View Full Version : The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players
Derry are Gone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
rack off, ye flamin galaa.
This is no time for gloating
Gareth
07/11/2009, 5:24 PM
Derry City's contract with the league is gone. They are not demoted, they are just removed from this year's league. League Table will now adjust to positions 1-9. Results will still stand as the league has finished. The FAI board do not have the power to relegate Derry, only the licencing committee hold that power.
higgins
07/11/2009, 5:24 PM
So what happens to the players regarding the League and the tax man ??
Very stupid of them to agree to under the table payments... They should also be banned for a period of time.
1st time post
07/11/2009, 5:25 PM
I hate seeing any team get into this messing.But I vaguely remember Derry City supporters coming on to our forum .Lecturering us when we were complaining about how we were capped at start of season!
telling us the if we kept our house in orderer that these budget capps would not have happened!
Sorry for been sarcastic but "Whos house is in order now"!:rolleyes:
Ffs mate give it a rest will ya, this could easy have been us last year if it wasnt for a huge fundraising effort.
Comiserations to all at Derry
christo
07/11/2009, 5:25 PM
In terms of the game between Drogs and Bray, what is that for? Straight relegation or for the playoff against shels or fingal/
galwayjames
07/11/2009, 5:26 PM
In terms of the game between Drogs and Bray, what is that for? Straight relegation or for the playoff against shels or fingal/
Playoff with Shels/Fingal
Playoff against Shels or Fingal
For the playoff
christo
07/11/2009, 5:29 PM
Alright lads, I get the picture now :P
Comiserations to all the Derry fans out there by the way
sligored
Sad day for the loi - derry will be sorely missed next season. Hopefully the club and their brilliant fans will be back sooner rather than later.
The night rovers played the cup semi final in the brandywell 3 years ago on halloween night was the best atmosphere bar none i have heard in a irish soccer stadium - i thought the roof was going to come off the home stand.
See ye soon
If they don't wind up themselves someone will do it for them, probably HMRC who will surely be applying penalties for these illegitimate contracts.
It's not clear to me that they've not paid tax on these second contracts. They're in breach of licensing, of course. Not that it matters really - there's no point really in continuing with that company.
So if Derry and Kildare go out of the league suely the FAI will have to just make one 20 team league next year and keep it like that fo the next few seasons while clubs try and turn themselves around no?
Think FAI need to check every clubs accounts now because derry arent the only team who have players on 2 different contracts i can tell you that now. Delaney can stick his FAI and LOI up the Liffey for I dont give a monkey, the pansy****
07/11/2009, 5:31 PM
So if Derry and Kildare go out of the league suely the FAI will have to just make one 20 team league next year and keep it like that fo the next few seasons while clubs try and turn themselves around no?
I thought they were bound to a ten team Premier next year anyway?
galwayjames
07/11/2009, 5:31 PM
The team which knocked out Gothenburg and Gretna will live long in the memory. Really sorry to hear it, one of the best clubs in the league in more ways than one...
Gareth
07/11/2009, 5:33 PM
Updated article now http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2755/
What do you care? You've finished with it, no?
What an idiot...how can u gloat at a time like this
`Not gloating just saying " Our season was faltered at start by been capped when we the fans decide to collected money to bring back Cook we were crtitised by Derry fans who boasted the we should not punch above our weight.All Im saying is People in glasshouses shouldnt throw stones.
Like eveyone else I know its another bad day for the league.But the more I read Derry obviously have been cheating the last few years to keep their accounts below the wages capped.
Cheats have no place in the league! No matter who their are.But it maybe gloating but the facts are there!
dortie
07/11/2009, 5:35 PM
Totally shellshocked !
07/11/2009, 5:35 PM
Thank God they put us out of our misery.
Time to start from scratch.
07/11/2009, 5:36 PM
It's not clear to me that they've not paid tax on these second contracts. They're in breach of licensing, of course. Not that it matters really - there's no point really in continuing with that company.
Wouldn't it have shown up in their accounts before now then if they had?. Their auditor would have to have seen contracts and P30s and reconciled the two unless he was aware of what was happening?. But as you say it doesn't really matter.
tippex
07/11/2009, 5:37 PM
I'm really sorry for the Derry fans over this.
I cannot believe the powers that be in the club had the players on 2 contracts.
