View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008
swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 2:34 PM
1-1 after 60mins and 2-2 on agg - good battle now .....
1-2 after 80mins - Gyor (Hungary) will be in the next round :(
Haka v City team confirmed
Devine, Horgan, Murray, Sullivan, Danny Murphy, Lordan, Darren Murphy, Healy, Gamble, Kearney, Mooney
Behan out Lordan in.
Probably a one legged O'Flynn & some 12 year olds on the bench.
swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 2:59 PM
Devine, Horgan, Murray, Sullivan, Danny Murphy, Lordan, Darren Murphy, Healy, Gamble, Kearney, Mooney
Behan out Lordan in.
Cork playing one or 2 up front?
swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 3:00 PM
1-2 after 80mins - Gyor (Hungary) will be in the next round :(
With Gyor wining their match, Hungary are now only 1 win away from catching us!
swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 3:02 PM
Updated table reads as follows;
27 Finland 8.957
28 Lithuania 8.666
29 Slovenia 8.582
30 Latvia 8.498
31 Poland 8.416
32 Ireland 8.165
33 Bosnia H 7.998
34 Hungary 7.832
What we need tonight is for a St. Pats win thus knocking out a Latvian side and for Cork to some how win over in Finland!
bigmac
31/07/2008, 3:08 PM
Like... will point from the newly introduced QR1 in the CL have the same points as the current QR1 (i.e. 1 for win .5 for draw)? if so we could quickly start losing ground to those below us
Don't think it'll matter really - it's only the really bad countries that will have the opportunity of gaining points in the new QR0 so it shouldn't really affect us. Assuming that the points are the same, then as soon as they start to close the gap they'll be out of QR0 and into QR1 - where they'll be unseeded. I would imagine that the coefficients of the bottom 8 or so teams will go up as they get the easy draws, but I don't think that anyone will overhaul us as a result of this.
Put it this way - assume that the Faroese champions win both ties in the QR0 - it still only gives them .666 points per year to add to their country score. On a 5 year run this gives them a base of 3.3 coefficient points plus whatever they can pick up against seeded teams. Add this 3.3 to their current performance and they're still only at about 5.5 - by which point they'd have moved well away from the easy draws in QR0 but still be 3 or so points behind us.
The new round only makes a difference to those teams within a few places either side of the cutoff. Look at our situation with Hungary this year as an example - Drogs enter a round earlier, therefore get extra points and we can catch Hungary in the standings. Therefore Hungarian stattos are looking at the coefficient and saying "crap, Ireland gets two easier ties and will catch us up" whereas countries a few places higher, eg Norway, aren't affected that much by us getting an extra round because we're no threat to them.
*edit*
Stu, with respect to the 2010 ranking of 27th (very difficult to predict that far ahead tbh), that ranking will only give us Q3 access in 2012 as the access is 2 years removed from the rankings list. This is so every league knows exactly how many places it has before it begins its season.
swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 3:12 PM
Glentoran are 1-1 from the first leg against the Lativan team Metalurgs Liepaja and after 5 mins of the second leg in Latvia - the lativans have a man sent off - surely Glentoran can go on and win the game! :o
bigmac
31/07/2008, 3:17 PM
Glentoran are 1-1 from the first leg against the Lativan team Metalurgs Liepaja and after 5 mins of the second leg in Latvia - the lativans have a man sent off - surely Glentoran can go on and win the game! :o
Would be huge result for us if they did. I wouldn't worry too much about Hungary. If we don't get them this year they're losing a massive 4.166 points next year :D
Hitman
31/07/2008, 3:39 PM
Behan out Lordan in.
McNulty, Ryan, Mulcahy, O' Flynn, Behan, Kelly, O' Connor according to http://www.corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php
swinfordfc
31/07/2008, 3:42 PM
Glentoran 1-0 nil down and the other team to 10 men after 5 mins! 41 mins play! :mad:
CuanaD
31/07/2008, 3:56 PM
*edit*
Stu, with respect to the 2010 ranking of 27th (very difficult to predict that far ahead tbh), that ranking will only give us Q3 access in 2012 as the access is 2 years removed from the rankings list. This is so every league knows exactly how many places it has before it begins its season.
Here's Bert's take on the access list for next year:
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/access2009.html
Our league winners look like being unseeded in Q1 of the CL
Cup winners certainly unseeded in Q2 of UEFA but 2nd & 3rd in the league will be almost certainly seeded in Q1 of UEFA.
so swings & roundabouts - 2 teams with v-difficult ties, other 2 should have easier 1st rounds :confused:
31/07/2008, 4:00 PM
Strange. I was going off this (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2010.html), which is normally the access list for the season on top (i.e. 2010/11). Obviously there's a lot of games to go before then, but it has us 27th which, coupled with CuanaD's access list for next year (which is when the changes come into effect), is has us in Q3 of the UEFA.
Stand corrected if they change it though. It's just nice to see that we're near another jump up.
