View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Shinkicker
24/02/2024, 6:07 PM
Yeah and his mother loved her asphalt
Worked in the tarmac and quarry industry, know all the jokes.

culloty82
26/02/2024, 2:11 PM
Kerry announce that Lee Axworthy has moved to Dubai, meaning that Aaron O'Sullivan will be sub-goalie to Tuta, at least until the July window opens.

Shearer
27/02/2024, 5:19 PM
Mark Byrne signs for Treaty, ex Sligo Rovers.

Seems a player on paper, and he certainly can't be worse than Darren Collins who is the last player to come our way from Sligo.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/02/2024, 8:57 PM
He’s better than Collins alright. Surprised he’s called a defensive midfielder seeing as he always played on the wing for us.

culloty82
28/02/2024, 6:17 PM
Kerry sign a 21-year-old Cork-based midfielder, Evison Rramani - looks like he hasn't played in two years, so very much bulking up the squad numbers, one should think:

https://kerryfc.com/kerry-fc-are-delighted-to-announce-the-signing-of-evison-rramani/?fbclid=IwAR2U9XcDMnoQeHNpFgJdQ7iMmdfs9dk4QC6Wkc-RlopN-w8Y4yjRw5BLpHM

bohsmug
10/03/2024, 2:04 PM
Devine is gone from Bohs.

https://twitter.com/bfcdublin/status/1766841363276959885?t=mToOc0o7Je1IbMjAI-3PUA&s=19

10/03/2024, 2:17 PM
Strange time for it - seems to be a pre-season wasted now?

Shinkicker
10/03/2024, 2:25 PM
Devine is gone from Bohs.

https://twitter.com/bfcdublin/status/1766841363276959885?t=mToOc0o7Je1IbMjAI-3PUA&s=19
Paddy mc laughlin and Stephen looking for work?

RealJohn91
10/03/2024, 2:33 PM
Should've been gone after the cup final

Another Bohemia
10/03/2024, 2:42 PM

Honestly with the difficulties in recruiting players (which I've seen and heard attributed to Devine not wanting players presented to him) preseason was wasted anyway. We signed the majority of our contracted and fit defenders after the first game of the season. There shouldn't be much difficulty for the manager coming in to implement a new system because there's no system in place currently. My biggest concern is that some of the players Devine did sign off on are on multi year contracts and the new manager may not want them come the end of the season but that's no reason to keep a bad manager tbh.

joey B
10/03/2024, 2:42 PM
Bohs do a lot right on the commercial side of things but sacking a manager after 4 games doesn’t scream alot of competence on the football side of the club,seemed from the outside looking in it should have been done long ago…..

oriel
10/03/2024, 2:57 PM
Wonder what SOD is thinking, we are 3 points behind Bohs !

Be interesting to see who they will go for now, within Ireland or abroad.

10/03/2024, 3:00 PM
Honestly with the difficulties in recruiting players (which I've seen and heard attributed to Devine not wanting players presented to him) preseason was wasted anyway.
Well I meant from the point of view that had ye changed manager at the end of last season, there'd have been a whole pre-season for a new manager to come in, build a squad and work with players. That's what's been lost.

I don't see anything has changed in the first four games of this season to judge Devine really. Sacking any manager four games into a season is daft

2 Year Contract
10/03/2024, 3:06 PM
Get Roddy Collins on the phone. At least if he doesn’t improve the fortunes on the pitch he’ll have the contacts to arrange a new Bohs/Louis Copeland collaborative jersey ;)

Dermobohs
10/03/2024, 3:20 PM
Paddy McLaughlin? David Healy ?
Try and pinch Doherty?

oriel
10/03/2024, 3:24 PM
Paddy McLaughlin? David Healy ?
Try and pinch Doherty?

He's a Postie, unlikely to leave that for a FT job in football that may not last too long.

2 Year Contract
10/03/2024, 3:29 PM
He's a Postie, unlikely to leave that for a FT job in football that may not last too long.

