View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

joey B
30/10/2023, 9:47 PM
Might aswell start this for next season!

Gary Buckley and Ryan Flood rumoured to be heading to Galway....

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/stephen-bradley-fears-over-rory-gaffneys-future-as-he-hails-in-demand-naj-razi/a358126303.html

Bradley confirms Gaffney had 3 or 4 offers from around the country, namely Galway and Derry City.

ger121
30/10/2023, 10:00 PM
Bradley saying that contract offers made very late for players, mentions Byrne and Gaffney specifically. Says Gaffney had 3-4 other offers on the table. I know he is a Galway lad and has a house there but is he really going to be at Galway next season. Still the best striker in the league and he has a hunger to win trophies and stay at the top for as long as possible. I’m thinking he does another season at Rovers.

30/10/2023, 10:38 PM
Can't be too many transfer fees paid between LOI clubs. Ryan Flood under contract at Harps, Ollie Horgan definitely approached him after the game in Galway recently too, so it'll be interesting to see whether they're willing to stump up a fee.

Shearer
30/10/2023, 11:03 PM
Can't be too many transfer fees paid between LOI clubs. Ryan Flood under contract at Harps, Ollie Horgan definitely approached him after the game in Galway recently too, so it'll be interesting to see whether they're willing to stump up a fee.
Galway paid €6-10K for Mikey Place which went well!

30/10/2023, 11:27 PM
Flood is incredibly one footed, Id be surprised if Galway are looking to sign players from a dreadful FD team. Gary Buckley well past his best too. Wouldn't be getting overly excited by those names. They need plenty of investment if they are going to achieve anything next season

ontheotherhand
31/10/2023, 2:55 AM
Bradley saying that contract offers made very late for players, mentions Byrne and Gaffney specifically. Says Gaffney had 3-4 other offers on the table. I know he is a Galway lad and has a house there but is he really going to be at Galway next season. Still the best striker in the league and he has a hunger to win trophies and stay at the top for as long as possible. I’m thinking he does another season at Rovers.

I hope so. He's the best player in the league for me. Won't have the same amount in the tank next season but I wouldn't want him anywhere else. I'd imagine Byrne is gone but if he can't stay fit that's OK. You can't win leagues with the likes of Byrne or McEleney if they can't play games.

Olander
31/10/2023, 7:27 AM
Galway paid €6-10K for Mikey Place which went well!
Did we ****.

Jack B
31/10/2023, 8:38 AM
Seems to be at least some kind of optimism that Adam Murphy will stay with Pats which would be a surprising one to say the least.

Sam Curtis is off for sure though. Only getting compensation for him isn't ideal.

D24Saint
31/10/2023, 9:06 AM
Seems to be at least some kind of optimism that Adam Murphy will stay with Pats which would be a surprising one to say the least.

Sam Curtis is off for sure though. Only getting compensation for him isn't ideal.

Very surprising on Murphy after nearly moving to Bristol. Not sure why that deal fell apart. He hasn’t hit top form since but would be an important player to keep for next season.

Shearer
31/10/2023, 10:08 AM
Did we ****.
Finn Harps to receive compensation from transfer of Mikey Place to Galway United (https://www.donegallive.ie/news/sport/500860/finn-harps-to-receive-compensation-from-transfer-of-mikey-place-to-galway-united.html)

"But due to his age and the nature of his arrangement with Harps, it is believed that Harps will get compensation to the tune of something between €6,000 and €9,000."

yurt
31/10/2023, 10:25 AM
I know he is a Galway lad and has a house there but is he really going to be at Galway next season. Still the best striker in the league and he has a hunger to win trophies and stay at the top for as long as possible.

This has been my thinking on it up now. Hard to see someone going from the best striker in the best team to a newly promoted club with no Europe.

But I've read his wife gave birth last week so maybe having a young family based in Galway means he'll want to live and work as close to home as possible. Without really knowing the man or his situation at all I think the situation could be that he ideally wants to be in Galway next season but just depends if the club can pay him enough to make it make sense.

Olander
31/10/2023, 12:43 PM
Finn Harps to receive compensation from transfer of Mikey Place to Galway United (https://www.donegallive.ie/news/sport/500860/finn-harps-to-receive-compensation-from-transfer-of-mikey-place-to-galway-united.html)

"But due to his age and the nature of his arrangement with Harps, it is believed that Harps will get compensation to the tune of something between €6,000 and €9,000."
Donegal Live LOL

Nothing was paid.

Talking through your hole as usual about stuff you haven't got a clue about.

Shearer
31/10/2023, 1:22 PM
Donegal Live LOL

Nothing was paid.

The main thing is you're not upset about it

Olander
31/10/2023, 1:26 PM
The main thing is you're not upset about it
Laughing at you - imagine posting one of those garbage clickbait websites as a source to try and prove a point about something you haven't got a clue about. Embarrassing.

sbgawa
31/10/2023, 2:00 PM
Donegal Live LOL

Nothing was paid.

