View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2020
26/08/2020, 10:23 AM
Maybe the LOI is not as good as we think? I know Bohs have a tough game and I don't expect them to win that game but its up to Rovers now - they should win on Thursday but then, they unseeded in the next draw and god only knows who they get! ... Ireland are 36th at present in the co-efficient (I don't know how tbh) but that will crash after this year probably down to low 40's I think.
Yes this is the last year where Dundalk's 2016 Europa League run contributes.
From next year we're already looking at 48th place as a starting point, with Northern Ireland passing us out.
https://kassiesa.net/uefa/data/method5/crank2022.html
If we keep going this way, we will lose a European spot in the next couple of years.
redobit
26/08/2020, 10:30 AM
I think LOI players get moments of panic where they suddenly think
" Holy €hit we're playing in Europe!! " and let the occasion get the better of them. There's almost a collective level of amnesia and thus sill goals are conceded. That Lithuania pub team celebrated like they'd won the league last night-- what's does that tell ye?.
I also really think it's down to the level of finishers/strikers in our league. I expect Bohs and Rovers to do quite well actually, for some unknown reason...
This. There is always this underlying idea in LOI clubs / players minds that European teams are class, savvy, play total football and have multiple Georghe Haji type players in their side. Too much of playing the European occasion and not the team imo.
26/08/2020, 10:40 AM
Maybe the LOI is not as good as we think?
It clearly isn't. It's objectively one of the weakest leagues in Europe. Results have shown that time after time.
26/08/2020, 10:55 AM
Yes this is the last year where Dundalk's 2016 Europa League run contributes.
From next year we're already looking at 48th place as a starting point, with Northern Ireland passing us out.
https://kassiesa.net/uefa/data/method5/crank2022.html
If we keep going this way, we will lose a European spot in the next couple of years.
The Europa League Conference is going to save us from dropping into the preliminary rounds of the Europa League in two years' time unless someone can pull some good results out this year or next.
26/08/2020, 10:58 AM
" Holy €hit we're playing in Europe!! " and let the occasion get the better of them.There's almost a collective level of amnesia and thus sill goals are conceded.
For what it's worth, when I was writing the book on UCD's European experience and was talking to the various players, coaches and officials who were involved in the campaign, I didn't get any sense of that. The opposite in fact - everyone was hugely up for Europe and raised their game accordingly. OK, maybe Dudelange took us a bit lightly - but I think the overriding reality here is that the LoI just isn't a good league.
That's not to take away from the enjoyment of it, or of the European campaigns. But I think it does put into perspective people wondering why there aren't more LoI players in the national team, or suggesting that the LoI is as good as the SPL or League One. It clearly isn't.
D24Saint
26/08/2020, 11:40 AM
I saw this morning that Bohs produced a hard copy programme for their european game for a fiver. Nice touch.
26/08/2020, 6:41 PM
" Holy €hit we're playing in Europe!! " and let the occasion get the better of them.There's almost a collective level of amnesia and thus sill goals are conceded. That Lithuania pub team celebrated like they'd won the league last night-- what's does that tell ye?.
I also really think it's down to the level of finishers/strikers in our league. I expect Bohs and Rovers to do quite well actually, for some unknown reason...
100% this! For the important goals that McMillan and Kilduff scored for example, they missed as many if not more (Kilduff v Rosenborg eg). There is a lack of a ruthless streak and is probably to do with overall quality. Kelly was a great signing for Pats but clincal enough for Europe. Hoban is doing a lot more link up play than being a striker. We can go back to was it Fitzpatrick missing a sitter for Shels v Deportivo, (Drogs v Kiev too?) and many before that too.
26/08/2020, 7:21 PM
Celje put up a fight against Molde I see; lost 2-1 in the end, and I think had a goal ruled out (or at least I got a cancelled goal alert from livescore)
Maybe they were better than given credit for - not that that excuses any of the three goals Dundalk gave away though
swinfordfc
26/08/2020, 8:41 PM
I know I was giving out about the quality of LOI but Celtic getting beaten tonight is a big joke for Scottish football. Celtic was highest seed in 2nd qualifying round ... And got toss out at home!
26/08/2020, 9:05 PM
IT got me thinking about the argument about lower leagues and the general European footballing teams moving forward at a faster pace than LOI sides. Celtic had regressed and then stagnated, whilst the rest of Europe caught up. Sadly LOI hasnt caught up with the other European sides of similar league rankings.
ger121
26/08/2020, 10:22 PM
You look at sides going out in the 2nd round tonight who would expect to at least get to PO rounds Of CL and you see what a lottery Europe is. Even more so this year with one legged ties. Celtic & Legia beaten at home. Cluj too. The odds are so stacked now to get to the Group Stages. The safety net of the EL Groups will be diluted even further with the proposed UC. If these clubs with their budgets and resources can’t get through 2 rounds, it doesn’t bode well for our clubs.
sbgawa
26/08/2020, 10:51 PM
You could argue that with teams like that going out if dundalk had won their match the route for them becomes easier.
