View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2020

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

24/09/2020, 8:28 PM
Could be one of the missed opportunities of LoI in Europe! Dundalk looking tired now. 1 forced sub, 3 others made. Surprised McMillan wasnt sent off the bench earlier unless penos in the back of the mind.

Kelly is red rotten useless

Philosophizer
There was a hairy moment there with Shields miskick and Kelly falling over. The kind of brutal defensive mistakes we've actually seen very little of tonight, thank god.

Sonny
24/09/2020, 8:30 PM
There's still on top the last 5 mins

Dundalk have been poor also but Sheriff haven't created a chance. Absolutely brutal side.

24/09/2020, 8:31 PM
Why were Dundalk happy for penalties when they've a chance in the corner in the last minute. That'll be a regret

Real ale Madrid
Here we go. Penalties for a place in the Europa league. I am dismissing the Faroe team

There was a hairy moment there with Shields miskick and Kelly falling over. The kind of brutal defensive mistakes we've actually seen very little of tonight, thank god.

I think that miskick was so bad that it caught Sheriff out. Dundalk saved by their own ineptitude

Neither team really deserves to go through to the play-off round to be honest. Poor stuff overall.

24/09/2020, 8:32 PM
Here we go. Penalties for a place in the Europa league. I am dismissing the Faroe team
I wouldn't dismiss a team that's just won 6-1 over two teams as poor as this.

KÍ will be outsiders, but dismissing them is how they win.

CorribsideSteve
Here we go.

Lottery now! But as far as teams being muck, its a shootout from the playoff so relative in a way.

Real ale Madrid
I wouldn't dismiss a team that's just won 6-1 over two teams as poor as this.

KÍ will be outsiders, but dismissing them is how they win.

I didn't say it was rational.

sbgawa
24/09/2020, 8:34 PM
Well the good news is I backed dundalk to qualify not to win in 90 mins. The sherrif keeper looks awful

24/09/2020, 8:34 PM
I didn't say it was rational.

You didn't say it wasn't either! I was being kind and assuming you were generally rational :)

Philosophizer
24/09/2020, 8:37 PM
Colovic can obviously communicate with these lads. Was giving the keeper dogs abuse there, lol.

24/09/2020, 8:40 PM
Dundalk one kick away now. 4-2 in the shoot-out

ger121
24/09/2020, 8:42 PM
Well done

24/09/2020, 8:42 PM
Shields is a quality player. 5 very good penos.

Shields should have got a chance with Ireland too late now but anyway well done Dundalk.

Filipo for Mayor

Buller
24/09/2020, 8:43 PM
Wow!! Amazing stuff and fully deserved! What a performance!

D24Saint
Great penalties by Dundalk.

Philosophizer
What a result. Fair play Dundalk!

24/09/2020, 8:44 PM
Some result for Dundalk.

Who would have seen this a month ago..beat a team from Faroe Islands to qualify for the group stage..

On we stumble! :cool: Mad crazy season!!

CorribsideSteve
Fantastic. 5 excelllent penalties. Crucial save from Rogers. I often slate him in Europe but he came up big there. Sheriff were so poor, but Dundalk managed them very well. No howlers, no humiliatingly embarassing goals gifted away. Great stuff. But they'll have to play a little better to beat KI. That's not a cheap cut, but if they want to avoid penalties, even though they came out the right side tonight, they'l want to score a few, one would imagine, given that KI have shown their firepower tionight too. Shields grew stronger and more determined as the game went on. Great closing down and tracking back from Hoban, played well tonight despite being kicked around the place. Sheriff got what they deserved.

24/09/2020, 8:45 PM
Colovic can obviously communicate with these lads. Was giving the keeper dogs abuse there, lol.

colovic is serbian, probably can speak russian too. Keeper is moldovan/Transnistrian he can speak Russian.

Scrufil
24/09/2020, 8:46 PM
Congrats. Dundalk. They'll be singing We shot the Sheriff all night now!

Straightstory
24/09/2020, 8:46 PM
Really pleased for Dundalk. No Irish team will ever have a better chance of qualifying for group stages. Really kept their nerve for the penalties.

24/09/2020, 8:47 PM
On we stumble! :cool: Mad crazy season!!

If ye make the group stages, the Americans will be around for a good while longer. Is that what Dundalk fans want? Both the fans, the club and the americans want Europa Group stages, but some actually need it.

swinfordfc
24/09/2020, 8:50 PM
Fair play to Dundalk! ... What a turnaround!

joey B
24/09/2020, 8:51 PM
Outstanding result for Dundalk, well done to them!

24/09/2020, 8:54 PM
If ye make the group stages, the Americans will be around for a good while longer. Is that what Dundalk fans want? Both the fans, the club and the americans want Europa Group stages, but some actually need it.

