View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

24/07/2008, 10:15 AM
Congrats to Drogs.

I would hope that the next round will be televised but ye never know with the RTE crowd.

yeah hope so. wasn't even mentioned on the news last night, all about the ga again:rolleyes::mad:

Denis The Red
24/07/2008, 10:33 AM
Congrats to Drogs.

I would hope that the next round will be televised but ye never know with the RTE crowd.

yeah hope so. wasn't even mentioned on the news last night, all about the ga again:rolleyes::mad:

To be fair the Paul Galvin story is fairly big even if it's hilarious, it shows the ineptness of the GAA again(another story for another day).
It dosn't have to be RTE to show the Kiev match, why not TG4 or Setanta, they have rights to Eircom league also.
But I agree someone should show it.

24/07/2008, 10:59 AM
To be fair the Paul Galvin story is fairly big even if it's hilarious, it shows the ineptness of the GAA again(another story for another day).
It dosn't have to be RTE to show the Kiev match, why not TG4 or Setanta, they have rights to Eircom league also.
But I agree someone should show it.

I remember the news last night talking about some GAA guy being suspended or something.. Is that him? And how is that bigger news than our league champions progressing in the Champions League?

bigmac
24/07/2008, 11:12 AM
they have rights to Eircom league also.

This isn't an Eircom League game though.

ltfc_2004
24/07/2008, 11:54 AM
Whats the story with tickets for next week ? They on sale at Dalymount ?

24/07/2008, 12:30 PM
Yes it does, the saying rising tides lift all ships springs to mind. If an Irish side where to make it into the champions league it would raise people impressions of the league, could increase sponsorship, TV deals plus willingness of players to move to the league.
That's a large enough "if" to make your point completely irrelevant.

On topic, well done to Drogheda. A bigger win than people are giving it credit.

Duggie
24/07/2008, 12:33 PM
I remember the news last night talking about some GAA guy being suspended or something.. Is that him? And how is that bigger news than our league champions progressing in the Champions League?

lads come on GAA is huge, look at the media it gets and crowds it pulls. dub v wex (80,000 plus). now while i agree there was hardly any proper coverage its never goin to compete with GAA. at least tv3 had an interview with doolin. surely one of them could have shown the goal ? the kiev match will be on tv id say.

Denis The Red
24/07/2008, 12:45 PM
This isn't an Eircom League game though.

No, but it involves an Eircom League team and surely one of the three stations with rights to Eircom League coverage could show a Champions League qualifier.

Yep, that's him.
I don't think it's more important than Drogheda but I can understand it taking preference in the news. As Duggie said, weather we like it or not GAA is huge in this country.

Dazzy
24/07/2008, 12:59 PM
No, but it involves an Eircom League team and surely one of the three stations with rights to Eircom League coverage could show a Champions League qualifier.

Only a channel with rights to the Champions League can show it. Just because other channels have rights to the LOI doesn't matter.

24/07/2008, 1:00 PM
So the Harps Drogheda game on Saturday night has been called off by the FAI. Fair enough, I don't agree with cancelling league games for this but can live with it- but why the hell was this only decided today? Why couldn't the FAI have said to both clubs that if Drogheda get through that this game is off. As it is Harps have a programme at the printers, ads in local papers for the game etc. I really do believe the FAI has improved but this is a joke of a decision. We can only hope the FAI compensate Harps for the money wasted on this.

(It also means we now have 5 weeks without a home game and suspensions due for Saturday carry over until the vital Galway game.)

24/07/2008, 1:10 PM
Only a channel with rights to the Champions League can show it. I think that Champions' League rights are only for the group stages and anyone can show qualifying round games.

24/07/2008, 1:23 PM
So the Harps Drogheda game on Saturday night has been called off by the FAI.... hope the FAI compensate Harps for the money wasted on this.

(It also means we now have 5 weeks without a home game and suspensions due for Saturday carry over until the vital Galway game.)

That's not right at all. Could Harps not refuse to postpone the game?

24/07/2008, 1:28 PM
I think that Champions' League rights are only for the group stages and anyone can show qualifying round games.

