View Full Version : The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42

derm
09/11/2009, 12:33 PM
Truly gutted for the fans. The FAI really have to introduce rules whereby any owner/board member who presides over serious licensing & tax breaches and/or illegal activities should be banned from being an owner/board member of any club ever again. The punishments and negative publicity is always focused on the club, its staff and fans.

On a brighter note here's to an exciting A Championship with ourselves, Derry and Ramblers ... anyone else wanna join ? (Is there a smilie that both laughs and cries?)

dortie
09/11/2009, 12:33 PM
I am disappointed he is threatening court action ( which is a joke - as how will we be able to afford it !) when he should be on his knees begging John Delaney to allow us in the first division.

Lets see the evidence first, our solicitor would not entertain this if he seen anything substantial from the FAI. Get it all out in court, if there is adequate evidence then i am sure the FAI can supply the court of law. If not ....then thats another story.

09/11/2009, 12:36 PM
Derry threads merged as the two were going at the same time, which seemed a bit pointless.

Mr_Parker
09/11/2009, 12:41 PM
Just reading through the FAI rule book it appears astonishing that they should state that Derry do not have recourse to an appeal. I say this without having had sight of the Participation Agreement.

jinxy lilywhite
09/11/2009, 12:47 PM
I would say there are also worries about the implications if they are found guilty of fraud. That would not only impact on Derry City FC but on the individuals involved.

Feel sorry for them because even if they have done something wrong, they did so due to their love of Derry City FC and its heartbreaking to know that some very good footballing people may be lost to our league. Only Derry City really know what went on.

I know what you are saying Magicme but in my eyes I think that makes it worse. If the board of DCFC loved it then why would they cheat and kill it.

I was very suprised with the reaction of their board and my first reaction was that if they can afford legal action north or south then why couldn't they pay their players the 8 wks due to them.

My deepest condolences goes out to the DCFC fans who will soon be left to pick up the pieces and hopefully we'll see you back in oriel sooner rather than later.

derm
09/11/2009, 12:47 PM
Just reading through the FAI rule book it appears astonishing that they should state that Derry do not have recourse to an appeal. I say this without having had sight of the Participation Agreement.

That seems strange to me as well. If there's any truth to the Derry's board's statement then it should be heard at an appeal sitting, not in the media and courts. Even if there is no truth an appeals process should be available to avoid a situation where the FAI can fake some evidence and throw out a club - I'm not saying that's what happened or could happen but the process should be transparent and leave no need for either party to argue it out in the public domain.

09/11/2009, 1:09 PM
So Board of Derry City are suing the FAI over a breach of contract.

And the players of Derry City are to blame for allowing themselves to be talked into a secondary contract in order to keep their wages in a time of economic downturn. You have to pity the Derry City board, bullied into such a point that they have no choice but to acquiesce to their players acquiesence.

Meanwhile, Bohemians are given a reprieve in order to win the league, because if they didn't win the league, they wouldn't have been in a position to earn a reprieve.

It is becoming clear too that they have been operating some kind of Wage-cap trading scheme with Cork City, whereby 65% of joint turnover can be spent between them on wages - Cork have the big turnover, while Bohemians often pay a wage, so it works out.

Cork City it seems have been investigating all manner of Wage-cap schemes. Most exciting to date is the scheme where they are investigating if it is possible to pay big money salaries to some players next year, based on the fact that they didn't bother paying some players anything at all a year or two ago. I don't think that Couglan's idea of reclassifying Electricity as an employee was such an inspired idea though.

And most unexpectedly of all, Shamrock Rovers are the good guys.

This just gets better and better with each passing day.

The WWE have nothing on the League of Ireland now. Certainly, the writers for the League of Ireland hit a new high this year, and are surely the very acme of their field in Sports Opera. The only quibble I would have with them is that we need to improve the FAI Divas - Rhona Daly simply isn't up to the task at this level...

passerrby
09/11/2009, 1:30 PM
If derry had their contract terminated before the official league ended then they are not entitled to any prize monies in fact would owe the fai the monies paid to them at the start and middle of the season (€40,000 i think).
If on the other hand they have completed the league and were removed after the end of the league the may have a case for prize monies.
I would guess that would derry need this cash to mount any planned legal action.

