View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

pateen
16/07/2008, 6:49 PM
Can anyone tell me how much it's in tonight, Drogs website seems to be down

Big time, whats going on.

Also NOT ONE of the links work for watching the game live.

Any suggestions here besides Error-Tel. Pleeeeaseee.......... :confused:

16/07/2008, 6:55 PM
Live commentary on Radio 1 LW and rte.ie if that's any use. Pretty even so far.

pateen
16/07/2008, 6:58 PM
Live commentary on Radio 1 LW and rte.ie if that's any use. Pretty even so far.

Tried rte.ie but can only hear James Blunt singing in his usual wyney voice...christ.
Can you get this on-line, send us the link if you can Sheridan

16/07/2008, 7:01 PM
http://www.rte.ie/radio/liveplayer_av.html?1,null,200,http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/radio/radio1.smil

go there and select the Live Radio 1 Extra Stream

pateen
16/07/2008, 7:02 PM
Found it,

Thanks Sheridan.

http://www.rte.ie/radio/index.html

click on Radio 1 extra for anyone else

16/07/2008, 7:15 PM
Drogs one nil down

16/07/2008, 7:15 PM
Drogs 0 Talinn 1

Linfield 0 Zagreb 1

From what I can make out team is

Connor
Byrne Gartland Maher Kendrick
Baker Robinson ??? Cahill
Kudozavic ???

pateen
16/07/2008, 7:16 PM
0 - 1 I to Lavida, a mistake by Gartland acording to the Radio

pateen
16/07/2008, 7:17 PM
Christ, defence sounds dodgy, maher and huges under pressure too

16/07/2008, 7:17 PM
I think Hughes is playing, presumably centre mid. Fabio, Zayed, Bates and Thiam on the bench.

TheBoss
16/07/2008, 7:19 PM
If Drogs can just play 3/4 of the best, they still can win the game, but they appear to be struggling at the moment.

16/07/2008, 7:19 PM
Drogs 0 Talinn 1

Linfield 0 Zagreb 1

From what I can make out team is

Connor
Byrne Gartland Maher Kendrick
Baker Robinson ??? Cahill
Kudozavic ???
Keegan and Hughes the other two, it seems.

swinfordfc
16/07/2008, 7:23 PM
Looks like Drogs are in trouble big time!

16/07/2008, 7:55 PM
1-1 cahill

16/07/2008, 8:13 PM
2-1

Freekick hits the post & rebound. Fadozavic

16/07/2008, 8:22 PM
good man Faz

Conroy
16/07/2008, 8:22 PM
Drogs dug themsleves out of a hole there fair play.

finnpark
16/07/2008, 8:49 PM
Doolin did his best to lose the match.

Stuart Byrne at right back is some waste. He drove Gavin away and Zayed is on the bench, and Robinson is out of position.

Thats Drogs 4 best players!

Then on top of that he signed Kendrick instead of Webb which is a no brainer.

No guesses as to why Drogs are struggling this season anyway

mattl
16/07/2008, 8:58 PM
24Slovakia1.3334.3332.0002.1660.333 10.165
25Cyprus1.3333.0001.7502.6660.333 9.082
26Croatia3.0000.3331.0003.6660.333 8.332
27Finland1.6662.3331.3332.6250.333 8.290
28Slovenia3.5002.3331.2500.6660.333 8.082
29Latvia3.1661.3332.1661.3330.000 7.998
30Poland2.5001.1252.6251.6660.000 7.916
31Lithuania2.5001.3331.8331.5000.333 7.499
32Ireland1.3331.8332.8331.0000.333 7.332
33Hungary4.1661.0001.0001.0000.000 7.166

On a more positive note, we've moved up now two spots from 34th to 32nd. Not a big gap now between Ireland and 24th spot. Certainly 28th should be targetted this year considering the amount of points the teams above us are going to drop.

Lets hope Cork and Pats get positive results tomorrow!

16/07/2008, 9:01 PM
Well done Drogs. Hopefully the rest of us can follow suit

finnpark
16/07/2008, 9:08 PM
Well done Drogs. Hopefully the rest of us can follow suit

Look where Finland are, 27th, Cork will need a big display tomorrow

16/07/2008, 9:09 PM
Look where Finland are, 27th, Cork will need a big display tomorrow

Yep, and I cant say Im overly confident, especially with Flynny out.

