View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008
23/07/2008, 4:04 PM
Per the Drogs forum (http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=11020), it seems Drogheda have been under the cosh for much of the opening phases. Game being covered on LMFM too, if anyone has that...
23/07/2008, 4:06 PM
I was listening to it there. Levadia hit the crossbar with a free. They've had a lot of set pieces but can't put anything together.
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 4:21 PM
0:0 at half time - drogs sound like they are getting to grips with tallinn now (hopefully!)
23/07/2008, 4:35 PM
drogs scored gartland
23/07/2008, 5:02 PM
Levadia down to 10 men.
About 20 mins to go.
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 5:23 PM
game over - 0:1
great result imo
23/07/2008, 5:26 PM
Co-efficient for this season now up to 1.166.
kingdomkerry
23/07/2008, 6:05 PM
Can someone post up the latest co-efficient table?
kingdomkerry
23/07/2008, 6:10 PM
Co-efficient for this season now up to 1.166.
1.166 out of 1.333 = 87.47%
Rovers Maniac
23/07/2008, 6:33 PM
Congrats Drogs you have done the league proud. Beating an team from Estonia is a big deal and i hope you milk it.
23/07/2008, 6:34 PM
It works for European results but not the domestic season.
23/07/2008, 6:36 PM
Congrats Drogs you have done the league proud.
I'm posting to take issue with your thread title. This result no more proves that the summer season works than Bohs loss proved it doesn't.
kingdomkerry
23/07/2008, 6:36 PM
And we need to do well in Europe. When the breakthrough comes ie CL or Uefa group stages it will be massive for the domestic game.
It'll be massive for the club that does it- will more people watch Derry if Cork make the UEFA cup though? I very much doubt it.
And tonight could also be taken to prove that spending twice your turnover on players wages is a really brilliant idea.
This is a great night for Drogheda, and fair play to them, but this can't just be attributed to summer football.
deecay
23/07/2008, 7:32 PM
Great night and all that but I doubt they will go any further.I prefer winter football
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 7:40 PM
UEFA coefficiants:
from seasons 99/00 to 03/04:
points: 0.333; 1.666; 0.666; 1.666; 0.333 = 3.164 total - ranked us 40th out of 52 nations
from seasons 04/05 to 08/09:
points: 1.333; 1.833; 2.833; 1.000; 1.166(so far this year) = 8.165 total - ranks us 32nd out of 53 nations.
5 years in a row where we have had teams progressing through at least 1 round in Europe - & last years results, while they were relatively bad (most of us relate that to Shels implosion) were still better than 99/00, 01/02, 02/03 & 03/04.
Extra games in europe, extra gates in europe, extra money from uefa for each round progressed(sometimes TV cash too) - all this adds up to progression to me & I'd put a lot of that down to the summer season fitness advantage.
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 7:44 PM
I'm posting to take issue with your thread title. This result no more proves that the summer season works than Bohs loss proved it doesn't.
Bohs easily won their first round
lost on away goals in their second
3 wins in 4 legs
still far better results than we were accustomed to >5 years ago
And how many full time teams did we have then?
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 7:55 PM
Can someone post up the latest co-efficient table?
Won't be updated till tomorrow - 7 games still going at the moment - 1 still in it's 1st half:
http://www.livescore.com/default.dll?page=home
But our 5-year details are looking a lot healthier than they used to anyway:
UEFA coefficiants:
from seasons 99/00 to 03/04:
points: 0.333; 1.666; 0.666; 1.666; 0.333 = 3.164 total - ranked us 40th out of 52 nations
from seasons 04/05 to 08/09:
points: 1.333; 1.833; 2.833; 1.000; 1.166(so far this year) = 8.165 total - ranks us 32nd out of 53 nations so far.
brianw82
23/07/2008, 7:56 PM
Can. Worms. Open.
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 8:00 PM
actually only 4 games still going now - i see IFK Gothenburg won 4:0 & 9:0 on agg - didn't Derry beat them 1:0home & 1:0away only 2 years ago?
IMO this is a far, far more important point
23/07/2008, 9:03 PM
Won't be updated till tomorrow - 7 games still going at the moment - 1 still in it's 1st half:
dont know about that, Bert usually has it updated fairly quickly
here is the link anyway
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2009.html
passerrby
23/07/2008, 9:13 PM
it proves that drogs have a good squad no more .. and i support summer football
well done drogs
dont know about that, Bert usually has it updated fairly quickly
here is the link anyway
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2009.html
its updated
diamond
23/07/2008, 9:37 PM
can i be the first drog to milk it...................thanks:p:D
skitz3
23/07/2008, 9:37 PM
How many pointless, idiotic threads started by "Rovers Maniac" are we going to have to endure before someone says enough.
Why did we need a new thread for this, we already had a thread where the OP could have went.
Congrats Drogs you have done the league proud. Beating an team from Estonia is a big deal and i hope you milk it.
Estonia are ranked a full 10 places below Ireland so I would not get carried away. LOI teams are expected as seeded teams to progress to 2nd round. Two wins was a bonus though.
Summer football is important for the early rounds of Europe where most teams have summer leagues. We would be at big disadvantage with old format. If LOI teams get seeded summer football will be less important.
23/07/2008, 9:48 PM
Both equally important IMO. Summer football is unambiguously a good thing for European results. Anyone remember Shels playing Brondby about five or six years ago? They'd signed a few (good) players in the close season but played, understandably, like a bunch of fellas who'd never met before and got tonked by a team that weren't much better than them. And that's before you get to the all-important fitness aspect.
