View Full Version : The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42

kdjaC
07/11/2009, 8:40 PM
In all fairness how much longer can the powers at be in the FAI put up with the shambolic work that is coming from Gavin and Delaney, surely there are 2 more competent individuals who could do a better job and not cause so much bloody trouble and not make this country's professional league look like a bloody soap opera!

Did they issue the double contracts? not pay the busman? cut contracts of new players 2 weeks after signing them?

**** all teh FAI can do if clubs are doing things like that. hard luck Derry but seriously WTF were they doing 2 contracts :eek: If i did that in my job and the revenue found out i would be royally ****ed.

thin that bothers me about all this is Sadlier knew of it, how many others knew? our players?

07/11/2009, 8:44 PM
thin that bothers me about all this is Sadlier knew of it

When did he find out about it? Did he inform the FAI when he found out?

kdjaC
07/11/2009, 8:48 PM
When did he find out about it? Did he inform the FAI when he found out?

he knew about 2 months ago this was going to happen, rumouringly so did everyone who plays/works in the league.

he hinted it on MNS a few weeks ago just after kenna left.

07/11/2009, 8:48 PM
No point informing if you don't have concrete proof. It's fair to say that a lot of people around football in the Northwest would have had suspicions for quite a while. Specifically, the 2007 accounts seemed to bear little resemblance to the money many players were reputed to be on.

Edit: I know reputed sounds a little week, but neighbouring clubs will always have a fair idea what the ones around them are paying.

gufc2000
07/11/2009, 8:52 PM
I'll take Salthill-Kildare is going ahead, Salthill certainly think so.

http://www.salthilldevon.ie/admin/front/images/sdfc_v_kildare.jpg

07/11/2009, 8:53 PM
No admission charge? WTF?

christo
07/11/2009, 8:53 PM
I see it is free in as well, was kinda the same last year in Mervue, we could pay whatever we wanted :D

gufc2000
07/11/2009, 8:55 PM
They probably feel it won't attract a big crowd, so they are trying to entice people to come to their games in the long run

Dillonman
07/11/2009, 8:55 PM
Did they issue the double contracts? not pay the busman? cut contracts of new players 2 weeks after signing them?

**** all teh FAI can do if clubs are doing things like that. hard luck Derry but seriously WTF were they doing 2 contracts :eek: If i did that in my job and the revenue found out i would be royally ****ed.

thin that bothers me about all this is Sadlier knew of it, how many others knew? our players?

Maybe because of all the incompetency in the league over the last number of years lead to clubs doing these kind of things, like after all how many lives do Cork have before they get punished, same with Bohs, even Drogheda

kdjaC
07/11/2009, 8:58 PM
Maybe because of all the incompetency in the league over the last number of years lead to clubs doing these kind of things, like after all how many lives do Cork have before they get punished, same with Bohs, even Drogheda

But they didnt break any rules , sad i know but they didnt.

The FAI cant be blamed for clubs doing this kind of thing, Dundalk signed players and 2 weeks later ask them to take paycuts. Is that proactive or reactive?

Dont think the FAI can be blamed for what our clubs do.

07/11/2009, 9:00 PM
Totally agree kdjac, so long as they learn from this year and tighten the rules further to prevent/ punish some of the crap that has gone on.

Chances are though that the clubs will find new ways to screw themselves.

fbtn
07/11/2009, 9:01 PM
Reading the statement, I think that the FAI will let them play in the First Division next season if Wellvan can sort out their other problems.

Going by the amounts being bandied about regarding how much the debt is then that looks like a big if.

Derry are one of the jewels in the crown of the League of Ireland and I really don't think this is the end of them. The FAI won't want to lose them to the Irish League that is for sure.

From what I hear, whatever information the FAI had in regard to Derry's irregularities, their hands were completely tied on this one.

The City of Derry will be in mourning and I really feel sorry for the genuine fans. That is who will suffer the most.

WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 9:28 PM
Still obsessed with me after all these years, jesus leave it go man :rolleyes:
Don't flatter yourself child, just asking and I see you never replied

07/11/2009, 9:32 PM
http://www.derrycityfc.net/cityweb/

Club statement.

Dillonman
07/11/2009, 9:49 PM
NO Dillonman, I think they do have a regualr 4 fans at their games. I would seriously hope no self-respecting United fan paid in money to watch United rejects struggle at the foot of the First Division

So the other 96 are away fans?!

cestlavie
07/11/2009, 10:02 PM
Why did you take Stephen Kenny back to destroy the club? People got carried away with some past happy memories I suspect. You drove Pat Fenlon out of the club (yes he said he had to leave for personal reasons, yes his wife would not relocate etc but a small vocal group amongst the fans drove him out> he has gone on to win the league years in a row. I remember a well known director resigning last year. He knew writing was on the wall but nobody would listen to him, think his name was Mooney or something like that! But again, all the pity for the really good and loyal DCFC fans, keep the faith and run some of them other cowboys outa town!