It'l be a big test.

finnpark
16/07/2008, 9:10 PM
24Slovakia1.3334.3332.0002.1660.333 10.165
25Cyprus1.3333.0001.7502.6660.333 9.082
26Croatia3.0000.3331.0003.6660.333 8.332
27Finland1.6662.3331.3332.6250.333 8.290
28Slovenia3.5002.3331.2500.6660.333 8.082
29Latvia3.1661.3332.1661.3330.000 7.998
30Poland2.5001.1252.6251.6660.000 7.916
31Lithuania2.5001.3331.8331.5000.333 7.499
32Ireland1.3331.8332.8331.0000.333 7.332
33Hungary4.1661.0001.0001.0000.000 7.166

On a more positive note, we've moved up now two spots from 34th to 32nd. Not a big gap now between Ireland and 24th spot. Certainly 28th should be targetted this year considering the amount of points the teams above us are going to drop.

Lets hope Cork and Pats get positive results tomorrow!

I cannot beleive that we are above Hungary in the rankings :eek:

And Poland way down there is a surprise too. :)

finnpark
16/07/2008, 9:12 PM
Yep, and I cant say Im overly confident, especially with Flynny out.

It'l be a big test.

Correct me if Im wrong but I think Mattews has a dreadful record in Europe?

I don't think his style of plays suits that well but good luck :)

16/07/2008, 9:14 PM

Well, lets just say it's not fantastic :D

Our style of play has changed a bit over the course of the season, playing lovely stuff at times now, so we'l just see I guess.

16/07/2008, 9:30 PM
So whats it now?

Bohs with 3 wins and 1 loss, Drogs with 1 win ..... how many coefficient points for that? City and Pats really have to get results tomorrow night. And Drogs, Pats and City have to get past the first round. Nothing else will do.

16/07/2008, 9:31 PM
I think getting into top 30 either this year or next would be great. I would hope that would mean all LOI sides seeded which makes a huge difference in the 1st qualifying round.

Looking forward to Uefa Cup tomorrow as even if I can't get to away games always make an effort to get to the cross. Not taking anything for granted but I am confident if we can keep high tempo. Healy-Gamble partnership in the centre will be key. Mooney in amazing form & will score if get chances.

16/07/2008, 9:47 PM

Well he has a lot better players at his disposal this time around. I've always felt that with a better squad "his" football would be more expansive.

16/07/2008, 9:50 PM
Not taking anything for granted but I am confident if we can keep high tempo. Healy-Gamble partnership in the centre will be key. Mooney in amazing form & will score if get chances.

Agreed with that, I just hope that they hit the ground running. They need to start the game straight away, not ten minutes after the whistle but then again, if you cant raise your game for a European game then there is something a miss.

16/07/2008, 9:51 PM
So whats it now?

Bohs with 3 wins and 1 loss, Drogs with 1 win ..... how many coefficient points for that? City and Pats really have to get results tomorrow night. And Drogs, Pats and City have to get past the first round. Nothing else will do.

No points for Inter-Toto.

As shown in the table above, it's 0.333 for a win in this early stage (or at least, i think it is).

Well done Drogheda. Shame to leak the away goal, as that could hurt in the second leg, but a good turn-around by the sounds of it.

Anyone know what size of crowd was at it ?

16/07/2008, 9:59 PM
No points for Inter-Toto.

Feic, forgot about that. There are some very obscure points that can be picked up alright in the third round (i think) but not even worth talking about. Its a pity. So fair play to Drogs.

Come on City and Pats !! :ball:

16/07/2008, 10:00 PM
Anyone know what size of crowd was at it ?

On the radio they were talking about unfamiliar surroundings for Drogs & as an aside mentioned the Jodie was full.

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001989910dr.jpg

mandrake
16/07/2008, 10:27 PM
jodi was full, that avbout it, around 100 behind the goal, not a s big as our usuall euor crowd....a lot of non drogs there, john delaney, tracy piggot, the chef from fair city! and a few other fai gangs.....
played well in second deserved anothe i think...muck in 1st half....positive for 2nd leg but you never know...'they didnt like it up em' as they used to say in dads army...
thanks for all the 'well dones' in the posts...hopefully we can get through, good luck to pats nad cork i think they will sail thru...

Higgo
16/07/2008, 10:32 PM
jodi was full, that avbout it, around 100 behind the goal, not a s big as our usuall euor crowd....a lot of non drogs there, john delaney, tracy piggot, the chef from fair city! and a few other fai gangs.....
played well in second deserved anothe i think...muck in 1st half....positive for 2nd leg but you never know...'they didnt like it up em' as they used to say in dads army...
thanks for all the 'well dones' in the posts...hopefully we can get through, good luck to pats nad cork i think they will sail thru...

