View Full Version : The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players
22/11/2009, 6:59 PM
Wellvan Enterprises, trading as DCFC, is now in Administration.
As for the crest, I suspect there'll be strong fan pressure to change it as most didn't like our current crest anyway.
However - that is unconnected to the change in legal entity. A chunk of fans have been pushing for a new crest for years now.
I asked this before but presumably it's in administration with a view to winding it up rather than a rescue plan being put together?.
Doomofman
22/11/2009, 7:14 PM
I asked this before but presumably it's in administration with a view to winding it up rather than a rescue plan being put together?.
You would imagine if a new company has been set up they're expecting the first one to be wound up.
Mr_Parker
22/11/2009, 7:26 PM
What did it say? When was it signed? Did it refer to the McGinn transfer contract?
Signed with invisible ink on rice paper that was subsequently eaten by those involved.
Ergo - any proof of such a contract has turned to sh!t.
Don't worry your cotton socks. Those that need that information already have all. http://www.irishleaguesupporters.com/forums/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif
It seems DCFC's status is Mr Parker's new play thing/obsession, to add to his ILSF obsession over how old his club is versus Limavady United..... :p Don't flatter yourselves.:cool:
Celdrog
22/11/2009, 8:43 PM
OK - I'm not trying to wind anyone up, just a bit curious
But am I reading this right?
Wellvan are essentially gone. A new company has been formed with the name Derry City and this is the team that will go into division 1 next season.
If its a brand new entity (albeit with a similar name) will dispensation be required from FIFA for this brand new company to ply their trade in a different country? The political climate has changed dramatically in the last 20odd years.
If, however the FAI feel they can transfer the existing licence to the new Derry, then surely it can be done with Foras, but why not Limerick 37?
Could it get messy and Delaney's plan not be a certainty? I don't think the FAI would be looked upon too kindly by FIFA at the moment
Wellvan are essentially gone. A new company has been formed with the name Derry City and this is the team that will go into division 1 next season.
If its a brand new entity (albeit with a similar name) will dispensation be required from FIFA for this brand new company to ply their trade in a different country? The political climate has changed dramatically in the last 20odd years.
If, however the FAI feel they can transfer the existing licence to the new Derry, then surely it can be done with Foras, but why not Limerick 37?
Could it get messy and Delaney's plan not be a certainty? I don't think the FAI would be looked upon too kindly by FIFA at the moment
Then again they could agree to dispensation to soften the blow of the WCQ match
22/11/2009, 9:33 PM
Celdrog,
The new trading company will have two options
1. Contact the administrator and purchase the member name "Derry City FC", which is the member club of the FAI. If this is the case the new club will be able to apply for a licence, and hope to gain a licence. Licence Transfer is not an option
2. If 1 is unsuccessful then the trading company would have to establish a new club and seek a new dispensation etc.
Candystripe
23/11/2009, 12:59 AM
Signed with invisible ink on rice paper that was subsequently eaten by those involved.
Ergo - any proof of such a contract has turned to sh!t.
Don't worry your cotton socks. Those that need that information already have all. http://www.irishleaguesupporters.com/forums/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif
:
Are you saying that Derry City agreed the two friendlies with Celtic for Paddy Mc Court as part of the transfer in july '08 and decided to fund there expense as well?
Why in under feck would Derry agree to that? Granted our board may not have been the brightest sparks but...................this seems a bit strange to say the least!
Why did we not pay the hotel expenses for the 1st friendly with them last year but then change the terms of the transfer deal so WE would lose out.
Crazy!: :confused:
23/11/2009, 2:25 AM
Are you saying that Derry City agreed the two friendlies with Celtic for Paddy Mc Court as part of the transfer in july '08 and decided to fund there expense as well?
Why in under feck would Derry agree to that? Granted our board may not have been the brightest sparks but...................this seems a bit strange to say the least!
Why did we not pay the hotel expenses for the 1st friendly with them last year but then change the terms of the transfer deal so WE would lose out.
That's because he's talking out of his hoop CS.
Mr_Parker
23/11/2009, 9:54 PM
What was agreed with Celtic is one thing, what was agreed with Cliftonville is another.
That's because he's talking out of his hoop CS.
I'm sure the administrator, the IFA and FAI will confirm.
24/11/2009, 9:20 AM
Mr Parker - the thread was reopened with the express rule that the association membership issue be ignored. That's twice you've tried to steer it onto that ground. I've deleted your posts on the matter; don't do it again. We've already seen the drivel that lies down that road.