Mad Moose
07/11/2009, 10:38 PM
Incredibly sad day in League of Ireland football history.I have no doubt Derry City will be back. A massive loss for the league.

Brian Boru
07/11/2009, 10:44 PM
Derry City are a great club. Probably have the best fans in the league. The FAI gave Bohs a huge advance of money until they picked up the league champions prize money. Would they have relegated Bohs if they'd finished second and hence couldn't pay back the lone. Derry must have given second contracts because they faired relegation if they were more upfront about their business. It backfired obviously. I have plenty of friends who are Cork and Bohs supporters. However, if Derry are relegated shouldn't Bohs and Cork be relegated as well. This would be fair and equitable to an independent observer. They are worse off financially. I think none of them should be relegated personally. FAI and Delaney treat some people with no respect. Delaney should be ousted. They make up rules. Why they picked on Derry and not the only 2 is mysterious. In relation to an earlier post about Sligo. We have the soundest financial system. Only the manager and players get paid. The rest of the board, match day workers etc everybody do it voluntarily. They are legends.

07/11/2009, 10:47 PM
Lads,

At the end of the day today is one stage one. The financial troubles are the serious concern, a licence is a trifling issue to be frank.

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 10:48 PM
It backfired obviously. I have plenty of friends who are Cork and Bohs supporters. However, if Derry are relegated shouldn't Bohs and Cork be relegated as well. This would be fair and equitable to an independent observer. They are worse off financially.

Bohs would appear to have theirs sorted, so I would leave Bohs off, if you can build a debt and be able to get rid of it then they should not be sanctioned.

The Cork situation gets less and less clear by the day, another possible demotion there I think (hopefully not for the sake of the league)

07/11/2009, 10:50 PM
Derry City are a great club. Probably have the best fans in the league. The FAI gave Bohs a huge advance of money until they picked up the league champions prize money. Would they have relegated Bohs if they'd finished second and hence couldn't pay back the lone. Derry must have given second contracts because they faired relegation if they were more upfront about their business. It backfired obviously. I have plenty of friends who are Cork and Bohs supporters. However, if Derry are relegated shouldn't Bohs and Cork be relegated as well. This would be fair and equitable to an independent observer. They are worse off financially. I think none of them should be relegated personally. FAI and Delaney treat some people with no respect. Delaney should be ousted. They make up rules. Why they picked on Derry and not the only 2 is mysterious. In relation to an earlier post about Sligo. We have the soundest financial system. Only the manager and players get paid. The rest of the board, match day workers etc everybody do it voluntarily. They are legends.

did you read the thread? There is a world of difference between what you are saying Cork/Bohs did and what Derry apparently did?

Your line about Bohs getting a "loan" from the FAI is so far off the mark its not even funny. Go back and read that thread again.

Christ.

VinnyDCFC
07/11/2009, 10:50 PM
You drove Pat Fenlon out of the club (yes he said he had to leave for personal reasons, yes his wife would not relocate etc but a small vocal group amongst the fans drove him out

With respect, that's a load of cr*p and Pat will tell you that himself

WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 10:55 PM
We have the soundest financial system. Only the manager and players get paid. The rest of the board, match day workers etc everybody do it voluntarily. They are legends.
A big clap clap for you.Sligo are not the only club with hardworking volunteers you know - Utd, Bray, UCD, Athlone, Mervue, Kildare, Pats . . . hell, the list can include 21 clubs

AnnaghRed
07/11/2009, 10:55 PM
Presumably all this licencing ballix is caused by trying to fit in with UEFA burocraci?

16 team all-island league made up of the best supported teams to start with and stick two-fingaz up at all this pen-pushing sh*te.

07/11/2009, 10:57 PM
Lads,

At the end of the day today is one stage one. The financial troubles are the serious concern, a licence is a trifling issue to be frank.

At this stage, surely most (if not all) Derry fans are resigned to winding up the club and the financial mess with it and starting again with a clean slate.

Brian Boru
07/11/2009, 10:58 PM
I never said we were the only club with hard working volunteers.

07/11/2009, 11:00 PM
At this stage, surely most (if not all) Derry fans are resigned to winding up the club and the financial mess with it and starting again with a clean slate.