TheBoss
31/07/2008, 4:08 PM
Updates on Cork Match: http://www.corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php
31/07/2008, 4:12 PM
1-0 Haka. Cork need two now.
TheBoss
31/07/2008, 4:15 PM
Does not really change things, Cork needed 2 goals realistically.
bigmac
31/07/2008, 4:16 PM
Strange. I was going off this (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2010.html), which is normally the access list for the season on top (i.e. 2010/11).
That's just the ranking list for the end of season 2010/2011. As it stands, because the summer leagues start in March or so, each FA needs to know, by then at the latest, how many places will be on offer that year.
Look at the LOI as an example. When the league started in March 08, the teams were informed that the winner would be given a CL spot, cup winners in UEFA etc... and that these competitions would be taking place from July/August 2009. The European season 07/08 had not finished by then, so therefore the last complete ranking list that could be used was that of European season 06/07. Hence, rankings from season 06/07 as seen here (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2007.html) were used to calculate the access of each country to the European competitions for 2009/2010. This is where the 2 year gap comes from.
31/07/2008, 4:17 PM
Maybe, but if you're going to assume Haka are going to score, you'd rather they didn't do it ten minutes in and get some encouragement.
bigmac
31/07/2008, 4:18 PM
2-0 now :mad:
On the upside, Vetra are losing against Stavanger
ger121
31/07/2008, 4:19 PM
Jesus Cork are terrible for given teams 1/2 goal starts. No doubt this will end up 2-2 again!!!
2-0 now :mad:
On the upside, Vetra are losing against Stavanger
Not an upside as they're potential oppents in next round and expensive to get to ;)
31/07/2008, 4:22 PM
That's just the ranking list for the end of season 2010/2011. As it stands, because the summer leagues start in March or so, each FA needs to know, by then at the latest, how many places will be on offer that year.
Look at the LOI as an example. When the league started in March 08, the teams were informed that the winner would be given a CL spot, cup winners in UEFA etc... and that these competitions would be taking place from July/August 2009. The European season 07/08 had not finished by then, so therefore the last complete ranking list that could be used was that of European season 06/07. Hence, rankings from season 06/07 as seen here (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2007.html) were used to calculate the access of each country to the European competitions for 2009/2010. This is where the 2 year gap comes from.
Are you sure? I'm pretty sure the list at the end of one (European) season is the basis for everything (access and seeding) the following season. So how we do at the end of next year (2009/10 - currently 27th) will determine where we start the following one (2010/11).
The FA don't need to know details of the Euro spots because an extra place, for example, wouldn't affect how the teams are chosen, and the access list makes it clear which UEFA spots (cup winners, league runners up, etc) go where.
We only start playing at 0-2 anyway.
ger121
31/07/2008, 4:52 PM
We only start playing at 0-2 anyway.
Yeah a two goal headstart is like a Cup of Coffee to you guys. You can't do anything till you have it:p
31/07/2008, 4:53 PM
Half time.
Metalurgs gone 2-0 up Glens despite playing 85 minutes with ten men; it's into injury time now.
Edit - Glens finish with nine men! Red cards on 88 and 90.
TheBoss
31/07/2008, 5:01 PM
Reading the updates on the Cork website, it appears they are playing a high defensive line, due to all of the counter attacks Haka are getting, all Cork needed to do was go in at half time at 0-0, and then nerves set in the Haka players, do we defend or attack, pity they threw it away so early in the game.
TheBoss
31/07/2008, 5:28 PM
It is completely over now, 3-0
Straightstory
31/07/2008, 5:41 PM
4-0 now. This is very embarrassing. But could have been expected considering Mathews' shameful, shameful record in European games. I feel very sorry for Cork's fans. They deserve better than this. Also, Rico must be angry and frustrated. Impossible to imagine this shambles if he was still in charge.
Pathetic and embarrassing. Worst result in memory. Will have to search the record books...
:mad:
alansmithccfc
31/07/2008, 5:44 PM
I'd like to say we're an embarrassment to the league.
Matthews doesn't have a clue in Europe
Our worst performance since Slavia Prague 94, still amateur at that time though
31/07/2008, 5:44 PM
Behan sent off. That's an absolute shocker of a result with the players he has available and the standard of the opposition. No excuse for it.
Rovers Maniac
31/07/2008, 5:45 PM
This is the last day of July and we are facing the prospect of only having 1 team left in Europe after July. I see out domination of the European football is well on track. A total joke we should concentrate on producing a good league and not worry about European Games FOR THE MOMENT. Cork are 4 nil down in the away league as i speak, in the bad old days as people speak about getting beat 4 nil in Finland would have been a disaster not sure what excuse the Summer soccer brigrade will use for this result.
I expect Pats to score a few against this crowd tonigh and in effect be the only team from league left in Europe in August.
People are in dream land if they think we are close to group stages of the UEFA cup or the champions league.
31/07/2008, 5:47 PM
No excuse what so ever. A complete disaster.
That is one black mark for Matthews. He is up against it now.
