View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23

finnpark
04/09/2008, 9:49 PM
Is the 1st leg on Irish TV? 2nd leg on Irish/German TV?

Setanta have one of the legs at least, I think its the match at the RDS.

Im not 100% if that leg but am pretty sure. They announced it the other day.

Only for Setanta what would we do. :)

04/09/2008, 10:31 PM
Only for Setanta what would we do. :)

Given the number of league games they show I have been surprised they have not picked up the away rights for LOI European games before.

04/09/2008, 10:36 PM
I hope it's not on Setanta.

I remember for the Derry Gretna match they made it a pay per view so people with no digital (like me:() couldn't watch it.

05/09/2008, 8:19 AM
Derry v Gretna definitely wasn't pay per view. It might've been on one of their subscription channels though

05/09/2008, 9:36 AM
Derry v Gretna definitely wasn't pay per view. It might've been on one of their subscription channels though

True. I think it was on Setanta 1 or 2 & not Setanta Ireland.

05/09/2008, 12:34 PM
I must be mistaken. I just remember someone telling me they had to pay to watch that match.

robertob
08/09/2008, 10:47 AM
Great result for pats. I'm really happy about this big win. Then don't forget Elfsborg is one of the best teams of sweden. But the moral of pats players was better and so brilliant!

Next match will be against Hertha BSC! A dream draw for me, because Berlin is only 200km of Rostock away, so I will definitely watch the game in Berlin Olympiastadium on 16th september. Anyone of this forum will be there too?

08/09/2008, 11:48 AM
Yep, I'll be there. About 400 St Pats travelling apparently

08/09/2008, 12:11 PM
...Also, Kaka and Lucio play for them.
You do realise that's a completely different Kaka and completely different Lucio? :D

08/09/2008, 12:19 PM
Yes. (Though I meant to put it in the original post :o)

It's in ATW for the Sligo programme.

twoenz
11/09/2008, 9:33 AM
Are many of you guys making the trip out to Berlin? I live right beside the Olympiastadion if anyone's looking for tips or anything.

11/09/2008, 9:41 AM
Are many of you guys making the trip out to Berlin? I live right beside the Olympiastadion if anyone's looking for tips or anything.

About 300 travelling. Wouldn't be many that post here. Most staying in the Mitte area or just off Ku'undaam.

The earliest some people are arriving is Sunday but most coming in on Tuesday morning. And there'll be people there until at least Saturday.

Looking forward to it. Apart from the Olympiastadion (I'm obsessed by the Olympics), I'm looking forward to visitng the Reichstag and the Topography of Terror. Hope the weather is fine.

Any tips for us?

twoenz
11/09/2008, 9:58 AM
About 300 travelling. Wouldn't be many that post here. Most staying in the Mitte area or just off Ku'undaam.

The earliest some people are arriving is Sunday but most coming in on Tuesday morning. And there'll be people there until at least Saturday.

Looking forward to it. Apart from the Olympiastadion (I'm obsessed by the Olympics), I'm looking forward to visitng the Reichstag and the Topography of Terror. Hope the weather is fine.

Any tips for us?

If you wanna do the Reichstag then you'll have to be there early in the day. It's free to get up the dome and is well worth it, but there's massive queues for most of the day.

It's a great city for doing walking tours around, there's a free one that leaves from Bandy Brooks ice cream shop beside Friedrichstrasse station at 1pm which is excellent. If you can, avoid eating around Mitte, they'll hear the foreign accents and serve you ****.

The Olympic Stadium is well worth a visit, but be warned, on match day apart from the game there's nothing to do out there. There's two very small bars that you could drink in, but they're miniscule. Drinking in the streets is legal, so popping to a supermarket and buying a case of the local brew (should cost about €12 including Pfand (recycling charge) may be advisable.

The stadium tour (not guided) is €3. Won't be open the day of the game and I can't see it opening before 12 on the day after the game.

If you're into museums then check out the Pergamon museum on Museum Insel (Island).

As for bars to enjoy while you're there: the main Irish bars are the following:

in Mitte you've got Oscar Wilde's on Freidrichstrasse (U Bahn stop Oranianburger Tor), which is owned by a Derry guy who also owns Quigley's Point in Paris. It's a bit of a dive, smells really bad and has awful food. It's cheaper than the other bars though and is quite big. It's €3.40 for a pint of the local, and I think it's €4.20 for a pint bottle of Magners. Staff are pretty woeful but it's central.

A much nicer place in Mitte is the Kilkenny in Hackesher Market S Bahn station. About 10 minutes walk away from Oscar's. It's much nicer but more expensive. For a pint of the local/Guinness it's €4.90. Pub quiz on a Thursday, food's much more reasonable than their booze and the staff are much nicer.

