View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

09/01/2024, 3:42 PM
Glentoran fans not much good to say about him but I think he’s been injured quite a lot…..

Likes the social life, Watford tried to reign it in, organised pandemic trip up north when at Dundalk, moved to Belfast but if the injury prone type of player a very healthy lifestyle is needed. He'll find some good spots in Cork too i'm sure, if does get an injury free run he'd cruise through 1st Division on half decent surfaces. They get heavy at all he'll struggle. Can you still have potential as a 30 year old footballer?

D24Saint
09/01/2024, 4:15 PM
We signed Alfie Taylor from Hull City on loan. He plays as a left sided centre half so its safe to assume he can fill in at LB if we are stuck.

timothydec77
09/01/2024, 4:47 PM
Likes the social life, Watford tried to reign it in, organised pandemic trip up north when at Dundalk, moved to Belfast but if the injury prone type of player a very healthy lifestyle is needed. He'll find some good spots in Cork too i'm sure, if does get an injury free run he'd cruise through 1st Division on half decent surfaces. They get heavy at all he'll struggle. Can you still have potential as a 30 year old footballer?

Call me old fashioned but if a player is playing in 1st division at the age of 30 they are a journeyman.

JC_GUFC
09/01/2024, 4:56 PM
We signed Alfie Taylor from Hull City on loan. He plays as a left sided centre half so its safe to assume he can fill in at LB if we are stuck.

Interesting that Hull are sending players over after the Shels deal ended.

09/01/2024, 4:57 PM
Call me old fashioned but if a player is playing in 1st division at the age of 30 they are a journeyman.

Even if they have been at the same First Division club since they were a teenager?

joey B
09/01/2024, 5:35 PM
Ali Coote joined Detroit City in the USL Championship.

Another Bohemia
09/01/2024, 6:05 PM
Bohs have signed striker Sten Reinkort. Estonian international and I have no idea how good he is but at least it is a striker

Jack B
09/01/2024, 6:40 PM

Who knows how good he is but it was an important space in the squad to get filled out to make it 4 CBs. Still feel we'll need to be lucky again with Breslin's availability but between Taylor, McClelland or even one of the right backs we hopefully have something there to cover us in a pinch. Takes us up to 21 players excluding academy lads that haven't/barely have featured. If I were being greedy I wouldn't mind another midfielder and a winger, but on the whole the squad is looking alright.

Jack B
09/01/2024, 6:42 PM
Bohs have signed striker Sten Reinkort. Estonian international and I have no idea how good he is but at least it is a striker

Flora seem a weird team, always loaning out and offering around fellas that appear to make quite a few appearances for them. Bohs will be needing him to be more of a Poom than a Kreida or Vastsuk.

oriel
09/01/2024, 7:03 PM
Was only around €10k and then sold him for €40k so not bad business.

I think I remember this one (Dylan Connolly), was actually one biggest transfer fees paid by Dundalk, pretty sure it was a mad 40k and sold for exact same to Wimbeldon (I think). Others in SK era that commanded a fee (most didn't), Horgan was between 12-15K from Cork C, McGrath around 20k from Pats, Kilduff was 10 or 15k, not sure who to as he was at Pats, I think Rovers were the parent club.

Michael Duffy was another, Celtic held out for money, and was undisclosed but was a hefty fee I heard at the time, forget what it was.

RealJohn91
09/01/2024, 8:17 PM
Bohs are interested in bringing in Dean Lyness to cover for Talbot apparently and former Pat's player Jake Carroll is on trial too.

D24Saint
09/01/2024, 8:39 PM
Bohs are interested in bringing in Dean Lyness to cover for Talbot apparently and former Pat's player Jake Carroll is on trial too.

He turned down a new deal with us as he wants to be closer to his family. I’d be shocked if he signed for another LOI club but you never know suppose, if it’s a six month deal it might suit him.

timothydec77
09/01/2024, 8:58 PM
Even if they have been at the same First Division club since they were a teenager?

The term is a subjective one anyway. But they are still better than 99% of players that have played the game.

oriel
09/01/2024, 9:01 PM
Flora seem a weird team, always loaning out and offering around fellas that appear to make quite a few appearances for them. Bohs will be needing him to be more of a Poom than a Kreida or Vastsuk.