31/07/2008, 5:49 PM
LMAO. Catch a grip...its nowt to do with summer soccer FFS. The fact Matthews sent out a 4-5-1 formation should give you a better idea of where the blame should lay.
31/07/2008, 5:49 PM
At least you are sticking to your policy for negative posting anyway, fair play to ya.
paulie_walnuts
31/07/2008, 6:01 PM
Does this actually mean that Delaney was right in going to Galway to help save a club in the league and not show his support to a club in Europe? ;)
Saint_Charlie
31/07/2008, 6:02 PM
This is the last day of July and we are facing the prospect of only having 1 team left in Europe after July. I see out domination of the European football is well on track. A total joke we should concentrate on producing a good league and not worry about European Games FOR THE MOMENT. Cork are 4 nil down in the away league as i speak, in the bad old days as people speak about getting beat 4 nil in Finland would have been a disaster not sure what excuse the Summer soccer brigrade will use for this result.
I expect Pats to score a few against this crowd tonigh and in effect be the only team from league left in Europe in August.
People are in dream land if they think we are close to group stages of the UEFA cup or the champions league.
The sky is falling!!!
TheBoss
31/07/2008, 6:02 PM
Worst is 5-0 in 1989 v Torpedo Moscow
Rovers Maniac
31/07/2008, 6:12 PM
At least you are sticking to your policy for negative posting anyway, fair play to ya.
What would you like me to say hard luck? Unlucky Haka could go all the way this year? And the ones that say Matthews is to blame are living in a fantasy world. The league is built with very little foundations the best team in the league went out to a Latvian team this year for me that says it all. Pats got a great draw against the bottom team in the Latvian league and who are only feeder team for Skonto Riga by all accounts, and that is probably the reason they are going through tonight.
SalvadorSanchez
31/07/2008, 6:19 PM
Does this actually mean that Delaney was right in going to Galway to help save a club in the league and not show his support to a club in Europe? ;)
Nah, he's tryin' to get some money at the races from the builders seeing as biffo doesn't have the FF tent there :D
skitz3
31/07/2008, 6:20 PM
This guy is looking for the next excuse to start a thread. The last thread he started was merged with the other Euro thread and can i suggest this one be merged too. There is no need for this thread.
Gypsy1890
31/07/2008, 6:20 PM
Rovers Maniac in yet ANOTHER boring thread. Will it ever end?
I'm embarrassed for you. You must be the most tedious poster on this forum.
Celdrog
31/07/2008, 6:40 PM
This is the last day of July and we are facing the prospect of only having 1 team left in Europe after JulyWe are in the draw for the third round of the CL tomorrow (the first of August).
Pat's will win tonight.
My three year old knows that 1+1 = 2.
Someone of your intelligence doesn't. Says it all really. Its people like you that almost had us cheering for Thomas Davis. I suyppose you were also abusing Simon Webb last year
TheFingallian
31/07/2008, 6:45 PM
This is not exactly something new.
And with due respect Drogheda are on the road to the same scoreline in the Ukraine depending on how hard they push. Obviously better than doing it to Haka but the angry Rovers man was right in that effectively we only have at least one in Europe by next week.
31/07/2008, 6:48 PM
in fairness there are no excuses for losing 4-0 to a finish side. Thats back to the days of yesteryear....and the lads now have their usual ammunition
Someone of your intelligence doesn't. Says it all really. Its people like you that almost had us cheering for Thomas Davis. I suyppose you were also abusing Simon Webb last year
Can I disassociate the most successful club in Ireland from the allegiances of this OP?
Thanks.
31/07/2008, 6:49 PM
bit of a WUM imo
Rovers Maniac
31/07/2008, 7:53 PM
This guy is looking for the next excuse to start a thread. The last thread he started was merged with the other Euro thread and can i suggest this one be merged too. There is no need for this thread.
This is a reality check for the guys who think we are knocking on the door of European football's group stages.
We are in the draw for the third round of the CL tomorrow (the first of August).
Pat's will win tonight.
My three year old knows that 1+1 = 2.
Childish post, to actually think you are in with a chance of beating Kiev is in itself laughable after being happy to to lose by goal at home.
bit of a WUM imo
Is this the result to type answer when you don't agree with what a poster is saying but you don't have anything to say?
As for the people who say this should be moved into another thread maybe so, but as long as the formats remain the same there is more chance of people on this site carrying a light saber and Driving an X wing fighter than qualifying especially for the Champions league group stages. I laugh when i hear comments about how close we are we are not ! It is the stuff of fantasy to say we are not close to Uefa Cup group stages even as we are light years away.
31/07/2008, 7:58 PM
Is this the result to type answer when you don't agree with what a poster is saying but you don't have anything to say?
No its an obervation.
niallsparky
31/07/2008, 8:05 PM
Newstalk helping lessen the embarrassment by reporting that Cork City lost 4-0 and 4-2 on aggregate...
Rovers Maniac
31/07/2008, 8:06 PM
No its an obervation.
Well it is not true, people may think i am negative but actually i am far from it there is realism in my posts which is something that can't be said for a lot of people.