AVOID, and I can't stress this enough AVOID, The Irish Pub in the Europa Centre. It's a huge, soulless, vacuum of a place in a shopping centre. Tourist trap and overpriced and basically hell.

The one nearest to the stadium is the Harp in Charlottenberg. It's the sister pub to the Kilkenny and is in a leafy side street 3 stations away from the stadium. Also within walking distance from Ku'Damm. Same prices as the Kilkenny, with a large terrace and a large smoking room. You can booze there, and be at the stadium in 20 minutes, including the walk from bar to S Bahn station.

That's everything off the top of my head at the minute...

11/09/2008, 10:14 AM
Thanks. We've arranged discounts (etc) on beer in the Kilkenny and the Harp (pre match for the Harp, the rest of the time in the Kilkenny). They've been really really accommodating (even drawing up maps etc). Nice to here an independent review of them though

finnpark
11/09/2008, 11:59 AM
Thanks. We've arranged discounts (etc) on beer in the Kilkenny and the Harp (pre match for the Harp, the rest of the time in the Kilkenny). They've been really really accommodating (even drawing up maps etc). Nice to here an independent review of them though

What about the home leg, I assume that tickets are on sale on the night?

If the first leg is a hammering not many will turn up but hopefully that won't happen.

11/09/2008, 12:33 PM
Kilkenny pub poster (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_kLYfH-okVHM/SMhJbk11LNI/AAAAAAAAAVg/U7XgXtgslRM/s320/poster.jpg)

Tickets won't be a problem for the 2nd leg

finnpark
11/09/2008, 8:22 PM
Thanks Dodge,

Well hopefully Pats will keep the tie alive

12/09/2008, 11:06 AM
Hertha v Pats live on Setanta from 5pm on Tuesday. RDS leg live on German TV, no news yet on Irish TV

Speakthetruth
12/09/2008, 3:25 PM
Thanks Dodge,

Well hopefully Pats will keep the tie alive

Hoping that too! Lads, I know Fahey sat out the match the other night but any insight on whether he is fit for Tuesday! Was on the Pats site there a minute ago, and seen powers have a special for him to score a 10/1!! If he's fit, definitely worth a fiver!

German football has regressed seriously over the past 5 years, so I think we should be optimistic!!

12/09/2008, 5:44 PM
Hertha v Pats live on Setanta from 5pm on Tuesday. RDS leg live on German TV, no news yet on Irish TV

aha

Live UEFA Cup - Hertha Berlin v St Pat's Live
Available in (Setanta) Ireland only. Live action from the Olympic Stadium, Berlin, as St Patrick's Athletic travel to Germany to take on Herttha Berlin. K.O. 5:00pm.

Pity it is on so early.

TheBoss
12/09/2008, 5:49 PM
I have a feeling it may be 5 or 6 for Hertha. Pats defence has been a little disappointing in recent games.

12/09/2008, 7:07 PM
I have a feeling it may be 5 or 6 for Hertha. Pats defence has been a little disappointing in recent games.

What gave it away the 3 goals against Bohs or Fingal?

Insightful...

TheBoss
13/09/2008, 2:30 PM
Its hardly the way a team should be playing conceding that many goals in a week and then playing a top German Team.

13/09/2008, 2:32 PM
Its hardly the way a team should be playing conceding that many goals in a week and then playing a top German Team.

How were ye playing in the weeks before teh CL games?

I dont believe LOI form makes much difference in the run in to European games. its a completely different scenario.

13/09/2008, 2:36 PM
Plus Hertha Berlin could not be classed as a 'top' German team.

13/09/2008, 4:52 PM

You think they're doing it on purpose?

TheBoss
13/09/2008, 10:59 PM
Plus Hertha Berlin could not be classed as a 'top' German team.

They have the players to be up there, it is just not working for them at the moment.

You think they're doing it on purpose?

Why would I think that, how can a team play not so good on purpose. I want them to do well, I think a 2-0 defeat would be an amazing result. Its just if they play bad like recently, it could be embarrassing.

twoenz
14/09/2008, 12:01 AM
ah come on, form's paramount!!!

After watching Hertha today against Wolfsburg, they're a team without confidence....

We'll see what happens.

finnpark
15/09/2008, 4:17 PM
It could be embarrising. St Pats have conceded 6 goals in 2 games against an understrength Bohs side and a first division side. They play a team with Marko Pantellic and Voronin up front - two Internationals, superstars in their own right.

15/09/2008, 4:30 PM
Preview on Hertha site here (http://www.herthabsc.de/index.php?id=16873).