It will always need an loi team to overperform to make group stages currently ,(hence it's only h happened twice) the new EL2 from next season means the Irish champion only needs to win 2 rounds to be guaranteed group stage football and will probably be seeded for the first round.
sparky12345678
27/08/2020, 10:33 AM
You look at sides going out in the 2nd round tonight who would expect to at least get to PO rounds Of CL and you see what a lottery Europe is. Even more so this year with one legged ties. Celtic & Legia beaten at home. Cluj too. The odds are so stacked now to get to the Group Stages. The safety net of the EL Groups will be diluted even further with the proposed UC. If these clubs with their budgets and resources can’t get through 2 rounds, it doesn’t bode well for our clubs.
Or alternatively look at the clubs doing well, beating the seed.
Brest beat Astana stealing their seed and are carrying their flag well. (was it simply a bad year for Astana; with such a high seed, they can afford it, I suppose).
Omonia had what would have been an away 0-0, 2nd leg might have been different; extra time scored a penalty and changed the outcome. Luck?
Ferencváros, is more interesting in that it cant really be down to luck. Took the lead early, responded well it seems to an equaliser scoring in the 75th minute. Similarly last year beating Ludogorets, usually a solid EL group stages kinda team.
How is it that these clubs/leagues seem to be able to pull it off? Its one thing to speak of Norway or Sweden with good infrastructures etc but other leagues/countries have a lot of problems going on... is it down to dodgy money and corruption?
Obviously we havent been keeping up. Such a pity given Dundalk's efforts to be seeded in the first round thrown away so easily. Pity about Derry, hopes are on the Dubs to represent the league well I guess and keep things ticking over.
El-Pietro
27/08/2020, 11:13 AM
100% this! For the important goals that McMillan and Kilduff scored for example, they missed as many if not more (Kilduff v Rosenborg eg). There is a lack of a ruthless streak and is probably to do with overall quality. Kelly was a great signing for Pats but clincal enough for Europe. Hoban is doing a lot more link up play than being a striker. We can go back to was it Fitzpatrick missing a sitter for Shels v Deportivo, (Drogs v Kiev too?) and many before that too.
Probably not helped by the fact that any half decent striker is snapped up for a pittance by UK clubs as soon as they show form. Players like Denis Behan, Graham Cummins, Connor Sammon, Roy O'Donovan and I'm sure half a dozen more were never really good enough to play at a high level in the UK but managed to get moves..
I know Sammon played for Ireland but that says more about the quality available to Ireland than it does about him.
27/08/2020, 11:56 AM
Is there anyway to buy these streams without signing up, dont like the idea of signing up and getting harassed in the future which inevitably happens.
Ill have to go with rovers tonight given they have the better chance of going through. Still if you were to have purchased all streams this week its é25, wouldnt it have been fairer to bandy the clubs together and agree a package for those who would like to see more than just one club? Lack of foresight, forward thinking. id happily have paid 15 euro for all streams, each club then gets a bit.
placid casual
27/08/2020, 12:10 PM
It wouldn't be possible unless all LOI teams were playing at home. Otherwise the teams playing away are at the mercy of foreign broadcasters. There's no way to do a deal for all teams then.
27/08/2020, 12:53 PM
Derrys was 5 quid away, so i dont see the problem, obviously one would take a hit but theres many people who just like to see games, so ya an individual might pay 10 to see rovers, but theyll miss out on all those others who would like to see both.
Or else just rovers are a bit more greedy than bohs/derry
pateen
27/08/2020, 2:59 PM
Just paid up myself.
Looking forward to the game.
placid casual
27/08/2020, 3:43 PM
Or else just rovers are a bit more greedy than bohs/derry
No, they just took care of their support base first and foremost who get to watch the match gratis.
Anyone else tuning in is a bonus.
27/08/2020, 3:49 PM
They shouldnt have charged a fiver then for their members ;) or was it 8 on the day?!
joey B
27/08/2020, 5:23 PM
Bohs holding their own but that goal again so avoidable,awful swing and miss from Cornwall.....
CorribsideSteve
27/08/2020, 6:24 PM
Bohs will be lucky to make it to penalties. Decent defending but little going forward. Losin the ball instantly when the threat of an attack is on. Not that Fehervar are much better. Dominated the last 30 minutes themselves and didn't really trouble Bohs. They've done good overall, Bohs, but it's a tough ask, this next extra time period.
swinfordfc
27/08/2020, 6:29 PM
Respect to Bohs! ... Bringing them to extra time is an achievement within itself! I taught they well beaten but just shows ... If you set up properly and don't give much away ... You can hang in there ... Love to see them win on pens!
wexfordned
27/08/2020, 6:30 PM
Bohs will be lucky to make it to penalties. Decent defending but little going forward. Losin the ball instantly when the threat of an attack is on. Not that Fehervar are much better. Dominated the last 30 minutes themselves and didn't really trouble Bohs. They've done good overall, Bohs, but it's a tough ask, this next extra time period.
