View Full Version : 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures
Burnsie
17/07/2024, 3:05 PM
Leo Gaxha linked with Athlone according to the Mirror
not sure why a young 5'10" striker would bother signing for a Caulfield/Horgan side in the first place. He's played 82 minutes all season
exiled_gufc_fan
17/07/2024, 3:28 PM
Gaxha announced as leaving for Athlone by Galway United.
Aodh Dervin also departs, for an undisclosed transfer fee, to Dundalk.
exiled_gufc_fan
17/07/2024, 3:42 PM
Goalkeeper Jack Brady showing as a Galway United player on FAI Connect. No official announcement yet from Galway or Longford, but also reported on local radio in Galway
17/07/2024, 3:50 PM
He deserves his shot at pro football, could be a solid longer term fix for Galway if this does go ahead.
Very smart by Galway, trying to weaken us before the weekend, they're running scared
2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 4:08 PM
Zach Elbouzedi has signed for Pats from AIK in Sweden. Delighted with that signing
RealJohn91
17/07/2024, 4:22 PM
That's a very good signing for Pat's. He was great for Kenny for the 21s.
Buckett
17/07/2024, 4:27 PM
He deserves his shot at pro football, could be a solid longer term fix for Galway if this does go ahead.
Very smart by Galway, trying to weaken us before the weekend, they're running scared
Leixlip were our bogey team last year but we've improved so much since then. Nothing to fear!
Happy with the Brady signing, it's been a very good transfer window so far, more to come too.
17/07/2024, 4:29 PM
Dundalk seem quite fond of paying transfer fees for a club that supposedly doesnt have a pot to pish in, A couple in this windo alone. Not sure about this signing, we need a striker and good ones are hard to come by and observations earlier in the thread, well the last thing thats needed is disruptive types. Buuttt Daly has quietly being going about transfer business in this tough window well imo, he would surely know the kind of character thats being signed from within LoI and the right manager with a player that has a point to prove and it could work out quite well.
Impressive couple of days for Rovers financially, whatever about the close call on European winnings such sell ons are great business albeit you dont know if a player will progress but not in ye cant win.
Sloggett opting to Hartlepool at face value is an odd one when wanting to be closer to Bristol, Id guess at it being a good financial offer for a player that wants to move on from LoI. Wages go a tad further in Hartlepool than well all other places in the UK and Ireland, bit grim, public health nightmare, keep a hand on you phone at all times spot.
Jack B
17/07/2024, 4:52 PM
Would ordinarily be incredibly excited by a signing like Elbouzedi but this season and general success - or lack thereof - of our more marquee signings has battered me down to a "let's see" attitude.
Great signing on paper though. Had said since the start of the season that we had far too many left-footed wingers/attacking midfielders which made it feel like every starting line-up lacked balance in some capacity, so he addresses that whilst also just being a good player at this level generally. I like that each signing so far has had at least some element of proven quality to them rather than the more risky punts you often see being taken on lads coming from the UK.
The Bowler
17/07/2024, 6:02 PM
Jaysus, Slogs to Hartlepool, that's a pretty grim part of the UK, says a lot about the LOI salaries that he'd opt for National League football and life in Hartlepool. Standard not a million miles off LOI top tier i guess. Maybe Chloe is about to announce a move to the northeast also, as others have noted, it's a long way from Bristol to Hartlepool.
culloty82
17/07/2024, 6:43 PM
Gaxha announced as leaving for Athlone by Galway United.
Aodh Dervin also departs, for an undisclosed transfer fee, to Dundalk.
Given they've thrown Axworthy straight into their starting XI, they're not afraid to change things up anyway. Ironically, this'll be the second straight season he'll play Ringmahon in the first round of the Cup!
17/07/2024, 6:50 PM
Given they've thrown Axworthy straight into their starting XI, they're not afraid to change things up anyway. Ironically, this'll be the second straight season he'll play Ringmahon in the first round of the Cup!
Totally missed that signing. Wonder what happened with Minogue. Axworthy really hits Athlones chances in the playoff now, for me. He's a woeful goalkeeper.
2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 7:04 PM
Leixlip were our bogey team last year but we've improved so much since then. Nothing to fear!
Happy with the Brady signing, it's been a very good transfer window so far, more to come too.
Some improvement this year from Galway if their bogey side last year was a Leinster Senior League side from Kildare!
