View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51

10/07/2024, 10:24 PM
In a blow one of our better players Vasyl Tropanets have left us. No idea where!

He made one or two appearances max all season and was utterly out of his depth?

10/07/2024, 10:25 PM
Rayhaan Tulloch signs for Shels. Was on loan at Dundalk in the first half of last season. Again, they’ve vast options on the wings now with Tulloch, Smith, Jarvis, Burt, Wood, Coote and others that have played there also. Serious squad depth there now but might not be the easiest thing in the world keeping them all happy

He was very hit and miss in an average Dundalk side, be interesting to see if Duffer can get more out of him. It's a good squad he's built there now.

11/07/2024, 1:29 AM
Tactics at time when he was at Dundalk was give it to Tulloch. He could be very good striker under the right coach rather than just a winger. Pace, trickery, eye for goal, inconsistant which can be worked on. Good signing imo.

trevy
11/07/2024, 8:23 AM
Waterford have signed left back Shane Flynn for Leicester’s academy. An odd one unless one of Darragh Leahy or Ryan Burke are leaving
It says he is a winger on the club's website. I think he can play left back as well but couldn't see him taking Leahy's place. Burke also a good left back but has lost his place to Leahy this year.

2 Year Contract
11/07/2024, 8:30 AM
It says he is a winger on the club's website. I think he can play left back as well but couldn't see him taking Leahy's place. Burke also a good left back but has lost his place to Leahy this year.

Flynn is definitely a left back having watched him play for Ireland underage and he also remained a LB with Leicester. Can also play on the wing but his primary position is very much at left back

total hoofball
11/07/2024, 12:16 PM
Rayhaan Tulloch signs for Shels. Was on loan at Dundalk in the first half of last season. Again, they’ve vast options on the wings now with Tulloch, Smith, Jarvis, Burt, Wood, Coote and others that have played there also. Serious squad depth there now but might not be the easiest thing in the world keeping them all happy
Tulloch signing for Shels was unexpected by everyone as we are already overstocked with attacking players with the additions of Wood and Coote, this may lead to some fears Jarvis' loan could be ending early before the EFL season kicks off in August. Then again no goals this season from Burt or Smith though Duff seems to like them but I reckon someone upfront has to be on their way out

2 Year Contract
11/07/2024, 2:44 PM
Dan Pike, a right back from Tranmere Rovers, has signed for Dundalk as replacement for Archie Davies

Another Bohemia
11/07/2024, 3:04 PM
Dan Pike, a right back from Tranmere Rovers, has signed for Dundalk as replacement for Archie Davies

If you're a Dundalk fan you have to hope he's coming in with the right attitude. They're in a relegation battle after all, they can't have 1 player thinking he's a big fish in a small pond...

2 Year Contract
11/07/2024, 3:15 PM
If you're a Dundalk fan you have to hope he's coming in with the right attitude. They're in a relegation battle after all, they can't have 1 player thinking he's a big fish in a small pond...

I don’t imagine he’d see himself as a big fish in a small pond. He’d be in for a rude awakening if he was! He signed for League Two Tranmere on a 1 month contract at the end of August last year, then got a contract extension until January, then another extension until the end of the season before being let go at the end of that contract this summer. I can’t imagine a player that’s been dealing with contracts that short would have much of an ego

Another Bohemia
11/07/2024, 3:17 PM
I don’t imagine he’d see himself as a big fish in a small pond. He’d be in for a rude awakening if he was! He signed for League Two Tranmere on a 1 month contract at the end of August last year, then got a contract extension until January, then another extension until the end of the season before being let go at the end of that contract this summer. I can’t imagine a player that’s been dealing with contracts that short would have much of an ego

https://youtu.be/nR4IHMTQ2FE?si=U6NXQMvUglCuRjzM

11/07/2024, 7:27 PM
He’s played a total of 66 minutes all season :confused:

I havent seen a lot of our home games this season but last season he was definitely one of our better players

2 Year Contract
11/07/2024, 8:25 PM
https://youtu.be/nR4IHMTQ2FE?si=U6NXQMvUglCuRjzM

Whoosh! Poor form from me letting that pun fly straight over my head! :)

joey B
11/07/2024, 9:04 PM
I havent seen a lot of our home games this season but last season he was definitely one of our better players

He didn’t play for you last season,you must be thinking of the other Ukrainian fella ….

Shearer
11/07/2024, 9:40 PM
Jack Kavanagh signs for Treaty as expected, although not announced yet.

Oran Crowe signs for Kerry, not announced either.

