View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

2 Year Contract
29/04/2024, 7:27 PM
Waterford isn’t a bad shout considering his Kilkenny roots if he’s looking to settle close to home similarly to Carlow man Padraig Amond

Philosophizer
29/04/2024, 7:28 PM
Even with the Caulfield connection I can’t see him wanting to move to a team that will probably be fighting relegation. Last time he was playing under Caulfield it was a team that was top of the pile and playing in Europe.

29/04/2024, 8:07 PM
Shamrock Rovers perhaps a likely destination for him?

sbgawa
29/04/2024, 8:08 PM

Plays to many games:)

sbgawa
29/04/2024, 8:09 PM
Rovers looking in control against Drogs. Hopefully we just close it out now.

29/04/2024, 8:36 PM
At 3-0 I think it was well closed out. Bogey team swept aside and the efforts much appreciated!!

Maguire to Galway seem most obvious to me, a relegation release clause would knock out any fears of 1st Division football if there is any. Home town club return would always be possible too. After that its money, Rovers have it and he fits the bill as a former Ireland international and a bit injury prone. If Shels need an additional edge for a run in? Havent follwed his English career much tbh.

ger121
29/04/2024, 8:48 PM

That was my first thought.

total hoofball
29/04/2024, 8:52 PM
I see Sean Maguire has been released by Carlisle, usually and at his age (he turns 30 this week), you think they will extend career in uk, but not sure this time, his club have been relegated so not sure he will have too many UK options.

Wonder does this open the door to a LOI return in July, who would be in the running I wonder.
Someone here will sign him based on the 2016-17 Sean Maguire but after a positive start with Preston he hasn't done much over the past 6 seasons and this most recent season with an awful Carlisle team is a red flag. I can't see Rovers, Derry or Shels going there but I would expect Bohs, Pats, Waterford, Galway and Dundalk all to be interested

Jd2793
29/04/2024, 9:10 PM
Someone here will sign him based on the 2016-17 Sean Maguire but after a positive start with Preston he hasn't done much over the past 6 seasons and this most recent season with an awful Carlisle team is a red flag. I can't see Rovers, Derry or Shels going there but I would expect Bohs, Pats, Waterford, Galway and Dundalk all to be interested

he is a walking red flag for anything longer than a 6 month deal or a 12 month pay as you play deal. his hamstrings are absolutely finished , terrible for the lad as he was so quick all those years ago. i could see JC giving him a 2 year deal tbh and i think it'd end in tears. rovers love an injured pet project but even this would be too sick for bradley surely

oriel
29/04/2024, 9:36 PM

That would be the least club I would have expected, pretty sure they only play 1 up front, he wont want to sit on the bench, like he did for that half season at Dundalk in 2015 not getting a look in as McMillan was into season 1 and 2 of his height, 2015 and 2016 was his peak.

Maguire in 2017 though, what a player, single handily destroyed Dundalk one BH weekend, possibly May or June in that season, they won 3-1, still say one of the best domestic individual displays I have ever seen in Oriel Park from an opposing player, he got all 3.

joey B
29/04/2024, 10:09 PM
Would Pats not be a good destination for him? Keating hasn’t settled yet and Melia looks a bit too raw yet,could be a decent fit….

Knocklyonhoop
30/04/2024, 1:19 AM
That would be the least club I would have expected, pretty sure they only play 1 up front, he wont want to sit on the bench, like he did for that half season at Dundalk in 2015 not getting a look in as McMillan was into season 1 and 2 of his height, 2015 and 2016 was his peak.

Maguire in 2017 though, what a player, single handily destroyed Dundalk one BH weekend, possibly May or June in that season, they won 3-1, still say one of the best domestic individual displays I have ever seen in Oriel Park from an opposing player, he got all 3.

id be amazed and disappointed if we gave him a contract

30/04/2024, 2:48 AM
Well he did single handedly prevent a Dundalk 6 in a row!

Kiki Balboa
30/04/2024, 1:37 PM
Maguire in 2017 was probably the most dominant and highest peak performance ever by a single player in the LOI. Utterly outstanding.

Long time since then though...

ontheotherhand
30/04/2024, 6:19 PM
Maguire in 2017 was probably the most dominant and highest peak performance ever by a single player in the LOI. Utterly outstanding.

Long time since then though...

