View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures
ontheotherhand
08/01/2024, 4:28 PM
I think the expectation of Towell from fans (and probably himself) was that he would have the impact returning to the league that he had first time with Dundalk. That was the bar and anything else, no matter how good, was going to cause some grumbling. The league changed as had the player. I dont think Towell was ever a tidy player, could be sloppy, but he had both O'Donnell roaring at him and he he had the tenacity and physicality to work after a sloppy ball. You'd hear him being instructed at times at Dundalk to play it safe, probably give it to a real baller and delay those runs in to the box. Put him beside Byrne and he'd have looked like an Offaly hurler, he'd a big hole to fill in midfield when he arrived and he did try to hard and looked too often caught out of position, was poorly timing his runs. When he reverted to being a spoiler, getting around to put himself in the way, which is what Rovers needed when they werent playing well, he showed his value again imo.
If its anything of a guage, I was obviously very disappointed if unsurprised considering the messing at Oriel, that he didnt sign back. After a while that disappointment had ebbed away. He would have had a bigger impact returning to Dudalk than Rovers in relative terms but I dont think he'd have been the game changer that we needed or that we'd have expected. The context being the Mad Bill era, and that his roll with the leading side in the country wouldnt stand out as much. When he settled in to the side and accepted rotation he was arguably worth his wage in title winning squad. Id have him in a heartbeat now again!!!
Hard to disagree with that. I think he's been worth it, particularly when you take into account the market our league is in for players. It's slim pickings for quality. That said, I could see how two cheaper up-and-comers might have played a similar role for the same wedge. He seems to fit in well with the group though and that's been important.
Shearer
08/01/2024, 4:45 PM
Marc Ludden retires.
David Tarmey joins Treaty on loan from Galway United.
Stephen Healy and Daire McCarthy join Kerry on loan from Galway United, I think. Kerry said that McCarthy was on loan but Galway just said that he'd be training with Galway as well we Kerry?
08/01/2024, 4:46 PM
Very fair assessment Nesta but, just for context, Towell's second LOI coming has seen him win 3 League medals.
I'm sure he values them all, but the type of chap he is 25 goals from midfiled in a season will be his bar, exceptional by any player, league or era standards. He's a former Dundalk player and legend, current SRFC player and so I hope he doesnt have another 20+ goals season in him!
*just had a look there and his stats really are remarkable, all the more when people will look back too. 43 goals in 96 appearances for Dundalk (2 league winner medals, FAI and League Cup), 9 in 71 for Rovers (different role, bigger squad, etc) 3 league winners medals and at 32 could be more in the tank (ugh!).
08/01/2024, 5:00 PM
Lecce signed UCD left-back Jesse Dempsey.
I wonder what Trapattoni thinks of these LoI signings by Italian clubs...
08/01/2024, 5:30 PM
If he's anything like me, he's thinking "What the **** are Lecce doing signing Jesse Dempsey?"
I don't understand those sort of deals tbh. John Ryan to Sassuolo in 2022 as well. Unless it's filling numbers in their squad or something
ontheotherhand
08/01/2024, 5:43 PM
If he's anything like me, he's thinking "What the **** are Lecce doing signing Jesse Dempsey?"
I don't understand those sort of deals tbh. John Ryan to Sassuolo in 2022 as well. Unless it's filling numbers in their squad or something
Agent in common?
2 Year Contract
08/01/2024, 5:46 PM
Athlone have announced the signing of Peter McGregor from… Jamaica! That brings their squad up to 9 players as per their post, meaning the friendly against Pats on Saturday will likely be a very proud day indeed for the infamous Trialist family
08/01/2024, 5:53 PM
Agent in common?
"Remember me? I'm the guy who brought John Ryan to Serie A. Well now I've got the new LoI wunderkind!"
He must haves phenomenal sales patter if so.
culloty82
08/01/2024, 6:11 PM
Marc Ludden retires.
David Tarmey joins Treaty on loan from Galway United.
Stephen Healy and Daire McCarthy join Kerry on loan from Galway United, I think. Kerry said that McCarthy was on loan but Galway just said that he'd be training with Galway as well we Kerry?
How would that even work in theory, never mind in practice - he'd be in Kerry one night per week, then in Galway, before travelling to Tralee/away venue for match day? The biggest concern is that at least Kavanagh and Spain were playing regularly in the First Division last season, whereas these two lads will only have a maximum of two Munster Senior Cup ties and the Galway friendly to get up to speed.
ontheotherhand
08/01/2024, 6:27 PM
"Remember me? I'm the guy who brought John Ryan to Serie A. Well now I've got the new LoI wunderkind!"
