View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019
DFCForever
19/06/2019, 5:04 PM
I fancy us to beat Riga. Qarabag or Partizani will be a massive test, but we have the safety net of the Europa League if we don't get through that.
Another tie that caught my eye was Crusaders (potentially) facing Wolves. The one thing going in Crusaders' favour is Wolves' struggle at beating weaker teams. They may have beaten each of the Premier League's top 6 except City last season, but they also lost home and away to Huddersfield.
Pablo Escobar
19/06/2019, 5:50 PM
A lot of talk about Cork V Glasgow Rangers. It's not so long ago since Rangers were beaten by Progres Niederkorn in the EL, the Luxembourgian club that Cork (in all probability) will have to overcome in the 1st round.
I think people are just talking about the potential fixture. We're certainly not looking beyond Progres. I'd have them as favourites at this point, based solely on the fact that we can't win a game.
Up Norrkoping. Hammer the Junkie Rats.
Not bitter at all then :D
I'd love to see Cork v Rangers, what a perfect setting in TC, ideal if they could limit away fans to reduced numbers but demand will be very high and they wuill prob have to offer 10% or so of capacty so that would be the whole St Annes end.
Just a pity its not Cork 2017 or even up to mid season 2018 in action, that would be a right good test for Rangers, although they would still not expect to beat them over two legs.
St Anne's holds 2800. Away minimum for Europe will be about 600 tickets. Give them one section of St Anne's and have another section empty between them and our fans. Definitely wouldn't be giving them the whole stand!
Not a fan of the draw, would be way more hassle than it's worth.
But, also think we have very little chance of getting there so won't be worrying a while!
White Horse
19/06/2019, 9:56 PM
....at the same time I wouldn't want us to move the game either........I think that means that I want us to lose in the 1st round :D
I wouldn't let that shower near your own ground. Let them wreck the Aviva instead. Come to think of it, why not ask the GAH for their white elephant stadium in Cork. :)
Pablo Escobar
19/06/2019, 10:28 PM
I wouldn't let that shower near your own ground. Let them wreck the Aviva instead. Come to think of it, why not ask the GAH for their white elephant stadium in Cork. :)
There's more of a chance of us winning the Europa League outright than us being allowed to play there.....never mind Rangers.
21/06/2019, 3:27 PM
There's more of a chance of us winning the Europa League outright than us being allowed to play there.....never mind Rangers.
would ye not go to musgrave park like you did v bayern munich in 92?
El-Pietro
21/06/2019, 4:13 PM
would ye not go to musgrave park like you did v bayern munich in 92?
Musgrave Park has a smaller seated capacity than Turners Cross.
marinobohs
22/06/2019, 8:22 AM
You have to say, there would be something sweet about playing Rangers at the new bog ball stadium 😁
Play at the Cross and give them minimum tickets permitted. Up to AGS to sort out anything in/around the city.
D24Saint
22/06/2019, 11:28 AM
Good adventure planned into Amsterdam for a night, then to Norrkoping for a few days. Its hard to know how the tie will go , if the swedes handle our long ball style (sigh) then they should win handy but if we bore them to death with our tactics we have a chance, the first leg will reveal all.
22/06/2019, 11:41 AM
You have to say, there would be something sweet about playing Rangers at the new bog ball stadium
Play at the Cross and give them minimum tickets permitted. Up to AGS to sort out anything in/around the city.
Kinda reminds me of Keely having Shels play Gaelic football in Ibrox during their training session prior to their European game.
PartySaint
25/06/2019, 9:12 AM
Surprised there's been no mention of Dundalk charging €30 into Oriel Park for the Riga game.
Dundalk charging €30 into Oriel Park for the Riga game! ;)
ArFella
25/06/2019, 9:56 AM
Surprised there's been no mention of Dundalk charging €30 into Oriel Park for the Riga game.
Probably because the faux-outrage is only coming from journos and fans of other teams on social media moonlighting as SJW for us poor Dundalk fans who haven't a pot to p**s in. It's simple supply and demand, I would be shocked if it's not a complete sell-out and as long as the extra income is spent on the team you'd be hard pressed to find any real opposition from actual Dundalk fans.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 10:04 AM
Johnny Ward stuck his oar in, because he can't help himself. I love the 'especially given the ownership model' line... man shocked as Investment firm attempt to increase revenue.
https://twitter.com/Ui_Maine/status/1143112034797662210
D24Saint
25/06/2019, 10:05 AM
Don’t think complaining about being gouged would change your status of being a real or actual fan. It’s extortion for any club to charge that amount considering the facilities in the grounds.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 10:24 AM
Don’t think complaining about being gouged would change your status of being a real or actual fan. It’s extortion for any club to charge that amount considering the facilities in the grounds.
