View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2020
03/12/2020, 7:53 PM
Thought Flores' effort was awful too - great position and he had a really wild swing at it. It's not that he missed, it's how much he missed by.
03/12/2020, 7:56 PM
Quinn is a real mother Theresa , just before Molde scored their first he says "Dundalk are doing really well here" at that point they could already have been a couple down.
Patronising stuff,
Team picked tonight makes sense with the cup final on Sunday.
He's bugging the hell out of me with the 'Dundalk are actually doing well here' etc. It is exactly as you say, patronising stuff. Interesting to see attacking options different from the usual. I have to say Im a bit surprised if the owners really are good with targeting the cup rather than additional EL money. It would be a big positive if they are fully behind that thinking.
Its possibly the worst of the EL performances, all over the place defensively to the point of embaressing at times...nobody taking control then a bunch try to take control and Garts nearly takes Rogers head off. Again not having that real clinical trait that ye come up against in Europe. Slightly overhit passes, rush of blood rather than composure by Flores. Only so often you can say 'a bit of luck' or break of the ball and the picture would be different. The usual bits of good stuff and bit bad. Stringing the good bits together over a full game with no self imploding is still elusive and have that 'complete performance'. Next season!!
03/12/2020, 8:14 PM
I hope of the pro licence course they say that zonal marking is bad!
03/12/2020, 8:14 PM
That's one of the worst misses I've ever seen. Must be close to a 1 on the old expected goals chart!
Edit - actually, Infogol is roughly live, and it is pretty much a 1 on the expected goals. Current expected score (https://www.infogol.net/en/matches/uefa-europa-league/molde-vs-dundalk-2020-12-03/84311) is 2.88-0.17.
sbgawa
03/12/2020, 8:17 PM
If Mceleneyor duffy get injured now i dont get it at all
ger121
03/12/2020, 8:28 PM
Bring 3 players on when the game is lost with a cup final on Sunday. Another goal conceded from a cross or corner.
03/12/2020, 8:55 PM
Great goal from Flores there at the death to put a bit of a sheen on the scoreline, but that was probably the weakest performance of the group so far to be honest. Could easily have been 4 or 5; the Hoare handball looked a clear penalty (especially under the current rules). You'd worry about Arsenal next week - last match of a strange season while Arsenal are only getting up and running in their season.
Still the alternative is not to have qualified, so can't complain too much!
03/12/2020, 9:37 PM
When he hit a shot that was deflected wide just prior, I was thinking 'didnt know he was still on the pitch' then hits another scorcher. Its what he can do, has the ability to be a lot more influencial but Ive also heard that he thinks a lot of his own footballing ability so will he be here next season? He is still really still on the road to recovery after a car accident and reoccuring injuries so he could probably do with another season before he starts courting Real Madrid. The goal reel might nab him a contract at an Aberdeen though
EalingGreen
03/12/2020, 11:44 PM
I have to say Im a bit surprised if the owners really are good with targeting the cup rather than additional EL money. It would be a big positive if they are fully behind that thinking.
Not sure of the figures for this season, but last season you got €190k for each draw in the EL Group stage, or €570k for a win. This is over and above any prize money for getting as far as the Group, and the €2.92m Base Fee once you get there:
https://www.sportekz.com/football/uefa-europa-league-prize-money/
Though it gives me no pleasure to note that this season, Dundalk are the first team ever to have suffered five losses in an EL Group, with their final game likely to make it six.
04/12/2020, 12:14 AM
Not sure of the figures for this season, but last season you got €190k for each draw in the EL Group stage, or €570k for a win. This is over and above any prize money for getting as far as the Group, and the €2.92m Base Fee once you get there:
Though it gives me no pleasure to note that this season, Dundalk are the first team ever to have suffered five losses in an EL Group, with their final game likely to make it six.
Shamrock Rovers lost 6 out of 6 though..
04/12/2020, 12:36 AM
That's really what Im getting at. All the talk, team selection etc has been that the cup final on Sunday is the main priority but would be worth a lot less financially than picking up a result tonight. If the owners are on the same page with a trophy trumping a possible 500k well its a positive. As for the EL group results, we were in bonus territory getting through a round considering the state we were in, so to get to group stages - well points and money are good but there was no humiliation and we can only look at the positives of getting there I feel.
Cup Final, qualify for europe, and EL groups stages - not too shabby for a Milanese summer camp coach without a badge!
Rovers rewriting history again??;)
04/12/2020, 1:42 AM
[/B]
Shamrock Rovers lost 6 out of 6 though..
