View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

ger121
16/04/2024, 11:28 AM
I'm not a fan of Rovers supporters at the best of times but I cannot condone hunting them for sport

Well they are vermin ;-)

sbgawa
16/04/2024, 11:38 AM
very harsh lads on a mid table teams supporters, show a bit of charity

16/04/2024, 7:09 PM
See that Jordan Adeyemo is back with us for wait his 3rd spell in 3 short seasons! Goodness knows why he wasnt with us at start of season.

2 Year Contract
16/04/2024, 9:12 PM
See that Jordan Adeyemo is back with us for wait his 3rd spell in 3 short seasons! Goodness knows why he wasnt with us at start of season.

Strange one alright that he’s been signed days after the manager was sacked too while no permanent manager is currently in place. Reading between the lines one would assume Henderson had an issue with Adeyemo or something along those lines. Great instant impact tonight anyways coming up with the late equaliser on his (third) debut

17/04/2024, 10:40 AM
Adeyamo had a car accident at the end of last season and ended up out of action for a long time, you'd have to imagine this was something already in the offing prior to Hendersons exit as I certainly hadn't heard of any bad blood but I'm only speculating.

Shearer
17/04/2024, 10:56 AM
What happened to the brother?

2 Year Contract
17/04/2024, 12:06 PM
Adeyamo had a car accident at the end of last season and ended up out of action for a long time, you'd have to imagine this was something already in the offing prior to Hendersons exit as I certainly hadn't heard of any bad blood but I'm only speculating.

Jesus! Wasn’t aware of that at all, good to see him back playing then in any case

17/04/2024, 4:41 PM
I see that the closing date for applications for the Dundalk managers job is this day week. Tbh I thought the process would have closed sooner to be resolved sooner. It isnt something that can be rushed I suppose but you'd like to think that a target was in mind before a manager was sacked and then head hunt. I am loving the wild and whacky world of rumours, one would have required the powers of resurrection which which when pointed out wasnt just some mischief making by the reaction and dash to get on google, though the reliable source was probably on a wind up:eek: Some interesting names, plausible candidates, some just seem too ambitious, some could be great appointments but carry risk as unproven in LoI or would be steping up from assistant or coaching. If any one of the names connected that seem to be in the frame it wont be poor or inexperienced coaching that relegates us and if you are making a good managerial appointment you will also be committing to backing them in July. In the mean time its just hanging in there.

Another Bohemia
17/04/2024, 7:13 PM
I see the current rumour on the Dundalk forum is that Long is trying to force his way out of Waterford so he can take the Dundalk job in part because Reynolds was let go to Bohs (I had heard Reynolds and Long didn't get on too well) and because Waterford's owner is in jail (pretty sure he was in jail when Long took the job). The rumour mill always provides great entertainment.

On Long as a candidate after seeing you on Monday I don't think he will solve your issues. His downfall at Bohs was his team having a soft underbelly and conceding too many goals (among a few other things). That seems to be what you need to improve, I think goals will come for you when your players start shooting, too many times they tried and additional pass when the shot was on and arguably made more sense.

17/04/2024, 8:01 PM
What happened to the brother?

Tbh Shearer he wasnt kept on at season end. Have no idea where he is now.

17/04/2024, 8:16 PM
I see the current rumour on the Dundalk forum is that Long is trying to force his way out of Waterford so he can take the Dundalk job in part because Reynolds was let go to Bohs (I had heard Reynolds and Long didn't get on too well) and because Waterford's owner is in jail (pretty sure he was in jail when Long took the job). The rumour mill always provides great entertainment.

On Long as a candidate after seeing you on Monday I don't think he will solve your issues. His downfall at Bohs was his team having a soft underbelly and conceding too many goals (among a few other things). That seems to be what you need to improve, I think goals will come for you when your players start shooting, too many times they tried and additional pass when the shot was on and arguably made more sense.

