Barry Town fans have a bell(ala Pats- rang at random times throughout the match though and not excl for goals,and a fooking megaphone as well!!)
90mins of my life i'm .....etc
Kingswood Rover
27/06/2019, 8:19 PM
I do wonder how many first-team players Chelsea will field. I remember seeing Dundalk play a pre-season game against Chelsea in 2012. Only 4 of Chelsea’s starting eleven that day have made a first-team appearance, with only two of those (Nathan Aké and Ruben Loftus-Cheek) having made more than one.
who cares get the milking stools, grease them udders and when selling the tickets remind the barstoolers:act-up: that its a lot cheaper than flyin over to the bridge and payin in.
Ezeikial
27/06/2019, 8:46 PM
The incongruity or hypocrisy of some of the ticket price comments here are bordering on the hilarious.
Dundalk increase ticket prices for their Champions League QFR1 match and journos and fans of other clubs loose it with their level of faux umbrage, some pretending to be outraged over loyal Dundalk fans being "gouged" and "extorted". Loyal Dundalk fans meanwhile appear fairly sanguine about it.
Higher prices for a meaningless friendly against a UK brand attracts celebration over barstoolers getting "milked", completely ignoring the fact the loyal local fans will also have to pay the same figure if they want to support their team.
Does this mean that loyal St Pats or Bohs fans are also being "milked" or is it "gouging"?
El-Pietro
27/06/2019, 9:05 PM
You can gouge away, stay all day if you want to.
I find it amazing that anyone will pay €30 to watch the Chelsea youth / U21 team in Dublin, but there will be loads of takers. Madness
PartySaint
27/06/2019, 10:50 PM
The incongruity or hypocrisy of some of the ticket price comments here are bordering on the hilarious.
Dundalk increase ticket prices for their Champions League QFR1 match and journos and fans of other clubs loose it with their level of faux umbrage, some pretending to be outraged over loyal Dundalk fans being "gouged" and "extorted". Loyal Dundalk fans meanwhile appear fairly sanguine about it.
Higher prices for a meaningless friendly against a UK brand attracts celebration over barstoolers getting "milked", completely ignoring the fact the loyal local fans will also have to pay the same figure if they want to support their team.
Does this mean that loyal St Pats or Bohs fans are also being "milked" or is it "gouging"?
Most regulars won’t bother going, this is a chance for the club to make decent money off people who have never set foot in Richmond before and never will again.
As I’ve said already I would be really annoyed if Pats did the same for the EL game at reduced capacity.
Dundalk have clearly missed a trick though, you lads seem more happy the higher the ticket price goes, they could have got hundreds out of each of you.
EatYerGreens
27/06/2019, 11:01 PM
Agreed.
Any Irish person who is that desperate to watch Chelsea, of all clubs, should be financially rinsed for the 'pleasure'.
EatYerGreens
27/06/2019, 11:05 PM
Have St Pats issued some sort of appeal to their own loyal support not to attend the Chelsea match?
I think it's called 'taste' ?
EatYerGreens
27/06/2019, 11:07 PM
Ballymena 2 up in their game good for the new United Ireland Super league !
With European places/money being a big stumbling block to the AIL proposal, surely IL clubs doing appallingly in Europe would be best for the Lucid League ?
A N Mouse
27/06/2019, 11:40 PM
If Dundalk can fill the ground at 30€ a pop then fair play. But if you honestly think an increase of what 50%, 100%? on a league fixture isn't taking advantage then I got some beans to sell you.
Maybe its cos youse are flying in the league, that the captive audience is willing to bite the bullet on price. Maybe nobody takes a wife and two kids (over 12) to oriel. Maybe it'd be a different story if you hadn't got a few penalty shouts go your way and were still 13 points off the pace in the league. Who knows?
But this stuff has come back to bite a few clubs. Only last year, Derry could have easily filled the brandy, if the increase was only a fiver, but they had to bog the arm in and even season ticket holders baulked at paying that price.
Personally I'd recommend putting the 30€ towards getting to riga.
And yeah the friendly prices are gouging, and its rough on any genuine pats fan looking to go. But its a meaningless mid season friendly, and fair play to pats if they can fill the ground, but as a Dundalk fan you obviously understand supply v demand 🤓😛
ToberonaTornado
28/06/2019, 1:21 AM
If Dundalk can fill the ground at 30€ a pop then fair play. But if you honestly think an increase of what 50%, 100%? on a league fixture isn't taking advantage then I got some beans to sell you.
Maybe its cos youse are flying in the league, that the captive audience is willing to bite the bullet on price. Maybe nobody takes a wife and two kids (over 12) to oriel. Maybe it'd be a different story if you hadn't got a few penalty shouts go your way and were still 13 points off the pace in the league. Who knows?
But this stuff has come back to bite a few clubs. Only last year, Derry could have easily filled the brandy, if the increase was only a fiver, but they had to bog the arm in and even season ticket holders baulked at paying that price.
Personally I'd recommend putting the 30€ towards getting to riga.
And yeah the friendly prices are gouging, and its rough on any genuine pats fan looking to go. But its a meaningless mid season friendly, and fair play to pats if they can fill the ground, but as a Dundalk fan you obviously understand supply v demand 邏
€30 a pop for tickets for that game you reckon? :)
Dude.
€20 for the majority of the tickets.(€15 concession/€10 u-12)
Bottom of the poster A N Mouse.
Common mistake to make.
https://scontent.fdub4-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/64870124_2263394763715071_354944661506228224_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=104&_nc_oc=AQnj5zvl5iJlgDADHjtOGvqaBAXg4lBkIaUKuhqpsDk Muv0HGj9tJUg7SZIKMixjpa0&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub4-1.fna&oh=7e4bb6548f4f1dfe66a9364b4a73b12b&oe=5D85C331
Dalymountrower
28/06/2019, 6:59 AM
AN Mouse's analysis is spot on.
The defensiveness from Dundalk fans on a 50 % increase on what is already the most expensive stand in the league, is akin to blind loyalty to their corporate masters.
28/06/2019, 7:25 AM
You can gouge away, stay all day if you want to.
Some missy aggravation? Some marijuana if you want some?
Unpopular Dundalk fan opinion: I’m a season ticket holder in the stand. The 30 euro price was definitely greedy in my opinion on the clubs behalf. It’s been pointed out to me be fellow fans,things like reduced capacity etc. but this is no different to games v FH and Rosenberg in recent years. I have no problem paying the extra money,but there is a faction of the Dundalk fans now who can see no wrong in anything that the club is doing(for example the distribution of Cork away tickets last year to buddies etc).Dundalks operational costs are massive now,as is the European prize money. But please don’t try and tell me the extra 5er off a few fans in the stand was necessary. In all likelihood success in this competition will mean a more expensive day out in Tallaght,so rather than remind fans of how they are still saving money at 30 a ticket,it would have been better for the club to keep ticket price at €25 for this game,with a potential rise to €30 for Quarabag(still in oriel I believe)game if we advanced.
As I say this is just my opinion. I just can’t see any rational reason for the price hike,as compared to other seasons campaigns at same stage.