Spot on. Qualifiers are free to negotiate their own deals

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 3:06 PM
Spot on. Qualifiers are free to negotiate their own deals

Either way, both RTE and Setanta Ireland have CL rights. No reason either of them can't show the game.

Celdrog
24/07/2008, 3:06 PM
well done to Drogheda. A bigger win than people are giving it credit.:eek::eek: Doolin's a genius:D

RTE said before the Levadia game at home that they were televising the Kiev game if we got through. Not sure if its home, away or both - or RTE just trying to appease us for not showing the Levadia game.

spongebob
24/07/2008, 3:20 PM
Well Done Drogheda!

24/07/2008, 3:43 PM
That's not right at all. Could Harps not refuse to postpone the game?

Nope, the FAI postponed it and there's damn all we can do.

24/07/2008, 3:49 PM
I thought I read RTE wanted to show the lEvadia game but Drogheda wanted more money. (Like last year?)

LeixlipRed
24/07/2008, 4:37 PM
I thought I read RTE wanted to show the lEvadia game but Drogheda wanted more money. (Like last year?)

I think the problem last year was RTE offering no money.

blueblood
24/07/2008, 8:41 PM
Hope RTE cop on and give Drogheda a fair price to show the game(s) live, would be a shame if the game isn't shown.

swinfordfc
25/07/2008, 10:55 AM
Hope RTE cop on and give Drogheda a fair price to show the game(s) live, would be a shame if the game isn't shown.

The game is on rte2 on tuesday @ 7.45pm

irishultra
26/07/2008, 1:04 AM
Where can I get tickets on Saturday? Will they be on sale at Dalymount?

Navandrog
26/07/2008, 10:03 AM
Tickets will be available from The Drogheda Shop; Saturday 09.00-18.00, Sunday 12.00-18.00, Monday 09.30-18.00 and Tuesday 09.30-18.00.

They will be available from United Park; Saturday 12.00-2.30 and Sunday 10.00-13.00.

They will be available from McFadden’s, Balbriggan; Saturday 09.30-17.30, Monday 09.30-17.30 and Tuesday 09.30-17.30.

They will be available from Tierney’s, Navan; Saturday 09.00-20.00, Sunday 09.00-18.30, Monday 09.00-19.30 and Tuesday 09.00-19.30.

They will be available from Dalymount Park; Saturday 12.00-21.00, Monday 18.00-23.00 and Tuesday 12.00-17.00

Kildare Lad
26/07/2008, 11:45 PM
Anyone know where and when I could get tickets for pats match on thursday?

27/07/2008, 11:43 AM
Anyone know where and when I could get tickets for pats match on thursday?

http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2434

Tickets on sale in Richmond. Only €10

swinfordfc
29/07/2008, 8:25 AM
So can Drogs get something out of today game? a draw would be great! :D

amaccann
29/07/2008, 9:48 AM
So what has Kiev's form been like of late? Ignoring precedent and the pedigree of the "name", are there reasons for Drogs to be quietly confident?

LeixlipRed
29/07/2008, 9:48 AM
Kiev have won their first two league games and are top of the table afaik.

29/07/2008, 11:22 AM
ya they're top of the table alright.

Denis The Red
29/07/2008, 11:35 AM
This is a huge game for Drogs and imo the league and I think we should all support them and wish them the best as we should for Cork and Pats.
Good luck to the three of them.

TheBoss
29/07/2008, 12:03 PM
Ireland Stats v Ukraine

HOME
G W D L F A
1 0 1 0 0 0 European Cup
0 0 0 0 0 0 UEFA Cup
0 0 0 0 0 0 Intertoto Cup
2 2 0 0 5 2 Cup Winners Cup

AWAY
G W D L F A
1 0 0 1 1 2 European Cup
0 0 0 0 0 0 UEFA Cup
0 0 0 0 0 0 Intertoto Cup
2 0 0 2 0 3 Cup Winners Cup

amaccann
29/07/2008, 12:21 PM
Hey, 9 times out of 10 I can't stand Drogheda or their accents :p but I'll be cheering them on tonight for sure.

mandrake
29/07/2008, 1:35 PM
most of the players dont have drawda accents....

