View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures
sbgawa
02/11/2023, 7:59 PM
If luke Byrne and Finn are both playing at ucd next year that is some start, or is Byrne just coaching? I know he's had injuries but he is still young
Dermobohs
02/11/2023, 8:18 PM
Used to have a soft spot for ucd, but jaysus lads smirking Ronan and 50 quid Luke ?? And this after the abomination that is starjumps keeper kearns.
ontheotherhand
02/11/2023, 8:50 PM
It's so sad when two of our feeder clubs aren't getting along.
sbgawa
02/11/2023, 9:00 PM
Weird. Pretty sure he did a masters in DCU back a bit more than a decade ago. Fair play I guess
According to the press stuff he did a degree in sports management so he is going back to do the masters. Smart move tbh and he owes Rovers NOTHING. he was the start of all the recent success for us, signed in 2016 when he was walking away from a league winning Dundalk and very few people thought it was a good move. Turns out he was 100% right and good luck to him.
I'll definitely drop in to ucd next year when rovers are away and I'm not traveling
joey B
02/11/2023, 9:23 PM
Hugh Douglas retired at 30,injuries took their toll on him to be retiring relatively young …
joey B
03/11/2023, 6:39 PM
Darren Murphy appointed Harps manager.
03/11/2023, 8:39 PM
Now thats an interesting move from Harps there. Didnt even know in first place that DR had gone. Heard today that Ronan Finn was with Sporting Fingal all these years ago I dont remember him being there at all!
2 Year Contract
04/11/2023, 12:14 AM
Duff on the way out of shels? Out of contract and hasn’t been contacted about a new deal yet, also stating that he hasn’t got a clue what’s going on behind the scenes at the club. Even if he does stay on, there’s some pretty damning quotes on the new owners there that would suggest things might not last as long as most would’ve imagined between the manager and the club
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/its-been-frustrating-i-wont-lie-damien-duff-shocked-and-surprised-over-contract-situation/a969957026.html
ger121
04/11/2023, 12:34 AM
At this rate, god knows who will be managing at what club next season.
ontheotherhand
04/11/2023, 2:24 AM
bohs should swoop and snap Duff up. I think Devine's limitations have been shown now. He might make a better coach than a manager? I'd absolutely hate them getting Duff so it would be a good move. If we lost Bradley, Duff would have been my target.
I think Derry will wait another quarter season to get rid of Higgins and appoint Kenny unless they are properly competing at the top. Thought Higgins would have had them league winners by now but he doesn't seem up to it.
O'Donnell will stay another season as will Daly, Bradley and Doherty. Holland will stay but possibly for a rebuild in the FD. Russell will go midway through or earlier.
Lump on. This is free money.
total hoofball
04/11/2023, 9:09 AM
Duff on the way out of shels? Out of contract and hasn’t been contacted about a new deal yet, also stating that he hasn’t got a clue what’s going on behind the scenes at the club. Even if he does stay on, there’s some pretty damning quotes on the new owners there that would suggest things might not last as long as most would’ve imagined between the manager and the club
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/its-been-frustrating-i-wont-lie-damien-duff-shocked-and-surprised-over-contract-situation/a969957026.html
Staggering stuff. Reading between the lines is Duff giving them one last final chance on this and he will be walking if he doesn't have a new contract in his pocket like pretty much now, it should have all been sorted in the summer. And then we may also have out of contract players and coaching staff walking signing for other clubs if Duff isn't sorted
If Duff isn't Shels manager next season the new regime will have immediately lost the room with the fans and set the club back there won't be any recovery, we have seen it happen time and time again in this league seen with Cork, Dundalk, Limerick, Bray
sbgawa
04/11/2023, 9:29 AM
Be a massive shooting yourself in the foot story if they push Duff out.
Money men think differently though they may want their own man in place who will do what he is told with no questions. The fans won't like it but if money is thrown at the squad they will sack it up.
But if things don't go well on the pitch the **** will hit the fan fairly quick
ger121
04/11/2023, 9:34 AM
This is some article by Dan.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/this-is-a-club-on-fire-the-inside-story-of-the-row-threatening-to-tear-shamrock-rovers-apart/a922356248.html
joey B
04/11/2023, 10:09 AM
Ali Coote rumoured to be off to Pats..
