View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures
RealJohn91
19/01/2024, 2:13 PM
Are Bohs very quiet on the transfer front or is it just me?
Coote,Afolabi,the 2 Polish defenders gone,Buckley out long term with an injury and they’ve signed the Estonian striker,Rooney and Cornwall ?
The Talbot situation in there aswell,they feel like they have alot of work to do…..
Yeah it has been alright. I'd say there's a few few players on trial for pre-season like Jake Carroll and we're only playing our first friendly tomorrow. Hopefully see more movement next week.
D24Saint
19/01/2024, 3:25 PM
Yeah - its gonna be a tough year.
What’s the situation there ? Lack of European money or poor recruitment by the manager. I know the housing crisis is an issue with bringing players in from outside the league.
Another Bohemia
19/01/2024, 3:34 PM
What’s the situation there ? Lack of European money or poor recruitment by the manager. I know the housing crisis is an issue with bringing players in from outside the league.
It'd be manager and Fenlon. I'm personally very concerned. If Carroll does sign we have 5 total senior defenders. Buckley's injury isn't as big of a concern as we have McDonnell, Clarke, Flores & McManus to hold the fort their so not a terrible place. Lots of wingers as well, ironically we have more right wingers than left but we need at least 1 more defender (if Carroll signs), a GK and another striker to even survive the season never mind thrive.
ontheotherhand
19/01/2024, 3:35 PM
It's been said already, but Shamrock Rovers only glaring weak spots now are goalkeeper and a reliable goalscorer to really push on. You have to feel that Pohls won't be strong enough to sustain a European challenge, and with Graham Burke, Aaron Greene and Rory Gaffney all on the wrong side of 30 now, they really need to be looking at a younger 15/20 goal striker, and someone who can push them on in Europe too. Johnny Kenny probably isn't the answer to that question either, and remains to be seen whether Conan Noonan can be that player either.
I don't see a challenger for the league title. Pat's probably best placed at the minute, as Derry will have their troubles with perennially injured players, a concrete pitch and I am yet to be convinced by Higgins as a manager.
Keeper could be fine. As WAR says, Pohls was really excellent when called upon. Big difference being the main man though so we shall see.
Agree that we need something more up top to progress in Europe. Pace is what we are lacking there. Gaffney isn't slow but he is getting on. How I miss Danny Mandroiu. That said, what really banjaxed us in Europe was the fitness of Byrne, Clarke and Farrugia. If those 3 are playing by the time Europe rolls around I think we'll do a lot better. It's a gamble though.
I think we are certainly strong enough for 5 in a row now even if key players do hit the physio table. Unless Hoban and Derry are a complete match made in heaven or Forrester has another goalscoring spree of a season I can't see either of those kicking on enough to finish first.
I'd only be speculating - not close enough at all to the inner workings at all since the forum went away and I'm not on social media at all. I did ask the question before if it was disagreement or even a power struggle between Devine and Fenlon that was getting in the way. To be this far into the pre-season and to have such glaring deficiencies in the squad points to something going wildly wrong. I dont buy the line that it is too difficult to recruit. Pretty much every other team is bringing in what they need. I am majorly concerned like Another Bohemia.
sbgawa
19/01/2024, 3:47 PM
I think when it comes to europe you just need to get lucky with the draw and injuries.
Winning the first round match and guaranteeing 3 shots at group stages is the be all and end all.
As someone already said if we had Farrugia , Clarke and Byrne playing in Europe last season i think we do the business.
Without them we looked very ordinary , even in the league.
19/01/2024, 3:59 PM
Keeper could be fine. As WAR says, Pohls was really excellent when called upon. Big difference being the main man though so we shall see.
Agree that we need something more up top to progress in Europe. Pace is what we are lacking there. Gaffney isn't slow but he is getting on. How I miss Danny Mandroiu. That said, what really banjaxed us in Europe was the fitness of Byrne, Clarke and Farrugia. If those 3 are playing by the time Europe rolls around I think we'll do a lot better. It's a gamble though.
I think we are certainly strong enough for 5 in a row now even if key players do hit the physio table. Unless Hoban and Derry are a complete match made in heaven or Forrester has another goalscoring spree of a season I can't see either of those kicking on enough to finish first.
If our pacy and direct but injury prone WBs are crocked then we are goosed in Europe again but hoping that Darragh Burns can supply some of what we've missed since Mandriou left i.e. direct running at defences. Then again I thought that was what Liam Burt was going to do.
Mind you it took us years to replace Aaron McEneff with... Aaron McEneff so we might just have to wait patiently for Mandriou's return.
Jack B
19/01/2024, 4:10 PM
I can see the logic of that thinking but it would be very much the view from outside Rovers - Pohls performed brilliantly last season, something like 13 clean sheets out of 20 appearances, also we were top scorers last year and have added goals with the new signings. Johnny Kenny to be added again too.
