View Full Version : The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42

Umberside
28/08/2009, 5:15 PM
(Rovers will be next for the climb and then the inevitable fall)

Being a Bohs fan that's hardly surprising, though there's some sense in it all right. Why did they sing Chisholm, Mannus and Sullivan when in reality they needed none of them?

A big adavatage of Rovers' is a new, shiny stadium and a huge fanbase and hopefully they won't go down the same route as the rest of us, though it's so tempting... :)

28/08/2009, 5:18 PM
Being a Bohs fan that's hardly surprising, though there's some sense in it all right. Why did they sing Chisholm, Mannus and Sullivan when in reality they needed none of them?

rivalry aside, thats why i said it. Plus the Barrett signing which i think is outrageous. Didnt come on cheap wages, couldnt get a game at Falkirk, 21 goals in 11 years. Signing Mannus when they already have the second best keeper in the league is a strange one too.

Anyway, i dont want the thread to get sidetracked.

28/08/2009, 5:20 PM
I agree that the licencing system is obviously having some positive impact, even if it has not yet sufficiently moderated the "win or bust" model.

IMO it is even more imperative now that the FAI fully implement the current rules (65% rule, tax complaince, player wage fulfillment etc) without fear or favour. Indeed there is a strong argument for the next step of tighter and further regulation to follow full implementation.

Any fudge on implementation by the FAI will completely shatter any integrity that exists regarding regulation.

i tend to agree actually Ezeikial with the added statement that as well as ensuring proportionate punishment for non-compliant clubs there is also an obligation on the FAI to make this league attractive to investors which they have utterly failed to realise.

galwayjames
28/08/2009, 5:24 PM
i tend to agree actually Ezeikial with the added statement that as well as ensuring proportionate punishment for non-compliant clubs there is also an obligation on the FAI to make this league attractive to investors which they have utterly failed to realise.

I think the league is very attractive to investors.

Umberside
28/08/2009, 5:26 PM

What happened to the UK consortium that were going to buy Galway anyway? :confused:

brianw82
28/08/2009, 5:37 PM

By that, I hope you don't mean sugar daddies like Arkaga and Vincent Hoey & Friends.

Ezeikial
28/08/2009, 5:44 PM
......there is also an obligation on the FAI to make this league attractive to investors which they have utterly failed to realise.

While the league continues to attract such a medicore audience -10,000 average live attendance in premier division; lukewarm viewership of MSN - there is little of commercial interest to investors.

The moderate to poor print media coverage, the much complained about disinterest of RTE News and Sport, and the cursory coverage from the various radio stations is a very graphic illustration of this. The marketability and image of the league continues its headlong race downward as the media report the successive financial follies.

As regards attracting investors to individual clubs, apart from the responsibility not being the exclusive preserve of the FAI, capital investment is unlikely to happen while the clubs remain a collective financial basketcase, and prospect of financial returns are way lower then spinning a loaded roulette wheel.

Clubs (which should include their respective fans) must take the primary responsibilty for these problems and the solutions.

28/08/2009, 5:45 PM
By that, I hope you don't mean sugar daddies like Arkaga and Vincent Hoey & Friends.

no and no Coughlans either!

there are checks and balances in other jurisdictions that can be applied here and the Govt. should also be lobbied to introduce tax incentives to investors meeting laid out criteria and contractual assurances. Its about time the Government did something for football in this country.

Umberside
28/08/2009, 5:45 PM
While the league continues to attract such a medicore audience -10,000 average live attendance in premier division

When was the last time there was 10,000 at a League of Ireland match?

Ezeikial
28/08/2009, 5:48 PM

Don't know. But if the average attendance is 2,050 in the premier and theres 5 matches each week, the weekly audience is about 10,000 in total.

28/08/2009, 5:48 PM
While the league continues to attract such a medicore audience -10,000 average live attendance in premier division; lukewarm viewership of MSN - there is little of commercial interest to investors.

The moderate to poor print media coverage, the much complained about disinterest of RTE News and Sport, and the cursory coverage from the various radio stations is a very graphic illustration of this. The marketability and image of the league continues its headlong race downward as the media report the successive financial follies.

As regards attracting investors to individual clubs, apart from the responsibility not being the exclusive preserve of the FAI, capital investment is unlikely to happen while the clubs remain a collective financial basketcase, and prospect of financial returns are way lower then spinning a loaded roulette wheel.