He must haves phenomenal sales patter if so.
Made me laugh.
They get these lads for nothing I suppose. See a few underage caps, maybe come across them in some tournament or other and they look useful. Take a swing and see what happens.
Ryan is with Reading now and playing for their 21s? Still playing at least.
Shearer
08/01/2024, 6:28 PM
How would that even work in theory, never mind in practice - he'd be in Kerry one night per week, then in Galway, before travelling to Tralee/away venue for match day? The biggest concern is that at least Kavanagh and Spain were playing regularly in the First Division last season, whereas these two lads will only have a maximum of two Munster Senior Cup ties and the Galway friendly to get up to speed.
Could be worse, it could be like the time John O'Flynn played with Harps! Think he just turned up on matchday.
08/01/2024, 7:08 PM
Could be worse, it could be like the time John O'Flynn played with Harps! Think he just turned up on matchday.
forgot that JOF played for Harps what season was that?
08/01/2024, 7:16 PM
Made me laugh.
They get these lads for nothing I suppose. See a few underage caps, maybe come across them in some tournament or other and they look useful. Take a swing and see what happens.
Ryan is with Reading now and playing for their 21s? Still playing at least.
I know there's a birth rate crisis in Italy but they're hardly that stuck for young players are they?
I still wouldn't rule it out going ahead, but reports are that the Hoban to Derry deal has stalled due to DFC increasing the transfer value over the weekend.
Bad timing for Derry if this is correct as McGonigle joined Coleraine and for a club looking to win the league they are light up front, but they have the budget to get him if they want or another striker.
Interesting to see what becomes of it, whatever his next move I don't see him staying put with Dundalk.
The lads are going to College in Galway so it suits them to train with gufc full time.
You'd assume this is just until they are finished exams in what I assume would be early May.
ontheotherhand
08/01/2024, 9:06 PM
I know there's a birth rate crisis in Italy but they're hardly that stuck for young players are they?
Maybe we're just cool?
total hoofball
08/01/2024, 9:34 PM
I still wouldn't rule it out going ahead, but reports are that the Hoban to Derry deal has stalled due to DFC increasing the transfer value over the weekend.
Bad timing for Derry if this is correct as McGonigle joined Coleraine and for a club looking to win the league they are light up front, but they have the budget to get him if they want or another striker.
Interesting to see what becomes of it, whatever his next move I don't see him staying put with Dundalk.
I'd love to know how much Dundalk are demanding for a player they told was surplus to requirements and to go find a new club a few months ago
Derry should be mindful that Hoban will be turning 33 this season not many strikers in recent LOI history have held up the goal tallies at that age range, he will be looking for a minimum of a 2 year contract and based on past two seasons he will be struggling to start anywhere near 36 league games plus if Derry have any deep runs in Europe and FAI Cups
08/01/2024, 9:52 PM
Well LoI is the place to be after all!!
dundalkfc10
08/01/2024, 10:02 PM
I'd love to know how much Dundalk are demanding for a player they told was surplus to requirements and to go find a new club a few months ago
Derry should be mindful that Hoban will be turning 33 this season not many strikers in recent LOI history have held up the goal tallies at that age range, he will be looking for a minimum of a 2 year contract and based on past two seasons he will be struggling to start anywhere near 36 league games plus if Derry have any deep runs in Europe and FAI Cups
The old owners may have told him he was free to leave. The new owner has stated he was going to be a Dundalk player as he has a year left on his contract
It's pretty obvious the new owner has said he will be getting as much money as he think he's worth and if not he's a Dundalk player
Hoban played 34 league games last season, 25 the year before so that means he missed 13 league games in 2 years (2 last year) Hardly a man that's always injured
08/01/2024, 10:31 PM
Derry/Higgins could well have backed themselves in to a corner if they expected a straight forward move eg low transfer fee offer for a player that seemingly wants to move rather than going and make certain the deal would happen. There hasnt been a simple straight forward contract negotiation with Hoban in the past, Mad Bill sorted a previous empasse which we thought would bode well for things after but this is the guy who gave Zahibo a 5 figure signing on fee so Hoban's existing contract is not buttons, Derry have deep pockets and the player's agent knows it. It'd be very odd if there werent a number of clubs on the island that made offers to Dundalk so while it looked in November that things could be in a buyers favour there could well be some horse trading going on now even if the player has agreed terms. Ainscough is an unknown quantity too. Might have been better to hang on to McGonigle and carry the cost until July unless they have other targets than Hoban.
I dont think it was suggested that Hoban was an injury prone player, just that his age is relevant when offering a contract, be it length or wage. €75k has been bandied about as a figure since the change in club ownership, we have paid a fee for less....