Yeah that Long suggestion is bizarre enough its not impossible. The only thing that could possibly be an issue for Long and with Waterfords owner in jail is that maybe assets are being seized or liquidated to cover compensation. I havent followed the case beyond the initial trial so dont know. There are a significant number of trolls on Orielweb these days, some supporters, some factions aligned with different people in Oriel Park, maybe former managers/coaches and definitely supporters of other clubs that are just on a wind up - setting rumours in motion and even causing some division aong the natives with their posts. Its not hard to wind up some Dundalk fans at the best of times, some would fall out with themselves in a heartbeat but it just shouldnt be so easy!! Corks forum is the only one that Id say was worse for bickering and getting easily wound up by visitors;)

Im not sure were seeing the same issues with Dundalk tbh, yes we've shipped goals (Sligo and Derry) but I think once the high defensive line was binned were werent so bad defensively - the high press that with the defense pushing up needs to be properly organised all over the field and it isnt/wasnt. There also isnt the pace to cope with a simple ball over the top imo. Im not a fan of 3 centre halves in LoI unless they are top performers in the league, Lopez, Connolly, Redmond type quality where even a lack of pace is made up for by positioning and reading of the game. Pacey sweeper keeper needed too. The whole idea obviously that full backs are attackers and can overload but it just wasnt working. A standard back 4 with full backs pushing on is more suited to players we have. Watching Sean Gannon on Friday he is still well capable of being an overlapping fullback that offers more attacking threat than the attacking wing backs that O'Donnell was trying to deploy, so why the obsession with fashionable rather than pragmatic tactics - a cutting edge in Europe is not on the agenda. effective for LoI is fine, Caulfield basic but effective would do in the short term. We have offered very little in terms of attack, slow, laboured, ball in to feet for Gullan as he isnt Hoban who could make something out of a hopeful punt. Wasted set pieces, Boyle should still be a threat from corners but delivery has lacked quality etc.

I think whats needed is a total reset, get defensively better organised with an old fashioned but less risky set up, allow an additional midfielder sit in a bit, push Benson on more, Horgan back regularly on the wing (not at 10), O'Kane/Durrant opposite. High, Keane, maybe Ostenbrink, Doyle should have enough in centre midfield to be better if the right combination is found. Davies (could be used on the wing), Johnson (centre back too), Mountney etc at full back etc. Central defence of Mayowa, Boyle, Annessley even Muller + others. Again finding the balance and leadership needed (Boyler hasnt been in great form yet we miss him when out too). There is enough there to be better imo, there are players not mentioned that maybe just need a run in the side, build confidence and form, maybe not fair to judge them fully with the tried and trusted not 'clicking' either. A good old 442 manager might just work....:confused: Especially if they get the entire squad on the same page and digging in. Its cliched but its a battle for now and a lot of winning that is grafting for everything and doing it ugly.

Another Bohemia
18/04/2024, 5:00 AM
Yeah I wouldn't say the Long stuff is impossible but it seems extremely unlikely that he'd jump ship midseason with little to no guarantee he'd be able to build his own squad in July. If it was the end of the season I would say it's much more likely than it is now.

It's probably worth clarifying what I saw on Friday . Bohs aren't a free flowing team at the moment we're in the middle of getting up to speed with how Reynolds wants us to play and his focus is on building fitness of the players rather than tactics (at least that's what he's saying publicly). On top of that we made 6 changes to the side that beat Shels. We dropped our 2 best defenders, Flores was suspended and we had a completely different front 3. With those changes and the wind you pretty much dominated possession, got into good positions and then played 1 too many passes, Benson was especially guilty of that. It looked like a confidence issue more than an issue with how you play. You get a manager in like Devine who's a bit of a character will get the lads being a bit more positive and importantly having a shot instead of trying for an extra pass and I think goals will come. At the other end when Bohs made some changes and added a bit of pace your lads started to look a bit lost. The goal was from a great delivery in wind so they can be hard to defend. Aside from that Shelvey pulled off a couple of great saves from McDaid and Rooney that you would expect them and any other team to put away. Like I said Bohs aren't a free flowing team at the moment, it's very much fitness focused so I would be concerned that the difference between a 1-0 loss and a 3-0 loss is a keeper who from what I've heard can be very inconsistent. Now I've only seen the lowlights from yourselves this year and that game on Monday so I'll defer to yourself on whats the bigger problem but the LOI is usually a pretty low scoring league so consistently conceding 1-2 goals is a much bigger problem than it seems imo.

18/04/2024, 9:59 AM
Oh no doubts there are issues throughout the team, i just think getting defensively organised is a football 101 issue to resolve, getting a team to be creative, and as you say, confdent enough to score regularly needs a lot more work but I think good coach with fresh ideas could achieve that with a lot of the players available, not all as I do question why the odd squad player is persisted with (more than just this season to go on). Its a close call but the season is still salvagable yet imo.