11/07/2024, 9:42 PM

As Nigel said, he wasn't with us last season. You must be thinking of Victor Serdeniyuk?

joey B
12/07/2024, 12:17 PM
Harps signed Gavin Gilmore,was in Galway’s academy and was on the books with Athlone…

culloty82
12/07/2024, 12:19 PM
Jack Kavanagh signs for Treaty as expected, although not announced yet.

Oran Crowe signs for Kerry, not announced either.

Seems to be a permanent signing as well, according to the Kerryman when the club's own statement wasn't entirely clear on the matter.

Another Bohemia
12/07/2024, 2:38 PM
Liam Smith signs for Bohs

https://x.com/bfcdublin/status/1811770844915392919?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Finally a full back so we don't have to start a midfielder in defence. With the way the signings were going I thought Bohs would be pioneering the 2-7-1 formation in the near future :D

RealJohn91
14/07/2024, 4:56 PM
Looks like Dawson Devoy has chosen Bohs over Pat's and is going to return to Dalymount. Lot of midfielders under contract now.

ger121
14/07/2024, 5:24 PM
Looks like Dawson Devoy has chosen Bohs over Pat's and is going to return to Dalymount. Lot of midfielders under contract now.

That is great news. You would think some of those midfielders could be gone during the window.

RealJohn91
14/07/2024, 7:58 PM
Aidan Keena linked with Bohs and Sligo

David BOHie
14/07/2024, 9:13 PM
Bohs definitely need another striker. If we really do sign Devoy, Keena and we're also linked with Charles Dunne then I don't think it's an exaggeration of saying we have a team capable of challenging for a league (Albeit definitely not this year).

Only issue is the squad is full of deadwood. Rennie spoke recently about how he likes small squads. 18 core players with half a dozen youngsters being capable of stepping up from the 20s.

I think if we signed those three that would bring the squad up to 28.

Keita, McDaid, Flores, Piszczek, Akintunde, B. McManus, Miller will all be surplus to requirements. Dylan Connolly probably on the way out too. Jevon Mills is only on loan and probably won't be here beyond this season. That's a lot of money being spent every week on absolutely shockingly bad players

Another Bohemia
14/07/2024, 10:16 PM
Bohs definitely need another striker. If we really do sign Devoy, Keena and we're also linked with Charles Dunne then I don't think it's an exaggeration of saying we have a team capable of challenging for a league (Albeit definitely not this year).

Only issue is the squad is full of deadwood. Rennie spoke recently about how he likes small squads. 18 core players with half a dozen youngsters being capable of stepping up from the 20s.

I think if we signed those three that would bring the squad up to 28.

Keita, McDaid, Flores, Piszczek, Akintunde, B. McManus, Miller will all be surplus to requirements. Dylan Connolly probably on the way out too. Jevon Mills is only on loan and probably won't be here beyond this season. That's a lot of money being spent every week on absolutely shockingly bad players

Keita is on loan too. Think Flores, Clarke, McDonnell, McDaid, Talbot & Akintunde are out of contract. With Mills loan ending that would be 8 gone at the end of the season. Possibly some others contracts ending as well because I vaguely remember Reynolds saying there's only a handful under contract for next season. Then I'd say Miller and Piszcech will be told they can find new clubs.

Kiki Balboa
15/07/2024, 8:45 AM
Bohs seem to be spending massive this window.

There is a big enough gap between Bohs and relegation, so I don't think they have that to worry about too much.

Tierney and Devoy are top LOI players who might struggle in July and August with it maybe being their preseason, but should come good eventually you would think.

Another Bohemia
15/07/2024, 9:00 AM
Bohs seem to be spending massive this window.

There is a big enough gap between Bohs and relegation, so I don't think they have that to worry about too much.

Tierney and Devoy are top LOI players who might struggle in July and August with it maybe being their preseason, but should come good eventually you would think.

I think you're right. While the spending is less than ideal, if you were to ask fans which players from start of the season are must keeps you would probably have 3-4 players everyone wants to keep(2 of them would probably be GK as well). I'm looking at this window more so as righting the wrongs of the last 4+ transfer windows( It really started to go to sh1t after the first cup final loss but picked up pace with Devine) . It's going to take time for some of these new lads to bed in, especially those who have more experience playing underage football than senior games. My hope is we start to see green shoots soon with a good run of wins towards the end of the season. December & Jan add 1-2 experienced LOI players and get straight into what should be a fairly open league next year.

15/07/2024, 9:09 AM
I reckon it's building for next season, so they can really try and compete, better to do a lot of the work now than in Jan/Feb, they might not have a wealthy backer, but bohs have big crowds and are doing incredibly well on merchandising, they have the money to do it this way. Been really in flux since the squad with Long went on the Euro run and it all got picked apart, badly need to get a squad that challenges for something to keep the off the field momentum going.