We were there (Tallin) in 2018, great trip, brilliant city, we played Levadia beat them 1-0 (Dylan Connolly would you believe) anyway found out later Levadia were by far the least popular club in the city as they had Russian links, Flora by far had the biggest support of the city.

2 Year Contract
09/01/2024, 9:39 PM
I think I remember this one (Dylan Connolly), was actually one biggest transfer fees paid by Dundalk, pretty sure it was a mad 40k and sold for exact same to Wimbeldon (I think). Others in SK era that commanded a fee (most didn't), Horgan was between 12-15K from Cork C, McGrath around 20k from Pats, Kilduff was 10 or 15k, not sure who to as he was at Pats, I think Rovers were the parent club.

Michael Duffy was another, Celtic held out for money, and was undisclosed but was a hefty fee I heard at the time, forget what it was.

Yous bought him from Pats. He signed for free ahead of the 2015 season, struggled to dislodge Fagan from the team and was then sold in the summer window to Dundalk for a transfer fee. A win win for both clubs that transfer was, after Kilduff fit into that Dundalk team so well too

09/01/2024, 11:31 PM
Yous bought him from Pats. He signed for free ahead of the 2015 season, struggled to dislodge Fagan from the team and was then sold in the summer window to Dundalk for a transfer fee. A win win for both clubs that transfer was, after Kilduff fit into that Dundalk team so well too

Kilduff is probably the Dundalk player I hated to love, depended on my mood - that headed goals v AZ or that missed sitter in ET v Rosenborg. the winner against Macaibi at home or the missed sitter in Israel that could have put got us through the group stage (for a while anyway). Pats fans (well Dodge) laughing at the mere notion that he was worth a transfer fee and yet could be (one of) the best value for money signings in league history, fee to value of goals scored? I suppose he did put us in a cup final and broke his back for the Dundalk cause too- total legend!! (Yes WeAreRovers I know he flirted with legendary status in Tallaght first, assisting the Partizan win and winning a league medal - additional context, he won 2 at Dundalk:p).

Funny how fickle football fans really can be as Hoban has and will become the love to hate legend.

2 Year Contract
10/01/2024, 8:34 AM
In addition to those already mentioned on here, Bohs are also looking at Estonian centre half Marten Kuusk and a 20 year old centre half called Divin Isamala that plays Leinster Senior League for St Francis

Another Bohemia
10/01/2024, 8:50 AM
In addition to those already mentioned on here, Bohs are also looking at Estonian centre half Marten Kuusk and a 19 year old centre half called Divin Isamala that plays Leinster Senior League for St Francis

A young CB from St Francis played a few preseason games for Bohs last year. Is it the same player? If so he could be a decent option he looked strong and fast in the game I saw vs Galway in the AUL with an experienced player like Carroll or Cornwall beside to help with positioning he could be very good

Jack B
10/01/2024, 9:46 AM
In addition to those already mentioned on here, Bohs are also looking at Estonian centre half Marten Kuusk and a 19 year old centre half called Divin Isamala that plays Leinster Senior League for St Francis

Saw it reported that despite the links to Bohs your man Kuusk is signing with a club elsewhere in Europe.

The Lyness situation is interesting one, would reckon McGinty is more likely but could all work out that they only need someone until, say, the summer to cover Talbot's absence which would work better for Lyness than signing for a full season which is what Pats would have been after. Good keeper all the same albeit I thought he got slightly overrated by winning player of the season.

Kept up with Jake Carroll a bit over the last few years because I wondered if he'd ever be an option to come back to us, he used to get a rough time of it off Motherwell fans and has had a couple of awful injuries during that time. Given he's got a couple of hundred appearances across England and Scotland and can cover a couple of positions he could end up being a useful squad player though.

2 Year Contract
10/01/2024, 11:10 AM
A young CB from St Francis played a few preseason games for Bohs last year. Is it the same player? If so he could be a decent option he looked strong and fast in the game I saw vs Galway in the AUL with an experienced player like Carroll or Cornwall beside to help with positioning he could be very good

I googled him and saw an article from this time last year about him being with Bohs in pre-season so yeah it’s the same lad. He was reportedly on the verge of agreeing a deal with Blackpool in May but that seems to have fallen through. He’s also trialling/trialled with Derby County this month and wants to go there but Bohs seem to be the fallback destination if the Derby thing doesn’t happen

10/01/2024, 12:41 PM
Hoban on more than €2,500 mad money !!

