View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

17/07/2019, 3:15 PM
It's the birth of his child. Some things are more important than football.

Ezeikial
17/07/2019, 3:19 PM
God I know in this day and age its important for the father to be there but If that was a City player id be raging. How do Dundalk fans feel about it?

I imagine that there are mixed views about it. How the match goes tonight might influence how fans feel about it and the tone of the reactions.

For my part, I respect his decision but hope that we are not looking back with regret later

ArFella
17/07/2019, 3:21 PM
I think it probably depends on a fans personal view, I for one would want to be there for my own childs birth so I have no problem with him being there, however if you were of the Roy Keane "He isn't having the baby" mentality you might be upset about it. I'd be tempted to say it's a generational thing, I haven't seen much dissension on social media or from my mates but I have heard a few comments from auld lads in local pubs usually along the Roy Keane lines.

17/07/2019, 3:22 PM
It's the birth of his child. Some things are more important than football.
Funny, exactly the same position Collie O'Neill was in when we were heading to Dudelange.

But things like this are absolutely the player's choice. Fans have no right to be annoyed if someone misses a game of ball for the birth of their first kid.

Real ale Madrid
17/07/2019, 3:34 PM
Funny, exactly the same position Collie O'Neill was in when we were heading to Dudelange.

But things like this are absolutely the player's choice. Fans have no right to be annoyed if someone misses a game of ball for the birth of their first kid.

They've every right to be annoyed - they have no right to tell him they are annoyed.

Its a tough one alright. It's such a big game - personally I think his livelihood is important too and he has a responsibility to his teammates and his employers.

Having said that if I missed the birth of any of my kids the missus would literally never speak to me again so its a complex decision for anyone. :) No seriously I wanted to be there.

sbgawa
17/07/2019, 3:39 PM
I think it probably depends on a fans personal view, I for one would want to be there for my own childs birth so I have no problem with him being there, however if you were of the Roy Keane "He isn't having the baby" mentality you might be upset about it. I'd be tempted to say it's a generational thing, I haven't seen much dissension on social media or from my mates but I have heard a few comments from auld lads in local pubs usually along the Roy Keane lines.

Roys comment was "is he breastfeeding" as i remember it :)
Classic Roy

Ezeikial
17/07/2019, 3:44 PM
DUNDALK FC
Gary Rogers
Sean Gannon
Andy Boyle
Sean Hoare
Dane Massey
Chris Shields
Robbie Benson
John Mountney
Patrick McEleney
Jamie McGrath
Patrick Hoban

RathfarnhamHoop
17/07/2019, 3:57 PM

It's worth pointing out Roy Was actually talking about after the baby was born. Robbies wife had just had a kid so it's slightly different scenario. I'd say being there for the birth is more important than being there after.

17/07/2019, 4:00 PM
They've every right to be annoyed - they have no right to tell him they are annoyed.
Maybe - though at the risk of bringing the Conor Kearns thread in here as well, what the Conor Kearns thread has shown us is that fans really need to get a sense of perspective at times. (Not you necessarily! And this is far from being solely an LoI issue)

sbgawa
17/07/2019, 4:03 PM
It's worth pointing out Roy Was actually talking about after the baby was born. Robbies wife had just had a kid so it's slightly different scenario. I'd say being there for the birth is more important than being there after.

To be fair being there at the birth is a couple of hours (if your lucky) the after part lasts 50 or 60 years :)

D24Saint
17/07/2019, 4:06 PM
Good times in Norrköping, unrealistic predictions are being made.

17/07/2019, 4:09 PM
Ye reckon ye'll actually score (in a 3-1 defeat)? :p

D24Saint
17/07/2019, 4:38 PM
Ye reckon ye'll actually score (in a 3-1 defeat)? :p

Unfortunately it would involve putting that round yoke between those white stick type things. A foreign concept this season.

17/07/2019, 4:56 PM
Dundalk stream please

17/07/2019, 4:59 PM
http://cricfree.top/soccer/riga-fc-dundalk-cfrb63c1?l=1414105013

joey B
17/07/2019, 5:06 PM
Dundalk well on top,need a goal to show for it though...

17/07/2019, 5:08 PM
Unfortunately it would involve putting that round yoke between those white stick type things. A foreign concept this season.

Well you did say, unrealistic predictions :p

Dundalk doing pretty well here.