15/07/2024, 12:10 PM
Bohs have grown their patient fanbase and income with it. but How long do crowds hold up when a club doesnt look to have ambition on the pitch or dont make marquee appointments to compete consistantly at the top of the table. I think they are at a point where they have to build on the football side of things. Little bit of a scare this season might have focused the football side of things now that a lot of the off-field stuff seems to be coming together. We do slag Bohs about bees and hemp sandals but most clubs would love to have built without relying on winning titles. The purse strings may finally be loosening and with a coaching team the board actually have faith in?

Another Bohemia
15/07/2024, 8:07 PM
I see James Clarke is linked with Derry. Nowhere reputable from what I can see but from a Bohs side may make sense especially if there's a few involved

total hoofball
16/07/2024, 7:49 AM
You'd be thinking then Devoy as direct replacement for Clarke, based on his pre-UK form Devoy would be an upgrade there but Clarke certainly has been the positive stand out of a haphazard Bohs recruitment over the past 2 years

Bohs have probably banked enough money on recent transfer fees and robust revenue streams that they can afford the Grant/Tierney/Devoy return signings but they will have to get out of their on the pitch rut sooner rather than later to sustain that, also the Estonian Internationals who have departed were certainly on a decent chunk of their wage bill

Another Bohemia
16/07/2024, 8:03 AM
You'd be thinking then Devoy as direct replacement for Clarke, based on his pre-UK form Devoy would be an upgrade there but Clarke certainly has been the positive stand out of a haphazard Bohs recruitment over the past 2 years

Bohs have probably banked enough money on recent transfer fees and robust revenue streams that they can afford the Grant/Tierney/Devoy return signings but they will have to get out of their on the pitch rut sooner rather than later to sustain that, also the Estonian Internationals who have departed were certainly on a decent chunk of their wage bill

With the estonians it's really hard to know what wage they were on.

A quick Google gave this article

https://news.err.ee/116770/salaries-of-estonia-s-top-footballers-calculated

(I realize now this is from 2015 so nearly a decade old. But still hard to know the wages the estonians were on )

And the sums spoken about (1500-2000 per month) are not outrageous when you hear pats allegedly offered Devoy 2 grand a week. It could be that Dayle Rooney is on significantly more than any of the estonians were/are.

16/07/2024, 9:13 AM
When it comes to wages, I came across an article from the Bruno's Magpies sporting director (https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/brunos-magpies-cheeky-swoop-for-derry-city-hitman-pat-hoban-4695391?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1720510680) a while back, said they tried to sign Pat Hoban, but they couldn't afford €4-5k per month. To give you a ballpark of what the highest paid players at Derry are on. Honestly I kind of expected it to be higher, but Derry have been offering 3/4 year contracts, and people are probably happier with that long term stability over anything else.

I doubt anyone at Bohs is quite up there to be fair, maybe the lads coming back from the UK? I reckon the Estonians were on a lot less but having housing etc looked after? My assumption is that's how a lot of clubs partially pay lads to try and control costs. Throwing 4/5 lads in a house together seems to be pretty commonplace.

Another Bohemia
16/07/2024, 11:19 AM
As was expected by many here Devoy confirmed to Bohs

https://x.com/bfcdublin/status/1813136492409057383?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Building some squad for next year. Shame it couldn't have been started last offseason.

Dermobohs
16/07/2024, 11:36 AM
As was expected by many here Devoy confirmed to Bohs

https://x.com/bfcdublin/status/1813136492409057383?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Building some squad for next year. Shame it couldn't have been started last offseason.
Would have been if Devine hadn’t refused recommendations from Fenlon.

joey B
16/07/2024, 12:05 PM
Dundalk interested in Aodh Dervin

Buckett
16/07/2024, 12:19 PM
Dervin started the season in great form but has been poor enough lately. I heard he's a bit of a Billy Big Boll0x, which is not welcomed in the dressing room apparently, going by Brendan Clarkes "no d1ckheads" interview last year.
I heard we're signing Greg Cunningham.

2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 8:11 AM
Rovers set to earn around 700k from Sinclair Armstrong’s move from QPR to Bristol City. 25% sell on clause is fantastic business

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/champions-league/financial-picture-dramatically-improves-for-shamrock-rovers-in-48-hours-with-sinclair-armstrong-deal-and-european-win/a478814680.html

Another Bohemia
17/07/2024, 8:33 AM
The importance of sell on clauses cannot be underestimated. Matt Doherty's alone was game changing for Bohs. Should Ferguson move in the near future it should be a large windfall. 25% seems like a huge sell on clauses so good bit of business by rovers there.