He already left his job as a postman over the winter just gone in order to go full time with Drogheda…

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/kevin-doherty-secures-new-full-time-contract-with-drogheda/a719373631.html

10/03/2024, 3:47 PM
He'd have to be a favourite and Drogheda thank clubs for taking their staff too!

total hoofball
10/03/2024, 3:58 PM
Bohs do a lot right on the commercial side of things but sacking a manager after 4 games doesn’t scream alot of competence on the football side of the club,seemed from the outside looking in it should have been done long ago…..
Yeah sacking Devine so early into the season smacks of scapegoating him for all of their on the field dysfunction. I'd love to know the ins and outs behind their lastminute.com panic recruitment over the past two seasons I'd say those useless Estonian internationals must be on whopping sized multi-year contracts that was giving their BOM nightmares this weekend along with their regrets over dumping Keith Long

No obvious stand out up and coming candidates available either, and I can't the see the likes of Perth or Buckley being tolerated by their fanbase Stephen Kenny will probably wait it out a while before he gets desperate considering LOI again, I wonder if the Richard Dunne link will re-emerge again

ontheotherhand
10/03/2024, 4:23 PM
The race for Kenny is on.

Shinkicker
10/03/2024, 4:51 PM
Fenlon taking interim role

sbgawa
10/03/2024, 5:18 PM
Devine was sacked because he wouldn't work with Fenlon. Pretty obvious when u look at the recruitment. 1 had to go and the Board picked fenlon

Dermobohs
10/03/2024, 5:50 PM
I reckon Kenny will wind up back in Derry.
If Doherty or paddy mcgloughlin want it I’d be happy with that.
Interesting comments re our Estonian lads, miller was one of the few bright spots v shels, lander is ok, and the big striker sten hasn’t been used properly. They’ll be fine.

10/03/2024, 6:15 PM
Fenlon or Devine hmmmmm??? Fenlon needs to give up on his old managerial ambitions and stick to his club development type roles. Actually maybe its a Fenlon masterclass in getting his way, sign players, undermine a manager while doing so and step in to the breach when things inevitably come to a head and Devine was unlikely to be a long term thing at Bohs...or at any club.

ontheotherhand
10/03/2024, 6:23 PM
Fenlon taking interim role

Interim though. Could only last a week. Don't think Pat has the stomach for the hot seat anymore. Maybe he has one more in him. Has he made any sounds about it?

Devine is a coach and Fenlon is a DoF at this point I think. You need a manager who will fight to keep football at the forefront of the clubs planning.

Kenny might be broken at this stage and I'm not sure your current squad is workable for him but it would have to be a long term appt. Does Lambert want a strong manager though? It might take him off the front page.

Onapointoforder
10/03/2024, 8:00 PM
Yeah sacking Devine so early into the season smacks of scapegoating him for all of their on the field dysfunction. I'd love to know the ins and outs behind their lastminute.com panic recruitment over the past two seasons I'd say those useless Estonian internationals must be on whopping sized multi-year contracts that was giving their BOM nightmares this weekend along with their regrets over dumping Keith Long

No obvious stand out up and coming candidates available either, and I can't the see the likes of Perth or Buckley being tolerated by their fanbase Stephen Kenny will probably wait it out a while before he gets desperate considering LOI again, I wonder if the Richard Dunne link will re-emerge again

Ian Ryan ( again)

ger121
10/03/2024, 8:19 PM
Ian Ryan ( again)

I hope not. Doherty would be my choice if he is interested.

Shinkicker
10/03/2024, 8:35 PM
Interim though. Could only last a week. Don't think Pat has the stomach for the hot seat anymore. Maybe he has one more in him. Has he made any sounds about it?

Devine is a coach and Fenlon is a DoF at this point I think. You need a manager who will fight to keep football at the forefront of the clubs planning.

Kenny might be broken at this stage and I'm not sure your current squad is workable for him but it would have to be a long term appt. Does Lambert want a strong manager though? It might take him off the front page.