I thought we were friends, Finn Harps.
04/12/2020, 6:41 AM
As did Slovan Bratislava in 2014.
And I think Dudelange lost 5 out of 5 and drew their sixth game in 2017.
Ludogorets and Gent also have no points this year. I'm sure lots of teams have lost all group games.
Calcio Jack
04/12/2020, 7:25 AM
Cup Final, qualify for europe, and EL groups stages - not too shabby for a Milanese summer camp coach without a badge!
Rovers rewriting history again??;)[/QUOTE]
Rovers don’t rewrite history we make it😜
04/12/2020, 7:35 AM
I thought we were friends, Finn Harps.
Rob Hennessy ruined that, with a little help from a few players. No longer friends. Goodbye.
04/12/2020, 8:04 AM
For the record, this is the full list of clubs who have scored no points in a group campaign in the Europa League/UEFA Cup. The UEFA Cup is 2008/09 and back and had five teams, each playing each other once home or away for four games, so it wouldn't come under Ealing Green's stat of "first club to lose five games in the groups", but it's the same tournament effectively, so I've included them here for info. It'd probably also balance out the fact that I've not included sides who lost five games and then won or drew the other.
Four teams have lost all six EL group games, with three others on 5/5 this year. Grasshoppers lost 4/4 two years in a row.
I think it has to be accepted too that Dundalk are surely one of the weakest teams to reach the group stages, having benefitted from a really fortuitous draw. To be honest, last night aside, I thought they've acquitted themselves better than I had expected.
Team Country Year P W D L F A GD Pts
Grasshopper Zurich Switzerland 2005/06 4 0 0 4 3 7 -4 0
Utrecht Holland 2004/05 4 0 0 4 2 7 -5 0
Larissa Greece 2007/08 4 0 0 4 4 10 -6 0
Ludogorets Razgrad Bulgaria 2020/21 5 0 0 5 6 13 -7 0
Metalist Kharkiv Ukraine 2014/15 6 0 0 6 3 10 -7 0
Red Star Belgrade Serbia 2007/08 4 0 0 4 2 9 -7 0
Partizan Belgrade Serbia 2008/09 4 0 0 4 1 8 -7 0
AEK Athens Greece 2004/05 4 0 0 4 4 12 -8 0
Gent Belgium 2020/21 5 0 0 5 3 11 -8 0
Austria Wien Austria 2006/07 4 0 0 4 1 9 -8 0
Maccabi Petah Tikva Israel 2005/06 4 0 0 4 1 9 -8 0
Dundalk Ireland 2020/21 5 0 0 5 6 15 -9 0
Gabala Azerbaijan 2016/17 6 0 0 6 5 14 -9 0
Feyernoord Holland 2008/09 4 0 0 4 1 10 -9 0
Rennes France 2005/06 4 0 0 4 1 10 -9 0
Heerenveen Holland 2008/09 4 0 0 4 3 13 -10 0
Dinamo Tbilisi Georgia 2004/05 4 0 0 4 2 13 -11 0
Halmstad Sweden 2005/06 4 0 0 4 1 12 -11 0
Grasshopper Zurich Switzerland 2006/07 4 0 0 4 3 15 -12 0
Amica Wronki Poland 2004/05 4 0 0 4 3 16 -13 0
Beveren Belgium 2004/05 4 0 0 4 2 15 -13 0
Shamrock Rovers Ireland 2011/12 6 0 0 6 4 19 -15 0
Slovan Bratislava Slovakia 2014/15 6 0 0 6 1 20 -19 0
The win / draw bonus of 570k / 190K for this Dundalk team was of course availabe but apart from first half home to Molde / second half home to Rapid and good spells of the away game also to Rapid, this was never in scope. In those 3 games, maybe there was a chance to have gone for the bonus, but very poor mistakes and beaten by far better quality, notwithstanding this is the 2020 team and not 2016, all put paid to that little dream.
I think on reflection, Dundalk were quite fortunate to make the EL group stage, granted two away trips on the trot before (3 if you count CL in Hungary), and a great display away in Moldova too, however you would have thought over two legs that the likes of Sherrif would have found a way past to qualify. Equally meeting the Faroes in the play off was an unbelievable stroke of luck, as was it for them to have got a 3-0 walkover v Slovan, and maybe also that 5-1 win v a Covid ravaged Tblisi side, throw in Andorra away, and it was almost as if every door was opening.
