View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008
28/08/2008, 8:36 PM
The league's taking a severe beating the last few weeks, we've had financial crisis', poor and unlucky European results and taken all sorts of criticism. Tomorrow, the next day, the next week and the next month we can spend analysing the Cork situation, the full-time/part-time football debate and all the other problems we have but tonight is all about an absolutely brilliant performance from Pats- they've done themselves and the league proud. To go two down to a top Swedish team and then score 4 against them is a remarkable achievement and they deserve all the credit they get and more. Thrilled for them.
LeixlipRed
Fecking super from Pats. Now, a kind draw and who knows what they could do.
oldyouth
Well done Pats, best of luck for the next round
dapman1
Well done Pats, SUPER result
28/08/2008, 8:37 PM
Well done Pats. I went down to Inchicore, but it was sold out. Pity, as it sounded like a great game.
Hopefully you get a do-able tie in the next round. :ball: :ball:
I'd echo that. A place in the group stages would be brilliant given the hammering domestic soccer has taken in the media this year.
Well done St Pats.
Brilliant result Pats. Well done to get not 1 but 2 goals at the death.
The LOI Swedish hoodoo lives again.
And I won't even mention the coefficient!!
What are the odds on the main eL related story in the press tomorrow being all about the Cork deduction?
celticV3
Well done pats again. Serious Fight and determination to get back into the game would have loved to have been there tonight as the atmosphere sounded great their after the equaliser. Where are pats now after this win? Are they in the group stage are is their one more tie to go?
Bohemian1890
I wonder will Trapattoni show up as he said they would watch irish teams in Europe has not been yet AFAIK.Good result
Bohemian1890
28/08/2008, 8:38 PM
Well done pats again. Serious Fight and determination to get back into the game would have loved to have been there tonight as the atmosphere sounded great their after the equaliser. Where are pats now after this win? Are they in the group stage are is their one more tie to go?
One more tie
28/08/2008, 8:39 PM
When they get past the next 2-leg affair they are into the group stages
absolutely delighted. jumped up off the couch celebrating when Gavin scored. would have loved to have been at the game
2-0 :confused:
Excitement got the better of me. At least I managed to get half the scoreline right though.
I'd echo that.
Exactly. Big team would be great, a beatable one even better.
Super result for Pat's. Absolutely brilliant!! Delighted for Pat's and their fans! Also helps the league very well.
28/08/2008, 8:40 PM
Great result Pats.Delighted for ye. Hope ye give the next round a real go as well. I'm sure nobody 'neutral' will get tickets for it but we'll be behind ye in spirit!.
28/08/2008, 8:40 PM
Wheres that "Torn-Ado" lad? Always goes missing when LOI teams knock out Swedish sides. S'pose we'll see him on here next year, singing Swedish footballs praises, should an Irish side draw one. :p
rebelarmyexile
28/08/2008, 8:41 PM
Fantastic. Absolutely fecking fantastic. When is the draw for the 1st round proper? Elfs would have been favourites to progress to groups stages i presume so IT IS POSSIBLE.
SUPER SUPER SAINTS
Paddyfield
WELL DONE THE SUPERSAINTS.
I am so proud to be a League of Ireland fan.
PS I woke my 1 year old son when I shouted "Yesssssss" as I read the scoreline.
And I won't even mention the coefficient!!
Johnny Mac did just there now on the radio! :D:D:D
28/08/2008, 8:42 PM
Aparently there could be a problem with finding a venue to play the 1st Leg if Pats are drawn at home first
28/08/2008, 8:43 PM
Aparently there could be a problem with finding a venue to play the 1st Leg if Pats are drawn at home first
Surely the RDS?
28/08/2008, 8:43 PM
Dalymount I'd presume
Bohemian1890
28/08/2008, 8:44 PM
Dalymount I'd presume
money for Bohs :cool:
Fantastic result!
Congratulations and well done.
Good luck in the draw tomorrow
28/08/2008, 8:45 PM
Surely the RDS?
Leinster play the Ospreys there the night before
LeixlipRed
28/08/2008, 8:47 PM
Is that a floodlights related issue or what?