09/11/2009, 1:44 PM
I think Derry or more accurately their directors have little option but to try the legal route if they're to avoid action under the Companies Acts but I'm struggling to think of any occasions where the courts have overruled the FAI. In the meantime whats being done about their whopping great debts and the winding up order on its way from Dungannon?. There's not likely to be much goodwill or enthusiasm towards any fundraising activities either. Their very existence was in obvious and serious danger before Saturday despite what their chairman is saying.

marinobohs
09/11/2009, 2:22 PM
So Board of Derry City are suing the FAI over a breach of contract.

And the players of Derry City are to blame for allowing themselves to be talked into a secondary contract in order to keep their wages in a time of economic downturn. You have to pity the Derry City board, bullied into such a point that they have no choice but to acquiesce to their players acquiesence.

Meanwhile, Bohemians are given a reprieve in order to win the league, because if they didn't win the league, they wouldn't have been in a position to earn a reprieve.

It is becoming clear too that they have been operating some kind of Wage-cap trading scheme with Cork City, whereby 65% of joint turnover can be spent between them on wages - Cork have the big turnover, while Bohemians often pay a wage, so it works out.

Cork City it seems have been investigating all manner of Wage-cap schemes. Most exciting to date is the scheme where they are investigating if it is possible to pay big money salaries to some players next year, based on the fact that they didn't bother paying some players anything at all a year or two ago. I don't think that Couglan's idea of reclassifying Electricity as an employee was such an inspired idea though.

And most unexpectedly of all, Shamrock Rovers are the good guys.

This just gets better and better with each passing day.

The WWE have nothing on the League of Ireland now. Certainly, the writers for the League of Ireland hit a new high this year, and are surely the very acme of their field in Sports Opera. The only quibble I would have with them is that we need to improve the FAI Divas - Rhona Daly simply isn't up to the task at this level...

Please, please, please stop talking crap about Bohs. I know it P**ses people off that we will be WITHIN the rules but get over it !:D:D:D silly made up accusations are a waste of time (and don't make up for losing a cup final).

marinobohs
09/11/2009, 2:27 PM
I think Derry or more accurately their directors have little option but to try the legal route if they're to avoid action under the Companies Acts but I'm struggling to think of any occasions where the courts have overruled the FAI. In the meantime whats being done about their whopping great debts and the winding up order on its way from Dungannon?. There's not likely to be much goodwill or enthusiasm towards any fundraising activities either. Their very existence was in obvious and serious danger before Saturday despite what their chairman is saying.

I expect they (Derry city) will maintain that the prize money was "earned" before they were exspelled and therefore due to them. Cannot see it working to be honest, and suspect it may be a bargaining ploy to get a few bob from uncle Frank and aunty Irene to ease the pain of 1st Division for next year.
have to feel sorry for the fans, especially those that raised so much money for the club in recent times.

09/11/2009, 2:33 PM
Lets see the evidence first, our solicitor would not entertain this if he seen anything substantial from the FAI. Get it all out in court, if there is adequate evidence then i am sure the FAI can supply the court of law. If not ....then thats another story.

The way he was so right about Dungannon's money?

cregganite
09/11/2009, 2:44 PM
I'm an ancient Derry City supporter. Heck, I was even supporting them when they last won the Irish League and Irish Cup in the 1960s. I followed Shamrock Rovers when I lived in Dublin before Derry got into the LOI and there were scandals and fiddles going on way back then. But this carry on takes the proverbial jam donut !

Leaving aside the fact that the League of Ireland has been a Mickey Mouse set-up for decades with clubs folding and coming back under different names and boards after all sorts of shennigans and even that the FAI top brass has been embroiled in scandals itself (e.g. international ticket sales), and has got away with them, what most concerns me right now is the political effect kicking Derry City out of the LOI will have.

Already some dissident republicans in the city are ****-a-hoop at what they see as a "Free State slap in the face to the city of Derry".

The entry of City into the LOI provided an alternative to the sterile political violence going on in Derry in the mid-1980s. Derry people were able to escape from the place and visit parts of Ireland (and indeed Europe) where many had never been before, and were able to forge friendships and contacts. In return, southerners and European supporters were welcome in the city of Derry and at the Brandywell.

Now all that good work is threatened and the potential exists for a poisoning of relations between North and South.