EatYerGreens
10/01/2024, 1:51 PM
Hoban on more than €2,500 mad money !!

Source?

EatYerGreens
10/01/2024, 1:52 PM
In addition to those already mentioned on here, Bohs are also looking at Estonian centre half Marten Kuusk and a 20 year old centre half called Divin Isamala that plays Leinster Senior League for St Francis

Is 'Divin' his birth name or just his nickname? :D

10/01/2024, 2:49 PM
Source?
Impeccable

Another Bohemia
10/01/2024, 3:04 PM
Hoban to Derry confirmed. That will likely put them as favourites for the league, at least in the bookies. Can't say I'm convinced of Higgins as a manager just yet but I can't see any excuses for him based on what I think will be the weakest Premier division in a while. The drain on talent has hit a lot of teams and many will have multiple unproven players in their squads or even starting 11s come the start of the season.

Jack B
10/01/2024, 3:18 PM
By my count that makes 7 players as well as the head coach taken straight from Dundalk. A phenomenally detailed scouting system up in Derry.

10/01/2024, 3:25 PM
Hoban to Derry confirmed. That will likely put them as favourites for the league, at least in the bookies. Can't say I'm convinced of Higgins as a manager just yet but I can't see any excuses for him based on what I think will be the weakest Premier division in a while. The drain on talent has hit a lot of teams and many will have multiple unproven players in their squads or even starting 11s come the start of the season.

I love these comments, but this is probably the earliest I've ever seen it. Usually get through a round of games before it's the weakest ever Premier Division.

Another Bohemia
10/01/2024, 3:47 PM
I love these comments, but this is probably the earliest I've ever seen it. Usually get through a round of games before it's the weakest ever Premier Division.

Yeah I may be a bit early but we are starting preseason and a lot of clubs would admit themselves that they still need to add a few players to their squad before the season starts. Devine said as much in the announcement of Bohs new striker. Add to that the obstacles in bringing in players from abroad (cost of living and general lack of housing) and the uncertainty of how the players who do come in will perform. Lastly the more recent trend of pretty average LOI players earning contracts in L1 & L2 e.g. Rory Feely, Ciaran Kelly even to an extent Ronan Coughlan. The league isn't just losing talented young players but also some fairly average starters that previously would have spent their careers in the league and kept the level reasonably consistent as well as acting as a sort of mentor for younger players coming through. At the very least I think we'll see another inconsistent season where there won't be any outstanding teams and results from week to week will be unpredictable.

10/01/2024, 4:22 PM
The LOI has never been in a better place as far as I'm concerned. The sign that seemingly average players are being picked up by League One and League Two clubs, and even First Division players going across and doing well, isn't a sign that the league is at it's weakest, it's arguably quite the opposite.

It's this nonsense "my club isn't doing amazing so the whole league is crap". It drives me mental reading it.

ontheotherhand
10/01/2024, 4:41 PM
The league is as strong as it can be every season. It's a pointless, if sometimes enjoyable debate.

Whoever wins it this season will have fought off more than a few heavy budgets. Some teams are clearly struggling to sort themselves out but while Dundalk are in decline, Pats are on the rise. While Bohs seem to have lost focus, Shels are aiming higher. Derry are....still building? Don't think it's any weaker than previous years by many metrics really? I do take the point about attracting players and we need to figure something out there but we still have some fantastic players on show and it's going to be even more competitive again I'd say.

Will we compete in Europe? Not sure. I do think other leagues are improving fast while we are staying still to an extent. Still, the football on show is good, the atmosphere is cracking and the buzz is great. I'd take the league now over most decades previously.....but then I'm a Rovers fan and Nigel's point works both ways!

Are we ready for the Predictions thread?