17/07/2019, 5:17 PM
Settled very well into the game, well in control, unlucky with the goalie pulling off a great save, more of the same please plus an early goal please for Dundalk

17/07/2019, 5:19 PM
Dundalk playing well, a bit like rovers lots of good football and passing but little end product. I'd fear for them if Riga score first as they are dealing with any set pieces fairly handy. Dundalk definitely the better side in the first half though. They dont look as incisive or expansive as they were under Kenny in Europe a lot of the forward play down narrow with space left across the other side to exploit. One or two sloppy/missed slide balls too that had they been better could have ended up in goal scoring chances. Still all to play for and enjoyable.

joey B
17/07/2019, 5:20 PM
Riga look a really limited side,if Dundalk don't win they'll be very disappointed....

EatYerGreens
17/07/2019, 5:42 PM
Someone needs to put a sniper on that Riga drummer. They're head-wreckingly loud :D

17/07/2019, 5:49 PM
Same as last week the crosses into the box havent been good enough.

17/07/2019, 5:49 PM
Offside. shame.

RathfarnhamHoop
17/07/2019, 6:01 PM
Think this game is calling out for the two Kelly's. Lack of pace is hamstringing Dundalk imo

Real ale Madrid
17/07/2019, 6:10 PM
McElheney - great talent but Jesus he'd drive you to drink.

Bohs11
17/07/2019, 6:16 PM
Hope Dundalk go through, but it's nice to see a strong ref in one of their games. Pity Kelly wasn't booked for the same thing against us earlier in the season.

17/07/2019, 6:16 PM
Riga have offered nothing over 180 mins. Back 4 solid but never properly tested. Dundalk will be feeling this is a big missed opportunity if they dont come through.

17/07/2019, 6:20 PM
Oh man that was rubbish, can we just go straight to penos...........

Ceirtlis
17/07/2019, 6:24 PM
Riga have offered nothing over 180 mins. Back 4 solid but never properly tested. Dundalk will be feeling this is a big missed opportunity if they dont come through.

Dundalk havent offered anymore than Riga though. They were on the backfoot for the last 20. Riga working the ball out to the left and cutting in much too easy since the lad Rakels came on.

Very disappointed with McElheney, you would be expecting some creativity from him but he loses it anytime in comes near him.

D24Saint
17/07/2019, 6:28 PM
Someone needs to put a sniper on that Riga drummer. They're head-wreckingly loud :D

that should reserved for all drummers and particularly bell ringers.

17/07/2019, 6:33 PM
Dundalk haven't had one header from a ball in so why keep doing the same thing again and again. They've no one capable of getting on the end of a high cross.

Agreed about offering little but Dundalk had 7 attempts in the first half Riga had 2!

17/07/2019, 6:53 PM
This ozols looks like a good shot stopper....

CorribsideSteve
Could this potentially be a first for LOI sides in a European tie where penalties decide the outcome?

This match has been unnecessarily uncomfortable. Dundalk should have won this, but now look likely to face a 50/50 lottery.

ger121
Riga down to 10

ger121
17/07/2019, 6:56 PM
Drogs lost a crazy shootout in the noughties against some Norwegian side

17/07/2019, 7:11 PM
This ozols looks like a good shot stopper....

Famous last words :rolleyes:

17/07/2019, 7:13 PM
Hoare looks confident.

Dalymountrower
17/07/2019, 7:14 PM
Brilliant.Well deserved.Top class performance

White Horse
Football, bloody hell!

Well done Dundalk over the two legs they deserved it, they went for it more and actually tried to play to score.

ger121
What a shootout. Thought they blew it with that miss to win it

17/07/2019, 7:15 PM
Stinker of a game but they got there.

CorribsideSteve
Full redemption for Sean Hoare and Gary Rogers after a poor games last year in Larnaka. Phew. That was too close for comfort.

Went for a long walk, just in for the penos, phew.....................should have had that wrapped up in 90 mins.............who are Dundalk playing next in the league, id say they will be well fecked?

marinobohs
17/07/2019, 7:16 PM
Jazus, that was mad stuff 😁 well done Dundalk, deserved it on the day. Probobly should have wrapped it up inside the 90 but all that matters is that they are through.

joey B
17/07/2019, 7:19 PM
Gary Rodgers earned his corn there!

SPXcyan
17/07/2019, 7:19 PM
Qarabag next.. ouch.

White Horse
17/07/2019, 7:20 PM
I've been watching Gary Rogers playing in goal for Dundalk for a few years and that is the first time I've seen him save a penalty.

Northsider
Well done Dundalk, fair play, great result for the league.

White Horse
Qarabag next.. ouch.

What is the beer like?