Remains to be seen if we have enough strength-in-depth for Europe which was an issue last year but we are undoubtedly stronger. Fitness and form or rather the lack there of will be the things to knock Rovers off their perch IMO but saying that no one was able to capitalise last year when both were issues.
I'm not suggesting Pohls isn't or won't be good enough to be the main man, just that Mannus was first-choice and leaving so a new keeper was necessary, so in that sense you won't have "improved" by just sticking with the second choice instead. Of course it may not play out that way, and the fact that Rovers haven't prioritised those two positions suggests they must not have thought the same either. Just find it an interesting one.
Who knows with Europe, always difficult to say when there's also the element of the luck of the draw, but I'd be very surprised to not see Rovers do it again this season. Derry should be good enough to put up a challenge but at this point I can't see how you can trust them to do so. As good as Pats have done certain business in the off-season, I think we're still a bit off Derry never mind Rovers so would be pleasantly surprised if a real fist of the title was made. Would be happy to see us at least in that mix as opposed to just looking the best of the rest.
ontheotherhand
19/01/2024, 4:17 PM
If our pacy and direct but injury prone WBs are crocked then we are goosed in Europe again but hoping that Darragh Burns can supply some of what we've missed since Mandriou left i.e. direct running at defences. Then again I thought that was what Liam Burt was going to do.
Mind you it took us years to replace Aaron McEneff with... Aaron McEneff so we might just have to wait patiently for Mandriou's return.
True, Burns might give us that running beyond Gaffney that we've lacked. McEneff should offer a bit more at both ends than Poom as well, as much as I like Poom.
If we could just bring in one reliable wingback, even one who isn't quite at Clarke or Farrugia's level, I'd be really happy. As it stands....there's a few question marks. But overall good business in a tough market.
sbgawa
19/01/2024, 4:21 PM
Bit like it took us years to replace Manus when he left us in 2011 with Manus :)
Im assuming Darragh Burns is also going to be available as a WB option when needed.
Farrugia didnt arrive at Rovers as a WB
19/01/2024, 4:38 PM
The point I’m making is that it was pitched as being a serious article in a national newspaper …. There is no such thing for a professional journalist as an article containing statements posing as facts ( i.e. not corroborated or source on the record) and it being labelled a ‘heresay’ article.
Heresay comments/rumours etc. is what we entertain ourselves with here…. A decent journalist writing a two page article based on heresay/rumour is poor and tbh at the time I was amazed that his editor allowed it to be printed …. As for him having an interest in us great but as I said on this occasion I think he let his roots in Dundalk get the better of him…. But overall he does imo a good job on reporting matters related to the LOI
Its possible that at the time and with Bradser publicly commenting on stuff, that there was something to report - Rovers may since have gotten things spot on in creating a continuity and balance during transition. If Dundalk have a competative squad and are sitting in a European spot in 2024 all the reports of internal strife end of '23 seasom by journos and in the knows, with the passing of time, could look sensationalist or agenda driven bluster yet was on the mark at the time.
Bunny Kelly
19/01/2024, 6:25 PM
The narrative last year, especially highlighted during the European run was the Rovers squad needed rejuvenating, Honohan aside there hasn't much been done to freshen things to keep them strong for the next 3/4 seasons (Burns is a positive step but only on loan).
Rovers will probably win the league again, but it feels more like because like last year no side is getting themselves together for a proper challenge rather than them it being a vintage team
placid casual
19/01/2024, 8:26 PM
Every day is a great day to be a Rovers fan, but today is the best day of 2024 so far- Aaron Mceniff back where he belongs to hopefully (injury permitting) continue the great work he did dominating the league in tandem with Jack Byrne, whist Pico and his Cabo Verde mates storm through to the next round of the latest ACN tournament.
I'm not going to pretend I've bulletproof faith in Pohls in goal but aside from that I'm rather confident of 5inaRow, particularly if the noises being made by the Rovers group about a determination to avoid a repeat of the sluggish start seen last season come to pass. Catch us if you can.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/01/2024, 9:14 PM
Sam Curtis signing for Sheffield United it looks like
sbgawa
19/01/2024, 9:50 PM
Few Bob for rovers
20/01/2024, 12:15 AM
Few Bob for rovers
Never heard of him.
ontheotherhand
20/01/2024, 10:11 AM
The narrative last year, especially highlighted during the European run was the Rovers squad needed rejuvenating, Honohan aside there hasn't much been done to freshen things to keep them strong for the next 3/4 seasons (Burns is a positive step but only on loan).
Rovers will probably win the league again, but it feels more like because like last year no side is getting themselves together for a proper challenge rather than them it being a vintage team
4 in a row Bunny. It is a vintage team. The other narratives are long dead in the water and will be at the bottom of the ocean where they belong in years to come.