17/07/2024, 8:46 AM
Charles Dunne was with my adopted club St Mirren, and was a solid performer at SPL level.

I'm surprised to see him linked with Bohs, with all respect to them.

But then Alex Grieve has gone there, and that surprised me too.

I thought both would easily find another club in the lower half of the SPL.

2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 9:06 AM
Greg Cunningham signs for Galway. Great coup to sign a player straight from the English chapmionship at only 31 years old. Bobby Burns won’t be a happy man though!

17/07/2024, 9:10 AM
He's 33, not 31 - but still an exceptional signing for Galway you'd have to think. Not that they're exactly struggling in defence, but still and all.

2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 9:13 AM
He's 33, not 31 - but still an exceptional signing for Galway you'd have to think. Not that they're exactly struggling in defence, but still and all.

You’re right, thought I saw somewhere he was 31. Still not too old to do a job by any means. Surprised to see he only got 4 Ireland caps (3 in 2010 and 1 in 2013), felt like he had more than that

ger121
17/07/2024, 9:16 AM
Rovers set to earn around 700k from Sinclair Armstrong’s move from QPR to Bristol City. 25% sell on clause is fantastic business

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/champions-league/financial-picture-dramatically-improves-for-shamrock-rovers-in-48-hours-with-sinclair-armstrong-deal-and-european-win/a478814680.html

A very good couple days for Rovers.

17/07/2024, 9:28 AM
You’re right, thought I saw somewhere he was 31. Still not too old to do a job by any means. Surprised to see he only got 4 Ireland caps (3 in 2010 and 1 in 2013), felt like he had more than that
Yeah, never understood that - and very rarely in squads too. Given our problems at left-back I kind of thought he might still be an option now tbh. Though he was never really more than a bit-part player for Preston the last couple of seasons (only 12 games last season for example).

Good to see players like that (and Amond and Doyle) coming back though.

And good business for Rovers too; should keep them afloat another few months :p

2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 11:23 AM
Greg Sloggett has signed for Hartlepool United in the National League. Had been linked with Dundalk and Pats this window, though not by many good sources

Another Bohemia
17/07/2024, 11:39 AM
Greg Sloggett has signed for Hartlepool United in the National League. Had been linked with Dundalk and Pats this window, though not by many good sources

I could be wrong but isn't he over there specifically to be close to his partner? Can't see him coming home if he can get any club at all over there.

17/07/2024, 11:45 AM
He is - though Hartlepool is probably further away. Herself is at Bristol City. Cheltenham isn't too far away from there. Hartlepool is miles away. I don't know is it still a thing where you can train with Club A midweek and play for Club B then. Though it doesn't sound a good idea really

2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 12:18 PM
He is - though Hartlepool is probably further away. Herself is at Bristol City. Cheltenham isn't too far away from there. Hartlepool is miles away. I don't know is it still a thing where you can train with Club A midweek and play for Club B then. Though it doesn't sound a good idea really

Yeah it’s a 10 hour round trip to drive from Bristol to Hartlepool. I’ve heard of that training plan when a player is loaned out to a lower club that doesn’t train as much as the full time parent club do, but in this case Sloggett has signed for Hartlepool on a permanent so he’s only on the books of one club to train and play with anyways

Another Bohemia
17/07/2024, 1:08 PM
Yeah it’s a 10 hour round trip to drive from Bristol to Hartlepool. I’ve heard of that training plan when a player is loaned out to a lower club that doesn’t train as much as the full time parent club do, but in this case Sloggett has signed for Hartlepool on a permanent so he’s only on the books of one club to train and play with anyways

Yeah actually bit of a moot point if it's a 10 hour round trip. I doubt they live together half way between the 2 either. Unless it's a situation like Longford used to have where only the games are played in Hartlepool and they train in some other town closer to Bristol. Even if that's the case I doubt the training ground is 3-4 hours away from Hartlepool.

D24Saint
17/07/2024, 1:21 PM

Good signing for Hartlepool. I try to make at least one or two games over there a year. The mood was particularly grim last season so signings like this could indicate a better season ahead.

culloty82
17/07/2024, 2:59 PM
Sean Patton currently on trial at Portsmouth:

https://www.portsmouth.co.uk/sport/football/portsmouth-fc/portsmouth-boss-addresses-fratton-futures-of-ex-manchester-city-and-west-ham-triallist-and-derry-city-starlet-4705459