Another Bohemia
10/01/2024, 5:27 PM
The LOI has never been in a better place as far as I'm concerned. The sign that seemingly average players are being picked up by League One and League Two clubs, and even First Division players going across and doing well, isn't a sign that the league is at it's weakest, it's arguably quite the opposite.

It's this nonsense "my club isn't doing amazing so the whole league is crap". It drives me mental reading it.

Its not "my club isn't doing amazing" for me at least. I believe the average players leaving the league has more to do with brexit making it harder for L1/L2 to sign players from outside of the UK than an overall increase in quality of the league. Take for example Greg Bolger who has a fantastic LOI career part of league and cup winning teams throughout his career but I can never recall him being linked with a move to the UK yet you have Rory Feely earning a move to the UK? A player who Pat's fans were happy enough to see the back of when he left them and similarly Bohs fans were happy to see the back of when he left us? Its mind boggling imo. I firmly believe that if former players like Dave Mulcahy, Paddy Kavanagh, Derek Pender and probably more would be over in the UK now instead of spending their careers here. And that's not a dig at any of those lads they were really good LOI players and IMO better than Feely and Kelly but still didn't get a move to the UK in their prime. The league needs players like this to stay long term otherwise the overall consistency and in my opinion quality of the league will continue to trend downwards

10/01/2024, 5:38 PM
Bolger was strongly linked with Motherwell a few years back, but I'd be inclined to agree with you overall.

I think it's good that players are moving abroad for improving transfer fees (though I agree Brexit is playing a big part), but we need new players coming through to replace them more than be taking punts on random foreigners. The foreigners have their place but they're stop-gaps who'll leave after a year or two on a free. But there seems to me (and this could be completely wrong) to be a reluctance to put too much faith in the academies. I know there's some coming through - particularly at Pat's - but it feels there's a dearth there.

And I don't think so many teams should be struggling to fill squads this close to the season. It seems a recurring issue the last couple of years that I don't remember before.

ontheotherhand
10/01/2024, 6:24 PM
Bolger was strongly linked with Motherwell a few years back, but I'd be inclined to agree with you overall.

I think it's good that players are moving abroad for improving transfer fees (though I agree Brexit is playing a big part), but we need new players coming through to replace them more than be taking punts on random foreigners. The foreigners have their place but they're stop-gaps who'll leave after a year or two on a free. But there seems to me (and this could be completely wrong) to be a reluctance to put too much faith in the academies. I know there's some coming through - particularly at Pat's - but it feels there's a dearth there.

And I don't think so many teams should be struggling to fill squads this close to the season. It seems a recurring issue the last couple of years that I don't remember before.

We haven't relied on foreign imports much historically. We might even see a bit of a reversal in the interest from L1 and L2 sides. Not many who have gone over have done much. Probably more have come back than have stayed? Could just have been a knee jerk reaction by English teams to having the door closed on signing the younger lads. I suppose as long as we are a cheap market they will still take a few swings but clubs like Preston, who were very active at one point, seem to have stopped already.

Do agree that we need to see more come through the academies but we also need an u21 league or similar to help there. Pats do it well but they are alone as it stands.

Stiof
10/01/2024, 6:35 PM
By my count that makes 7 players as well as the head coach taken straight from Dundalk. A phenomenally detailed scouting system up in Derry.

It was alright when Dundalk were taking all Derry's best players...
Just returning the favour now.

10/01/2024, 6:48 PM
. We might even see a bit of a reversal in the interest from L1 and L2 sides. Not many who have gone over have done much. Probably more have come back than have stayed?
You could be right. Mandroiu has done ok at Lincoln and Toal is doing well with Bolton. But Keena has flopped at Cheltenham, Omochere hasn't been great (one goal this season for Fleetwood at the bottom of the third tier), Duffy is a bit-part player for Lincoln, Devoy is out of favour I think (?), Darragh Burns is back already (on loan), McGinty has barely played at Oxford, Abankwah's loan spell with Charlton was a disaster, and so on.

The LoI needs the transfer fees to grow, but we also need the players to justify the transfer fees when they move.