I also agree that the players should also be banned for agreeing to a second contract and where would this leave kenny? surely he would have been aware of said contracts.
Cormac
07/11/2009, 5:39 PM
Cant beleve this news, really, Who knows what the future holds at the moment. Hopefully we'll be back!
Ffs mate give it a rest will ya, this could easy have been us last year if it wasnt for a huge fundraising effort.
Soory but Im looking bigger picture "Mate".Sorry for the fans cos Derry Fans added color to the league but as a club I have no sympathy.They have cheated simple as that to have A STRONG TEAM ON THE PITCH.
07/11/2009, 5:39 PM
I knew that what happened today was possible, even likely, but until I actually saw it in black and white it hadn't hit home. I'm totally gutted, but at least, as ORA said:
kingdomkerry
07/11/2009, 5:42 PM
What will this involve. Please tell me its time to start from scratch in the loi?
Time to start the whole league from scratch I think, it's just not working
CuanaD
07/11/2009, 5:46 PM
Sickened for all those wonderful Derry fans
But glad that the cheats have been caught & turfed out.
& IF, as is being speculated a few posts above, similar cheating is going on in other clubs, then they all should be turffed out & we can start from scratch,
with clubs we can be proud to support:ball:
Gareth
07/11/2009, 5:47 PM
full FAI statement now available in that link
07/11/2009, 5:50 PM
I don't really know what to do with myself for the rest of the evening following that news. :(
FAI Statement:
The Board of Management of the Football Association of Ireland today (November 7) took the decision to terminate Derry City Football Club’s contract to participate in the League of Ireland.
The decision to terminate is based on the failure of Derry City FC to comply with the terms and conditions of the Participation Agreement, in particular their breach of clauses 8.2, 8.3.1, 8.3.4, 8.3.5 and 8.3.6 of that contract.
The Board of Management of the FAI reached its decision following statements from FAI personnel that Derry City FC had admitted to them at a meeting of November 4 (held at the request of Derry City FC), to holding second unofficial contracts with its players. There is contractual evidence to substantiate this.
Subject to the ongoing cooperation of Derry City Football Club being forthcoming, the Board has agreed that an FAI delegation will, in the coming week, meet with Derry City FC and the various other stakeholders to consider how Derry City Football Club may participate in senior football in the League of Ireland next season, at some level other than in the Premier Division. This of course will be subject to the normal licensing process.
The forthcoming Setanta Sports Cup match on November 10 involving Derry City FC has now been postponed, pending discussions with the Irish Football Association, through the Setanta Sports Cup Committee.
On the basis of today’s decision Drogheda United will now play Bray Wanderers in the Premier Division play-off on Tuesday, November 10.
07/11/2009, 5:50 PM
So out of all of this the First Division will be losing one team next season if Derry aren't allowed enter it. If Salthill don't accept the invitation which i presume they now have automatically that means two teams gone. Only 1 team relegated to first division if Shels or Fingal beat either Drogheda or Bray and no one up from A league to replace Kildare. So three teams leaving the first division and possible only 1 coming in. As Jebus says, i think its time to start from scratch, sooner rather than later.
Candystripe
07/11/2009, 5:51 PM
If we can have a team in the first division next season with a totally new club run by fans then I will be ecstatic.
Our board and club seriously took us fans and fuc ked us big time.
Still hasn't sunk in yet.
So that certainly leaves the door open to Derry playing in the first division. I wonder what the likes of Tralee and Castlebar would have to say about that- seeing a club bypass the process they have to go through to get into the league.
Sad, sad day for the league and for Derry fans, but very positive that serious wrongdoing has been identified and punished. One would hope that the FAI now look at all the clubs much more closely.
higgins
07/11/2009, 5:52 PM
All that has happened is you've been kicked out of the LOI... You still have a mountain of debt to deal with and no way at present to generate any income ??
What will happen now to the holding company ?
Directors and Players and even the Manager should also have individual bans in place from taking part in the LOI.
If Kildare do go too then two divisions of 10 teams make sense.
If Cork go and maybe another then surely it's time for one division of 18.
Sad for Derry fans but it's a positive step for the LOI, it's about time the FAI dealt with these issues.
Sweepstakes on how long it takes someone to start a new 'How to SAVE IRISH FOOTBALL' thread?
I say one hour
christo
07/11/2009, 5:54 PM
Is the play-off between Kildare and Salthill now cancelled as well then?