Interim though. Could only last a week.
Well the word interim means "until" or "in the meantime" so be it a week, a month e or longer, it does not imply he'll take it full time or want to.
Personally, I think Bohs will use this opportunity to take their time and select the correct candidate this time. I think Kenny would love to get back into management ASAP,. although maybe not at the level he wants. I think his sights will be higher.

Dermobohs
10/03/2024, 9:06 PM

Ah jaysus not this ould crap again, football is was and will always be our main focus. The community and other work is to build profile and expand the clubs standing , drawing new sponsors and support along with that. Successfully too btw. Lambert is COO. That’s looking after our overall financial wellbeing. That’s all.

total hoofball
10/03/2024, 9:18 PM
Alan Reynolds seems to be most prominent early name being linked to the Bohs job, he was Waterford manager for the season they won the 1st division when Fenlon was DOF there and both go back to their Shels days

Another Bohemia
10/03/2024, 9:32 PM
Ian Ryan ( again)

Doubt that. Supposedly turned down the job last time around and has hardly set the world alight with Bray. It will be interesting to see who ends up being candidates. Ive seen fans online call for everybody from Roddy Collins to John Caulfield. It will also be interesting to see what comes out in the wash now Devine's gone. Have heard that Fenlon felt they should move on after the cup final (would have been my preference) but the board vetod that and I can understand why since we had just played the cup final but I'm of the opinion that final appearance (much like the one under Long) papered over some really glaring cracks in the management of the teams. Looks like the greatest league in the world will have its story line for the next few weeks anyway

sulywaterfordfc
10/03/2024, 10:50 PM

Depends on Kenny’s price. Can’t imagine he’ll want to go from 500k a year to 50-75k a year at Bohs. Derry and Rovers probably the only clubs in the league in a position to offer him a substantial contract, even at that it’d still be a long way off his Ireland salary. At the same time it’s difficult to see there being any big interest in him outside the LOI.

ontheotherhand
10/03/2024, 10:54 PM
Ah jaysus not this ould crap again, football is was and will always be our main focus. The community and other work is to build profile and expand the clubs standing , drawing new sponsors and support along with that. Successfully too btw. Lambert is COO. That’s looking after our overall financial wellbeing. That’s all.

Of course. It's only a mad coincidence that the football side of bohs is an absolute disaster.

ontheotherhand
10/03/2024, 10:58 PM
Interim though. Could only last a week.
Well the word interim means "until" or "in the meantime" so be it a week, a month e or longer, it does not imply he'll take it full time or want to.
Personally, I think Bohs will use this opportunity to take their time and select the correct candidate this time. I think Kenny would love to get back into management ASAP,. although maybe not at the level he wants. I think his sights will be higher.

Take their time? Its been obvious to anyone watching that Devine was going to be sacked at some point this season. Check the predictions thread. If bohs don't have a replacement lined up it's really poor club mgmt.

ontheotherhand
10/03/2024, 11:00 PM
Depends on Kenny’s price. Can’t imagine he’ll want to go from 500k a year to 50-75k a year at Bohs. Derry and Rovers probably the only clubs in the league in a position to offer him a substantial contract, even at that it’d still be a long way off his Ireland salary. At the same time it’s difficult to see there being any big interest in him outside the LOI.

Yeah I don't think he has anywhere else to go. Bohs, Dundalk or wait for Derry. He made a bit of money but he's a football man and will want to get back in the game I think.

10/03/2024, 11:02 PM
Can't see Rovers being an option for Kenny really, even if Bradley does leave/get the boot. Too much history there surely?

ontheotherhand
10/03/2024, 11:08 PM
Can't see Rovers being an option for Kenny really, even if Bradley does leave/get the boot. Too much history there surely?

Funny auld game and all that but yeah I can't see Kenny back with us. It's too big a job for him.

11/03/2024, 2:13 AM
I can’t see Fenlon and Kenny cohabiting very well for some reason.

And I can’t fckin stand Reynolds. And he hates us.