17/07/2024, 7:21 PM
What on earth happened to Aodh Dervin? I thought he had made a solid start at Galway Utd.:confused:
17/07/2024, 8:14 PM
Would ordinarily be incredibly excited by a signing like Elbouzedi but this season and general success - or lack thereof - of our more marquee signings has battered me down to a "let's see" attitude.
Great signing on paper though. Had said since the start of the season that we had far too many left-footed wingers/attacking midfielders which made it feel like every starting line-up lacked balance in some capacity, so he addresses that whilst also just being a good player at this level generally. I like that each signing so far has had at least some element of proven quality to them rather than the more risky punts you often see being taken on lads coming from the UK.
It really is a skill of SK to get the most out of a player, lads whose career have gone astray, not enjoying playing, not appreciating talent with off field lifestyle, getting players to buy in to his ways. Hasnt always worked, Clifford probably tops the one that didnt work and Maguire the one that got away (hard to oust McMillan, Kilduff but was ahead of Byrne, with hindsight and all that). So Elbouzedi is a risk free lovely signing that unless there is something badly wrong will be the signing of this window imo and Hakiki has been excellent at Dundalk since coming in. Be interesting to see if more can be got out of Kavanagh/Keating or if they will figure beyond this season, Kavanagh has age on his side. Like ourselves goals are hard to come by and needing a front man firing is the difference between bottom half and Europe. Be a bit of s surprise if St Pats are not targeting another out and out striker.
Looking at the tabe there and Galways position is even more remarkable considering their 19 goals in 23 - making those goals count as wins rather than being mean at the back and picking up single points like Dundalk have (at home), take a couple of heavy defeats out 1st round and GD difference is not massive yet league position is relegation slot v 3rd ish. Galway and Waterford being competative after promotion, if Cork can do the same and replacing a p/t Drogheda outfit...., next season any dodgy run of form could throw any club in to a panic and conversely a run of wins and who knows where a leage challange could come from. Id back St Pats now for a 2025 title. As much as I roll eyes at Derry, they are putting in a run at Shels now and could nip ahead, momentum in this 10 team malarkey makes or breaks. But in terms of looking ahead and at risk of it being thrown up as premature from Dundalk perspective, there is some good business being done that will beneft next season. If sides performing top end now strengthen then there could be a decent upward curve in quality of league again where sidees have to do a lot more than go through the motions.
Buckett
18/07/2024, 9:51 AM
Jack Brady signed from Longford Town as a back-up keeper.
https://galwayunitedfc.ie/jack-brady-joins-galway-united/
oriel
18/07/2024, 11:43 AM
It really is a skill of SK to get the most out of a player, lads whose career have gone astray, not enjoying playing, not appreciating talent with off field lifestyle, getting players to buy in to his ways. Hasnt always worked, Clifford probably tops the one that didnt work and Maguire the one that got away (hard to oust McMillan, Kilduff but was ahead of Byrne, with hindsight and all that). So Elbouzedi is a risk free lovely signing that unless there is something badly wrong will be the signing of this window imo and Hakiki has been excellent at Dundalk since coming in. Be interesting to see if more can be got out of Kavanagh/Keating or if they will figure beyond this season, Kavanagh has age on his side. Like ourselves goals are hard to come by and needing a front man firing is the difference between bottom half and Europe. Be a bit of s surprise if St Pats are not targeting another out and out striker.
Looking at the tabe there and Galways position is even more remarkable considering their 19 goals in 23 - making those goals count as wins rather than being mean at the back and picking up single points like Dundalk have (at home), take a couple of heavy defeats out 1st round and GD difference is not massive yet league position is relegation slot v 3rd ish. Galway and Waterford being competative after promotion, if Cork can do the same and replacing a p/t Drogheda outfit...., next season any dodgy run of form could throw any club in to a panic and conversely a run of wins and who knows where a leage challange could come from. Id back St Pats now for a 2025 title. As much as I roll eyes at Derry, they are putting in a run at Shels now and could nip ahead, momentum in this 10 team malarkey makes or breaks. But in terms of looking ahead and at risk of it being thrown up as premature from Dundalk perspective, there is some good business being done that will beneft next season. If sides performing top end now strengthen then there could be a decent upward curve in quality of league again where sidees have to do a lot more than go through the motions.