08/01/2024, 10:42 PM
O'Flynn used to travel up the night before and train the Thursday with the side, match on Friday. He was training with a MSL side on other nights. Rob Waters was an even more strange one, if I recall right he trained with Cobh and played with Harps for a season, but only for away games as he wasn't going to travel to Donegal for home games.
08/01/2024, 11:07 PM
O'Flynn used to travel up the night before and train the Thursday with the side, match on Friday. He was training with a MSL side on other nights. Rob Waters was an even more strange one, if I recall right he trained with Cobh and played with Harps for a season, but only for away games as he wasn't going to travel to Donegal for home games.
Dundalk flying Iain Ferguson in from Scotland for games (injured) was mad also!
08/01/2024, 11:31 PM
Portuguese born Irish underage international Cristiano Fitzgerald training with Dundalk in advance of a possible loan move.
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/dundalk-fc-take-another-former-underage-international-on-trial-as-stephen-odonnell-steps-up-bid-to-strengthen-his-squad/a506612511.html (Courtesy Tets)
His name always makes me think he’s just one of those Football Manager computer-generated players (when you play too many seasons) and doesn’t actually exist! :)
2 Year Contract
09/01/2024, 8:25 AM
Portuguese born Irish underage international Cristiano Fitzgerald training with Dundalk in advance of a possible loan move.
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/dundalk-fc-take-another-former-underage-international-on-trial-as-stephen-odonnell-steps-up-bid-to-strengthen-his-squad/a506612511.html (Courtesy Tets)
Link says he’s born in Singapore, and is on the books of Portuguese club Boavista. Sounds like his club rate him highly if they have him on a contract until summer 2026
2 Year Contract
09/01/2024, 9:27 AM
€75k has been bandied about as a figure since the change in club ownership, we have paid a fee for less....
Looks like it’s going to be a lot less than that. Dan McDonnell says it’s €30k up front with some add ons based on winning the league or reaching a certain European milestone which is a win win for Derry really
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/derry-city-close-to-agreeing-30k-initial-fee-to-get-deal-for-dundalk-striker-pat-hoban-32-over-the-line/a725954799.html
JC_GUFC
09/01/2024, 9:45 AM
Speaking of this Hoban transfer what is the biggest fee paid between LoI clubs for a transfer?
Jack B
09/01/2024, 9:51 AM
The whole situation with Hoban won't cease to baffle me. If we're to believe that it was the then-owners that communicated to him back in October that he'd be free to find a new club, why on earth would they do that when they knew full well that in an ideal world they'd be moving on from the club as soon as possible? In which case covering his wages or whatever the issue was wouldn't have been their problem anyway. Whatever the truth is the saga hasn't really reflected well on anyone involved, and leaves Dundalk with even more to sort out in the coming weeks.
Good deal for Derry, although after how much they've flattered to deceive in the last couple of seasons I don't think it'll be enough to get them over the line vs Rovers.
Yossarian
09/01/2024, 10:04 AM
My view is that Hoban wanted to leave. Maybe the club did tell him last year that if he found a new club he could go but the comments he came out with at the time was him burning bridges completely. He’ll go to Derry and get a hefty salary for two years so he’ll be happy with that.
He was a great player for us but in my opinion has soured his legacy with the way he has exited.
JC_GUFC
09/01/2024, 10:09 AM
The whole situation with Hoban won't cease to baffle me. If we're to believe that it was the then-owners that communicated to him back in October that he'd be free to find a new club, why on earth would they do that when they knew full well that in an ideal world they'd be moving on from the club as soon as possible? In which case covering his wages or whatever the issue was wouldn't have been their problem anyway. Whatever the truth is the saga hasn't really reflected well on anyone involved, and leaves Dundalk with even more to sort out in the coming weeks.
Good deal for Derry, although after how much they've flattered to deceive in the last couple of seasons I don't think it'll be enough to get them over the line vs Rovers.
For the first part I guess the old owners wanted him off the wage bill asap i.e. ideally 1st December. While he was still there they had to keep paying him, they knew there'd be interest from clubs like Derry and Galway with money to spend so presumably they figured it could be arranged fairly quickly.
Maybe Derry have deliberately drawn it out too - it's now at a point where I'd imagine Dundalk are extremely anxious to free up his wages to allow for new signings, though they have made a few to be fair.
He does look like the kind of signing Derry need - a player who'll just put the ball in the net - but I'm still not sure how close to Rovers they are. The last couple of seasons have been very similar in that Rovers were close to being caught but when the crucial matches came around Rovers won them and ended up winning the league at a canter. Derry have to find a lot more consistency but Hoban possibly could be the difference from making those draws into wins.