Sorry for my Ignorance!
What Derry City Football Club have done "IS this not Cheating"?
This must spell the end for Wellvan. It's now a question of whether they can organise quickly enough to get a club together for next year.
1st time post
07/11/2009, 5:55 PM
Soory but Im looking bigger picture "Mate".Sorry for the fans cos Derry Fans added color to the league but as a club I have no sympathy.They have cheated simple as that to have A STRONG TEAM ON THE PITCH.
Ya im pretty sure everyone here is aware of that but the way you put it across in your first post does come across as gloating when this is definitely not the time for it!!imagine if this was Rovers......
Rovers Maniac
07/11/2009, 5:56 PM
Gutted for the Derry fans, always traveled in big numbers, never any trouble with them, always a bit of craic. This is in my view the worst day i can remember for the league of Ireland, maybe because i never seen it coming. I remember them in 85 huge amount of fans heading down the road in open back vans off to their match.
I have no doubt they will be back and stronger than ever before, people who don't remember the league of Ireland pre 85' will remember that they were a total breath of fresh air. Shiba shame on you for your comments i can think of any other Sligo Rovers fan that would share your view.
Hope to see DCFC in a year or two.
SwanVsDalton
07/11/2009, 5:56 PM
We'll be back and better. This is just the wake-up call the club (and the league needed). This story we'll run and run - but the Candystripes will be back.
What Derry City Football Club have done "IS this not Cheating"?
Yes. It very clearly was cheating on a large, ongoing and systematic basis.
However it's still a horrific day for their supporters (who the board kept in the dark completely by the way), and not the time to gloat.
PartySaint
07/11/2009, 5:57 PM
Start from scratch in which league??
Very sad news, good luck to all Derry fans i hope you will nhave a club to support in the future
07/11/2009, 5:57 PM
If we can have a team in the first division next season with a totally new club run by fans then I will be ecstatic.
Our board and club seriously took us fans and fuc ked us big time.
Still hasn't sunk in yet.
So that certainly leaves the door open to Derry playing in the first division. I wonder what the likes of Tralee and Castlebar would have to say about that- seeing a club bypass the process they have to go through to get into the league.
Sad, sad day for the league and for Derry fans, but very positive that serious wrongdoing has been identified and punished. One would hope that the FAI now look at all the clubs much more closely.
Why would we be allowed to bypass the A-league if we are a brand new club starting again?
(Genuine question, if it's possible then that's better news for us.)
07/11/2009, 5:58 PM
If there was a space in the First that the other clubs eg Tralee, Castlebar didn't want?. That would seem to be the only way to me.
Ya im pretty sure everyone here is aware of that but the way you put it across in your first post does come across as gloating when this is definitely not the time for it!!imagine if this was Rovers......
Ya maybe it did but I call it as I see it.If we cheated like that I would expect same punishment.we were in debt for overspending but I hope that we wouldnt result to cheating.
Sad news, they played some brilliant stuff last night, played like a real team, great spirit, and celebrated their derseved winner like it was a lge title win. Shame we couldnt have played with 1/4 their pride last night.
Very sad day for Irish Football with them gone.
I recall the mid to late 80`s when they came to Dundalk with 4 + 5,000 fans
Great days - brilliant memories.
Why would we be allowed to bypass the A-league if we are a brand new club starting again?
(Genuine question, if it's possible then that's better news for us.)
I don't know.. just going by this line:
Subject to the ongoing cooperation of Derry City Football Club being forthcoming, the Board has agreed that an FAI delegation will, in the coming week, meet with Derry City FC and the various other stakeholders to consider how Derry City Football Club may participate in senior football in the League of Ireland next season, at some level other than in the Premier Division.
WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 6:01 PM
Sweepstakes on how long it takes someone to start a new 'How to SAVE IRISH FOOTBALL' thread?
I say one hour
Why are you still here, I thought you didn't care.
Feel very sorry for the fans of Derry City, but delighted the cheats running the club have been caught out and if the players and management knew what was going on, they should also be banned from playing football at any level for a certain period of time.
Hope to God Derry comes back in some form, and comes back soon.
On a selfish note, a disaster for Galway United if Salthill Devon join the league - 3 teams from Galway, and the possibility (small or otherwise) that there may not be a single team from Cork in the league next season. It would be laughable if it was not so serious