If Derry does not have an active senior football club, and preferably one participating in an All-Ireland league, there are those of us who genuinely fear that with the Bloody Sunday report and a UK general election both looming, young people may be lured by the counter-attraction of dissident republicanism which may step in to fill the void. This would be disastrous.

Certainly, Derry City Football Club deserve to be punished. But let's not throw the baby out with the bath-water. There are other sanctions available to the FAI without robbing the city of Derry of its senior football status. And this issue cannot be seen in isolation from its impact politically, socially and culturally on the city and on cross-Border relations.

I am aware that political representations are already underway and I hope these bear fruit. I am also aware (because I have been approached to participate) that, failing a resolution of this matter, protests may be staged at the FAI Cup Final and at both legs of the Ireland v France play-offs; Derry City supporters have built up a rapport with some Paris St. Germain fans through UEFA Cup matches with them and avenues are already being explored there - I hear - towards a joint demonstration.

Hopefully, it'll all blow over. Some of the alternatives are too painful to ponder. http://www.politics.ie/images/smilies/frown.gif

09/11/2009, 2:56 PM
Please, please, please stop talking crap about Bohs. I know it P**ses people off that we will be WITHIN the rules but get over it !:D:D:D silly made up accusations are a waste of time (and don't make up for losing a cup final).

Can we have the following put up in bold on the top of every page of this forum please so people can look at it and read it before sticking in the boot when they post:

The Final 65% Salary Cost Protocol will be calculated using the total figures presented along with relevant financial documents at the end of November in the corresponding year.

Any club found to be outside them on this date will be sanctioned - no sooner, no later. Any club which manages to pull themselves under the 65% by the end of November WILL NOT BE SANCTIONED.

Steve Bruce
09/11/2009, 3:00 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/axed-football-club-derry-city-pins-hopes-on-talks-14556801.html

Predator
09/11/2009, 3:13 PM
Good first post, cregganite!

WoodquayBoy
09/11/2009, 3:14 PM
So Derry can't be thrown out of the League in case young lads turn to terrorism??? Okaaaaaaaaaay

passerrby
09/11/2009, 3:17 PM
bloody hell cregginite ya mean this could start a war thats all we need a continuity fai

09/11/2009, 3:30 PM
Won't somebody PLEASE think about the children...............

cregganite
09/11/2009, 3:34 PM
The Belfast Telegraph report above speaks of only nice Mark Durkan talking to the FAI. Wait'll Marty makes them an offer they can't refuse. ;)

SMorgan
09/11/2009, 3:38 PM
I expect they (Derry city) will maintain that the prize money was "earned" before they were exspelled and therefore due to them. Cannot see it working to be honest, and suspect it may be a bargaining ploy to get a few bob from uncle Frank and aunty Irene to ease the pain of 1st Division for next year.
have to feel sorry for the fans, especially those that raised so much money for the club in recent times.

Ben Johnston didn't get his Gold medal just because the race was over when he faied his drugs test. However, Derry City should get the prize money for coming last in the Premier Division.

dong
09/11/2009, 3:45 PM
Already some dissident republicans in the city are ****-a-hoop at what they see as a "Free State slap in the face to the city of Derry".

The entry of City into the LOI provided an alternative to the sterile political violence going on in Derry in the mid-1980s. Derry people were able to escape from the place and visit parts of Ireland (and indeed Europe) where many had never been before, and were able to forge friendships and contacts. In return, southerners and European supporters were welcome in the city of Derry and at the Brandywell.

Now all that good work is threatened and the potential exists for a poisoning of relations between North and South.

If Derry does not have an active senior football club, and preferably one participating in an All-Ireland league, there are those of us who genuinely fear that with the Bloody Sunday report and a UK general election both looming, young people may be lured by the counter-attraction of dissident republicanism which may step in to fill the void. This would be disastrous.

Certainly, Derry City Football Club deserve to be punished. But let's not throw the baby out with the bath-water. There are other sanctions available to the FAI without robbing the city of Derry of its senior football status. And this issue cannot be seen in isolation from its impact politically, socially and culturally on the city and on cross-Border relations.