On Rennies comments on focusing on fitness - its almost criminal in this day and age not to have a team 90min fit for season start with some small fine tuning after. Previous management have questions to answer when going in to a new job for not having a previous side prepped on the most basic level. Its no wonder Devie sides fade. Unless he was hamstrung by injuries and it just is what it is, but a new manager comes in to troubleshoot and his first job is to work on fitness?? Even the players should know themselves what the required minimum is and not grab a soft preseason just cause they are let away with it.

Another Bohemia
18/04/2024, 10:16 AM
Yeah I agree that defence is football 101 but I have seen 2 different Bohs manager struggle to get the team defensively solid. So I'm probably more wary of it than most.

I suppose there's 2 factors in the fitness for Bohs. Rennie wants to play a high press from the few games I've seen & also wants to be quick in transitions so that needs a fairly high level of fitness. The last staff seemed to want more possession to control the game and out of posession they generally tried to sit back. Not the most intensive brand of football so the required levels were probably lower than what Reynolds wants, granted some of the lads look way off the pace Reinkort looked wrecked when he came on as a sub! and that was the same under Devine. Then there's the issue that a lot of the current best back 4 (Keita, Mills, Matheson) only came in after the season started so had no preseason which is going to affect fitness as well.

Dermobohs
18/04/2024, 8:15 PM
First requisite of the players on your team should be that they maintain peak fitness and look after themselves.
I’m disgusted at the state of some of our lot, ****ing cheek calling themselves professionals

RealJohn91
18/04/2024, 10:33 PM
First requisite of the players on your team should be that they maintain peak fitness and look after themselves.
I’m disgusted at the state of some of our lot, ****ing cheek calling themselves professionals
Martin Miller for example the other night not even getting out of a jog in the first half before getting hooked. I'd say he'll be one of the first names out in the summer.

2 Year Contract
18/04/2024, 11:46 PM
Martin Miller for example the other night not even getting out of a jog in the first half before getting hooked. I'd say he'll be one of the first names out in the summer.

Sounds similar to his Flora Tallin teammate Vladislav Kreida who was at Pats last year. Was signed on loan for the full season but only lasted until Daly's first game or two in charge in May before being quickly returned to sender, after mainly trotting around midfield barely breaking a sweat

WoodquayBoy
19/04/2024, 12:51 AM
Yes we've shipped goals (Sligo and Derry) but I think once the high defensive line was binned were werent so bad defensively - the high press that with the defense pushing up needs to be properly organised all over the field and it isnt/wasnt.

That’s how we beat ye - even when 2-0 down and clearly being hurt by our pace out wide, O’Donnell was roaring at yer players to push up the pitch, it was absolute lunacy

ToberonaTornado
19/04/2024, 2:03 AM

On Orielweb yea that you heard these rumours about Long was it? Lol
Orielweb has sfa relevance anymore. The forum is a poor reflection on what it once was which is a pity.
The previous owner of it bailed out and granted it free(in fairness he tried to be cautious about who he handed it over to)to whoever wanted it and it's gone really downhill since without no moderation.

ToberonaTornado
19/04/2024, 2:12 AM
I never heard one dundalk fan mention Long on proper social media and was a bit surprised that you mentioned him

Another Bohemia
19/04/2024, 4:36 AM
It was oriel web. I went on to see who
Dundalk fans would even want in as manager but got great amusement out of the Long stuff so had to raise it here.

19/04/2024, 1:44 PM
Like many fora these days Orielweb has become an extension of the bull**** you see on twitter or x or whatever the fook. There are stll a few old warhorses from its earliest days that you take posts as credible info, most dont tend to even bother now which is a shame as the more sensible types could push back agaist the disposable accounts that appear to cause grief or stick the boot in. I know one regular here who signed up pretending to be a Dundalk fan to throw rumours in to the mix and have the odd snipe during Perth's time. Foot.ie is one of a few football fora that hasnt become a mess and it is barely moderated, number of active posters may have dropped but it is still a healthy online community of LoI fans that can be rivals without nastiess and I value this, even the tolerating of my own rambling posts, poor attempts at humour or occasional petty snipes. I would hate it to go the way of OW which was at one time arguably the most informed, vibrant and considered football forums in LoI and beyond, been a long time just a place to push anti whomever agendas.