Calcio Jack
04/11/2023, 10:23 AM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/this-is-a-club-on-fire-the-inside-story-of-the-row-threatening-to-tear-shamrock-rovers-apart/a922356248.html
Disenchanted Dundalk fan looses his journalist perspective or maybe he’s right as some of those involved still did manage to completely screw it up at the end of the MON era….. I’m betting we’ll be fine
ger121
04/11/2023, 10:57 AM
Ali Coote rumoured to be off to Pats..
No surprise he would be off somewhere once his contract was up. Very good on his day but goes awol when not in the mood.
04/11/2023, 11:55 AM
Disenchanted Dundalk fan looses his journalist perspective or maybe he’s right as some of those involved still did manage to completely screw it up at the end of the MON era….. I’m betting we’ll be fine
Ah here, ne thing that a constant with Dan McDonnell is that he is no hometown journo unless he is writing about Dundalk specifically and even then he pulls no punches, he calls things as he sees without Lilywhite tinted glasses. Its intersting that you think that it could be biased reporting though. Going purely on Bradley's post match iterviews of recent you can hardly deny that this reporting is very plausable and inside info or agendas are not really needed.
Calcio Jack
04/11/2023, 1:51 PM
Ah here, ne thing that a constant with Dan McDonnell is that he is no hometown journo unless he is writing about Dundalk specifically and even then he pulls no punches, he calls things as he sees without Lilywhite tinted glasses. Its intersting that you think that it could be biased reporting though. Going purely on Bradley's post match iterviews of recent you can hardly deny that this reporting is very plausable and inside info or agendas are not really needed.
It was meant as ‘tongue in cheek
- I’ve now read the article and tbh found it very ‘speculative’ a little sensationalist and not too much substance or anything new - bottom line summation;
One director p!!sed off because a single member questioned his bone fides
Members Club directors are making reasonable point that if next season we are asked to transfer a large sum ( approx €500,000k) then other shareholders ( Desmond etc) should also make a matching contribution .
In fairness after two pages his last paragraph was reasonable - we sell one player or improve in Europe and that will sort out the finances for 2025 ( a very acceptable large budget is already in place for (2024).
So aside from what sounds like some petty personality based squabbles not to much to see ( albeit the Members directors looking to other shareholders to make a financial contribution is interesting)
Jack B
04/11/2023, 2:52 PM
The rumour mill already getting in full swing is gas. You think the football is mad enough in this league and then the off-season starts.
On the Pat's front we already have Coote apparently doing a Breslin and I heard off a former player that we're signing Jack Byrne, which I'd take with an absolute mountain of salt. Then there's the Hoban stuff, who will Galway pay a fee for off Harps this time around etc. Good times.
Jd2793
04/11/2023, 2:55 PM
jr wilson leaving shels?
D24Saint
04/11/2023, 4:44 PM
Shels letting Duff go would be incredibly incompetent by the new owners. He had to be the best that has happened to them in a long time. Gobsmacking tbh. If they install a yes man to replace him the club will surely just be turned into a Hull feeder side.
04/11/2023, 9:15 PM
Shels letting Duff go would be incredibly incompetent by the new owners. He had to be the best that has happened to them in a long time. Gobsmacking tbh. If they install a yes man to replace him the club will surely just be turned into a Hull feeder side.
Which has probably been the aim all along. Access to the underage set up and somewhere to park players as needed.
05/11/2023, 6:45 AM
Dundalk turning away much needed investment from the same people for good reason so Shels would have had an inkling of what could be ahead. Maybe they gambled and hoped to be able to fend off too much interference especially if Duff was doing the business and he certainly has. If he is out of a job he will be a big shadow over every manager as any blip and he will be touted as lurking even if not actually that fussed himself.
Makes a mockery of the early rumours on Shels big plans to plunder Rovers, though I suspect that was some mischief making by PC.