24/11/2009, 9:30 AM
Celdrog,
The new trading company will have two options
1. Contact the administrator and purchase the member name "Derry City FC", which is the member club of the FAI. If this is the case the new club will be able to apply for a licence, and hope to gain a licence. Licence Transfer is not an option
2. If 1 is unsuccessful then the trading company would have to establish a new club and seek a new dispensation etc.
1. You can purchase the Trading name Derry City FC [I think it was Wellvan t/a Derry Cty FC] but bow can you buy membership of the FAI? I assume the intention of this is to bypass the 3 years FAI affiliation that a new club would need, but I don't see how specifically the 'member name' is a tradable commodity by the liquidator since you don't 'own' the membership, the FAI do, and since they've broken the contract with you, how could it possibly be traded..
By the way, Licence transfer IS an option if you were willing to take on Wellvan's debts. If it really is 80% directors loans and the directors we're willing to write those off, you'd have a much more manageable bill. Though I guess the issue there is that the participation contract has been torn up and that if you took over the existing club and it was liquidated you're out of Europe for three years?
Mr_Parker
24/11/2009, 9:36 AM
Mr Parker - the thread was reopened with the express rule that the association membership issue be ignored. That's twice you've tried to steer it onto that ground. I've deleted your posts on the matter; don't do it again. We've already seen the drivel that lies down that road.
Sorry I had missed that part. Seems strange to do so when is is an essential element of this discussion. Where should we discuss that issue?
24/11/2009, 9:42 AM
Sorry I had missed that part. Seems strange to do so when is is an essential element of this discussion. Where should we discuss that issue?
IL Forums.
24/11/2009, 9:57 AM
Look at the nonsense the thread descended into when it was being discussed. That's why it's being left out. You're free to take up ORA's suggestion if you like.
Riddickcule
24/11/2009, 5:15 PM
Wellvan Enterprises, trading as DCFC, is now in Administration.
That was quick. :D
24/11/2009, 5:27 PM
That was quick. :DIts not that hard to register a new company...
Riddickcule
24/11/2009, 5:33 PM
Its not that hard to register a new company...
Do you not get the joke man...
Mr_Parker
27/11/2009, 10:26 AM
Derry City stars can go free (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/derry-city-stars-can-go-free-14577967.html)
Mr_Parker
27/11/2009, 10:29 AM
The Derry City scandal (http://www.thesun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/2746354/The-Derry-City-scandal.html)
27/11/2009, 10:30 AM
Why the FAI thought they could withhold the registrations of a bunch of players who hadn't been paid in months is beyond me.
Its clear as day, to me at least, the players share an amount of blame in the whole thing, but you can't wilfully keep people out of employment without affording them due process.
27/11/2009, 6:14 PM
that interview with tam mcmanus I believe is the first comment from an ex Derry city player since the story broke.. It was shocking reading what he said of what happened.. more fool Stephen Kenny for stayin.. is he not better off startin afresh elsewhere like what Alan Matthews did after we got relegated?
27/11/2009, 7:43 PM
that interview with tam mcmanus I believe is the first comment from an ex Derry city player since the story broke.. It was shocking reading what he said of what happened.. more fool Stephen Kenny for stayin.. is he not better off startin afresh elsewhere like what Alan Matthews did after we got relegated?Bear in mind it was in the Sun.
Not exactly Pullitzer-winning stuff at the best of times.
30/11/2009, 11:16 AM
Bear in mind it was in the Sun.
Not exactly Pullitzer-winning stuff at the best of times.
In fairness, it is quite decent for write ups on the LoI.
30/11/2009, 12:01 PM
Of course you can. The Financial Regulator can order a bank to suspend a memeber of staff pending an investigation.
There are loads of examples of people being restricted from working while they are investigated for wrongdoing if you want to find them.
Not without being paid.
30/11/2009, 12:56 PM
In fairness, it is quite decent for write ups on the LoI.
Who - The Scottish Sun......?
30/11/2009, 2:29 PM
People get suspended without pay pending an investigation into wrongdoing all the time.There was no investigation ongoing. The investigation finished when the players met with the FAI the week following Derry's expulsion.
Yet their registrations were still being withheld, meaning they couldn't take up employment elsewhere.
And btw, people don't often get suspended without pay whilst there is an investigation ongoing.
Will this 'new' Derry City be playing in the Setanta Cup?
Riddickcule
30/11/2009, 3:58 PM
Will the new "Derry City" be playing in europe?
30/11/2009, 4:01 PM
shure they were expelled from the league and this is technically :) a different club so the answer to both questions is no. in the setanta the teams they played shold be given 3-0 wins or have results annules and they wont be in europe. just common sence really lads :D
Will this 'new' Derry City be playing in the Setanta Cup?
Hard to see how they could. They look likely to be a 'new' club after all so there'd be no logic to them retaining the place. Would they even be that arsed? I doubt it.