Another Bohemia
11/03/2024, 7:16 AM

Reynolds also seems quite content being an assistant as well. That was the role he wanted to move to Derry for. He might be like Crolly in that regard. He was also approached about the Bohs job last time around and turned it down as well. Devine was 3rd choice if memory serves.

My money is on it being someone from the NIFL or someone a bit from left field ( we know how left leaning Bohs are ;) ) like Stephen Rice who has been rumoured for other jobs that didn't end up opening up

Jd2793
11/03/2024, 7:56 AM
surprised to see perths name thrown around. a real bluffer , would be a huge error for bohs to give it to him so for the comedy factor alone hope it happens.

placid casual
11/03/2024, 8:34 AM

I actually think Reynolds could be a good choice of manager for youse stu,he doesn't take any $h1t by the looks of it.
I'm praying you give it to Perth tho ,the level of ensuing comedy would be a joy to behold.

ontheotherhand
11/03/2024, 8:36 AM
Reynolds also seems quite content being an assistant as well. That was the role he wanted to move to Derry for. He might be like Crolly in that regard. He was also approached about the Bohs job last time around and turned it down as well. Devine was 3rd choice if memory serves.

My money is on it being someone from the NIFL or someone a bit from left field ( we know how left leaning Bohs are ;) ) like Stephen Rice who has been rumoured for other jobs that didn't end up opening up

Ricer would be an interesting one. Is he free now after Kenny got the boot? Don't think he was still with Palace while he was doing the analysis for Ireland.

Another Bohemia
11/03/2024, 9:18 AM
Ricer would be an interesting one. Is he free now after Kenny got the boot? Don't think he was still with Palace while he was doing the analysis for Ireland.

Honestly no idea but I couldn't see the FAI standing in his way when the new international manager (whoever they may be) will likely have a preference for who fills the opposition analyst role anyway.

He was mentioned in the Indo as a potential candidate so make of that what you will along with Reynolds, O'Donnell (strange one tbh), Kenny, Ian Barraclough and Curtis Flemming.

Still early days so names are being thrown around to fill columns but my hope is someone is announced the week of the Rovers game and gives the squad and fans a much needed boost. There were boos at the first game v Sligo which really puts into perspective how people felt coming into the season.

oriel
11/03/2024, 9:33 AM
Yeah I don't think he has anywhere else to go. Bohs, Dundalk or wait for Derry. He made a bit of money but he's a football man and will want to get back in the game I think.

Kenny prob has his mortgage cleared, bill no 1 in life gone, so he won't be under pressure, but I'd say for his own interest in the game, and for a challenge he will want to get back in.

However he wasn't even mentioned for the Aberdeen job, and he managed in SPL before, even Lincoln City fans online seemed to be dead against his links pre xmas, so what are his options?

Knocklyonhoop
11/03/2024, 10:27 AM
Stephen O’Donnell being mentioned as a possibility for the Bohs job….. bizarre surely

11/03/2024, 10:35 AM
Mybe he just knows when to get out after taking a team as far as he can!

Another Bohemia
11/03/2024, 10:38 AM
Stephen O’Donnell being mentioned as a possibility for the Bohs job….. bizarre surely

Very odd but it's very early days so names are needed to fill the column inches.

sbgawa
11/03/2024, 11:29 AM
I reckon Reynolds is nailed on for it tbh.
Fenlon is bound to want someone he can work with after Devine and Reynolds has proven he can do that.

oriel
11/03/2024, 2:11 PM

Just a bit !!! He'd be better suited focusing on the current mess he is charge of and how to turn that around, as if he can't (and that's a real possibility he won't be able to), it won't leave him well placed for other roles.

total hoofball
11/03/2024, 5:16 PM
Not a chance Kenny or SOD would be happy to work under Fenlon's control and telling them whom to sign. Also I can't see Rice being welcomed back with open arms into Dalymount by alot of the Bohs fans

Reynolds seems to be potential appointment that would make sense for working under Fenlon as DOF while having experience and credibility in any coaching or managerial role. Rennie was rated very highly at Shels as Ian Morris's assistant during our immediate bounce back First Division title winning season in 2021