sbgawa
19/04/2024, 3:11 PM
Like many fora these days Orielweb has become an extension of the bull**** you see on twitter or x or whatever the fook. There are stll a few old warhorses from its earliest days that you take posts as credible info, most dont tend to even bother now which is a shame as the more sensible types could push back agaist the disposable accounts that appear to cause grief or stick the boot in. I know one regular here who signed up pretending to be a Dundalk fan to throw rumours in to the mix and have the odd snipe during Perth's time. Foot.ie is one of a few football fora that hasnt become a mess and it is barely moderated, number of active posters may have dropped but it is still a healthy online community of LoI fans that can be rivals without nastiess and I value this, even the tolerating of my own rambling posts, poor attempts at humour or occasional petty snipes. I would hate it to go the way of OW which was at one time arguably the most informed, vibrant and considered football forums in LoI and beyond, been a long time just a place to push anti whomever agendas.

It was good and when you consider how hard it is to type with that extra finger in the way it shows grit and determination :)

Knocklyonhoop
19/04/2024, 4:13 PM
Looks like Long was first choice for the club if Waterford media are to be believed

19/04/2024, 6:14 PM
It was good and when you consider how hard it is to type with that extra finger in the way it shows grit and determination :)

Extra toe!! FFS get it right and yes typing with an extra toe takes serious effort. The days of Cork v Drogheda during their title winning season was amusing back in the day....

19/04/2024, 6:15 PM
Looks like Long was first choice for the club if Waterford media are to be believed

Was it on Waterford Whispers?

joey B
19/04/2024, 9:25 PM
Noel King the new manager at Dundalk,I’m shocked I have to say…

sbgawa
19/04/2024, 9:30 PM
**** sake it's a disgrace if an eejit like him is getting the Dundalk job.

Surely they could get a credible candidate.
The absolute definition of promoted beyond competence. Only surprise is he didn't get a job in the FAI , How bad mist they think.he is

Jd2793
19/04/2024, 9:33 PM
hahaha dundalk fans... welcome to the first division

placid casual
19/04/2024, 9:40 PM
As if this evening couldn't get any better:):):).
And here's me thinking them giving Perth the job again would be comical enough, it seems dundalk have called my bluff.
There is literally no beginning to Kingers talent as a football manager.
Great stuff to witness.

ger121
19/04/2024, 9:55 PM
Noel King the new manager at Dundalk,I’m shocked I have to say…

I just had to check what year it was, as for a second I thought it was 2004 not 2024.

ontheotherhand
19/04/2024, 10:06 PM
Ah here. So many positive stories around the league these days. Things are going well. How and why would you bring Noel King back from the dead?

At least he is out of the running for the international job I suppose.

The Bowler
19/04/2024, 10:07 PM
Jaysus wept. Noel King, no further words needed. See you next season in the 1st Division lads

David BOHie
19/04/2024, 10:14 PM
I bet Keith Long doesn't sound too bad now, huh?

That's such a shocking appointment. I can't see Noel King even lasting the season tbh.

Yossarian
19/04/2024, 10:14 PM
I don’t know what to say. An absolute joke decision. I’d rather Filippo back.

2 Year Contract
19/04/2024, 10:55 PM
12 months ago if Brian Ainscough had said he’d have Kerry playing league games against Dundalk by 2025 he'd have been laughed at. He’s certainly having a good go at it now anyways ;)

RealJohn91
19/04/2024, 10:58 PM
Can't say I have much sympathy for Dundalk. This chancer should've been told where to go with the way he left Kerry high and dry.

19/04/2024, 11:42 PM
I'm pretty speechless. I'm so taken aback by this that it feels surreal. I can only hope that the journalists have jumped the gun here and it's not finalised yet, and that allows for a complete U-turn considering the fan outcry.

Jack B
19/04/2024, 11:46 PM
Absolutely stunned by that appointment from Dundalk assuming it's true. Will probably be a big relief for a few teams looking over their shoulder in what is a tight league this season, and seems to be a case of Ainscough getting one of his mates in the door which doesn't say much for his decision making in this role.

20/04/2024, 12:03 AM
Well a call for a more traditional 442 back to basics type manager was needed.....

