View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2019

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

sparky12345678
11/07/2019, 2:48 PM
Probably the main worry for Dundalk out of that has to be the next round.

Of course if Dundalk do beat Riga but lose to Qarabag, then there'd be another round in the EL. And Dundalk started off 2016 by scraping past FH on away goals before coming good against BATE.

But presumably thats the aim. They would be "seeded" for that 3rd QR agains similar/beatable level of opposition; teams which have lost against "seeded" teams but have a win under the belts.

Losing to Riga would suggest that their seeding is "inflated", that they shouldnt be seeded.
It really should be possible for a well organised Irish team to get to that 3rd QR and be within a decent shout of the playoff. The playoff requires a small miracle cos its against heavier hitters etc...

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 4:00 PM
Popesu really should have scored to make it 1-0 Riga, and then right at the end, the free kick missed by inches, hitting side net. On another night Dundalk could have been facing a 1 or 2-0 defeat, and there would be little to argue against it being justified. Dundalk certainly weren't the better team, and these Latvian sides are no washouts. Pats went out to Skonto a few years back, and were comfortably beaten 2-0 for example. Rogers had to make two great saves whereas their keeper almost nothing to do. A vast improvement is needed next week, or it's the EL route against a much better team than Riga. Its true that they struggled to get past FH a few years back on that golden journey, but then went from strength to strength, so I hold out hope that they can up it significantly if they really need to.

pateen
11/07/2019, 4:30 PM
Popesu looked good when he got on the ball, big n strong

pateen
11/07/2019, 4:36 PM
Any link for tonight's games lads?

Ezeikial
11/07/2019, 4:44 PM
If that was Riga at their best then Dundalk still have a decent chance but they need to have Shields fit.
Really surprised that Dundalk with their resources didn't seem to have a ready made replacement for Shields but there may be reasons for that ?

Jordan Flores injury, Sean Murray not fully fit and Stephen O'Donnell retirement are probably the combined reasons. Chris Shields was really badly missed when he was out for about 7 weeks earlier in the season. Maybe Dundalks most important player

11/07/2019, 4:46 PM
Skorlive.com?

Kingswood Rover
11/07/2019, 4:50 PM
that eir sport is a joke, i registered today and after the whole rigmaroll it gives me a message that my browser no longer supports silverlight eventhough i successfully downloaded it, got on to web chat support useless beyond words yer man asked me to ring customer support now on hold 45 mins aaarrrrrrggggghhhhh anyone have a fix please

D24Saint
11/07/2019, 4:51 PM

Eir is on the modbro app on Android.

D24Saint
11/07/2019, 4:53 PM
that eir sport is a joke, i registered today and after the whole rigmaroll it gives me a message that my browser no longer supports silverlight eventhough i successfully downloaded it, got on to web chat support useless beyond words yer man asked me to ring customer support now on hold 45 mins aaarrrrrrggggghhhhh anyone have a fix please

try a different browser , chrome or opera.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.fixyourbrowser.com/how-to/enable-silverlight-chrome-firefox-ie-safari/amp/

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 5:18 PM
I'm using Mobdro App for Eir.

SPXcyan
11/07/2019, 5:18 PM
That didn't take very long.

D24Saint
11/07/2019, 5:22 PM
Disgraceful what the Norwegians did , a whole stand empty and they stick the away fans in the corner.

ger121
11/07/2019, 5:27 PM
Rovers 1 down I see

D24Saint
11/07/2019, 5:34 PM
Thought at first it was a lovely header but OG

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 5:34 PM
Lopes! 1-1 Shamrock Rovers. Lovely delivery by Byrne. Edit. O.G.

D24Saint
11/07/2019, 5:35 PM
Stupid tackle

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 5:35 PM
Ah for God's sake.

Dalymountrower
11/07/2019, 5:38 PM
Brann not up to much, terrible defence and keeper but will score again.Reckon Rovers could beat them handy in Talight.Might even get one or two tonight.

ger121
11/07/2019, 5:41 PM
Brann well dodgy at the back

11/07/2019, 5:41 PM
Disgraceful what the Norwegians did , a whole stand empty and they stick the away fans in the corner.
I presume it's their normal away end. Why change their standard matchday setup in case the game has a lower crowd than usual?

ger121
11/07/2019, 5:47 PM
Couple of Latvian sides doing well at home. I’m sure Riga will be better next week too.