05/11/2023, 6:53 AM
It was meant as ‘tongue in cheek
Fair enough, its hard to know when the SRFC seige is in place or not at times. I think once the league title was actually confirmed Bradley was always going to get much of what he wanted, maybe him calling for additional resources publically a bit premature. That said, the current state of the league in terms of what is needed footballing wise is not massive so a little should go a long way when established in the top 2 or 3 - a couple of key signings could turn also rans in to potential title contenders and Rovers are already that so just need to replace a couple of retirees and keep hold of a fit Jack Byrne eg. Unless it is decided to go for a major overhaul with progression in Europe the unofficial top target.
sbgawa
05/11/2023, 9:23 AM
Be a massive shooting yourself in the foot story if they push Duff out.
Money men think differently though they may want their own man in place who will do what he is told with no questions. The fans won't like it but if money is thrown at the squad they will sack it up.
But if things don't go well on the pitch the **** will hit the fan fairly quick
Jack was there on Friday which I took as a good sign. On crutches and in a brace after an op so hopefully will be fit for Feb start assuming he stays.
D24Saint
05/11/2023, 9:26 AM
Daniel McDonnell’s article in yesterday’s Indo made for interesting reading. The behind scenes tension could have a role yet about the kind of squad Bradley can have next season.
Jd2793
06/11/2023, 3:44 PM
jr wilson leaving shels?
https://twitter.com/shelsfc/status/1721561911769071886
confirmed now. any links to clubs at the mo? would have thought shels would keep him on board
RealJohn91
06/11/2023, 4:40 PM
He played underage for Bohs so I wouldn't be surprised to him back. They badly need some depth in both full back positions.
joey B
06/11/2023, 5:34 PM
John Russell staying on at Sligo
Players departing: Lukas Browning, Johan Brannefalk, Frank Livaak, Gary Boylan, Mark Byrne, Garry Buckley, Daniel Lafferty, Pedro Martelo and Robbie Burton.
joey B
06/11/2023, 5:54 PM
Rory Gaffney staying at Rovers on a 1 year deal.
placid casual
06/11/2023, 7:28 PM
If Gaffney stays relatively fit that should be 5 in a row sewn up.
On another striker, is colm whelan scheduled to return from injury in time for next season?
I think his absence prevented derry from making more of a challenge for the title.
And I hear rumours of hoban to boez- if ever a player and club were made for each other more it's boez and that particular individual.
Jack B
06/11/2023, 7:56 PM
Are Bohs resigned to losing Afolabi? As much as they're both quality players I'm not sure there's any point in having both him and Hoban.
sidcon
06/11/2023, 8:05 PM
Afolabi is signed up for another year so unless someone comes in with a decent offer I would not expect him to go anywhere
ger121
06/11/2023, 10:18 PM
Rory Gaffney staying at Rovers on a 1 year deal.
Thought if he stayed at Rovers then Hoban be off home to Galway.
2 Year Contract
06/11/2023, 11:22 PM
https://twitter.com/shelsfc/status/1721561911769071886
confirmed now. any links to clubs at the mo? would have thought shels would keep him on board
Linked to Sligo supposedly
culloty82
07/11/2023, 12:45 PM
Ethan Kos has re-signed for another 12 months at Kerry, which is no surprise given his form since July.
07/11/2023, 12:55 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/this-is-a-club-on-fire-the-inside-story-of-the-row-threatening-to-tear-shamrock-rovers-apart/a922356248.htmlCan anyone post the full article please? Paywall...
joey B
07/11/2023, 1:03 PM
Can anyone post the full article please? Paywall...
https://archive.ph/9S16q
Another Bohemia
07/11/2023, 1:12 PM
Are Bohs resigned to losing Afolabi? As much as they're both quality players I'm not sure there's any point in having both him and Hoban.
Is Hoban to Bohs a rumour doing the rounds? He would certainly add a leadership element that is sorely missing from the squad.
I'd wager Afolabi will be off in January. He's scored a decent amount of goals for Bohs but he's also been very good with his link up play and stayed healthy for the entire season. Someone like Fleetwood or Lincoln will come in for him as they know what to expect from LOI players at this stage and good strikers are very difficult to find.
Another Bohemia
07/11/2023, 4:11 PM
John Russell staying on at Sligo
Players departing: Lukas Browning, Johan Brannefalk, Frank Livaak, Gary Boylan, Mark Byrne, Garry Buckley, Daniel Lafferty, Pedro Martelo and Robbie Burton.