Another Bohemia
09/01/2024, 10:14 AM
My view is that Hoban wanted to leave. Maybe the club did tell him last year that if he found a new club he could go but the comments he came out with at the time was him burning bridges completely. He’ll go to Derry and get a hefty salary for two years so he’ll be happy with that.
He was a great player for us but in my opinion has soured his legacy with the way he has exited.
Football is a funny aul business. Imagine in any other walk of life your employer telling you. You were a great asset to the company. Really helped us achieve our goals and in some cases exceed them. You're a true leader. Unfortunately we don't want to honour the contract we agreed so you will need to leave ASAP. You would rightly be annoyed and say as much to anyone who would listen but it's only in football do you see people calling out the employee for not remaining silent on the matter.
On the football side of things I would say that Hoban can bring league winning experience to Derry but they already have that in spades. If he can be fit for more than 60% of Derry's games I think he'll be a great addition as he always did work off the ball and linked up play well. If however he has the injury bug due to his age it might just be another expensive sick note that Derry get.
Bunny Kelly
09/01/2024, 10:18 AM
I have to say I hate this signing for Derry but it keeps up their habit of signing players 'names', with their best years behind them. I like Hoban as a player & he was still excellent last year but at his age his level is only going one way, I remember having the same conversation when Pats signed Eoin Doyle & their fans were going on about how fit he still was etc but ultimately you don't want to be relying on older players to maintain their level over the length of their contract
EatYerGreens
09/01/2024, 11:24 AM
The whole Hoban saga is classic #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld behaviour.
If Derry do sign him, drawing the whole thing out may prove to have been a financial masterstroke, What is his monthly wage at Dundalk currently - €5,000 or more ? So by dragging it out for an extra month they'll have eaten into that €30k signing-on fee anyway :D
Knocklyonhoop
09/01/2024, 11:26 AM
His name always makes me think he’s just one of those Football Manager computer-generated players (when you play too many seasons) and doesn’t actually exist! :)
A 6 month loan so Higgins can get a good look at him to decide if he takes him to Derry
Yossarian
09/01/2024, 11:31 AM
The whole Hoban saga is classic #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld behaviour.
If Derry do sign him, drawing the whole thing out may prove to have been a financial masterstroke, What is his monthly wage at Dundalk currently - €5,000 or more ? So by dragging it out for an extra month they'll have eaten into that €30k signing-on fee anyway :D
Hoban was probably earning €1800 or so a week. So you’d imagine he’ll be getting more at Derry. I presume he’ll also get a nice “relocation alliance” just like Daniel Kelly got.
09/01/2024, 11:33 AM
Speaking of this Hoban transfer what is the biggest fee paid between LoI clubs for a transfer?
Some of Drogheda's Celtic Tiger madness ones possibly? Zayed? I know they gave us €55k for Shane Barrett back in the day.
oriel
09/01/2024, 12:38 PM
I'd say Hoban was on 2.5k with Dundalk a week, he didn't report for pre season training, so unlikely he will have been paid for Jan.
30k for 32 yo is a lot of money, but if he can keep fit he will score goals for Derry no doubt about that, but playing in a worse pitch than OP might factor in more injuries or it may not.
The whole saga has been odd from around Mid Oct, it was all meant to have come from a discussion SOD had with him that he wouldn't be starting every game, toys out of pram, agent involved, that was it, no going back. I will say though to his abs credit he performed very well in last 2 games, sub appearance v Bohs a home 2-0 win, and scoring 2 or 3 in his last game away to UCD.
If the decision was financially related, there should have been no need for the previous regime to get involved, again poorly managed, by all parties really.
total hoofball
09/01/2024, 12:47 PM
The old owners may have told him he was free to leave. The new owner has stated he was going to be a Dundalk player as he has a year left on his contract
It's pretty obvious the new owner has said he will be getting as much money as he think he's worth and if not he's a Dundalk player
Hoban played 34 league games last season, 25 the year before so that means he missed 13 league games in 2 years (2 last year) Hardly a man that's always injured
I count Hoban making 51 starts of out of 82 competitive Dundalk games over past 2 seasons and 25 substitute appearances which is a 62% start rate which is low for a leading striker for a club with aspirations of winning a league, FAI cup and go deep in Europe. On the flip side 25 goals of out 51 starts means Derry are getting a quality goalscorer which are a few and far between in the LOI but can he start enough games and score that rate of goals turning 33 years of age is a legitimate question mark
All in all the now reported €30k fee sounds about right in the end
Bunny Kelly
09/01/2024, 12:56 PM
I count Hoban making 51 starts of out of 82 competitive Dundalk games over past 2 seasons and 25 substitute appearances which is a 62% start rate which is low for a leading striker for a club with aspirations of winning a league, FAI cup and go deep in Europe. On the flip side 25 goals of out 51 starts means Derry are getting a quality goalscorer which are a few and far between in the LOI but can he start enough games and score that rate of goals turning 33 years of age is a legitimate question mark
All in all the now reported €30k fee sounds about right in the end
The fee seems irrelevant, €2500 a week over 2 years is €260,000 for 32-34yr old doesn't seem like the smartest move for Derry but a great one for Hoban
09/01/2024, 1:23 PM
Some of Drogheda's Celtic Tiger madness ones possibly? Zayed? I know they gave us €55k for Shane Barrett back in the day.