Jack B
10/01/2024, 6:59 PM
As if it wasn't a miserable enough day for Dundalk, they've apparently hit a snag with trying to re-sign Nathan Shepperd and (presumably his representative?) Andy Burton is being needlessly public about it.

https://twitter.com/itsandyburton/status/1745140395766321375?s=19

total hoofball
10/01/2024, 7:00 PM
Speaking of more young LOI players possibly going to England Crystal Palace are currently in negotiations with Shels over signing our centre-half Luke Browne who was on loan with Wexford during the 2nd half of last season

10/01/2024, 9:01 PM
It was alright when Dundalk were taking all Derry's best players...
Just returning the favour now.

Was as much players from Derry rather at Dundlk than just Derry City FC. It was a point made often by Derry fans that if DCFC kept all their top local players they would be a seriously good side. We signed Duffy for a fee from Celtic for example. Paid a fee or McEleney to DCFC but also tto Oldham to bringing him back, Derry could have done the same no? Higgins was released by Derry before Dundalk signed him up. The club has now, belatedly for some players imo, brought them back in to the DCFC fold. The process has been very basic, sign them up from Dundalk mostly (as Dundalk are a shambles off the pitch) and for good messure throw in Kelly, Patching, Connolly, Dummigan and Hoban none of which are Derry City Football Club 'natives'.

That said, i wouldnt feel too bad about it as Rovers started making their breakthrough as an era defining side after bulking up on few Dundalk era defining players also, a head count of Gannon, Hoare, Finn, Cleary, Towell even Michael O'Connor. Its a real return to the old LoI merry go round and when clubs get a cash injetion they sign a bunch of the previous champions players - Dundalk have done it too, a number of the 88 double winning side were former Rovers players. Could this new period of an old trend of signing up a buch of former champions' teams be part of the reason why there is a bit of a stagnation of the standard of the league? Familiarity of squad members even in a change of shirt taking a bit of that determined edge off?

I dont think either side is built from the total blank canvass, small budget, and initial bunch of journeymen put together by Stephen Kenny as he put together one of, if not the finest League side of all time - finishing runners up in season 1 (Vinny Faherty...least said about his scoring record at Dundalk the better,,, was our marquee striker,, Marc Rossitor the best known defender signed, an unknown Gartland in defence, John Dillon, a maligned Chrish Shields from the McCaffery era).. and winners in season 2.

10/01/2024, 9:07 PM
As if it wasn't a miserable enough day for Dundalk, they've apparently hit a snag with trying to re-sign Nathan Shepperd and (presumably his representative?) Andy Burton is being needlessly public about it.

https://twitter.com/itsandyburton/status/1745140395766321375?s=19

Andy misses the negotiation part of contract negotiations. Its a do as he asks or he becomes impetulant. His own players have reigned him in at times. On the other hand, there is a recurrent theme developing in Oriel soooo.......

10/01/2024, 9:23 PM

This is why its a running gag tbh. It's a line usually trotted out in begrudgery - Drogheda fans gave it spades last decade comparing their league winning side to Dundalk. Last season though!! It was actually a contender - if any bang average side had been a little more consistant, like Dundalk, they were challanging for the league. Its always been acknowledged though that Rovers were only as good as they needed to be not just last season imo. If pushed they could have gone up gears. The problem with this is European season, unless you are competing on a knifeedge in the league, where a draw could have you in trouble (Dundalk/Cork kind of battles), well a sluggishness is carried in tp Europe. It was very apparent lst season, and we, as seeded sides, were prety awful. Derry is an honourable mention but again if they had een performing in the league they wouldnt have been on the wrong side of a penalty shoot out.

ontheotherhand
10/01/2024, 9:51 PM
Was as much players from Derry rather at Dundlk than just Derry City FC. It was a point made often by Derry fans that if DCFC kept all their top local players they would be a seriously good side. We signed Duffy for a fee from Celtic for example. Paid a fee or McEleney to DCFC but also tto Oldham to bringing him back, Derry could have done the same no? Higgins was released by Derry before Dundalk signed him up. The club has now, belatedly for some players imo, brought them back in to the DCFC fold. The process has been very basic, sign them up from Dundalk mostly (as Dundalk are a shambles off the pitch) and for good messure throw in Kelly, Patching, Connolly, Dummigan and Hoban none of which are Derry City Football Club 'natives'.