Hitman
29/07/2008, 2:43 PM
Ireland Stats v Ukraine

HOME
G W D L F A
3 2 1 0 5 2 European Cup
1 0 1 0 0 0 UEFA Cup
0 0 0 0 0 0 Cup Winners Cup
2 2 0 0 5 2 Intertoto Cup

AWAY
G W D L F A
3 0 0 3 1 5 European Cup
1 0 0 1 1 2 UEFA Cup
0 0 0 0 0 0 Cup Winners Cup
2 0 0 2 0 3 Intertoto Cup

Cork City won 2-1 at home and lost 2-0 away to CSKA Kiev in the last season of the Cup-Winners Cup in 98/99.

29/07/2008, 2:55 PM
Cork City won 2-1 at home and lost 2-0 away to CSKA Kiev in the last season of the Cup-Winners Cup in 98/99.

Seems like a long time back to semi-pro winter football. We lead 2-0 at home before conceding a late goal.

TheBoss
29/07/2008, 3:21 PM

I edited the post, the Intertoto and Cup Winners should be the other way around :D

29/07/2008, 3:25 PM
anyway good luck to drogheda tonight and hopefully they will get a decent result. Would be great if they got a win and had something to play for in the second leg. :)

swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 8:44 AM
Lads,

After the first leg of the 2nd qualifying round from last night - it a shame that Drogs didnt get Glasgow Rangers or Anderlecht from Belgium as they would actually win the tie's.

As it stands with the co-efficient, with FBK Kaumas drawing with Rangers last night Lithuania have moved onto 8.666pts and have moved up to 28th spot. The table reads as follows;

27 Finland 8.957
28 Lithuania 8.666
29 Slovenia 8.582
30 Latvia 8.498
31 Poland 8.416
32 Ireland 8.165
33 Bosnia H 7.998
34 Hungary 7.499

What we need tonight is for a St. Pats win thus knocking out a Latvian side and for Cork to some how win over in Finland!

Duggie
31/07/2008, 8:49 AM
Lads,

After the first leg of the 2nd qualifying round from last night - it a shame that Drogs didnt get Glasgow Rangers or Anderlecht from Belgium as they would actually win the tie's.

As it stands with the co-efficient, with FBK Kaumas drawing with Rangers last night Lithuania have moved onto 8.666pts and have moved up to 28th spot. The table reads as follows;

27 Finland 8.957
28 Lithuania 8.666
29 Slovenia 8.582
30 Latvia 8.498
31 Poland 8.416
32 Ireland 8.165
33 Bosnia H 7.998
34 Hungary 7.499

What we need tonight is for a St. Pats win thus knocking out a Latvian side and for Cork to some how win over in Finland!

look at poland one place above us and hungary below us. these would have big clubs so were doin ok i think. few more good years in europe and we will be laughing.

CuanaD
31/07/2008, 10:35 AM
look at poland one place above us and hungary below us. these would have big clubs so were doin ok i think. few more good years in europe and we will be laughing.

That's what I keep on trying to convince every barstooler i meet:ball:

At this stage there are 21 countries ranked below us! :eek:

fingers & toes crossed for 2 good results tonight

bigmac
31/07/2008, 11:23 AM

True - but a country like Hungary is hurt by their entry into the 2nd QR of the CL. Drogs picked up 2 wins in the first QR whereas Budapest drew Fenerbahce in the 2nd QR without getting any points under their belt. Wisla drew Beitar Jerusalem in a similar situation.
They'll begin to climb up again once they get put back to 1st QR and pick up 2 wins each year - it's the see-saw effect.

On the Hungary issue - from a CL point of view it's important to try to keep ahead of them. By my calculations, if we are ranked 32 or higher, then our CL representatives will be seeded (barring individual team coefficients from those countries lower than us :mad:)

*edit* relevant UEFA games
The countries around us (that we could realistically catch or be caught by) in the table are Latvia (in our UEFA region), Bosnia, Hungary, Poland, and possibly Lithuania or Slovenia, but I think they're a bit far ahead of us.