I am aware that political representations are already underway and I hope these bear fruit. I am also aware (because I have been approached to participate) that, failing a resolution of this matter, protests may be staged at the FAI Cup Final and at both legs of the Ireland v France play-offs; Derry City supporters have built up a rapport with some Paris St. Germain fans through UEFA Cup matches with them and avenues are already being explored there - I hear - towards a joint demonstration.

Hopefully, it'll all blow over. Some of the alternatives are too painful to ponder. http://www.politics.ie/images/smilies/frown.gif

Get over yourselves. "Keep us in or we'll have no choice but to start blowing people up again because we'll have nothing else to do!"
Sickening attitude. I have sympathy for Derry fans, as I have posted before, and Derry will be sorely missed from the League but their club has been run into the ground and punished accordingly and you need to take your medicine.
Taking the FAI to Court now? Come on lads, get real.

galwayjames
09/11/2009, 3:55 PM
Get over yourselves. "Keep us in or we'll have no choice but to start blowing people up again because we'll have nothing else to do!"
Sickening attitude. I have sympathy for Derry fans, as I have posted before, and Derry will be sorely missed from the League but their club has been run into the ground and punished accordingly and you need to take your medicine.
Taking the FAI to Court now? Come on lads, get real.

Have you ever been to Derry?

09/11/2009, 3:56 PM
Please, please, please stop talking crap about Bohs. I know it P**ses people off that we will be WITHIN the rules but get over it ! silly made up accusations are a waste of time (and don't make up for losing a cup final).

Can we have the following put up in bold on the top of every page of this forum please so people can look at it and read it before sticking in the boot when they post:

The Final 65% Salary Cost Protocol will be calculated using the total figures presented along with relevant financial documents at the end of November in the corresponding year.

Any club found to be outside them on this date will be sanctioned - no sooner, no later. Any club which manages to pull themselves under the 65% by the end of November WILL NOT BE SANCTIONED.
I think this needs to go on the top -

Sometimes Bluebeard makes posts which are deliberately exaggerated in order to use humour to highlight the follies of the league. People shouldn't get upset just because he's being sarcastic.

dong
09/11/2009, 4:01 PM
Have you ever been to Derry?

Yes. Plenty of times.

09/11/2009, 4:02 PM
Have you ever been to Derry?Have you ever been to earth?

Not the place on the Strand Road btw....

09/11/2009, 5:02 PM
I'm hearing that John Delaney has just upped the ante considerably in a media briefing.....

09/11/2009, 5:04 PM
I'm hearing that John Delaney has just upped the ante considerably in a media briefing.....

Did he challenge Pat McDaid to a duel?

That would be quite incredibly cool.

Although McDaid would probably bring an extra pistol, then deny using it later.

galwayjames
09/11/2009, 5:06 PM
Have you ever been to earth?

Not the place on the Strand Road btw....

Derry is a nice place by the way, what i meant was young eejits from Derry would think of terrorism way before a Sligo person would, but luck it's not meant to be an offence :o

09/11/2009, 5:07 PM
Although McDaid would probably bring an extra pistol, then deny using it later.

no, no - it was just an interim pistol while the real pistol was being finalised...

iceman
09/11/2009, 5:12 PM
So did McDaid make it to the High court by 5pm today or did he change his tune on that as well?

09/11/2009, 5:12 PM
Did he challenge Pat McDaid to a duel?

That would be quite incredibly cool.

Although McDaid would probably bring an extra pistol, then deny using it later.I don't want to quote what I've just heard, but it puts X Factor in the shade and isn't far off your post.

Humourous and all as the whole thing is, its not helping us get a team on the pitch next season.

09/11/2009, 5:14 PM
From MuckerChat:

Was on RTE radionews at 5:30 that they have seen documents relating to 20 players receiving €330,000 between them as secondary contracts.

If the FAI have shown these to RTE why weren't they shown to DCFC?

09/11/2009, 5:24 PM
I don't want to quote what I've just heard, but it puts X Factor in the shade and isn't far off your post.

Humourous and all as the whole thing is, its not helping us get a team on the pitch next season.

Very true.

I actually think that the FAI are doing ye a massive favour by acting so swiftly and decisively. It's clear that Wellvan is a sinking ship, and the sooner it's clear they have no future running an LOI club, the sooner moves can be put in place to ensure a replacement does so.