As much as Elbouzedi is indeed an excellent signing, Pats would need at least 4-5 more top top players to have a chance of winning the league in my view. Plus SK last win of anything was the PD in 2018, thats already 6 years ago, added to his very poor win rate with Ireland, he would also need to up his game considerably to win a league.
I think he might do well at Pats, but I wouldn't think they will win the league next season. If 2024 has shown to be a very competitive league, next year could be the tightest ever in terms of standards.
oriel
18/07/2024, 11:48 AM
What on earth happened to Aodh Dervin? I thought he had made a solid start at Galway Utd.:confused:
Sometimes it just doesn't work out for certain players at clubs, Kilduff was very poor at Pats giving one example, possibly not even getting a game for long periods, bought by Kenny and ended up scoring two goals in EL group stage to draw and win a game, granted this was 2016 but one high profile example that springs to mind. Shels have also picked up players who were under performing elsewhere in recent times, it happens all the time.
Dervin is a very good addition for the MF for Dundalk, wonder how much the fee was, probably small enough I`d think, mid season.
Buckett
18/07/2024, 12:04 PM
He went to Shelbourne and started off great, Duff publicly saying how good he was. Then he tailed off, lost his place. Same thing happened in Galway. A few people have mentioned his attitude and that he thinks he's much better than he actually is.
total hoofball
18/07/2024, 12:14 PM
I never thought Dervin looked up to much at Shels if you were looking to become a top-half team as we are now, he had decent technical ability and did put in a shift for us but he couldn't do anything useful with the ball a mis-place passing merchant
Jd2793
18/07/2024, 1:02 PM
dervin is an attack dog, grand for chasing and getting the ball back. not good enough at all with the ball though
18/07/2024, 1:12 PM
I see Promise Omochere has been bought by Bristol Rovers for 500k, Bohs have a sell on of some form.
18/07/2024, 1:18 PM
dervin is an attack dog, grand for chasing and getting the ball back. not good enough at all with the ball though
Said it when the two signed for Shels but Dervin is a poor man's Mark Coyle.
Another Bohemia
18/07/2024, 1:19 PM
I see Promise Omochere has been bought by Bristol Rovers for 500k, Bohs have a sell on of some form.
That would be a club record fee for them apparently. Good move for Promise as well since Fleetwood were relegated last season.
18/07/2024, 1:53 PM
As much as Elbouzedi is indeed an excellent signing, Pats would need at least 4-5 more top top players to have a chance of winning the league in my view. Plus SK last win of anything was the PD in 2018, thats already 6 years ago, added to his very poor win rate with Ireland, he would also need to up his game considerably to win a league.
I think he might do well at Pats, but I wouldn't think they will win the league next season. If 2024 has shown to be a very competitive league, next year could be the tightest ever in terms of standards.
Its not just pure faith in SK albeit I dont think he's out of the loop in some significant way cause his last silverware was 2018. If he hadnt taken the bait of JD wranglings i've no doubt he'd have more recent LoI trophies, If he had stayed in the league Dundalk would have at least given Rovers a fight. Its that his transfer targets can be comfortably resourced without fear of no Europe breaking everything so he can build quick and if there is dead weight it can be carried until being shifted. His transfers havent always worked but I dunno, I think there is something to work with to start the process now, there was an intent to Kelleher's going after his man and will be backing him after a pretty unstable period since Buckley left. A lot will depend what business other clubs do but those 4 or 5 players in for a damn good tilt at the title is doable. We'll see, sure we all did so well in the league predictions thread that my early 2025 prediction with the tradition of not being relegated thrown in to the mix from this year could mean its as likely Bohs and St Pats will be relegated.
2 Year Contract
18/07/2024, 4:32 PM
Dylan Connolly signs for Declan Devine up with Glentoran
RealJohn91
18/07/2024, 4:53 PM
Dylan Connolly signs for Declan Devine up with Glentoran
Shockingly limited footballer, I feel like I'm going mad seeing other Bohs fans upset that a fella with one goal and two assists in over 50 appearances is a big loss. We need someone with some end product instead to improve.*
Another Bohemia
18/07/2024, 4:59 PM
Shockingly limited footballer, I feel like I'm going mad seeing other Bohs fans upset that a fella with one goal and two assists in over 50 appearances is a big loss. We need someone with some end product instead to improve.*
Some fans love a crest kisser. What more needs to be said but he has as many red cards as goals in a Bohs shirt so no great loss. I do think there needs to be some cover brought in for the wings. McDaid isn't up to it. Rooney is just a free kick specialist, not much else and Grant (who has contributed more that Connolly) is looking limited since he came back.
cláirseach
18/07/2024, 6:33 PM
Some fans love a crest kisser. What more needs to be said but he has as many red cards as goals in a Bohs shirt so no great loss. I do think there needs to be some cover brought in for the wings. McDaid isn't up to it. Rooney is just a free kick specialist, not much else and Grant (who has contributed more that Connolly) is looking limited since he came back.