Im not convinced it is working, summer football has been OK euro results wise, but we`re still not consistent enough (granted Cork and Pats still have to play)
Attendances are the benchmark and these are only marginally up and very poor overall
Drogs and Pats for eg, did they each attract 1,500 at a recent home game (not the Cork and Rovers games)
Maybe the good results in this years euro games will improve crowds, but its something which must be addressed, clubs attracting 2,000 on avg and paying out 40k a week in wages is pure and utter madness
sullanefc
23/07/2008, 10:22 PM
Attendances are the benchmark and these are only marginally up and very poor overall
If attendances are the benchmark, and as you say they are marginally up, then what that proves, is that the difference between summer and winter football is only marginal.
What is the point going back to winter football if it is not going to affect the attendances that much??? All that will happen is that we will lose our euro advantage and the better weather(marginal) we have in the summer. Fewer games get cancelled.
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 10:40 PM
its updatedwow - Bert is quick!
TheBoss
23/07/2008, 10:44 PM
Attendances will always struggle in this league unless the English Premiership + Celtic/Hibernian is some how averted get fans supporting their local sides, I do not believe that summer football is the reason they may have gone down, if anything, summer football should be attracting fans as there is not much football on during the summer months in terms of European competitions and big leagues.
CuanaD
23/07/2008, 10:50 PM
so i suppose the question is - how much has 'full time training' affected our ability in europe
& how much has 'being mid-season' affected it?
the only way to test that is to compare part time & full time eL teams results in europe over the past 5 seasons & even that won't give a true picture.
so,
Longford were part time i think (theres one win & one cr1p defeat there)
who else?
edit:
our euro reps in the past 4 seasons:
04: Shels, Bohs, Longford & Cork
05: Shels, Cork, Longford & Bohs
06: Cork, Drogs, Derry & Shels
07: Derry, Drogs, Pats & Cork
I have all the results, so which of these were part-time at the time?
gufcfan
24/07/2008, 1:59 AM
Congrats to Drogs.
I would hope that the next round will be televised but ye never know with the RTE crowd.
shed-ender
24/07/2008, 3:02 AM
Pats got thier first away win in Europe in 40 odd years, thats down to full time football and summer football, imo.
Hibs are a good example of what happens when playin against a team half way through thier season when you've just started pre-season training, same as Linfield, although not full time and so Queen of the South will go the same way, again imo.
well done Drogs, give Kiev a good hiding...
SMorgan
24/07/2008, 6:25 AM
It proves nothing of the sort. If that were the case then I could point to pre-summer soccer result that would suggest it works. Its down to full-time soccer little else.
Pats got thier first away win in Europe in 40 odd years, thats down to full time football and summer football, imo.
And being drawn against the worst team we've ever played
Denis The Red
24/07/2008, 7:35 AM
I don't know if it proves summer football works when it comes to Europe but as someone earlier said summer football was brought in to boost attendances, I don't know if it has, maybe slighty but not dramatically.
By the way, did I hear correctly that the "home" tie against Kiev is to be played in Dublin?
Anyway, crongrats to Drogs, whatever the reason. Keep it up.
Hibs4Ever
24/07/2008, 7:44 AM
By the way, did I hear correctly that the "home" tie against Kiev is to be played in Dublin?
Drogs play all their home European games in Dublin
Duggie
24/07/2008, 7:57 AM
people that want to go back to winter football need medical attention...like today. come on the drogs :ball:
KevB76
24/07/2008, 8:01 AM
It'll be massive for the club that does it- will more people watch Derry if Cork make the UEFA cup though? I very much doubt it.
I actually believe more people will take an intertest in their local club if EL teams consistently do better in Europe.
24/07/2008, 8:12 AM
And being drawn against the worst team we've ever played
And the confidence boost the that fattest guy around is the ref not Michael Keane.
Proves full time football works, with some advantage of being mid season. However, whats the real knock on benefits for the league? It's great for Drogs, but I doubt it'll make sod all difference to Longford, Dundalk, Derry, Bohs, Rovers etc etc...
Denis The Red
24/07/2008, 8:32 AM
Drogs play all their home European games in Dublin
Yeah, Dalymount it seems. Why's that, bigger venue, more UEFA friendly I suppose?
24/07/2008, 8:49 AM
Yeah, Dalymount it seems. Why's that, bigger venue, more UEFA friendly I suppose?
Drogheda have played all their European games there for the past couple of seasons because United Park isn't up to the required standard to host a European match.
swinfordfc
24/07/2008, 9:13 AM
Lads,
if St Pats finish the job again Olimps and Cork was to beat Haka - we would close the gap on two of our nearest rivals and also knock out theirs teams!
Pats should win home leg but can Cork get a win in Finland?
Also a Drogs home win or a draw would be a massive help - Has Kiev started their league yet or are they in pre-season?
Louth4sam
24/07/2008, 9:22 AM
Proves full time football works, with some advantage of being mid season. However, whats the real knock on benefits for the league? It's great for Drogs, but I doubt it'll make sod all difference to Longford, Dundalk, Derry, Bohs, Rovers etc etc...
Yes it does, the saying rising tides lift all ships springs to mind. If an Irish side where to make it into the champions league it would raise people impressions of the league, could increase sponsorship, TV deals plus willingness of players to move to the league. If you look at some of the foreign players that players in the SPL outside of the old firm do you really think they would move there if a) the money wasn't there and b) the profile of the league was improved by Celtic and Rangers performing in Europe.
pateen
24/07/2008, 9:25 AM
Drogheda have played all their European games there for the past couple of seasons because United Park isn't up to the required standard to host a European match.
Whats wrong with tolka, wont it hold more than dayler cause dalymount is only partially seated?
Duggie
24/07/2008, 9:57 AM
Whats wrong with tolka, wont it hold more than dayler cause dalymount is only partially seated?
tolka's a dive
better pitch at dalyer anyway. enough seats there for now anyway.