Assuming Harps gave him a letter retaining him before his contract expired compansation is mandatory.
So either Harps wanted rid of him and didnt issue a retention letter or compo is coming (which may not have been paid yet).
Thats not opinion its the rules. ITs why Rovers had to pay Boh compo for Mandroiu and Bohs had to pay us compo for Max Murphy

Olander
31/10/2023, 2:27 PM
Assuming Harps gave him a letter retaining him before his contract expired compansation is mandatory.
So either Harps wanted rid of him and didnt issue a retention letter or compo is coming (which may not have been paid yet).
Thats not opinion it’s the rules. ITs why Rovers had to pay Boh compo for Mandroiu and Bohs had to pay us compo for Max Murphy
A lot of assumptions there.

Ask some of the Harps fans on here did they get any money off GUFC for Place.

31/10/2023, 2:49 PM
Flood is incredibly one footed, Id be surprised if Galway are looking to sign players from a dreadful FD team. Gary Buckley well past his best too. Wouldn't be getting overly excited by those names. They need plenty of investment if they are going to achieve anything next season

Flood scored 14 goals for a dreadful Harps side, and was absolutely a step above everyone else in the squad. I think he'd walk into majority of Premier Division squads on his ability alone. Work-rate is the issue, and likely the reason he didn't progress to MLS standard from USL in the states. I think he'd be a fabulous signing for Galway tbh.

Thats not opinion its the rules. ITs why Rovers had to pay Boh compo for Mandroiu and Bohs had to pay us compo for Max Murphy

A lot of assumptions there.

Ask some of the Harps fans on here did they get any money off GUFC for Place.

This is all very funny. Compensation is a UEFA requirement. It happens all across the LOI. Harps have received compensation from several clubs in the past number of years. I'm not sure in the case of Mikey Place specifically, there may well have been some other arrangement in place of it, which has also happened, but we've definitely required compensation from several moves.

Those aren't transfers though, which I mean specifically a player under contract getting a transfer fee paid between clubs.

Olander
31/10/2023, 3:55 PM
This is all very funny. Compensation is a UEFA requirement. It happens all across the LOI. Harps have received compensation from several clubs in the past number of years. I'm not sure in the case of Mikey Place specifically
Ask the know-all Limerick fan, he'll tell ya

31/10/2023, 3:58 PM
The know-all Galway will certainly tell you, it seems

Olander
31/10/2023, 4:18 PM
The know-all Galway will certainly tell you, it seems
I know about my own club pineapple stewart.

31/10/2023, 4:21 PM
I'm sure lots of us think we know everything about our own club too

Olander
31/10/2023, 4:25 PM
I'm sure lots of us think we know everything about our own club too
Yeah I'm sure, then there's self proclaimed LOI aficionados that think they know about other clubs as well, which is even funnier.

31/10/2023, 4:39 PM
Most people have at least been using links or facts in arguing their case.

And then there's one who is just being an aggressive dick when talking about it, with no real substance. Guess which one that is?

Doesn't make one side wrong and the other right, but I know which I'd tend to side with in any argument.

2 Year Contract
31/10/2023, 4:43 PM
Page 1 of the annual transfers thread and we already have people arguing over whether or not a tiny development fee was paid between clubs for a transfer that happened nearly 4 years ago. What a league and forum we’ve got ladies and gentlemen :D

Olander
31/10/2023, 4:47 PM
Most people have at least been using links or facts in arguing their case.

And then there's one who is just being an aggressive dick when talking about it, with no real substance. Guess which one that is?

Doesn't make one side wrong and the other right, but I know which I'd tend to side with in any argument.
Yes Stew, the highly respected Donegal Live. Real concrete stuff there.

Sorry to see you're so offended, it's just I'm not a fan of fellas presenting things as a fact when they haven't got a dickie bird about what they're ****ting on about. And not for the first time either. Lad is a painful know-all.

total hoofball
31/10/2023, 5:45 PM
Back to transfer rumours Mikey Place from Ballymena United to Galway United is apparently a done deal

Olander
31/10/2023, 5:54 PM
Back to transfer rumours Mikey Place from Ballymena United to Galway United is apparently a done deal

We can't afford the compensation package according to the Ballymena Live Page. ;)

ontheotherhand
31/10/2023, 7:41 PM
I'm starting to think Galway might have paid even more for Place. Seems a real sore point.

The Bowler
31/10/2023, 9:32 PM
Really interesting article a few weeks back about Jack Keaney looking forward to going into full time football, he must have offers to be glong public. I'm guessing Cork, Galway or Waterford, my money would be on Galway, he's such a technically limited footballer, but Caulfield likes them large and agricultural, and he fits the bill in that regard. Had one ok season when Todd had his back, but with Todd not there this season, he was cat. Nice lad, not a centre back however, and wasn't mobile enough as a 6 before that. Sligo might be tempted maybe to come back for him.

Shearer
31/10/2023, 10:43 PM

Laughing at you - imagine posting one of those garbage clickbait websites as a source to try and prove a point about something you haven't got a clue about. Embarrassing.

Ask the know-all Limerick fan, he'll tell ya

Yeah I'm sure, then there's self proclaimed LOI aficionados that think they know about other clubs as well, which is even funnier.