Clubs (which should include their respective fans) must take the primary responsibilty for these problems and the solutions.

i cant attract investment cos im screwed and im screwed cos i cant attract investment... FAI needs to step in and offer solutions including demanding the sort of investment that GAA has received or something similar... as i said, im not sure what the answer is but im sure theres an answer out there.

Umberside
28/08/2009, 5:55 PM
Don't know. But if the average attendance is 2,050 in the premier and theres 5 matches each week, the weekly audience is about 10,000 in total.

Ah yes I get ya now. I'd put the figure between 8-12,000, so 10,000 is a good estimate.

Ezeikial
28/08/2009, 5:57 PM
i cant attract investment cos im screwed and im screwed cos i cant attract investment... FAI needs to step in and offer solutions including demanding the sort of investment that GAA has received or something similar... as i said, im not sure what the answer is but im sure theres an answer out there.

The starting point is surely very obvious -

If you were a manfacturer and it costs you more to make a product, then consumers are prepared to pay......

Step 1 is surely to get your costs in order, and then to try to make your product more appealing.

By all means appeal to Enterprise Ireland, FAS, Vincent de Paul, the Samaritans or anyone else for help - but if this is the survial strategy.........

Umberside
28/08/2009, 5:59 PM
We all know Bono likes to donate to good causes, maybe he might contribute something to one of the poorest leagues in Europe.

Calcio Jack
28/08/2009, 6:25 PM

A big adavatage of Rovers' is a new, shiny stadium and a huge fanbase and hopefully they won't go down the same route as the rest of us, though it's so tempting... :)

And something is happening that you don't understand...do you Mr Jones ?????

28/08/2009, 6:47 PM

was it the shamrock rovers pats game in the rds in 1990? think there was a crowd of 20000 at it.. it was rovers first game at the RDS I think...

Umberside
28/08/2009, 6:52 PM
was it the shamrock rovers pats game in the rds in 1990? think there was a crowd of 20000 at it.. it was rovers first game at the RDS I think...

Surely there's been 10,000 at a game since 1990 though. We had 9,000 for the league decider against Derry in '05.

29/08/2009, 9:10 PM
How clubs react to sanctions is up to them but a no sanctions situation is not good and could allow a club thats run properly to be relegated in the same season in which another club which is run disgracefully is rewarded with prize money to dolly up thier accounts along with a Euro spot.It'd be a shame if that happened. It's lucky it's never happened before...

I think the league is very attractive to investors.Only stupid/insane ones which a considerable contributing factor in many recent finncial blow ups.

SMorgan
29/08/2009, 10:02 PM
On the Derry City situation see;

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/8226720.stm

sheao
29/08/2009, 10:19 PM
Hope Derry are'nt in too much trouble and that they will sort their problems out. Seems to be a sign of the league as a whole though sadly.

30/08/2009, 3:39 PM
http://www.derrycityfc.net/cityweb/Latest/message-to-clubs-supporters.html

A lot has been said and printed already about our current situation and whilst no one is denying the magnitude of the difficulty in sustaining a full time club its my wholehearted belief that this is the best way forward for us. Whilst cuts certainly need to be made and new income streams developed, it’s my belief that we can continue to operate as a full time club, albeit on a reduced budget.

RoversHead
30/08/2009, 5:53 PM
For my final post on foot.ie I wish all fans of troubled clubs the very best of luck in getting things sorted out, except the forces of darkness of course.Im off to join the hoops boycott of this site.:cool:

SMorgan
30/08/2009, 6:04 PM
For my final post on foot.ie I wish all fans of troubled clubs the very best of luck in getting things sorted out, except the forces of darkness of course.Im off to join the hoops boycott of this site.:cool:

Why for?

30/08/2009, 6:36 PM
Why for?

Because he's thrown the toys out of the rented pram?

30/08/2009, 7:26 PM

worst boycott ever then.

MMVIII
30/08/2009, 10:14 PM
We all know Bono likes to donate to good causes, maybe he might contribute something to one of the poorest leagues in Europe.

Bono is a tax dodging pr1ck who no more gives any of his own money to charities than my left testicle does. Rant over. :)

Sidefx
30/08/2009, 10:59 PM

eh?

Cheerio :rolleyes:

WoodquayBoy
31/08/2009, 5:32 PM
Oh thank God. Now, time to turn our collective attention to Dundalk fans - who's first to leave ;)

Aaron
31/08/2009, 5:48 PM
The latest is Mark McChrystal has been released and Kevin Deery is more than likely to head to Hamilton Accies in the SPL. The rumours of other players are Gray, McManus and O'Brien linked with teams across the water.