20/01/2024, 11:25 AM
4 in a row Bunny. It is a vintage team. The other narratives are long dead in the water and will be at the bottom of the ocean where they belong in years to come.
No, no they are not! Not yet.
joey B
20/01/2024, 12:16 PM
Johnny Kenny back on loan to Shamrock Rovers for 2024.
Kingswood Rover
20/01/2024, 1:05 PM
Johnny Kenny back on loan to Shamrock Rovers for 2024.
This is the one i was waiting for. I know he did not set the league on fire in terms of scoring but his link up play, skill on the ball, his ability to spin defenders is excellent. If he gets the games and some early goals for his confidence i think he could soar. Outside bet for Leagues Top Scorer if the stars align
ontheotherhand
20/01/2024, 1:11 PM
No, no they are not! Not yet.
The history books don't care at all.
Calcio Jack
20/01/2024, 2:17 PM
This is the one i was waiting for. I know he did not set the league on fire in terms of scoring but his link up play, skill on the ball, his ability to spin defenders is excellent. If he gets the games and some early goals for his confidence i think he could soar. Outside bet for Leagues Top Scorer if the stars align
100% agree
sbgawa
20/01/2024, 3:07 PM
Hope your right but a hatstand in the middle of the area would score as many goals for rovers by deflections as kenny did last season. We need Gaffney to stay fit. I'll cheer as loudly as anyone for kenny if he does well but I'm skeptical, hope we aren't paying celtic to much
joey B
20/01/2024, 3:53 PM
Seamus Keogh departed us…
Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/01/2024, 4:31 PM
Seamus Keogh departed us…
Thought he would have done well for ye. He actually played the last 30 minutes for us today.
joey B
20/01/2024, 4:40 PM
Thought he would have done well for ye. He actually played the last 30 minutes for us today.
Was disappointing tbh but I’d not judge any player to harshly considering the **** show we were last year….
joey B
22/01/2024, 7:33 PM
Ed McGinty heading back to Sligo Rovers on loan ,was rumoured to be interest from Bohs and Dundalk but feels like an important signing that one…..
ger121
22/01/2024, 8:18 PM
Ed McGinty heading back to Sligo Rovers on loan ,was rumoured to be interest from Bohs and Dundalk but feels like an important signing that one…..
If we are interested in a player, put your money on the other club(s) listed in the article. Even if it is a defunct club.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/01/2024, 8:22 PM
General feeling the last couple of weeks seemed to be that he wanted to come back to us. Hopefully it comes true.
dundalkfc10
22/01/2024, 8:52 PM
Rumours that we have have signed Lawrence Vigouroux on loan from Burnley.
Played with Waterford a few years back and was excellent, has been at Lincoln until he signed for Burnley in summer on a free
joey B
22/01/2024, 9:18 PM
Played with Waterford a few years back and was excellent, has been at Lincoln until he signed for Burnley in summer on a free
Gerry Malone just tweeted that it’s not true having started the rumour in the first place!
Apparently it was all a load of shyte.
Jack B
That would be a great signing, surprising he'd be back here though given he has a good reputation in the EFL. Also saw that the story was broken by Gerry Malone, who has also recently confirmed Shepperd and Malley was staying, the latter after Sligo had already announced he'd signed, so would be a bit sceptical all the same.
dundalkfc10
22/01/2024, 9:21 PM
That would be a great signing, surprising he'd be back here though given he has a good reputation in the EFL. Also saw that the story was broken by Gerry Malone, who has also recently confirmed Shepperd and Malley was staying, the latter after Sligo had already announced he'd signed, so would be a bit sceptical all the same.
Gerry has actually backtracked on saying he signed. My fault for believing anything he says to be fair
RealJohn91
22/01/2024, 10:01 PM
That lad would be on mad money compared to this level. The way loans work now it all depends on how much wages the club can cover, mad how that rumour even got off the ground.
23/01/2024, 12:38 AM
People drop names when Gerry is in earshot just to see if it gains traction. Some ludicrous signings rumours have been nipped in the bud but a few have crept through. This was a good one as it was highly unlikely but not impossible either on a short term loan and maybe the chap wanted some game time before a move to a numbe 1 slot. As for Malley, I reckon that could have been a surprise even for some at the club never mind ITK's, the indifferent opinion of him by fans meant there was little fuss over not making sure he re-signed. I still think there is a very good player there, just laked some work ethic which could have been worked on. Other times with GM it's wishful thinking and a dose of fomo on the big news so jumps the gun. There was a time that news of signings were around the town as a player was picking up a pen to sign, I was once in Oriel as a player was in the board room signing and got a text message from someone to let us know the latest, was impressive!, its not like that any more. Until it appears on the club website its nothing more than part of a wild rumour mill. Conor McGregor buying the club was my favourite in recent times although in the wild world of Dundalk FC....