Richie Towell maybe close to being that dominant? Had better players around him I suppose. Maguire that season was phenomenal. As Nesta says, he stopped the 4 in a row for Dundalk almost by himself. Would nearly hand him a 4 year deal just for that..He could have Towells!

Knocklyonhoop
30/04/2024, 9:35 PM
Well he did single handedly prevent a Dundalk 6 in a row!

and if we sign him he might stop our 6 in a row…..

ger121
30/04/2024, 11:28 PM

Is he really gone that bad he couldn’t do a job in the LOI at 29.

01/05/2024, 9:11 AM

Well Agent Hoare has badly let us down.

2 Year Contract
01/05/2024, 11:39 AM
Gavan Holohan is another ex LOI man that will be a free agent in the summer after his deal with Grimsby is now up. 32 years old now

01/05/2024, 2:45 PM
Gavan Holohan is another ex LOI man that will be a free agent in the summer after his deal with Grimsby is now up. 32 years old now

He's had a really good career over there, it might not be EPL level or anything but he's been really popular at all his clubs.

thebronze14
04/05/2024, 9:20 AM
Fans turning up their nose at Maguire. Maybe the standard isn't as bad as fans are saying!

Another Bohemia
04/05/2024, 10:31 PM
Fans turning up their nose at Maguire. Maybe the standard isn't as bad as fans are saying!

Yeah it's a weird one. He may have his injury problems but let's not pretend leagues 1&2 in the UK aren't exceptionally intense both from a scheduling and performance aspect. I'd say if he came back a lot of his injury problems would settle down because he's not expected to participate in preparation and possibly a good chunk of 2 games every week. I'd take him in a heartbeat at Bohs

placid casual
04/05/2024, 11:24 PM
There's a number of fans from different clubs on here with a real misplaced sense of snobbery in regards to Maguire by the looks of it- Injury permitting he'd walk into every single team in this league. He's 29....
I'd imagine it would be his salary expectations that would preclude him from returning here for the next few years,but the fact that noel king is somehow in gainful employment in the LOI means literally ANYTHING is now possible.

04/05/2024, 11:37 PM
There's a number of fans from different clubs on here with a real misplaced sense of snobbery in regards to Maguire by the looks of it- Injury permitting he'd walk with a limp into every single team in this league. He's 29....
I'd imagine it would be his salary expectations that would preclude him from returning here for the next few years,but the fact that noel king is somehow in gainful employment in the LOI means literally ANYTHING is now possible.

He is a nailed on match for Rovers - he could keep Byrne company in the stand on match nights!

oriel
05/05/2024, 7:30 PM
There's a number of fans from different clubs on here with a real misplaced sense of snobbery in regards to Maguire by the looks of it- Injury permitting he'd walk into every single team in this league. He's 29....

It sure is PC, but then again if they dug up BB King and he kept us, I couldn't care less, and same for Noel, GSTK ;)

oriel
05/05/2024, 7:39 PM
Yeah it's a weird one. He may have his injury problems but let's not pretend leagues 1&2 in the UK aren't exceptionally intense both from a scheduling and performance aspect. I'd say if he came back a lot of his injury problems would settle down because he's not expected to participate in preparation and possibly a good chunk of 2 games every week. I'd take him in a heartbeat at Bohs

They sure are, almost every week its a game on Sat, then home or away on Tues and in some cases huge travelling distances of 5-6 hours one way. I used to think top 3 in LOI was much better than L1 and maybe rose tinted glasses outlook in SK era at Dundalk, but its really not.

I'd say current Rovers and Derry would do 'just ok' in L1, maybe end of season whoever finishes 3-6 would do ok in L2, the rest would have to be National League (which is a good standard btw).

On Maguire, wouldn't surprise me if he stayed and joined a L2 club, their avg wages are 2.5k sterling a week, just under 3k euro a week, very few would pay that here for his age profile, maybe none, Hoban is prob on close to that ? But would be few and far between, in almost all cases, and for financial reasons its always better for a player to extend career in England v a LOI return.

Edit, avg wages for a L1 player is 4,750 sterling !!

WoodquayBoy
07/05/2024, 11:05 AM
https://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=9613
Daly gets the heave-ho from Pats

D24Saint
07/05/2024, 11:06 AM

The statement makes it very clear that he was sacked.