What's going on currently is a pantomime that distracts for the urgent business of getting a new entity together to bring senior football back to the city.

passerrby
09/11/2009, 5:40 PM
Ben Johnston didn't get his Gold medal just because the race was over when he faied his drugs test. However, Derry City should get the prize money for coming last in the Premier Division.

maybe stu you can clear this up but did not all premier clubs get part of their prize money up to about last place. €40,000 ?

09/11/2009, 5:45 PM
Yep, the ante has been mightily upped:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1109/derrycity_delaneyj.html

FAI Chief Executive John Delaney has alleged that Derry City Football Club has withheld details of payments to players over a period of years.

Financial statements shown to RTÉ indicate that over 20 Derry City players held dual contracts.

The figures allege that over €337,000 in payments to players may not have been disclosed in accounts submitted to the FAI.

And Delaney has stated that, in the circumstances, the club would not be awarded its prize money for finishing fourth in the league.

He also called for a clear-out of the current Derry City board and announced that players had until next Thursday to give full financial information about their pay to the FAI or the Player's Union.

Should they fail to do this, Delaney says that they will not be registered to play with any club here or abroad next season.

09/11/2009, 5:47 PM
..and announced that players had until next Thursday to give full financial information about their pay to the FAI or the Player's Union. Should they fail to do this, Delaney says that they will not be registered to play with any club here or abroad next season.

Wow - do the fai have the power to do that to the players?

09/11/2009, 5:48 PM
I heard the phrase "biggest fraud ever perpetrated in the history of Irish football" was used by JD.

Better add an "allegedly" in here.......

09/11/2009, 5:51 PM
Just seen Delaney on the news it looks like McDaid's Bluff has been called. It seems the players could have been getting more in cash than they were actually being paid legally. Over €337k in a season for 22 players.

hoops1
09/11/2009, 5:53 PM
I heard the phrase "biggest fraud ever perpetrated in the history of Irish football" was used by JD.

Was he talking about himself or the Derry situation.

09/11/2009, 6:00 PM
I saw the interview on the news there alright, he's raging and I'd be worried if I were the Derry directors. For all his faults he wouldn't go making statements like this if he wasn't sure of his facts. He's not impressed with their solicitor either, called him a "celebrity type solicitor" and reckons he's made things worse.

Kildareman
09/11/2009, 6:04 PM
"With their celebrity clown solicitor".....I think thats how Delaney described Derrys solicitor.

09/11/2009, 6:07 PM
No I'm pretty sure it was "celebrity type". He wouldn't call him a clown on the news though he's probably thinking it.

Step aside JEdward.

The LoI is where its at.

Although I really wish they would pick another club to be the guineau pig in their new guerilla marketing and awareness raising campaign...

kingdomkerry
The borad of Derry have let their fans down. A clear out is needed asap. Then the most important thing is making sure Derry have LOI football next season. Hopefully the FAI will not push them towards the bigoted IFA to the detremental loss of Irish football.

higgins
09/11/2009, 6:11 PM
He also called for a clear-out of the current Derry City board and announced that players had until next Thursday to give full financial information about their pay to the FAI or the Player's Union.

Should they fail to do this, Delaney says that they will not be registered to play with any club here or abroad next season.

Now this is the news I was waiting for..

It would be very sad if the only ones to lose out from all this were the fans of the club. The poeple paying under the table and those accepting the money should be made pay back every cent in tax and banned for a couple of seasons from LOI at least.

passerrby
09/11/2009, 6:12 PM

why was there bigger frauds than this wow

the one positive thing you can take from his statement was that there is a future for derry in the LOI

SwanVsDalton
09/11/2009, 6:12 PM
It's been Dead Board Walking for weeks. And they still don't know. Which certainly adds to the farce. They're either blind stupid or desperate and probably both. Either way they're done, doesn't matter if they're still clawing their fingernails to the floorboards as Delaney's heavies drag them out...

galwayjames
09/11/2009, 6:21 PM
The borad of Derry have let their fans down. A clear out is needed asap. Then the most important thing is making sure Derry have LOI football next season. Hopefully the FAI will not push them towards the bigoted IFA to the detremental loss of Irish football.

Well said.

sonofstan
09/11/2009, 6:24 PM
My brain is melting at the proximity of the phrases 'John Delaney' and 'doing the right thing' in my head.....i daren't say it aloud....