Gouged??? €30 to see 2 league champions battle in the most prestigious club competition in the continent? Ok Riga aren't the most glamorous opposition but would I rather pay €20 to watch Finn Harps kick our players for 90 minutes... nah. Wasn't that long ago we paid €10 to watch us toil against Monaghan, never thought I'd hear the Champions League music played at Oriel back then. If €10 is the price of success, here's my credit card.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 10:30 AM
The facilities are crap, no getting away from that, we have been failed by successive ownership on that front for decades, I don't have any strong hope for change from our capitalist overlords either. As I said earlier as long as the extra money from fans isn't being sucked out to an American bank account I've no problem paying a premium to maintain success, because when it all ends (as all good things must) I'd rather have great memories than an extra few tenners in my back pocket.
RathfarnhamHoop
25/06/2019, 10:47 AM
Gouged??? €30 to see 2 league champions battle in the most prestigious club competition in the continent?
Calm down, its the qualifiers not the actual competition.
Strange Treacy has been quiet about this considering he's constantly tried to bring himself across as a people's champion of sorts on twitter.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 10:59 AM
Calm down, its the qualifiers not the actual competition.
I am only exaggerating the prestige of a Round 1 qualifier as much as others are exaggerating the "extortion" of Dundalk fans, given some comments I've seen on social media you think the owners were auctioning the tickets to the highest bidders.
PartySaint
25/06/2019, 11:02 AM
If Dundalk fans are happy with a 50% increase in price then fair play to the club, they've made their fans happy.
sbgawa
25/06/2019, 11:25 AM
I'd happily pay €30 to watch Rovers in a 1st qualifying round match in the CL next season . :)
marinobohs
25/06/2019, 11:27 AM
I am only exaggerating the prestige of a Round 1 qualifier as much as others are exaggerating the "extortion" of Dundalk fans, given some comments I've seen on social media you think the owners were auctioning the tickets to the highest bidders.
Wouldn't be going to the game anyway myself so difficult to get upset over ticket pricing :p if Dundalk regulars feel its wrong to increase price then I think it will be very short term thinking by the club. if people who never/rarely go (and contribute little if anything to the club) are offended, well bah.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 11:28 AM
I'm not going to deny that there is/will be some dissent from Dundalk fans as there is from anyone in any field when there is a price increase involved, but I don't expect protesting or anything more than social media/pub grumblings.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 11:37 AM
I'd happily pay €30 to watch Rovers in a 1st qualifying round match in the CL next season . :)
Of course you would, and you likely wouldn't have to if you did qualify because you have the luxury of 8,000 paying customer whereas we will be restricted to 3,500. If they are still charging €30 if/when we are forced to relocate to Tallaght in the event of further progression, then I would be more understanding of the outrage as fans will have to travel over an hour to a home game, I would hope there is dispensation for that.
swinfordfc
25/06/2019, 11:38 AM
Johnny Ward stuck his oar in, because he can't help himself. I love the 'especially given the ownership model' line... man shocked as Investment firm attempt to increase revenue.
https://twitter.com/Ui_Maine/status/1143112034797662210
In fairest, who is Johnny Ward?
White Horse
25/06/2019, 11:45 AM
If Dundalk fans are happy with a 50% increase in price then fair play to the club, they've made their fans happy.
I'm happy to pay €5 more than last year to help fund an increased squad.
Most Dundalk fans live in the real world where no one gives you anything and you have to pay for what you want.
I note that fans of other clubs are more exercised about the increase than Dundalk fans.
25/06/2019, 11:46 AM
Wouldn't be a foot.ie without Johnny Ward!
ArFella
25/06/2019, 11:46 AM
Freelance journalist, LOI Weekly podcast host, horse racing "expert" and full-time ******ologist
ArFella
25/06/2019, 11:49 AM
What has this country become when the word Boll*x has to be censored on a public forum...
oriel
25/06/2019, 12:04 PM
Of course you would, and you likely wouldn't have to if you did qualify because you have the luxury of 8,000 paying customer whereas we will be restricted to 3,500. If they are still charging €30 if/when we are forced to relocate to Tallaght in the event of further progression, then I would be more understanding of the outrage as fans will have to travel over an hour to a home game, I would hope there is dispensation for that.
I think €30 just seems very expensive for the stand, it was €25 last time in the CL (2017), they should have left it at that. I`ll be one those complaining to mates etc, but of course I`ll be buying one for €30 as I go to the stand. On tickets overall to sell, it will be well below 3,500, almost sure there is only 3,200 seats and of that only 3k max will go on sale.
I can’t imagine too many from Riga coming over to pay that price in for admission.
D24Saint
25/06/2019, 12:39 PM
I think €30 just seems very expensive for the stand, it was €25 last time in the CL (2017), they should have left it at that. I`ll be one those complaining to mates etc, but of course I`ll be buying one for €30 as I go to the stand. On tickets overall to sell, it will be well below 3,500, almost sure there is only 3,200 seats and of that only 3k max will go on sale.
I can’t imagine too many from Riga coming over to pay that price in for admission.
Played over there twice , football isn’t one of their most popular sports. I’m not sure what kind of support Riga would have after starting up from the ashes of Skonto.