Con-Con
28/08/2008, 8:49 PM
Well done Pats hope the next round draw is kind. I believe they can make it through.
showgies
28/08/2008, 8:50 PM
Congrats Pats, hope ye get a good draw
28/08/2008, 8:50 PM
Yes!!!! 18-4 to Pats on the away/home/made up rule
tx Leix red for making me laugh (your two posts)
brilliant:)
so happy for St pats, brilliant
Hibs4Ever
28/08/2008, 8:51 PM
What a night. Best team won by far. Easily one of my proudest in 26 years supporting Pats.
Bring on tomorrows draw
i am so proud to be an eircom league fan well done to pats.. heres to the next draw...:D
SUB of the day
Fantastic result, delighted for saints......hearing the winner go in, and getting text that City have been deducted 10 points was SURREAL!!!:):(:ball:
5ForKeeps
Fair play to St. Pats great nite for the ROI club football and the eircom league.
texidub
28/08/2008, 8:52 PM
Fantastic Result. Fair play to Pats for doing the league proud.
Good luck in the next round. :)
Leinster play the Ospreys there the night before
Is Dalymount suitable?
Flawless
Well done pats, thoroughly deserved i believe!
Great for the league aswell!
Pity Trap O'Tony Named his squad before the game!
28/08/2008, 8:53 PM
Well done to Pats.
Hibs4Ever
28/08/2008, 8:57 PM
Well done pats, thoroughly deserved i believe!
Great for the league aswell!
Pity Trap O'Tony Named his squad before the game!
Totally deserved. Watched it online. Saints were far the better team. Quigo tore them apart again
28/08/2008, 8:57 PM
Is that a floodlights related issue or what?
You need a Cat 3 Stadium for the First Round onwards:
150 Secure Car Park spaces
Minimum 3,000 seats
CCTV Installed covering both inside and outside the ground
Minimum of 750 VIP seats
100 seat Press Area with 50 of those seats fitted with desks
25 Radio and TV commentary positions
That's according to the UEFA Stadia Regulations
irishultra
28/08/2008, 8:59 PM
Yes Pat's!!!!!!!
Delighted:D
Denis The Red
28/08/2008, 9:00 PM
Well done lads, you're a credit to the league. I have no affiliation with the club but I'm proud as punch for what you've achieved. Onwards and upwards.
Demoshield
from Independent today.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eircom-league/saints-have-grounds-for-concern-as-swede-success-could-force-trip-to-britain-1464494.html
ST PATRICK'S ATHLETIC could be forced to play the home leg of their UEFA Cup first round proper in Britain if they complete an upset against Swedish big guns Elfsborg at Richmond Park tonight.
However, different UEFA ground regulations exist for the next stage of the competition -- the final round before the group stages -- and only Croke Park and the RDS comply with those in this country.
Should the Saints qualify for the next round and be drawn at home, that game will be scheduled for Thursday, September 18, but Croke Park is unavailable and the RDS is not an option either as it plays host to a Magners League match between Leinster and Ospreys the following night.
Unless UEFA agreed to the game being brought forward to the Wednesday -- and Saints believe that would be a longshot -- they would have no other choice but to go to Britain.
They do have the option, though, of requesting to play the first leg away from home regardless of the draw but they would have to file that request immediately after the Elfsborg game.
Well done Pats.
LeixlipRed
"Howya bud, I'll secure that car there for ya. One question, is the back seat flat?"
28/08/2008, 9:01 PM
Derry played at home 2 years ago, despite not meeting all the criteria.
MMVIII
28/08/2008, 9:01 PM
Minimum 3,000 seats
Minimum of 750 VIP seats
That's according to the UEFA Stadia Regulations
Would Croke Park ever be an option?
*edit just read the comment a few above me after posting this seeing that Croke Park is unavailable.
How come ourselves and Derry managed to play our 1st round ties at home when we got there?
Our only problem was floodlights afaik and we got around that by playing at 6. Could Pats look to doing similar maybe in Dalymount?
28/08/2008, 9:10 PM
Minimum 3,000 seats
Minimum of 750 VIP seats
That's according to the UEFA Stadia RegulationsThe Brandywell managed it & its a kip, so it's not insurmountable.
& well done Pat's Some good news for a change.
HarpoJoyce
28/08/2008, 9:12 PM
Now those irritating qualifiers are over, all the eL teams should be proud of their performances and results.
Dave77
28/08/2008, 9:14 PM
what a game.
brilliant for Pats brilliant for LOI.
Better team won by far