Jack B
07/05/2024, 11:10 AM
Sad to see but it just felt inevitable. He did a great job last season when he came in, style of play not always the most aesthetically pleasing but the game plans were effective and we were good at grinding results out. This season has almost been the opposite, he had great backing in the window but no side has lost more games than us and the two don't mix. Have occasionally started games well such as yesterday, either failed to create or not taken chances and then completely collapsed after conceding.

We had interesting targets to say the least like Neil Lennon the last time the job was vacant, only for Daly to impress enough to get it himself, so god knows what the plan is now.

2 Year Contract
07/05/2024, 11:14 AM
Slightly surprised he’s been sacked this early after the cup win but comparing his opening 15 games of this season with Clancy's opening 12 of last season (which is when he was sacked) it’s been worse results wise and just as bad performance wise. Considering the budget is the third biggest in the league, sitting in 7th place and a record of 5 points out of 24 available in away games is an alarming record for any manager to hold onto their job in the modern day climate of manager shelf lives. Really enjoyed last season from May onwards when he took over and will always respect the man for the cup win and turning the fortunes around. Not sure who’s available at the moment but I’ve a feeling it’ll be someone from outside the LOI given the lack of good available options with LOI experience

Jd2793
07/05/2024, 11:16 AM
couldnt even begin to guess who pats will look at to replace him. lennon was a mad name. a bold move for stephen kenny before derry go after him???

Nostradamus
07/05/2024, 11:23 AM
League seems to have really gone mad. Half the mangers in the league are only 2 or 3 defeats away from serious pressure on their job.

I wonder if it’s a side effect of fans struggling to adapt to the impact of professionalisation in the league. Gone are the days of 2 or 3 full time clubs sucking up the best players in the league and handing out hidings to the also rans. No such thing as an easy game in this league anymore.

Guitd
07/05/2024, 11:25 AM
The return of StephenO Donnell …………?

07/05/2024, 11:30 AM

Jaysus, and I thought that a statement released by Dundalk FC when someone was recently moved on was pointedly curt. I hope Kelleher gave the statutory notice to his employee....

Acrimony or the MFA PRO has moved to Inchicore!

*(Could have been some fun if Dundalk were still waiting to announce a repleacement for S'OD considering Daly was hanging out at Oriel a few weeks ago)

D24Saint
07/05/2024, 11:41 AM
The return of StephenO Donnell …………?

Id like to think that is a tongue in cheek comment.

07/05/2024, 11:46 AM
Pats have the same dilemma as Dundalk, appoint another up and coming young manager (like McLaughlin) or go quids in for someone with managerial experience in the league like Barraclough. We could cut and paste the Dundalk related posts in, Kerr in to add to the golden oldies back in the league, not that Id put Kerr and King on the same level.

D24Saint
07/05/2024, 11:48 AM
I think people tend to forget they Kerr is 71 years old. The media stuff is all he is interested in these days. He only gave O’Shea a temporary dig out with the Ireland set up.

kksaints
07/05/2024, 11:57 AM
Based on last year's results it feels harsh but both performances and results have been really poor so far this season. Even last season some of the performances were a bit scratchy but we grinded out the results. No such luck this season and it wasn't the easiest football in the world to watch so without the results you've got very little. Still we always have the Cup Final win last November.

07/05/2024, 12:01 PM
I think people tend to forget they Kerr is 71 years old. The media stuff is all he is interested in these days. He only gave O’Shea a temporary dig out with the Ireland set up.

I wasnt being serious but then I wouldnt have been serious if I was suggesting giving King the Dundalk job a few weeks ago! Its LoI so id always expect the unexpected. If Kerr's health is good, 71 is not necessarily old these days, and people who are getting on can often suffer FOBO and want to show that they can still cut it. Media work is handy in comparison and it gives Kerr the platform to continue to exude the 'i know better than everyone' have the odd snipe at Dundalk, Oriel and its pitch (I always put that down to the time a steward with no notion who he was, asked for his ticket and then tried to move him out of an unused designated season ticket holder seat in Oriel, until some unsung hero told the steward that he was the Republic of Ireland manager and he was grand where he was!).

joey B
07/05/2024, 3:01 PM
Stephen Kenny is Kelleher’s top target according to the Examiner,from listening to LOI Central and Dan McDonnell’s comments on his future plans it seems a long shot…..

D24Saint
07/05/2024, 3:37 PM
Stephen Kenny is Kelleher’s top target according to the Examiner,from listening to LOI Central and Dan McDonnell’s comments on his future plans it seems a long shot…..