ArFella
25/06/2019, 1:17 PM
According to Transfermarkt.com they have an average attendance of 742 so unlike to have much/any travelling fans, maybe a few mildly interested Latvians in Dundalk or further afield that may come up for the game but you wouldn't imagine any great number at all.
PartySaint
25/06/2019, 1:29 PM
Most Dundalk fans live in the real world where no one gives you anything and you have to pay for what you want.
What a strange comment. Out of curiosity what would be the maximum you would pay into this game?
I'm not a Dundalk fan so I don't care how much you guys have to pay in to fund Boyles wages until the end of the season but I wouldn't be happy with Pats if they charged €30 into the main stand for a game
Ezeikial
25/06/2019, 1:41 PM
"gouged" and "extortion" are cracking descriptions for something that you don't care much about
Have you resorted to hyperbole from reading too much Johnny Ward drivel
€20 into the ground is grand; €30 into the stand is tasty (€25 would have been enough), but I'm delighted to be able to watch Champions League football in Oriel. I'd follow it up to €50 (and probably beyond if necessary)
vinnie
25/06/2019, 2:34 PM
Are there any price increases for Kids tickets? defo be a shot in the foot if kids tickets were too expensive, this would be a game all the kids want to be at.
D24Saint
25/06/2019, 2:35 PM
"gouged" and "extortion" are cracking descriptions for something that you don't care much about
Have you resorted to hyperbole from reading too much Johnny Ward drivel
€20 into the ground is grand; €30 into the stand is tasty (€25 would have been enough), but I'm delighted to be able to watch Champions League football in Oriel. I'd follow it up to €50 (and probably beyond if necessary)
Always find it bizarre when people take umbrage at topics being discussed and assertions being made on what essentialy is a talking shop.
Ezeikial
25/06/2019, 2:45 PM
Always find it bizarre when people take umbrage at topics being discussed and assertions being made on what essentialy is a talking shop.
I'm not offended in the slightest by the topic being discussed - why on earth did you think I was?
It's your choice of completely over the top hyperbole that I commented on.
Do you feel "gouged" or "extorted" or are you suggesting that this is how Dundalk fans should feel?
White Horse
25/06/2019, 3:14 PM
Are there any price increases for Kids tickets? defo be a shot in the foot if kids tickets were too expensive, this would be a game all the kids want to be at.
All juvenile tickets for the European tie are priced at €10, €5 more than league games.
El-Pietro
25/06/2019, 3:50 PM
I'd hate to see the LOI go down the path of using supply and demand to decide prices. Firstly we'd mostly be getting in for free or close to and our clubs would be bankrupt in a few months, but more importantly that's what has happened in the US and UK and it prices out the working class and you end up with a tv sport with very little atmosphere.
I realise we're miles away from that but its something to bear in mind. I think 30 euro is excessive, but Dundalk fans will have their own opinion. I think we were charged €20 for the games against Legia and Rosenborg last year which seemed fair to me. If Cork City tried to charge 30 (which would be a much larger jump) then there would have been uproar. Am I right in saying that this is a 50% increase from league games (for the stand)? That does seem a lot.
25/06/2019, 4:00 PM
imo €30 into champions league tie in oriel tie is excessive. I dread to think what the price of a programme,pint,food will cost that night!
joey B
25/06/2019, 4:18 PM
Will League of Ireland teams be exposed to Var in the qualifying rounds?
25/06/2019, 5:10 PM
imo €30 into champions league tie in oriel tie is excessive. I dread to think what the price of a programme,pint,food will cost that night!
The same as any other night
D24Saint
25/06/2019, 6:30 PM
Will League of Ireland teams be exposed to Var in the qualifying rounds?
I’d be shocked if it came in earlier than the playoff round if even that.
25/06/2019, 6:32 PM
I presume there's regulations as to how many cameras are required for VAR?
It's in for the play-off round this year (https://www.uefa.com/insideuefa/mediaservices/mediareleases/newsid=2573203.html), which is earlier than I'd expected.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/06/2019, 11:44 PM
Hopefully Dundalk get a full house. We thought the same a few years ago and went with too high a price and had a lot of empty seats.
re: VAR, it's been seen in recent season that only the playoff round forward is considered to be the Champions League proper. Even then I'm surprised it's in for the playoff round. Maybe the silly handball against Andy Boyle in the Legia game wouldn't have been given with VAR... ah who am I kidding, VAr is all about giving silly handballs!
oriel
26/06/2019, 12:30 PM
Hopefully Dundalk get a full house. We thought the same a few years ago and went with too high a price and had a lot of empty seats.
Tickets will sell out by early next week I`d imagine, there were queues outside Oriel Park this am for the walk in ticket sales for ST holders, and online facility for ST opened at 9am today also (very handy)
Remember there are only 3,200 seats, so thats the capacity for this, and the next round if we beat Riga, after that any games will have to be moved, Tallaght probably.
David BOHie
26/06/2019, 12:58 PM
Wouldn't be a foot.ie without Johnny Ward!
Why's that?
26/06/2019, 1:21 PM
Johnny Ward ran the predecessor forum back in the late 90s. Many of the original posters here were on there as well.