Could be a few in that era from Shels, Bohs, Arkaga Cork City, Drogheda. Ye know the sort of club with more successful local rivals in the doldrums at the time and busted themselves trying to catch up!
09/01/2024, 1:57 PM
I'd say Hoban was on 2.5k with Dundalk a week, he didn't report for pre season training, so unlikely he will have been paid for Jan.
30k for 32 yo is a lot of money, but if he can keep fit he will score goals for Derry no doubt about that, but playing in a worse pitch than OP might factor in more injuries or it may not.
The whole saga has been odd from around Mid Oct, it was all meant to have come from a discussion SOD had with him that he wouldn't be starting every game, toys out of pram, agent involved, that was it, no going back. I will say though to his abs credit he performed very well in last 2 games, sub appearance v Bohs a home 2-0 win, and scoring 2 or 3 in his last game away to UCD.
If the decision was financially related, there should have been no need for the previous regime to get involved, again poorly managed, by all parties really.
All rather convenient wasnt it. Not starting every game, no pay rise, Lily the Panda not high fiving a goal, it was going to be something until someone was willing to pony up a new premium Understandable when its your living, not easy to when a fan. Less of the fawning over fans and the doing the scorned 'wanted to stay' routine though and just call it what it is, a better offer!. Not turning up to work shows another side to Hoban, not very professional behaviour - unless he gave notice to leave the club, as is his right and let the clubs trash out the cost of transferring his player registration.
joey B
09/01/2024, 2:12 PM
Sean Murray joined Cork from Glentoran on loan until July…
09/01/2024, 2:24 PM
Could be a few in that era from Shels, Bohs, Arkaga Cork City, Drogheda. Ye know the sort of club with more successful local rivals in the doldrums at the time and busted themselves trying to catch up!
Didn't Dundalk spend a stupid amount of money to buy Dylan Connolly from Bray too?
Louth4sam
09/01/2024, 2:43 PM
Didn't Dundalk spend a stupid amount of money to buy Dylan Connolly from Bray too?
Was only around €10k and then sold him for €40k so not bad business.
The fee seems irrelevant, €2500 a week over 2 years is €260,000 for 32-34yr old doesn't seem like the smartest move for Derry but a great one for Hoban
I'd say Derry will pay him 3k a week, RH desperate to win the league, that would work out at just under 350k over 2 years, and as you say the transfer part of it does seem irrelevant, but still a huge outlay as total would be made up of 312k wages and 30k transfer.
joey B
09/01/2024, 2:58 PM
Alfie Taylor joined Pats on loan from Hull,in another reality he’d be playing north of the river but here we are!
2 Year Contract
09/01/2024, 2:58 PM
Sean Murray joined Cork from Glentoran on loan until July…
Haven’t followed how he’s got on up north but that seems a great signing for first division level. I’d imagine Dundalk could have used him this year
joey B
09/01/2024, 2:59 PM
Haven’t followed how he’s got on up north but that seems a great signing for first division level. I’d imagine Dundalk could have used him this year
Glentoran fans not much good to say about him but I think he’s been injured quite a lot…..
09/01/2024, 3:22 PM
It was when we actually had money not a credit note....not celtic tiger or in the doldrums either - details meh!
What was stupid money was paying Athlone a fee for Stuart Connolly when we didnt have a bean, caught out by U23 training comp by a few weeks, only played a couple of games due to a sore big toe that no physio or surgeon could diagnose....eventually just released.
Another Bohemia
09/01/2024, 3:28 PM
It was when we actually had money not a credit note....not celtic tiger or in the doldrums either - details meh!
I think the original post was implying that the rival was the one in the doldrums at the time not the one spending the money. So for Dundalk, Drogheda were in the doldrums similarly when Drogheda were big spenders Dundalk would have been there.