Metalurgs (Lat) V Glentoran (Nir) - 1-1
Olimps Riga (Lat) V Pats - Riga 1-0 down
Vilnius (Lit) V Stavanger (No) - Vilnius 1-0 up
Suduva Marijampole (Lit) V TNS (Wal) - Sudova 1-0 up
Poznan (Pol) V Lenkoran (Azb) - Poznan 1-0 up
Warsaw (Pol) V Gomel (Blr) - 0-0
Gyor (Hun) V Zestafoni (Geo) - 1-1 Gyor go through 3-2 on aggregate :mad:
Debrecen (Hun) V Karaganda (Kaz) - 1-1
Brijeg (Bos) V Tirana (Alb) - 0-0
Mostar (Bos) V Vaduz (Lie) - Mostar 2-1 up
Ljubljana (Slo) V Golubovci (Mon) - 1-1
Koper (Slo) V Vllaznia Shkodër (Alb) - Koper 2-1 down

Obviously from a coefficient point of view, it's the second leg result that is most important, but I put in the tie as it stands as obviously whether a close rival goes through to the next round will hava big effect on whether they can keep accumulating points.

31/07/2008, 11:53 AM
Just a note to say that the qualifying rounds will be much different next year with a prelim round being introduced. The North were in Danger of playing this. Also the UEFA cup will have massive changes with possibly 3 Irish teams in it (in lieu of intertoto)

I can't find any hard news about this

bigmac
31/07/2008, 12:09 PM
Just a note to say that the qualifying rounds will be much different next year with a prelim round being introduced. The North were in Danger of playing this. Also the UEFA cup will have massive changes with possibly 3 Irish teams in it (in lieu of intertoto)

I can't find any hard news about this

There are a few posts earlier in the thread about what happens to us next year and what the nearest magic numbers are.

2009 CL & UEFA access (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=974593#post974593)
nearest ranking cutoffs (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=975006#post975006)

Seeing as the access ranking is a year behind (2007 ranking used for 2009 access) the North won't be in the Q0 preliminary round. That'll be Faroes, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro (as they have no historical coefficient points), Andorra and San Marino. Their 2008 ranking just avoids this as well and at the moment in 2009 they are 1 place ahead of the preliminary round. On the flip side, they would probably be guaranteed coefficient points!

31/07/2008, 12:13 PM
Cheers bigmac. It still seems very much in the air. The co-eff points gained from the QR1 have yet to be decided afaik

Have you further links to help?

bigmac
31/07/2008, 12:25 PM
Cheers bigmac. It still seems very much in the air. The co-eff points gained from the QR1 have yet to be decided afaik

Which QR1? As soon as a match is finished, the points are allocated - same as league points being allocated for matches. Or do you mean that it's unsure whether QR1 next year will carry full or half points?

Bert Kassies has pretty much everything you could want here (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa)

31/07/2008, 12:35 PM

Have you further links to help?
Bert Kassies' site has an access list; as things stand, in 2010, our Cup winners would go straight into the third qualifying round, the league runners up into the second and the other team into the first. That involves us keeping our current (27th) ranking for 2010. Has the structure and everything.

31/07/2008, 12:36 PM
Don't worry I'm on bert's site a bit. but even then, next years detials haven't been fleshed out fully.

Like... will point from the newly introduced QR1 in the CL have the same points as the current QR1 (i.e. 1 for win .5 for draw)? if so we could quickley start losing ground to those below us

31/07/2008, 12:40 PM
Should have guessed, I suppose! Dunno more than what's on his site.

swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 1:11 PM
Gyor (Hungary) team now playing in the UEFA cup (1-1) from first leg which was play in Hungary so hopefully they lose - 11mins gone 0-0

swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 1:50 PM
Gyor (Hungary) team now playing in the UEFA cup (1-1) from first leg which was play in Hungary so hopefully they lose - 11mins gone 0-0

1-1 after 60mins and 2-2 on agg - good battle now .....