Jesus that's harsh. Easy from the cheap seats. They're not playing in the LOI tonight. They held their shape and frustrated the hungarians. As a part time side ET will be tough
EatYerGreens
27/08/2020, 6:39 PM
Is there any way you can get a discount price to watch a stream just for the penalties at the end ? :D
EatYerGreens
27/08/2020, 6:41 PM
€10 feels a bit high for a neutral to pay to watch a team they'd like to see do well, but fundamentally aren't that arsed.
If it was €5 I'd have signed up for both. Chances are I'll be watching neither now.
I did sign up for Derry's match for a fiver.
CorribsideSteve
27/08/2020, 6:44 PM
Jesus that's harsh. Easy from the cheap seats. They're not playing in the LOI tonight. They held their shape and frustrated the hungarians. As a part time side ET will be tough
Obviously I hope they win! They've done well so far.
swinfordfc
27/08/2020, 6:45 PM
According to rte ... Bohs better chances so far in extra time! ... Are they bias?
27/08/2020, 6:46 PM
Any link to either game?
27/08/2020, 6:48 PM
Any link to either game?
http://cdn.freesport.me/live/stream.php?t=Flash&id=14028&link=https://daddylive.live/batman/stream-3.php&num=1
CorribsideSteve
27/08/2020, 6:55 PM
http://firstrowsports.be/soccer/mol-fehervar-bohemians-dublin-krk78b628?l=635759041
CorribsideSteve
27/08/2020, 6:58 PM
Respect to Bohs! ... Bringing them to extra time is an achievement within itself! I taught they well beaten but just shows ... If you set up properly and don't give much away ... You can hang in there ... Love to see them win on pens!
Fair point. Respect earned or that effort. Here they go!
27/08/2020, 6:58 PM
Think with Celtic those few weeks without a game went against them last night. Didnt know Glentoran are playing Motherwell in Europe tonight Any score from those games?. BTW wot does UC stand for pardon my ignorance?
pateen
27/08/2020, 7:06 PM
Anyone else finding the Rovers stream really jumpy?
CorribsideSteve
27/08/2020, 7:10 PM
Well that's unfortunate. Hard luck, Bohs.
27/08/2020, 7:12 PM
And Rovers losing as well now.
Jays
27/08/2020, 7:14 PM
Ah jaysis, even after getting the lead in the shootout.
Rovers stream please.
SPXcyan
27/08/2020, 7:14 PM
Unlucky Bohs, saved first peno but not enough, Rovers down early now, could we fail to win a single game this year? ouch!
CorribsideSteve
27/08/2020, 7:15 PM
Any link to the Rovers game, or was it just available to members via streaming?
27/08/2020, 7:16 PM
Paid 10 euro for a rovers stream that pauses and jumps all the time. Even on the bloody goal. Had to see it on replay. If you are charging 10 euro at least provide the professional setup.
Bohs penalties were poor to be fair.but a lot of young lads. It should help
redarmyfaction
And Rovers losing as well now.
Jays
Not for long.
1-1 Rovers now
Bohs and Derry doubly unlucky actually in that ordinarily two away draws would set them up nicely for the home leg
But sure we are where we are I guess
27/08/2020, 7:18 PM
That Twardek penalty was horrendous. Should be booted out of the plane at 15,000 feet for that effort. At least Casey had the balls to go up and smack it when he missed.
Fantastic effort from Bohs against a side they were never expected to beat though. They can hold the heads high
EatYerGreens
27/08/2020, 7:21 PM
http://cdn.freesport.me/live/stream.php?t=Flash&id=14028&link=https://daddylive.live/batman/stream-3.php&num=1
Just went on that site and it has a dodgy pop up ! One of those ones that claims your computer is locked due to a security breach etc. Had to shut down and reboot to get rid of it.
ger121
27/08/2020, 7:22 PM
Hard one to take that. Absolutely gutted.
EatYerGreens
27/08/2020, 7:22 PM
1-1 Rovers now
Bohs and Derry doubly unlucky actually in that ordinarily two away draws would set them up nicely for the home leg
But sure we are where we are I guess
Derry were poor - not unlucky.
27/08/2020, 7:24 PM
Peno he never touched the ball.
Lovely football player by rovers here
27/08/2020, 7:26 PM
Derry were poor - not unlucky.
Well, they were both.
Even if they were poor out there, they were unlucky not to have had the chance to bring the game back to the Brandywell at 2-2.
Rovers stream completely stop for anyone else? Has been pretty dodgy for a tenner!
Streams completely paused now?!