2 Year Contract
23/01/2024, 10:37 AM
Derry have turned down a bid for Brian Maher from a league 1 club
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-receive-concrete-offer-from-league-one-club-for-brian-maher-4488629
Burnsie
23/01/2024, 11:48 AM
Padraig Amond finally coming back to the LOI, to sign for Waterford, According to John Fallon on Twitter
23/01/2024, 11:58 AM
Padraig Amond finally coming back to the LOI, to sign for Waterford, According to John Fallon on Twitter
5 goals in the English conference this season. 36 in April. Will it turn out another Daryl Murphy type signing?
23/01/2024, 12:10 PM
Yeah would have been a good signing a couple of years ago, I'd be skeptical now. You'd assume he's not coming back mid season for peanuts either.
oriel
23/01/2024, 12:15 PM
Derry have turned down a bid for Brian Maher from a league 1 club
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-receive-concrete-offer-from-league-one-club-for-brian-maher-4488629
Possibly last Sept, Derry came to Oriel Pk, won 3-1, but any Derry fan that was there will agree, the display by Maher was just unreal. He kept out 2 maybe 3 what looked like certain goals, as Dundalk should have been out of sight at HT. It was a brilliant display, possibly one of the best I've seen domestically in the league by a GK.
He is some talent and can't see him saying in LOI.
As for Gerry M, local journo, ah poor chap, he's prob getting on a bit, seems to take all onboard that people feed him, just couldn't help himself on Lawrence Vigouroux, had to go with 'signed' when he should have just said 'linked' or 'riumours', to go with 'He's def signed' is just nuts.
I knew immediately it was a non runner, this guy prob on 10k a week!
Bunny Kelly
23/01/2024, 12:19 PM
From Carlow I think so maybe planned to move home at end of career anyway.
While I’d always be wary of signing older players Waterford literally have nothing up front so had to do something. Would be wary of how long a contract he is getting, 2year prob ok if helps them stay up this year
total hoofball
23/01/2024, 1:04 PM
Noel Hunt scored 3 league goals in 7 starts during his brief return to Waterford in 2018 at the age of 36 before retirement but otherwise going by the likes of Daryl Murphy and Eoin Doyle recently signing out of form returning strikers in mid-30s coming home from the UK is most likely going to be a waste of wages especially if they are not doing much at the bottom of the National League as it is
ontheotherhand
23/01/2024, 1:53 PM
As above, I think Podge's window to come back here and make an impact has closed but it's good to see him coming home regardless. Always comes across well. Some career he's had.
joey B
23/01/2024, 2:16 PM
Well worth a punt by Waterford,scored goals at a decent level for a long time,there’s very few decent strikers about …..
wonder88
23/01/2024, 3:35 PM
Do anyone know if former Shelbourne and Dundalk goalkeeper is involved with Watty Grahams? I am probably mistaken, but one of their coaches/staff looked a lot like him viewing from the stand. I see B. Maher mentioned above, but goalkeeping is an area where the league of Ireland could improve a lot, because it is a specialised skill/position the argument that we need big spending on facilities to improve is not as valid.
total hoofball
23/01/2024, 6:18 PM
Is that Steve Williams? I think Willo has been involved in a GAA coaching capacity of some sort so probably it was him
23/01/2024, 6:26 PM
Is that Steve Williams? I think Willo has been involved in a GAA coaching capacity of some sort so probably it was him
I did ready today some of the Louth coaching staff were involved so must be him, he's also a GK coach for a WNL team, think it's Shels?
dundalkfc10
23/01/2024, 6:36 PM
Do anyone know if former Shelbourne and Dundalk goalkeeper is involved with Watty Grahams? I am probably mistaken, but one of their coaches/staff looked a lot like him viewing from the stand. I see B. Maher mentioned above, but goalkeeping is an area where the league of Ireland could improve a lot, because it is a specialised skill/position the argument that we need big spending on facilities to improve is not as valid.
Yeh he was on the Watty Graham's coaching staff. He's also Louth GAA goalkeeping coach this year and was also their last year aswell
23/01/2024, 7:28 PM
Willo has his own Goalkeepers coaching 'school', so could crop up coaching at any club He was coaching Louth GAA keepers though not sure if he has stayed on with the change in that management team. Coached at Dundalk under Stephen Kenny, did sessions at DkIT, few non league and local GAA clubs but more individual sesions rather than a main coach, freelancing if there s such a thing in coaching - as mentioned Shels WSL probably contracted, and Watty GFC. Used to be a bunch of these showcase vids - Conor Winn is one of his alumni who I know is highly rated by some. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CD9UeT9YJkQ