I reckon that is a completely fabricated story from the examiner. I spotted Kenny at a few of our games recently and they got a pic and attached the Kenny to Pats story to one.

07/05/2024, 3:38 PM
Maybe we should future proof the posibility by saying SK is past his prime...

You'd have to wonder how long Kenny can turn down offers in LoI especially at the sort of money that has been mentioned. Unless he does get an attractive offer from outisde LoI he will have to cut his loses, St Pats timing makes it a possibility, Derry keeping their powder dry and fit the abroad requirement so still the most likely prospect now that Dundalk decided not to wait (cant see why we couldnt as it still looks like Garts and Burns doing the coaching rather than King), Dundalk's trump card was simply him living locally and has spoken about the importance of greater family time after a scare, but that boat has sailed.

Is SK the best fit? His strength is building sides, seeing the value in players others have overlook, maximising average players, can work with a range of budgets (Dundalk FC all over). Getting a misfiring inherited side firing like St Pats doesnt need a big pay day appointment - could actually be a situation more suited to Buckley!!?

kksaints
07/05/2024, 3:45 PM
Bucko is a club legend and his sides particularly the cup winning side in 2014 were a joy to watch. But I'd be inclined to say his time has passed somewhat and his spell with Cork last season would not inspire confidence even if it was a director of football role.

joey B
07/05/2024, 4:03 PM
Maybe we should future proof the posibility by saying SK is past his prime...

You'd have to wonder how long Kenny can turn down offers in LoI especially at the sort of money that has been mentioned. Unless he does get an attractive offer from outisde LoI he will have to cut his loses, St Pats timing makes it a possibility, Derry keeping their powder dry and fit the abroad requirement so still the most likely prospect now that Dundalk decided not to wait (cant see why we couldnt as it still looks like Garts and Burns doing the coaching rather than King), Dundalk's trump card was simply him living locally and has spoken about the importance of greater family time after a scare, but that boat has sailed.

Is SK the best fit? His strength is building sides, seeing the value in players others have overlook, maximising average players, can work with a range of budgets (Dundalk FC all over). Getting a misfiring inherited side firing like St Pats doesnt need a big pay day appointment - could actually be a situation more suited to Buckley!!?

I think the Derry job is the one SK would be most tempted by and might be waiting for,I think he still has a house in Inishowen and is probably the job with the biggest potential budget if he were to go in there….

07/05/2024, 6:30 PM
Bucko is a club legend and his sides particularly the cup winning side in 2014 were a joy to watch. But I'd be inclined to say his time has passed somewhat and his spell with Cork last season would not inspire confidence even if it was a director of football role.

Yeah I’d agree. Buckley was brilliant, especially from 2012 to 2015, but I think his time has passed. As for Stephen Kenny, as good as his record is in the league, I can’t help wondering if he has been somewhat damaged by his time with the national team. It was a rough time fo him, and he wouldn’t be human if it didn’t knock his confidence somewhat. Having said that, of course if he wants it we’d have to take him, but I don’t think he would come with any guarantees. Not sure what other candidates I’d favour.

I feel a bit sorry for Jon Daly. He did a good job last season, and I liked the way he conducted himself. Clearly something wasn’t right this year. Whether he could have turned it around, who knows.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/05/2024, 6:35 PM
Kelleher does not like it when we defeat Pats on a bank holiday

sbgawa
07/05/2024, 6:54 PM
Daly must be disappointed if pats had gone to tallaght and won this Friday as waterford have shown is far from impossible he would be 3 points off Rovers who are currently second.

07/05/2024, 7:12 PM
Kelleher does not like it when we defeat Pats on a bank holiday

I blame the FAI schedulers :p. The mad thing is, I actually thought we started quite well yesterday, and the goal came against the run of play. Once we conceded though, the air seemed to go out of the balloon. You could almost see the players going “ oh, here we go again”

placid casual
07/05/2024, 7:31 PM
Pats should go for Joey O'Brien. He's gonna make a great manager one day I feel,and he's as responsible for the recent upward curve in shels as duff.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/05/2024, 8:33 PM
I blame the FAI schedulers :p. The mad thing is, I actually thought we started quite well yesterday, and the goal came against the run of play. Once we conceded though, the air seemed to go out of the balloon. You could almost see the players going “ oh, here we go again”

Yeah it was one way traffic for the first 15 minutes