Hell no. Apart from anything else, the new club can't provide 3 years worth of accounts. Plus they've been thrown out of the league for cheating. It'd be a bit mental to then let them represent the league in Europe!
Candystripe
30/11/2009, 4:03 PM
Didn't qualify so it doesn't really matter. :confused:
Yeah, but what's the odds of Cork making it that far?
Candystripe
30/11/2009, 4:10 PM
Derry City will be operating at 50% of the budget used last year.
The steering comittee are basing this in a fall of attendances of 1,300 average for the season.
With games against Harps and Shels I would say that is a very realistic figure and should even be well above that if Derry are competing at the top of the league.
I havn't checked but would that be well above the average for the 1st div since Rvrs were in it?
30/11/2009, 4:26 PM
The steering comittee are basing this in a fall of attendances of 1,300 average for the season.
With games against Harps and Shels I would say that is a very realistic figure and should even be well above that if Derry are competing at the top of the league.
I havn't checked but would that be well above the average for the 1st div since Rvrs were in it?
probably double the avrg attendance and atleast 5 times bigger than ours :(
GalwayRed
30/11/2009, 4:27 PM
Half of last years budget? So if you get into the first division you should walk it.
Kildareman
30/11/2009, 4:54 PM
Is that 50% of the 'official' budget or is it 50% of the actual budget?.......:D
30/11/2009, 5:24 PM
Does anyone know what the budget was this year?
If our budget was £Stupid this year, and it's now half £Stupid, that could well leave it at £Silly.
30/11/2009, 5:28 PM
Does anyone know what the budget was this year?
100 million billion trillion euro? :)
30/11/2009, 5:31 PM
So the crowds halve and the budget halves? Given the losses they had last year - and I know gates aren't even the majority of budgets - does that not sound a bit ambitious?
30/11/2009, 5:33 PM
So the crowds halve and the budget halves? Given the losses they had last year - and I know gates aren't even the majority of budgets - does that not sound a bit ambitious?
if succesfull they could well have 2.000 and above at games next year thou so seems reasonable
30/11/2009, 5:42 PM
You don't budget on that basis though. That's why half the teams in the league are banjaxed.
fionnsci
30/11/2009, 5:42 PM
Just out of curiosity, would Castlebar, Tralee etc. have a right to be annoyed at this new Derry skipping the queue? How do the FAI plan to get around this?
30/11/2009, 5:48 PM
if succesfull they could well have 2.000 and above at games next year thou so seems reasonable
Welcome to foot.ie Tom No Bobs.
Class the way everyone is talking about our budget when most don't have a clue. I know how the Bohs fans feel.
GalwayRed
30/11/2009, 6:15 PM
Class the way everyone is talking about our budget when most don't have a clue. I know how the Bohs fans feel.
It was one of your own fans that speculated on what your budget would be. People were obviously going to talk about it.
30/11/2009, 6:19 PM
You don't budget on that basis though. That's why half the teams in the league are banjaxed.
well seemingly its totaly logical to assume there doing that so :)
30/11/2009, 6:20 PM
probably should have put a smiley at the end of my message sometimes i just wish people could be mindreaders to avoid miscommunication........
and by our you mean the new Derry city i'd assume your a fan of them too so? :)
Candystripe
01/12/2009, 10:01 AM
It was one of your own fans that speculated on what your budget would be. People were obviously going to talk about it.
Although I posted that, it wasn't me who actually speculated it,but the head of the steering committee in a radio interview on saturday.
But IMHO it still seems a bit on the high side although if "rumours" that I've heard about what some players are being offered if they sign to play for us then we will be paying well........ well below that 50% of last years budget.
About the 1,300 avg att, hopefully we should get around about that,but if we're not competing near the top I can see it falling way below the 1k mark.
Plus we also have the fans who have already bought season tickets of Wellvan and that could cause some uproar pocally unless something is done to please them.
BTW like quite a few Derry fans on here I didn't buy one as I thought it was a stupid way of raising money.
01/12/2009, 10:04 AM
I'd say even last years Board, never mind the fans, still don't know what last years costs were (let not even use the word budget as that implies a level of foresight and planning that simply wasn't there). Remember that when asked what the total debt was at the "stakeholder meeting" the figure went up £100k in the space of two minutes.
Therefore how on earth can something definitively be 50% of a number that nobody knows?:confused:
01/12/2009, 10:21 AM
Therefore how on earth can something definitively be 50% of a number that nobody knows?:confused:
Exactly.
01/12/2009, 11:19 AM
I'd say even last years Board, never mind the fans, still don't know what last years costs were (let not even use the word budget as that implies a level of foresight and planning that simply wasn't there). Remember that when asked what the total debt was at the "stakeholder meeting" the figure went up £100k in the space of two minutes.
Sure why not set 2 budgets, just to be safe? ;)