Makes a mockery of all the inside knwoledge claims on OW and elsewhere. Just for the sake of being awkward - great appointment, exactly whats needed, motivate the squad with the coaching team getting the business done on the training pitch. By mid July we will be sitting about 7th and a transfer window open. Finish 5th. I refuse to give up on Dundalk not in the Prmier Division!!

2 Year Contract
20/04/2024, 8:41 AM
It was oriel web. I went on to see who
Dundalk fans would even want in as manager but got great amusement out of the Long stuff so had to raise it here.
It’s seems that orielweb is actually a beacon of truth! Keith Long has confirmed Dundalk approached Waterford for permission to speak to him about becoming manager

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/keith-long-reveals-waterford-rejected-dundalk-approach-for-him-to-take-managerial-reins-at-oriel-park/a1655156193.html

total hoofball
20/04/2024, 8:55 AM
So it turns out Ainscough is absolute idiot or at worst a charlatan after all. I take it King and Ainscough go back a long way to when they were younger in the 80s?

I like Noel he's decent man and he did a good job with Shels women's WNL team which is not men's LOI level but everywhere else in the past 20 years he has done nothing, that is your typical Irish jobs for the boys hire

Another Bohemia
20/04/2024, 9:23 AM
It’s seems that orielweb is actually a beacon of truth! Keith Long has confirmed Dundalk approached Waterford for permission to speak to him about becoming manager

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/keith-long-reveals-waterford-rejected-dundalk-approach-for-him-to-take-managerial-reins-at-oriel-park/a1655156193.html

Probably a case of a broken clock being right twice a day! To go from trying to get Long in to Noel King is some turnaround though. I mean they would have obviously been happy to pay compensation for Long so I doubt money was the issue. Why go from plan A straight to plan Z though? Was there no other option if Long said no? Bohs manager hunt pre Reynolds was a bit of a shambles but they had A, B and C options by the looks of things. Even this time around they had A & B options. Dundalk fans better get the buckets out again and look at trying to buy the club from this Ainscough chancer because he doesn't have the money himself to fund it and he seems to be lacking in the know how to run it as well!

sbgawa
20/04/2024, 11:18 AM
I woke up this morning and had to check that it wasn't a dream. This guy is so bad even the fai got rid. Car crash stuff. Can u imagine his team talks. Eat your orange quarters and let's get it up to the big girl up front.

20/04/2024, 11:43 AM
There are 'fans' who have stated that they'd rather be in the 1st division than have an American owner, based on their own personal political persuasion. Not anti hedge fund investment, faceless stuff that ruthlessly will take a return, just simply anti American even if they were the most dedicated and loyal kind. Well they have gotten what they wished for.

There has nothing officially announced so there could be an element of kite flying. I know its an old trick, to get what you want propose something complelely unpalatable so that people will be very relieved by the compromise. John Gill or Vinny Perth would be seen as a lot more acceptable now than if they were announced as new managers. BA could pivot after seeing the backlash simply because its not official yet, unlikely but can be done. If he takes this executive decision alone he completely undermines that new CEO and possibly other key people. He might reconsider if he sees Halpin considering walking after a matter of weeks. Hopeful thinking...

Kiki Balboa
20/04/2024, 12:03 PM
This is Bray and Athlone stuff now.

Just disastrous. Im incredibly gutted - not just with the appointment, but how we got here.

Whatever about banter-era stuff - this kind of decision destroys fan bases.

sbgawa
20/04/2024, 12:08 PM
If u want a measure of yhe man google his rte interview when he was interim manager and was questioned about his tactics ...nasty piece of work

oriel
20/04/2024, 12:16 PM
One of the darkest days in the history of the club, this absolute bluffer coming in, just watch the anger at the next home game.

This is a disgrace by Ainscough.

oriel
20/04/2024, 12:18 PM
I don’t know what to say. An absolute joke decision. I’d rather Filippo back.

Rather? he won the FAI Cup and got to EL Group Stage, first and only time both was ever achieved by a LOI manager in same season.

20/04/2024, 12:29 PM
One of the darkest days in the history of the club, this absolute bluffer coming in, just watch the anger at the next home game.

This is a disgrace by Ainscough.

What happened to things not being confirmed until its is on the official website. I dont see uch more than people saying its King on football fora and X. Its not been confirmed by national media just that its reported to be a done deal without official confirmation. Am I missing something?