Reality check, LT are a very poor side and, considering the wages being paid out by your club, this is a bad result...make no mistake about that. There is no way DUFC will progress. Another moral victory, that's all it is. Bull****.

irishultra
16/07/2008, 10:40 PM
What? Come back after the second leg!!!!!!

finnpark
16/07/2008, 10:45 PM
Reality check, LT are a very poor side and, considering the wages being paid out by your club, this is a bad result...make no mistake about that. There is no way DUFC will progress. Another moral victory, that's all it is. Bull****.

Thats a fair point I think. LOI clubs should be targeting these types of clubs for cheaper players too.

Kink looks nifty

Flume
16/07/2008, 10:48 PM

Bitter much and giving out about wages?:rolleyes:

Levadia are not a poor side.Newcastle had trouble putting them out.(Same scoreline as tonight) and they've also had other good scalps in their european adventures.

Was at the match, decent representation from other e.l fans looking at the merchandise.

The drogheda defence is not what it used to be and they could have done with our new centre half out there. Was a very bad mistake to let them in.

They dug themselves out of it in the second half with a good first goal and an opportunistic second. Could and should have been more in the end but drogs will be confident going into the next leg.They are the better side.

Now our turn.

TheBoss
16/07/2008, 10:49 PM
Kink is one of Estonia's best players alongside Oper.

It is a good result in the end, considering what happened, some teams might have lost confidence etc but Drogs realised their ability and showed it in the 2nd Half, I would be confident of an away goal now.

srfc1928
16/07/2008, 11:29 PM
Well done Drogs, happy to see Faz score for ye.

Good luck pats and City

17/07/2008, 1:46 AM

A moral victory is when you loose, but should really have won - or at least played well above your station and went down gallantly.

Drogs result therefore wasn't a moral victory - it was a victory full-stop.

Snoop Drog
17/07/2008, 3:41 AM

Thanks Higgo- I was looking for an opportunity to update my profile signature. After the 2nd leg I might just have that opportunity...

Higgo
17/07/2008, 7:04 AM
When I watched LT against Bohs, they were very poor. My point is that, given this is only the first qualifying round, the wages being paid by our top clubs are way above what results like this suggest they should be. Ok, saying it's a moral victory may be a little premature. However, there is something wrong when you're paying top dollar to players who are failing to knock out teams such as Riga (awful side) and others who are seemingly delighted to beat a mediocre side in LT by such a dangerous scoreline.

ciaraa
17/07/2008, 7:08 AM

I think you're talking moral crap there bud.

Higgo
17/07/2008, 7:12 AM
I think you're talking moral crap there bud.

Read the second post and give me your response to that?

mandrake
17/07/2008, 8:50 AM
moral victories are for defeats and draw, thats for our nationanal side, i think our clubs dont really go for moral victories in europe, win or your out.
we think we should be beating teams from lat/lit/est however soemtimes no matter how much we pay our players here it doesnt matter if they arent as good as other teams....anyway in this situations tallin might have had 6 internationals, but for who ...estonia!! not exactly world beaters...
i think we should get a result away...funny ol game isnt it

Bunny Kelly
17/07/2008, 9:47 AM
When Drogheda showed some composure in the 2nd half they cut LT apart after some amount of aimless balls early on but will they show that in the second leg?

Doolin will prob go 4-5-1 again, try to pack the defence & hoof the ball clear when they get the chance instead of a more disciplined controlled performance like the 2nd half?

The tie is there for Drogheda I just don't trust them to play it right.

bigmac
17/07/2008, 9:55 AM
To sum up the relevant results from the 4 countries immediately above us in the rankings last year:
Latvia - Ventspils beaten 1-0 in Wales by Llanelli :D
Bosnia - FK Modrica beat Tirana 2-0 in Albania
Lithuania - Kaunas beat Santa Coloma 4-1 in Andorra
Moldova - Sheriff Tiraspol beaten 1-0 in Kazakhstan by Aktobe :D

2 good and 2 bad so far, fingers crossed our rivals will have a bad time of it in the UEFA as well.

17/07/2008, 10:20 AM
have to agree re: buying players that would be a good addition that EL clubs pay decent wages too or at least relatve to the others.

Btw fair play to drogheda, great to see a win in terms of moving up the co-efs table.

good luck to st pats and cork tonight, hopefully sneak a win without conceding.

swinfordfc
17/07/2008, 10:32 AM
Lads,

well done to Drogs last night but now we need a win from Pats and Cork today to keep pressure on lithuania and even poland! :eek:

cmon pats and cork :D

Duggie
17/07/2008, 11:25 AM
is there any coverage tonight on RTE LW for uefa cup games ????