HS,

Unfortunately naievty and myopic attitudes still seem to hold sway.

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 11:01 PM
HS,

Unfortunately naievty and myopic attitudes still seem to hold sway.

That's always the case in football, we thought after two games we could win the league :)

Mr Maroon
07/11/2009, 11:05 PM
That's always the case in football, we thought after two games we could win the league :)

We did?

LeixlipRed
07/11/2009, 11:06 PM
He did.

Kildare Lad
07/11/2009, 11:06 PM
Sorry to hear this Derry City fans, pretty sure I only ever have been at 2 matchs involving Derry City but on both occasions their fans were superb, not to mention that all of their fans are very well respected on foot.ie, always enjoy reading what youse have to say. Hopefully this isn't the end of Derry City Football Club, best of luck.

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 11:07 PM
We did?

Some of our more naive fans thought it ;)

Of course the rest of us knew not being relegated would count as a good season but you can't deny the optimism of young fans. And after such a good start you can't help but wonder if it could happen

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 11:08 PM
He did.

I must've been very naive, the chances of us winning the league were as low as Shels beating Fingal in the play-off

Rovers Maniac
07/11/2009, 11:10 PM
A big clap clap for you.Sligo are not the only club with hardworking volunteers you know - Utd, Bray, UCD, Athlone, Mervue, Kildare, Pats . . . hell, the list can include 21 clubs

Sadlier or Leeson ain't giving his time for free i bet !?

WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 11:11 PM
Our manager never thought it. Top of the league after 4 games and he was saying we were involved in a relegation scrap. He was right too. Unfortunately.

WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 11:12 PM
I'll take that bet (of sorts) on Leeson. You lose. He hasn't taken a wage a number of times this season .

Mr Maroon
07/11/2009, 11:14 PM
I'll take that bet (of sorts) on Leeson. You lose. He hasn't taken a wage a number of times this season .

He's put 50 grand of his own money into the club.

Rovers Maniac
07/11/2009, 11:18 PM

Never said anything about a wage ;)

07/11/2009, 11:28 PM

Pats have 4 salaried employees in the office (One of the is half paid by FAI). We're hardly talking civil service type overstaffing

No club in the league would survive without hard working volunteers

VinnyDCFC
07/11/2009, 11:30 PM
RTE News report from earlier tonight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPxLCMVkprE

CSFShels
07/11/2009, 11:32 PM
Derry have definitely done wrong here, the FAI would be the last to get rid of one of the massive league clubs for nothing, they're not Cobh Ramblers with no fans.

They should really give up all the witchhunt talk and concentrate on trying to get into the A Championship. Once Bray and Drogheda take to the field on Tuesday, there is no chance of them being in the Premier next year anyway.

Commiserations to the fans anyway, its never the fans that deserve it.

d rovers
07/11/2009, 11:44 PM
It's a sad day for derry city and the whole league. I look forward to seeing derry back in the league in the not too distant future. I honestly do feel for their excellent fans.

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 11:45 PM
Derry are in a better position than Shelbourne were so they could assemble a good enough squad and be in the First Division and have a good chance.

What Derry fans would rather I think is a new club in the A Championship, and with the attendances they could possibly get, they could be back in the LOI within a year.

07/11/2009, 11:50 PM
What Derry fans would rather I think is a new club in the A Championship, and with the attendances they could possibly get, they could be back in the LOI within a year.

We'd take the First over the A Championship. Don't think it's going to be an issue though considering our debts. Wellvan Enterprises will be gone fairly soon, so we'll have no choice but to apply for the A Championship.

This is depressing stuff.

07/11/2009, 11:54 PM
What do Derry fans think of the board's plan to bring the FAI to court? Do you feel it's the right move?

CSFShels
07/11/2009, 11:59 PM
Is agreeing not to sue the FAI not part of licencing?

awec
08/11/2009, 12:01 AM
Is agreeing not to sue the FAI not part of licencing?
Sure if they were kicked out, surely that won't apply any more?

galwayjames
08/11/2009, 12:07 AM
I know it's completely irrelevant, but that Pat McDaid guy looks fairly young, possibly too inexperienced to be chairman of a football club?

CSFShels
08/11/2009, 12:08 AM
So their court case isn't as part of an attempt to get back into the league? They're aiming to get a payoff and maybe go into the Irish League?

CSFShels
08/11/2009, 12:21 AM
So Fran Gavin was looking for a bribe.......
Wouldn't believe a word of what the Derry board are spouting. Suspect that for once the FAI have got this absolutely right.