They seem confident, but acknowledge that they need to be wary considering Pat's result against the Swedes. Hertha have won 1 drawn 2 and lost one in the Budesliga. The win was in their first game so they not exactly high on confidence.

15/09/2008, 5:12 PM
Preview on Hertha site here (http://www.herthabsc.de/index.php?id=16873)

I am delighted because I have never been to Ireland.
That's just hilarious.

15/09/2008, 5:40 PM
IVoronin up front - two Internationals, superstars in their own right.

:D In his own head maybe.

15/09/2008, 6:01 PM
It could be embarrising. St Pats have conceded 6 goals in 2 games against an understrength Bohs side and a first division side. They play a team with Marko Pantellic and Voronin up front - two Internationals, superstars in their own right.

Think you've posted similar before every euro tie this year

finnpark
15/09/2008, 6:28 PM
Think you've posted similar before every euro tie this year

Ah, Im bound to be right sometime :D

St Pats are in crisis so I think most people will be thinking about a Hertha win. They have a better team than the Irish national side I would say.

15/09/2008, 7:17 PM
St Pats are in crisis so I think most people will be thinking about a Hertha win. They have a better team than the Irish national side I would say.

In Crisis? Fecking dramaqueen. Only 4 games ago we beat Elfsberg.

Anyway, they'd have been massive favourites even if we won our last 20

robertob
15/09/2008, 8:00 PM
I will be tomorrow in Berlin, come the 250 kilometers from Rostock to watch St. Patrick's Athletic. I'm so happy about the draw. Although I think Pats has no chance if Hertha would have a normal day. But if Hertha give not all, there is a chance for the Pats.

I hope a lot of Saints supporters will be there tomorrow so we can rock the Olympiastadium and sing "Ha Ho He - Hertha BSE"! :cool:

Boh_So_Good
15/09/2008, 11:20 PM
Is German TV streaming tomorrow nights match?

15/09/2008, 11:39 PM
They seem confident, but The win was in their first game so they not exactly high on confidence.

Having watched Berlin in the flesh, they are a very average team. Finished mid-table in the Bundesliga last year, and are mid-table this year. With Voronin upfront, they're unlikely to make much progress up the table.

While they remain favourites for this tie, Pats are well capable of giving them a scare or two, and I wouldn't rule them out of it, unless they implode in Berlin.

15/09/2008, 11:52 PM
Are Fahey and Quigley fit to play? Anyone missing at all for Pat's?

finnpark
15/09/2008, 11:59 PM
Are Fahey and Quigley fit to play? Anyone missing at all for Pat's?

Paisley the only doubt. Not sure about Murphy

robertob
16/09/2008, 4:58 AM
Only 7.000 fans will expected today in Olympiastadion. What a shame!

amaccann
16/09/2008, 7:55 AM
Well good luck to Pats & here's hoping something spectacular can happen. But even if Pats are destined to lose, it would be nice to see them go out fighting to a close scoreline than getting a good hockeying.

In my view, they're not just representing themselves or the league at this stage, but the very prestige of the league too. There has been far too much negative battering at the hands of hacks too enamoured with the English league to give the LoI a fair trial; some unequivocal good news would be fantastic.

TheBoss
16/09/2008, 2:03 PM
As they said on MNS, if they can keep the score down and still be in the tie, they would have done more than enough.

18/09/2008, 12:03 AM
Arsenal scraped a late goal in a 1-1 draw with Kiev tonight:eek:

TheBoss
18/09/2008, 2:24 PM
Dynamo were sloppy v Drogs and took it easy towards the end in that game. Arsenal still should have won the game.

18/09/2008, 4:50 PM
It was nice to hear Jimmy Magee praising Drogs at the end of the Kiev Arsenal match last night. Regardless of how Kiev played in that match, Jimmy (who, I'd think, would have an idea of the league seen as his son played in it) still got the Drogs mention in.

19/09/2008, 11:51 AM
Jimmy (who, I'd think, would have an idea of the league seen as his son played in it)
And is still a regular down Belfield Bowl way. I remember him suggesting the Nigerian keeper in the 2002 World Cup would surely interest some eL sides. Random throwaways like that. Good man, is Jimmy.

24/09/2008, 1:32 PM
http://blog.paddypower.com/index.php/2008/09/23/uefa-cup-win-tickets/

Paddy Power giving away 5 sets of tickets...

24/09/2008, 7:07 PM
Wrong thread.

27/09/2008, 2:17 PM
From the FAI:

Marco Tardelli said: “I saw St. Pat’s earlier in the season in Richmond Park and they looked very impressive. It’s a great achievement for St. Pat’s to be playing at this level, great for domestic soccer. Best of luck on Tuesday.”