That said, i wouldnt feel too bad about it as Rovers started making their breakthrough as an era defining side after bulking up on few Dundalk era defining players also, a head count of Gannon, Hoare, Finn, Cleary, Towell even Michael O'Connor. Its a real return to the old LoI merry go round and when clubs get a cash injetion they sign a bunch of the previous champions players - Dundalk have done it too, a number of the 88 double winning side were former Rovers players. Could this new period of an old trend of signing up a buch of former champions' teams be part of the reason why there is a bit of a stagnation of the standard of the league? Familiarity of squad members even in a change of shirt taking a bit of that determined edge off?

I dont think either side is built from the total blank canvass, small budget, and initial bunch of journeymen put together by Stephen Kenny as he put together one of, if not the finest League side of all time - finishing runners up in season 1 (Vinny Faherty...least said about his scoring record at Dundalk the better,,, was our marquee striker,, Marc Rossitor the best known defender signed, an unknown Gartland in defence, John Dillon, a maligned Chrish Shields from the McCaffery era).. and winners in season 2.

Not sure about that narrative. Finn was the only signing of any real importance early on. Cleary and Towell were long gone from Dundalk by the time they arrived after the first title was already won. it was hardly a case of Rovers going to the previous champions and taking the core all at once. Ex-Dundalk players aren't what won us titles.

Buckett
10/01/2024, 10:42 PM
Does anyone know how many of Rovers 2024 squad have won all of the four in a row titles?

2 Year Contract
10/01/2024, 10:54 PM
Does anyone know how many of Rovers 2024 squad have won all of the four in a row titles?

Looks like 9. Lopes, Grace, Watts, Greene, Burke, Kavanagh, O'Neill, Gaffney, Farrugia

sbgawa
10/01/2024, 11:00 PM
Add in Finn and Manus who while they won't be 24 squad members did win all 4

sbgawa
10/01/2024, 11:03 PM
Actually Leon pohls was there for all 4 but basically was on the bench

Another Bohemia
11/01/2024, 8:40 AM

2 points on youth players.

1. I think we will see cycles of great young players both in the league and at specific clubs. I think that's just the nature of player development. You might have a great group one year and an average one the next. A few years ago Bohs had an U19 team with Moylan, Tierney, Devoy, Lyons, Kirk, and Ferguson probably some others I'm forgetting as well. Pats more recently seen to have a very good group coming through.

2. Unfortunately because the LOI underage teams end at u19 you will have a situation where some players age out of the underage section but just aren't ready for Premier division minutes. That appears to be the case with Moylan and Bohs. I'm sure every club has similar enough stories. I don't think an u21 league is the solution as I think one of the key selling points for a lot of young players from the LOI to the UK is that they have played a significant amount of senior minutes and know how to act within a team that is playing for real stakes ie winning leagues, avoiding relegation getting Europe or promotion. Maybe loans to first division teams can solve this but you would also want to have the players on longer term contracts for that.

11/01/2024, 9:20 AM
Dan McDonnell confirming today that Rovers turned down €50k from Bohs for Sean Hoare. Madness, from both sides. Also, regarding earlier posts in this thread, he confirms the inter LOI transfer record remains Drogheda paying €80k for Zayed.

joey B
11/01/2024, 9:44 AM
Spending 50k on Sean Hoare sounds a bit desperate,surprised Rovers didn’t snap their hand off,he’s their 4th best CB in my opinion…..

thebronze14
11/01/2024, 9:57 AM
Spending 50k on Sean Hoare sounds a bit desperate,surprised Rovers didn’t snap their hand off,he’s their 4th best CB in my opinion…..

Not worth it money wise for Shams trying to replace him really. 50k is not a huge amount for them I'd imagine. Most other clubs it would be a different story

Another Bohemia
11/01/2024, 10:21 AM
Not worth it money wise for Shams trying to replace him really. 50k is not a huge amount for them I'd imagine. Most other clubs it would be a different story

From what I have heard the only reason they turned it down was they needed cover for Lopes when he goes to AFCON. How true that is is up for debate but from a Bohs perspective after adding Cornwall and potentially signing Carroll it could end up being a blessing in disguise as both would probably be on similar wages to Haore if not a bit less and would come or came with no transfer fee.