Unless the squad is being reshaped to play a different way.
Another Bohemia
18/07/2024, 6:36 PM
Unless the squad is being reshaped to play a different way.
Well every formation I know of uses either wingers/wide forwards or wing backs. Whatever way we play we need a wide player and they are lacking at the club.
total hoofball
18/07/2024, 6:41 PM
Said it when the two signed for Shels but Dervin is a poor man's Mark Coyle.
Agreed Dervin wasn't disciplined with the ball while Coyle is everything you want as a calming presence in the middle of the park with the ball and a tiger without the ball. Duff hasn't wasted time moving on players that don't fit his footballing discipline and he has been proven right with every player moved on so far, with Dervin he was actually re-signed for the 2023 season before he was strangely sent out on loan to Longford before the season kicked off I never heard any stories on how that came about but it sounded something pretty sudden happened
Fittingly Dervin's final Galway appearance was at Tolka in June getting sent off recklessly against Shels
Philosophizer
18/07/2024, 8:55 PM
Harsh on Rooney. He’s a the best footballer out of that list at the moment by a distance.
Another Bohemia
18/07/2024, 9:16 PM
Harsh on Rooney. He’s a the best footballer out of that list at the moment by a distance.
Agreed Rooney is our best winger but that's a bit like me being the best footballer out of my mates. It's a pretty low bar. Rooney has a great cross/set piece but he can't beat a man whether it's with pace or a trick so it means from open play he's very limited. I'd start him solely for his set pieces though.
2 Year Contract
18/07/2024, 10:23 PM
It’s something I looked up and flagged on here when he signed for Bohs but if it’s goals you’re looking for from a winger then Connolly was never going to be the man for that. Since leaving Dundalk 6 years ago he’s now scored 7 goals in 203 appearances in all competitions. Averages at a goal every 29 games, so more less 1 a season
Philosophizer
18/07/2024, 10:46 PM
Agreed Rooney is our best winger but that's a bit like me being the best footballer out of my mates. It's a pretty low bar. Rooney has a great cross/set piece but he can't beat a man whether it's with pace or a trick so it means from open play he's very limited. I'd start him solely for his set pieces though.
As you mentioned yourself, Rooney is all about his deliveries. Saw him up close against Sligo last weekend and he put in plenty of very dangerous deliveries into the box. Not his fault nobody could finish.
He doesn’t necessarily need to be pacey or tricky. If they had a winger like that on the other side it would be a fine balance - a young Danny Grant would be lovely.
19/07/2024, 12:01 AM
It’s something I looked up and flagged on here when he signed for Bohs but if it’s goals you’re looking for from a winger then Connolly was never going to be the man for that. Since leaving Dundalk 6 years ago he’s now scored 7 goals in 203 appearances in all competitions. Averages at a goal every 29 games, so more less 1 a season
Without looking at the stats even, people know Connolly is a knock it past and burn for pace player and not a whole lot more. His pace does scare defenders to sit deeper and frees up space for other to exploit, a useful impact sub. But converting to striker was a real long shot and he'd have been straight forward enough to counter tacticlly even if he was a winger with an eye for goal.
total hoofball
19/07/2024, 7:38 AM
I know it was 10 years ago and in the First Division but when Connolly was 19 years of age he scored 12 goals in 22 appearances that season for Shels, some of his finishing and attacking instincts in or around the box was by far the best I had seen at Tolka since our the mid-00s heavy days, add in his pace to burn he was very exciting just needed a bit more strength and polishing, at worst he should have been a top LOI Premier Division attacker and at best UK with potential for the Championship or SPFL levels
I really think there was a top top player there but 10 years on no doubt he regressed instead of developing. Him and Adam McDonnell both left Shels to go Ipswich that season for peanuts when Mick McCarthy was there and Ipswich then seemed to chew young players to bits, but now look at Ipswich aswell 10 years on how different they look
Demesne Lad
19/07/2024, 10:21 AM
'The 72' site has picked up the Irish Mirror story about Shamrock Rovers' young midfielder Ryan Kelly attracting the interest of both Millwall and Torino. Having released 10 players at the end of last season (and possibly selling Emakhu to PSV), Millwall have a kitty and some gaps to fill.