I'm not a fan of fellas presenting things as a fact when they haven't got a dickie bird about what they're ****ting on about. And not for the first time either. Lad is a painful know-all.

Sorry that you feel this way Olander, very strong opinions. There is an option (somewhere) to mute certain posters which is an avenue worth exploring if you take exception to certain members.

Enjoy the off-season and United's return to top flight football.

01/11/2023, 11:36 AM
@Olander, cut it out. @Shearer, sticks and stones. Don't feed trolls.

01/11/2023, 12:35 PM
With Mannus retiring will Rovers be looking for a new keeper or has Pohls earned the right to succeed him? He did well for the most part when Mannus was injured and Irish Times' match report says he was very good in Cork on Monday.

joey B
01/11/2023, 12:39 PM
With Mannus retiring will Rovers be looking for a new keeper or has Pohls earned the right to succeed him? He did well for the most part when Mannus was injured and Irish Times' match report says he was very good in Cork on Monday.

Bradley said they’re going with Pohls as number one,there’s a bit about it on LOI Central this week…..

01/11/2023, 12:43 PM
I think he's a reasonably decent number two, but if Rovers want to kick on, they'll need to strengthen significantly in that department, not to mention a further three or four positions. Don't think they'll get the league handed to them just as easy next season.

ger121
01/11/2023, 12:43 PM
Bradley said they’re going with Pohls as number one,there’s a bit about it on LOI Central this week…..

Small piece in the Indo today too. Risky I’d have to say. He has a gaff or two in him still.

JC_GUFC
01/11/2023, 1:35 PM
Small piece in the Indo today too. Risky I’d have to say. He has a gaff or two in him still.

Won't be popular with the lefty Bohs fans in this time of housing crisis!

ontheotherhand
01/11/2023, 2:14 PM
Pohls has been absolutely superb when called on this season and deserves to start as #1. I genuinely can't believe it's panned out that way but the lad has paid his dues and came up with some huge moments this year.

Am I still a bit nervous about him? Yep. Could it backfire? Yep. But it's hard to look past him after the way he played and it would be some slap in the face to not give him a chance. Westwood waiting in the wings maybe.

Jack B
01/11/2023, 2:15 PM
You'd imagine unless they've someone good enough to make the step up in the U19s that they'll be signing a senior keeper anyway, so it makes sense to give Pohls the confidence boost of saying that it's his spot to lose once Mannus is off.

ontheotherhand
01/11/2023, 3:27 PM
You'd imagine unless they've someone good enough to make the step up in the U19s that they'll be signing a senior keeper anyway, so it makes sense to give Pohls the confidence boost of saying that it's his spot to lose once Mannus is off.

Tom Leitis is next in line but I wouldn't think he'll be number two. I'd say you're spot on and we'll bring in someone to fight for the jersey with Leon.

End of an era with Mannus. The best I've seen and probably one of the most impactful signings we've ever had.

Loifan_76
02/11/2023, 4:41 PM
Ronan Finn to UCD for 2 year masters.

ger121
02/11/2023, 4:50 PM

Thought he had another year in him and from the article there was an offer on the table. Still a good move for him to further his education and still play at a good level.

elatedscum
02/11/2023, 4:54 PM

Weird. Pretty sure he did a masters in DCU back a bit more than a decade ago. Fair play I guess

02/11/2023, 5:03 PM
We didn’t pay either compensation or a fee for Mikey. Our budget had been slashed so there was no money to pay fees for players.

The Bowler
02/11/2023, 5:08 PM
Nice bit of business by UCD, I'm guessing he may be coming as player/coach, long ball Willie needs an assistant, and this would be an obvious segway into coaching for Ronan Finn.

sbgawa
02/11/2023, 5:21 PM
He says in a couple of articles that he has no coaching role. Great signing for ucd. What a rovers legend. Typical of him that he let's alan manus do a lap of honour this week and then announces he is leaving the day before the game.
I might even drop down tonwatch him

02/11/2023, 5:33 PM
Sweet! That's a great signing. Rare for pre-season to start so well for us!

02/11/2023, 6:18 PM
Nice bit of business by UCD, I'm guessing he may be coming as player/coach, long ball Willie needs an assistant, and this would be an obvious segway into coaching for Ronan Finn.

Finner’s buddy Luke Byrne coming in as assistant.

02/11/2023, 7:22 PM
RFs 2nd spell at UCD aint it lads??

02/11/2023, 7:36 PM
Yep - 2005 to 2009 before. Took the mickey in the First Division in 2009. Hopefully he's still got some of that left; we should be well up the top of the table. Might get a shot at beating 11 points sooner than I'd though!

Calcio Jack
02/11/2023, 7:58 PM
He says in a couple of articles that he has no coaching role. Great signing for ucd. What a rovers legend. Typical of him that he let's alan manus do a lap of honour this week and then announces he is leaving the day before the game.
I might even drop down tonwatch him

Great move for him and whilst sad to see him leave ; I’m glad in that I don’t think he had another season in him at title contender level and I’d of hated to see him languish on the bench …..a true legend whose time with us will be remembered with nothing but admiration and respect.