How do Sligo fans feel about Russell staying on? Have they shown any improvement in the tail end of the season? Can't imagine they thought they would avoid a relegation battle by such a slim margin before the start of the season. I know losing Mata would have an impact but even still has it not been a very poor season?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/11/2023, 5:17 PM
Most people not happy about it. We were awful this season and hard to see based on the signings this season how he will get it right next season as nearly all weren’t good enough. He’d certainly be favourite for first manager to leave next season.
ger121
07/11/2023, 8:02 PM
Most people not happy about it. We were awful this season and hard to see based on the signings this season how he will get it right next season as nearly all weren’t good enough. He’d certainly be favourite for first manager to leave next season.
Not sure if I read it here or elsewhere but it was said he has gotten off lightly when you consider Bucko was canned for far less.
ger121
07/11/2023, 8:07 PM
Is Hoban to Bohs a rumour doing the rounds? He would certainly add a leadership element that is sorely missing from the squad.
I'd wager Afolabi will be off in January. He's scored a decent amount of goals for Bohs but he's also been very good with his link up play and stayed healthy for the entire season. Someone like Fleetwood or Lincoln will come in for him as they know what to expect from LOI players at this stage and good strikers are very difficult to find.
I’ve heard Bohs and I have heard Galway so take your pick. You could probably throw Pats in there too based on location and their need for a forward.
I would not be surprised either if Afolabi is gone in the off season. Someone will come in for him from the UK and with a year left on his contract, now would be the optimum time for the club to cash in.
If he is going to leave then I would love to sign Hoban.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/11/2023, 8:46 PM
Not sure if I read it here or elsewhere but it was said he has gotten off lightly when you consider Bucko was canned for far less.
Certainly has. Even admitted himself he thought he would have been sacked after we lost 3-0 in Cork
Shearer
07/11/2023, 8:55 PM
Ethan Kos has re-signed for another 12 months at Kerry, which is no surprise given his form since July.
Good bit of business.
I see that Martin Coughlan is emigrating. Nice lad and would have liked to see him get more of a go at Treaty. He picked up a mad amount of yellows with Kerry.
JC_GUFC
08/11/2023, 8:47 AM
Patrick Hoban strikes me as a lad who'll go where the money is best. I think Derry will get him - they need a consistent goalscorer and he's proven at this level.
I'd be happy enough with Wassim leading the line for us in the Premier Division next season but after paying a fee for Mikey Place we'll surely be putting in a bid for the Hobanator so it may suit him to join us as his daughter in living in Galway.
Cian Kavanagh might not be a bad option for other clubs to pick up - he's still only 20.
2 Year Contract
08/11/2023, 9:52 AM
Cian Kavanagh might not be a bad option for other clubs to pick up - he's still only 20.
Jesus! Feels like he’s been around forever. I remember watching him playing for Pats in a pre-season game in 2019, nearly 5 years ago now, before he moved on to Hearts. Is he out of contract at Derry?
JC_GUFC
08/11/2023, 9:59 AM
Jesus! Feels like he’s been around forever. I remember watching him playing for Pats in a pre-season game in 2019, nearly 5 years ago now, before he moved on to Hearts. Is he out of contract at Derry?
It looks like it. I was surprised he was so young too. Maybe having another Cian Kavanagh knocking around the league made me think he'd been around for longer than he has (I don't remember him as a youth at Pat's)
One thing I'm surprised at is his height listed as 1m 76c (5 ft 9) - I definitely would have thought he was more like 6'2 or 6'3. Maybe he's just physically strong in stature.
08/11/2023, 10:19 AM
Yeah, there was another Cian Kavanagh (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/cian-kavanagh/profil/spieler/264200) a couple of years earlier; played for Rovers, UCD, Shels, Drogheda and Wexford between 2015 and 2020. Played three games in Rovers' Europa League campaign in 2015. He's 27 now.
culloty82
08/11/2023, 10:57 AM
Good bit of business.
I see that Martin Coughlan is emigrating. Nice lad and would have liked to see him get more of a go at Treaty. He picked up a mad amount of yellows with Kerry.
Sad to hear, even with all the yellows he picked up as you said, we don't have a pile of holding midfielders in the squad.