Shearer
19/07/2024, 3:10 PM
Goalkeeper Harry Halwax gone to Longford Town after losing their first and second choice 'keepers.
He had spells with Derby and QPR. I might have seen him once with Cabo but can't remember anything about him.
19/07/2024, 4:27 PM
I know it was 10 years ago and in the First Division but when Connolly was 19 years of age he scored 12 goals in 22 appearances that season for Shels, some of his finishing and attacking instincts in or around the box was by far the best I had seen at Tolka since our the mid-00s heavy days, add in his pace to burn he was very exciting just needed a bit more strength and polishing, at worst he should have been a top LOI Premier Division attacker and at best UK with potential for the Championship or SPFL levels
I really think there was a top top player there but 10 years on no doubt he regressed instead of developing. Him and Adam McDonnell both left Shels to go Ipswich that season for peanuts when Mick McCarthy was there and Ipswich then seemed to chew young players to bits, but now look at Ipswich aswell 10 years on how different they look
I agree, the tools were there, a lower division Kilbane of work hard and make the most of what youve got but he needed add some footballing intelligence. Dundalk paid a significant LoI transfer fee so he was rated well enough and then got our money back from AFC Wimbledon. But yeah if he wasnt poorly coached, there are some players that cant be coached and remain a raw talent.
2 Year Contract
19/07/2024, 5:20 PM
Goalkeeper Harry Halwax gone to Longford Town after losing their first and second choice 'keepers.
He had spells with Derby and QPR. I might have seen him once with Cabo but can't remember anything about him.
Think he was most recently with Maynooth Town
19/07/2024, 6:21 PM
Think he was most recently with Maynooth Town
Yeah I believe he played against us when we played Maynooth in LS Cup earlier this season.
David BOHie
20/07/2024, 8:18 PM
A few of you owe Rooney an apology :)
Another Bohemia
23/07/2024, 8:06 AM
Hopefully Bohs aren't finished but there has been some amount of people in and out of Dalymount in the past few weeks
In:
Leigh Kavanagh (Brighton)
Archie Meekison (Dundee)
Liam Smith (unattached/Cheltenham)
Dawson Devoy (MK Dons)
Ross Tierney (Motherwell)
Jake Carroll (unattached)
Alex Grieve (St Mirren)
Out
Luke Dennison
Bart Kukulowicz
Michael Lilander
Luke Matheson
Dylan Connolly
Sten Reinkort
placid casual
23/07/2024, 9:08 AM
Hopefully Bohs aren't finished but there has been some amount of people in and out of Dalymount in the past few weeks
In:
Leigh Kavanagh (Brighton)
Archie Meekison (Dundee)
Liam Smith (unattached/Cheltenham)
Dawson Devoy (MK Dons)
Ross Tierney (Motherwell)
Jake Carroll (unattached)
Alex Grieve (St Mirren)
Out
Luke Dennison
Bart Kukulowicz
Michael Lilander
Luke Matheson
Dylan Connolly
Sten Reinkort
I just hope the revolving door there at Bohs is being greased by eco friendly olive oil and not some nasty WD-40
Another Bohemia
23/07/2024, 9:35 AM
I just hope the revolving door there at Bohs is being greased by eco friendly olive oil and not some nasty WD-40
Thankfully metaphorical doors don't need to be greased. They are as green as can be ;)
Burnsie
23/07/2024, 3:02 PM
Keith Ward released by Shels.
Is is Dundalk's turn to sign him next, or or Bohs?
2 Year Contract
23/07/2024, 3:23 PM
Keith Ward released by Shels.
Is is Dundalk's turn to sign him next, or or Bohs?
Only played 16 minutes of football for shels. For some reason I can see him signing for either Drogheda or Bray
joey B
23/07/2024, 3:42 PM
Fair play to Ward anyway,got a wee sun holiday and decided that was that !
2 Year Contract
23/07/2024, 4:01 PM
Fair play to Ward anyway,got a wee sun holiday and decided that was that !
Yeah normally when a player has had about 10 touches of a football all season they’d get out the door on the 1st of July. By sticking around he’s got a European win bonus I’m sure!