Yes! Yes again!

ForzaForth
24/09/2020, 8:55 PM
Congrats to Dundalk! LOI needed that.

2 Year Contract
24/09/2020, 8:56 PM
Imagine at the start of the season being told that a Dundalk side managed by an Italian kids summer camp manager based in the US would face a team from the Faroe Islands at home in a one off game to reach the Europa League group stages. This is some year! Fair play to Dundalk, great win tonight

sbgawa
24/09/2020, 8:58 PM
The next match is huge for dundalk to state the obvious. The faroe islands for a place in group stages....unbelievable

joey B
24/09/2020, 9:03 PM
Imagine at the start of the season being told that a Dundalk side managed by an Italian kids summer camp manager based in the US would face a team from the Faroe Islands at home in a one off game to reach the Europa League group stages. This is some year! Fair play to Dundalk, great win tonight

It's 2020 standard enough really!!

Ezeikial
24/09/2020, 9:08 PM
If Dundalk were to progress to the group stage we could have the very unexpected situation of the 3rd best team in the League of Ireland (as per current league standings before I have take a barrage from their fans on here) playing in the Europa League group stages.

Have you been away?

The current League of Ireland Champions and 5 times champions over the last 6 years

Johnnie C
24/09/2020, 9:12 PM
Superb stuff Dundalk, more of the same next week hopefully.

Scrufil
24/09/2020, 9:15 PM
Earlier in the Loi Shiels looked like he had legs of lead. Today even in extratime he just kept going and going, after his fresh air kick that could have cost Dundalk the game, he had the energy to unleash a brilliant penalty. Dundalk deserved that win and Shiels should be called into the Irish squad, even if he doesn't get to play in the matches.

CorribsideSteve
24/09/2020, 9:23 PM
It's the AVIVA for the KI match, according to Dundalk's CEO.

Straightstory
24/09/2020, 9:24 PM
Shields was the hero tonight. Outstanding leadership throughout.

DCWA
24/09/2020, 9:25 PM
If Dundalk were to progress to the group stage we could have the very unexpected situation of the 3rd best team in the League of Ireland (as per current league standings before I have take a barrage from their fans on here) playing in the Europa League group stages.

Have you been away?

The current League of Ireland Champions and 5 times champions over the last 6 years

Okie doke... I hate myself for even bothering here...

Yeah I was kind of referring to the fact it would be strange to see the 3rd placed team in Ireland as group stage competitors in Europe as both previous times it has been the leagues dominant club (within that season - I am aware of recent title history). A nice novelty it would be.

The Lilywhites
24/09/2020, 9:27 PM
As I said, we're the best team in the country. What a win!

Whether it's Filippo doing a good job, the players playing for their futures, or most likely just getting back to themselves after Perth deservedly got the sack, it's working.

The Faroes side winning 6-1 tonight is good as it should eliminate any complacency on our part.

Send the kids out against Rovers on Sunday.

Straightstory
24/09/2020, 9:28 PM
The Aviva? Really? Wouldn't Dundalk prefer to play at Oriel Park? I know in normal times it wouldn't be up to UEFA standards for a play-off game, but surely the fact that no-one can attend the game would make it OK?

Scrufil
24/09/2020, 9:31 PM
Brian Kerr reckons the KI team will not fear Dundalk so, beware of over confidence. Could be another tight squeeze.

D24Saint
24/09/2020, 9:33 PM
Brian Kerr reckons the KI team will not fear Dundalk so, beware of over confidence. Could be another tight squeeze.

Is there any of the Faroes national team playing with them ?

pateen
24/09/2020, 9:39 PM
Fairplay Dandalk, looking for highlights now

pateen
24/09/2020, 9:44 PM
Cracking header by Murray

24/09/2020, 9:47 PM
That was a painless penalty shoot out, for a change.

24/09/2020, 10:11 PM
As novel as non Champions winning a Champions League? I do get what yer saying but it isnt that unusual for lower ranked domestic league teams to progress further than higher ranked sides. Im am not going near the argument best teams etc. We all know that the draw in Europe impacts on the progressions of sides.

24/09/2020, 10:29 PM
What's the prize money like for the group stage now vs 2016?

I'm seeing various reports of the next round being worth €3m or so which is obviously huge but I thought Dundalk made more than that in 2016?

Yossarian
24/09/2020, 10:39 PM
What's the prize money like for the group stage now vs 2016?

I'm seeing various reports of the next round being worth €3m or so which is obviously huge but I thought Dundalk made more than that in 2016?

That’s the basic prize money for reaching the group stages. Dundalk’s win and draw in 2016 boosted that, aswell as other payments that are calculated once the tournament is over.