11/07/2019, 6:01 PM
Lot of results going badly for us. Think we're dropping below Luxembourg, Latvia, Bosnia and Armenia as it stands, down to 42nd. Not inconceivable we could be in Europa League pre-qualifying next season

Edit - actually, the preliminary round is for 49th and below. So no immediate danger of that

11/07/2019, 6:07 PM
Ballymena lasted 30 minutes in Malmo

20 minutes later it's 5-0

ger121
11/07/2019, 6:44 PM
I’d say Rovers won’t be too disappointed if it stays at 2-1

ToberonaTornado
11/07/2019, 6:54 PM
Brilliant result for Rovers and well deserved.Kept going right until the end when it would have been handier to sit-in and defend the away goal @ 2-1.

11/07/2019, 6:55 PM
Great stuff Rovers!!

ger121
11/07/2019, 6:56 PM
Dare I say it. Nothing to fear from Brann. Excellent result

11/07/2019, 6:56 PM
Cork losing...

ger121
11/07/2019, 6:57 PM
Jesus Cork

Straightstory
11/07/2019, 6:57 PM
Well done Rovers! Stuck at it. Second leg should be interesting..

RathfarnhamHoop
11/07/2019, 7:00 PM
Will definitely take that. Pico must be near the top of our goalscoring charts at this stage

In fear of hexing things, that's 2 draws from 2 games with real chances of progression. Rovers result obviously top of the heap. Pat's keep the tie alive for the second leg and it might not be so bad a year for the league. Cork should be getting a result too!

Recent chat about pitches that pitch in Inchicore looks in super nick!

Ezeikial
Excellent performance and result from Bradsers Boys. I might even go along to cheer on the hoops in the return leg

redarmyfaction
11/07/2019, 7:01 PM
Poor old Cork. Richmond looks well.

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 7:02 PM
Great result for Shamrock Rovers!!

Kingswood Rover
11/07/2019, 7:03 PM
Great performance, should of won really poor Aarron Greene hsi head must be fried how the **** did he not pot that chance before been u boated.

joey B
11/07/2019, 7:08 PM
Ah Cork.....

11/07/2019, 7:08 PM
Cork 2-0 down now

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 7:09 PM
Missed last 20 mins of Rovers game unfortunately. Twitter down at moment fort some reason so didn't see a highlight of the equaliser. All in good time though. Cork predictably poor so far.

11/07/2019, 7:10 PM
Pats struggling so far, though a long way to go yet.

Could be two draws - same points as a win and three losses, which I think many were predicting

patrickccfc
11/07/2019, 7:13 PM
Cant believe what I'm watching. 2 down and a missed penalty

MattB11
11/07/2019, 7:15 PM
Well done Rovers and oh dear Cork

11/07/2019, 7:21 PM
Harry Kenny has obviously been setting Pat's up with Europe in mind. Maybe there was a method to his dross in the league for Pat's fans with little faith in Agent Kenny!! ;)

11/07/2019, 7:29 PM
Pats struggling so far, though a long way to go yet.

Could be two draws - same points as a win and three losses, which I think many were predicting

I didnt think they are, getting at them and creating a couple of chances. You put a hand on the back when challenging for a ball ye see given as a peno. It would have been soft though. Well worked free for the Drennan chance. Ye get the feeling IFK could go up a gear though. Drennan will be booked if he doesnt stop reffing the game!

ffs Cork...

11/07/2019, 7:32 PM
First 15/20, Norrkoping were comfortably the better side, but they've not kicked on at all and Pats are getting to grips with them. I still think Norrkoping are the better side, but it's more even more than earlier alright

D24Saint
11/07/2019, 7:34 PM
Take that at HT. There are the better side but reckon our style in giving them grief. Like most continental sides they want you to engage them in a game of football and take a hiding.

11/07/2019, 7:44 PM
Rovers were impressive throughout. Though I switched over late on to watch a penalty shoot out at ACON and misssed the equaliser. I had no faith to begin with that Rovers would get an equaliser, therefore I was not losing any faith in them.

CorribsideSteve
11/07/2019, 7:50 PM
Europa of Gibraltar holding Legia 0-0 after 60 mins ...

ger121
11/07/2019, 7:52 PM
Europa of Gibraltar holding Legia 0-0 after 60 mins ...

Yeah but do they have a player that can....

ger121
11/07/2019, 7:56 PM
Another win for a Latvian side away to Olimpija Ljubljana. 95th minute winner. Bit of a crazy end to the game.