Ciaran Martyn and Ger Doherty linked with Portadown, Morrow linked with Linfield, Scullion off on his travels at the end of the season. Add to the fact that one of our prospects has refused to sign a contract and wants to go to Blackburn

31/08/2009, 5:50 PM
The more players ye can offload to better. If wages are already going unpaid it's only going to get more difficult between now and the end of the season.

Aaron
31/08/2009, 6:00 PM
The board seem to be indicating that it will be sorted and players will be paid, but the way things have gone I am not full of confidence with our board. Its rather worrying when players want out.

I can see a major clear-out of our squad, but from whats being said we will still be full-time on an even more reduced budget. Alot of things like overnight stays will have to be cut out.

31/08/2009, 6:16 PM
The board seem to be indicating that it will be sorted and players will be paid

Grand, sure they have been so right on everything so far. :rolleyes:

Aaron
31/08/2009, 6:17 PM
Grand, sure they have been so right on everything so far. :rolleyes:

Kev, you know my feelings on the current board (Aaron)

Guitd
31/08/2009, 6:40 PM
so we have Derry in trouble as well as Cork & Galway ,dundalk cutting wages Bohs not looking great and nearly every other club cutting back as well where will it all end:mad:

Hairy Bowsie
31/08/2009, 6:47 PM
Cuts backs? In a recession? Why thats insane!!!

Is it really that unbelivable?

31/08/2009, 6:54 PM
It has been for many months HB......

31/08/2009, 7:12 PM
What's feckin unbelievable is that the budgets for this season were set when the economic situation was already clearly apparent. There really are no excuses.

Battery Rover
31/08/2009, 8:49 PM
What's feckin unbelievable is that the budgets for this season were set when the economic situation was already clearly apparent. There really are no excuses.

Thats a small bit unfair in my opinion. I don't think anyone expected the drop in sponsorship and other income to be so extreme. From what I can see it could be as much as 70% down on last season and will probably drop even further next year.

31/08/2009, 9:08 PM
Oh I don't know I think some people saw that happening a while ago ;)

http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1073347&postcount=191

Battery Rover
31/08/2009, 9:26 PM
Oh I don't know I think some people saw that happening a while ago ;)

http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1073347&postcount=191

Well other than us :D

31/08/2009, 9:34 PM
Hey BR can you give me the numbers for this week's Euromillions? If I win I promise to throw a few quid ATFC's way! :p

Battery Rover
31/08/2009, 9:44 PM
Hey BR can you give me the numbers for this week's Euromillions? If I win I promise to throw a few quid ATFC's way! :p

I fear it might be the only way forward for some. I just hope next seasons predictions on sponsorship are totally wrong

Aaron
31/08/2009, 9:44 PM
Did I hear Richie Sadlier correctly earlier when he said 90% of the leagues players are out of contract at the end of the season? If so its going to be a really interesting off season, not only will squads drastically change but i'm going to have alot on my hands in the transfer section:eek:

Rovers Maniac
31/08/2009, 10:12 PM
I hope you have big hands. Nothing to do with the transfers, I just like big hands.

Oh my word magicme :D

Aaron
31/08/2009, 10:14 PM
Jesus!!:D:D

Hairy Bowsie
31/08/2009, 10:18 PM
Once again my apologies for interrupting nonsense and bringing a thread BACK on topic but wasn't it 70% of the leagues players out of contract at the end of last season (or at least that was the accepted % that was bandied about).

I've never been one to praise Derry but in repeating one the most over-used cliches in LoI in recent years, it actually looks like a club is "cutting it's cloth to suit" though the Derry fans still seem downbeat, am i missing something?

31/08/2009, 10:20 PM
Too little, too late.

Battery Rover
31/08/2009, 10:20 PM
I was at a meeting a while ago and I recall a figure of 91% being mentioned

Hairy Bowsie
31/08/2009, 10:24 PM
Too little, too late.

Ah ok i understand. I take it your board gambled on keeping everything as it was, sometime back, instead of ringing the changes then when it was apparent they were needed.

It seems most clubs have gamblers at the helm but the problem is they actually are gambling with peoples livlihoods, all the while taking the fans and in certain cases the local (business) community for granted.

Aaron
31/08/2009, 10:31 PM
Ah ok i understand. I take it your board gambled on keeping everything as it was, sometime back, instead of ringing the changes then when it was apparent they were needed.

It seems most clubs have amateurs at the helm but the problem is they actually are gambling with peoples livlihoods, all the while taking the fans and in certain cases the local (business) community for granted.

Fixed that;)