View Full Version : The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players
On 'Payables Overdue':
No payables overdue towards football clubs arising from transfer activities
The licence applicant must prove that it has no payables overdue towards football clubs arising from transfer activities as at 30 November of the year preceding the season to be licensed, unless by the following 31 January they have been fully settled, deferred by mutual agreement with the creditor or are subject to a not obviously unfounded dispute submitted to a competent authority.
brianw82
30/09/2009, 10:52 PM
31 January Extended Deadline for League of Ireland clubs to submit financial documentation if not already received by submission date.
The fact that there is already an 'extended deadline' set out really says a lot.
eamo1
30/09/2009, 10:56 PM
Ah,THERES the big fudge i was expecting with the extended deadline.Tastes as good as i thought it would,only Frank and Irene(btw,it stuck Pineapple Stu) can make fudge this good:rolleyes:.
30/09/2009, 10:58 PM
we should be more like the north in respect that if your late your out ala portadown last season getting relegated for applying a half an hour late
SMorgan
05/10/2009, 6:32 AM
Derry City appear not to know where the next cent or penny is coming from.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/derry-star-lashes-cash-shambles-1904115.html
05/10/2009, 8:14 AM
No surprise Morgan,
Educated guesses up here suggest not if the Dungannon case will go against us, but how much it will cost us......
SeanDrog
05/10/2009, 8:18 AM
Players have mortgages and families, how can they be expected to go wihout their wages (I aim this at all clubs) - is it an idea for the FAI set up some form of hardship fund for players in general - its not the players fault that the clubs get themselves into these positions - there is a real and human elemet that has to be addressed.?
05/10/2009, 8:40 AM
We discussed a strike but in this climate we know we wouldn't get the support of the fans.
Shocking to think the players wouldn't get support of the fans if below is to be believed
on November 10 we'll be due 10 weeks' wages, but we know for a fact it won't come
That's a hell of alot of money, couple that with Dungannons demands and it's looking extremely bleak in Derry.
05/10/2009, 12:38 PM
Ah,
Nothing to see here. A board member has posted to say the story is inaccurate, so we all believe it:rolleyes:
05/10/2009, 12:42 PM
Is that lad really a board member?
You're in bigger trouble than I thought if so. :eek:
05/10/2009, 12:47 PM
Yup, he is a board member. He made completely untrue allegations about me under a previous username and was "outed".
We aren't in trouble. The board says we are grand, so we are grand. Don't you get it..........
Y.E Nov 08 accounts have yet to be filed and are now overdue.
harps1954
05/10/2009, 12:56 PM
Naw,
We aren't in trouble. The board says we are grand, so we are grand. Don't you get it..........
Y.E Nov 08 accounts have yet to be filed and are now overdue.
In relation to the accounts. I thought the FAI were supposed to have accounts for YE November 2008 by January 2009. How did you manage to get a licence if this was the case?
Not having a go by the way, just wondering. It seems that as many of Derry Board have their heads in the sands just as some members of the Harps Board had last season.
05/10/2009, 1:02 PM
Harps 1954-
The short answer is I don't know, our board like yours isn't big on answers or indeed answering questions.
Perhaps we do have accounts to that date which were submitted to the FAI, but we haven't submitted them to Companies House yet? Or perhaps wth the different Y.E etc, we have some "arrangement" with the FAI. Nothing would surprise me.
We were promised at the last AGM that there would be an AGM called in early 2009 so that there could be a discussion of more up to date figures. We're still waiting on that......
Yeah, I thought the same when I got abuse for daring to say that Derry would owe Dungannon money
dcfc_1928
05/10/2009, 1:19 PM
He sure is.
He also has a penchant for signing onto the forum under different pseudonyms and criticising individual supporters (mainly MariborKev).
Holy crap. Derry really are in a world of hurt.
How the F did Derry get any type of licence if they didnt and still dont have last year's accounts filed????How are they allowed play in the league,Setanta Cup and Europe,its total BS:mad:.
05/10/2009, 2:33 PM
How the F did Derry get any type of licence if they didnt and still dont have last year's accounts filed????How are they allowed play in the league,Setanta Cup and Europe,its total BS:mad:.
The FAI doesn't get those accounts from the CRO (or its British equivalent in Derry's case). We have nothing here to show the FAI didn't receive accounts from Derry last winter. There are certainly questions here, but the usual badly punctuated, angry post isn't a sensible response.
05/10/2009, 3:03 PM
We have nothing here to show the FAI didn't receive accounts from Derry last winter.
That's right. We haven't.
*Suspicious glance*
05/10/2009, 3:54 PM
Ah,
Nothing to see here. A board member has posted to say the story is inaccurate, so we all believe it:rolleyes:
OVtinv5LSnE
05/10/2009, 4:24 PM
http://www.derrycityfc.net/cityweb/Latest/statement-from-club.html
To be fair, clear statement by the board on that one.
Much better than posting on a message board.
05/10/2009, 9:59 PM
I'd say Derry fans must be kind of sick of Celtic/Celtic XI at this stage. What are the ticket prices like?
05/10/2009, 10:08 PM
I'd say Derry fans must be kind of sick of Celtic/Celtic XI at this stage. What are the ticket prices like?
if they dont want the match i'm sure wed love it we here in longford have a proud tradition of barstoolers our celtic supporters club would get a big gate!:D
On a serious note i am getting a little woried for derry they could really do with the locals rallying around the club and filling the stadium for every home game for the rest of the season
gufcfan
06/10/2009, 5:06 AM
Where does the 3 weeks of deferred wages come from at the end of the season when there are no gates?
06/10/2009, 9:40 AM
Where does the 3 weeks of deferred wages come from at the end of the season when there are no gates?
prize money? next years sponsorship n mabye season ticket sales?
Steve Bruce
06/10/2009, 9:50 AM
prize money? next years sponsorship n mabye season ticket sales?
Have they not already sold a large chunk of their season tickets for next season?
06/10/2009, 3:27 PM
Yes,
SB is correct.
06/10/2009, 4:24 PM
Yes,
SB is correct.
I know we've sold some, but a large chunk of next year's season tickets ? :confused:
How many advance ST's did we sell ?
(Problem is, we don't know how many we'll sell for next year, so have no idea of how big a chunk the advance sales are :))
06/10/2009, 5:25 PM
Steve, as you say it is guesswork. However I would reckon between 20-25%
corkharps
06/10/2009, 7:32 PM
How can a club that can't pay wages, charter a flight to Cork tonight?:confused:
06/10/2009, 8:00 PM
CH,
Scheduled flight from Belfast.
06/10/2009, 8:02 PM
CH,
Scheduled flight from Belfast.
So the club paid for a bus to Belfast as well as a chartered flight to Cork? :eek:
06/10/2009, 8:08 PM
SH,
It is an Aer Aran flight.
Normally they will bus it to the airport, players will fly down, bus will drive down with the gear. Players stay over, play the game, get on the bus and drive home.
06/10/2009, 8:15 PM
SH,
It is an Aer Aran flight.
Normally they will bus it to the airport, players will fly down, bus will drive down with the gear. Players stay over, play the game, get on the bus and drive home.
Do they hire call girls for the lads to unwind after the games too?
06/10/2009, 11:11 PM
So the club paid for a bus to Belfast as well as a chartered flight to Cork? :eek:
I'm not sure how the diametrically opposed words 'scheduled' and 'chartered' managed to morph into one for you there SH......
06/10/2009, 11:50 PM
It's a Donegal thing Steve.
Similiar to the words "roundabout" and "traffic light" which induce the same reaction in drivers from the county, complete panic.
We lost, so the flight made no difference. Interestingly we'd a 100% record from when we stopped doing overnights, we stayed over in Cork and we lost.
07/10/2009, 9:22 AM
It's a Donegal thing Steve.
Similiar to the words "roundabout" and "traffic light" which induce the same reaction in drivers from the county, complete panic.
We lost, so the flight made no difference. Interestingly we'd a 100% record from when we stopped doing overnights, we stayed over in Cork and we lost.
Roundabout?
Traffic Lights?
What are these weird and magical words you speak of oh wise City boy :)
07/10/2009, 10:10 AM
Dungannon case is listed for tomorrow.
07/10/2009, 10:27 AM
What's the possible outcomes?
07/10/2009, 10:30 AM
I dunno what our defence is, so I dunno what a "win" would be. Possibly that we owe DS nothing?
A loss would the % of the McGinn deal plus costs.
EalingGreen
07/10/2009, 11:22 AM
Am I right in thinking that if DCFC don't finish 3rd, they won't qualify for Europe next season? How do their remaining fixtures compare with Cork's?
Or are Cork still capable of being relegated/wound up/unlicenced etc, thereby "saving" Derry?
Anyhow I imagine no European football at the Brandywell next season would be a further blow to DCFC's morale and motivation at least (if maybe not that much in purely financial terms?)
07/10/2009, 11:46 AM
Top three and the Cup winners get into Europe.
Cork being wound up would lead to them not being in Europe. But really, the place could travel quite a distance if we start looking at financial problems.
07/10/2009, 3:59 PM
you might have sligo dundalk and the drogs in europe next year!
08/10/2009, 2:34 PM
McGinn case was settled out of court, City also have to pay costs.......
Result? Dungannon 1 Derry City 0.
Well done our board......
dcfc_1928
08/10/2009, 2:57 PM
I'm disgusted at how our club handled this whole thing.
Fair play to Dungannon Swifts for taking this to the courts.
It really does seem strange to have allowed this to go as far as it did and to incur what must be significant extra costs.
passerrby
08/10/2009, 3:16 PM
hard part over now all they have to do is get the money
08/10/2009, 3:16 PM
So much for our bullet-proof legal team and legal position on this..
brianw82
08/10/2009, 3:19 PM
So much for our bullet-proof legal team and legal position on this..
http://www.bobpitch.com/anon/LionelHutz.jpg
belfastred
08/10/2009, 3:47 PM
Derry should revert to past-time status and rejoin the Irish League :)
They would probably get slightly smaller gate receipts but the costs in playing staff and travel etc would be greatly reduced.