The doors kept firmly closed for the group stage mind, last night was no more than a training game for Molde, some really dreadful displays, Hoare will have done himself no favours to get a contract at DFC or anywhere with that type of effort. The other two central defenders hardly won any headers all night, well maybe Gartland did. I think Sloggett was also very poor in MF, Flores just ok, this meant Molde had a free run, but what a strike at the end to finish the match at least with a tiny bit of light. Have to say though, there was little enthusaism locally for the game, most eyes were on hoping for lesser side to be picked, and no injuries, all focus on the cup final really.
With no fans being allowed in, and no trip to Arsenal away or the wonderful city of Vienna for example, there will be little memories of the 2020 euro season for Dundalk fans, and we certainly did look to be the weakest side of 2020 in it. Still the owners will still pick up the €2.92 base fee though and the monies earned before this stage, so the bank balance will be boosted, what they leave in to fund the football side of things for 2021 will be interesting.
Straightstory
04/12/2020, 10:01 AM
Looking at a probable loss for Dundalk to Arsenal next week, it will mean LOI sides have played 18 matches in the Europa League group stages and lost 16 of them. We're just not good enough unfortunately. I presume (I've found it incomprehensible and baffling trying to research this) that from next season Irish clubs will end up - if they qualify at all - in the Europa Conference League, and that will be more our level.
I've enjoyed watching Dundalk's adventures in Europe this season. The games have been entertaining with lots of goals, and they haven't been humiliated. And to see Irish clubs play in 'proper' stadiums is a bit of a thrill.
Also - Flores' goal last night was breathtaking.
sbgawa
04/12/2020, 11:07 AM
The path next year is simple enough.
Rovers
If Rovers win there first CL round they are guaranteed 3 more rounds
If they win CL1 then they go to CL 2nd qualifying round (if lose that) they go to EL 3rd Qualifying (if lose that) they go to ECL playoff round
So provided they win their first round match they will have 3 more rounds and if they win one of those 3 they would be guaranteed Group stages as instead of dropping into the ECL 3rd qualifying round they would finish in group stages of the ECL .
If they lose their first round CL match they drop into the ECL and no champions path (which they would have in the EL if they win their first CL round).Bottom line winning the first match is HUGE as it guarantees 3 more rounds and a champions path (which we saw with DFC this year can work out well).
Seeding is questionable but not impossible for CL1 for Rovers
Boh's , Dundalk, Sligo straight into ECL.
oriel
04/12/2020, 11:26 AM
Above sounds spot on sbgawa, but I`m sure I looked earlier in the year, and its almost certain that Rovers will be unseeded for CL R1 in 2021.
I think Dundalk will be the only one seeded next season, with a cooefficient of around 8.0.
sbgawa
04/12/2020, 12:31 PM
Above sounds spot on sbgawa, but I`m sure I looked earlier in the year, and its almost certain that Rovers will be unseeded for CL R1 in 2021.
I think Dundalk will be the only one seeded next season, with a coefficient of around 8.0.
Yes i agree on that more likely to be unseeded but things can go in your favor with teams that don't have a European pedigree winning their league
Molde have a coefficient of 11 but the team that have won the Norwegian league this year (by 20+ points) have a co-efficient less than Rovers , (Bodo Glimt).
We need a few results like that going in our favor.
Yossarian
04/12/2020, 2:18 PM
Dundalk’s coefficient for next year will be 10.5 so we’ll be comfortably seeded for the first two rounds at least. I think Rovers will be touch and go but as stated above you’d want a few league titles to go to clubs who’ve no real pedigree in Europe. This happened this season more than normal due to leagues finishing early and some teams won who wouldn’t normally have done.
Real ale Madrid
04/12/2020, 2:31 PM
Shamrock Rovers' co-efficient is 4.750 - 3 teams had that co-efficient last season 2 were seeded and 1 was not so its right on the bubble.
Very interested to see Prize money for the ECL - no news of that yet from UEFA. Could have a fundamental impact on clubs here.
04/12/2020, 2:56 PM
Also prize money for the CL next year - talk of that being reduced because of covid, which would be only logical in fairness.
ger121
04/12/2020, 6:30 PM
As did Slovan Bratislava in 2014.
And I think Dudelange lost 5 out of 5 and drew their sixth game in 2017.
Ludogorets and Gent also have no points this year. I'm sure lots of teams have lost all group games.
There has been a few PS. As mentioned could be 3 this year alone. I think it will be 2. Dundalk and Gent have tough last matches. The latter are away too. Ludogorets should maybe getting something at home to Lask.
EalingGreen
04/12/2020, 6:57 PM
There has been a few PS. As mentioned could be 3 this year alone. I think it will be 2. Dundalk and Gent have tough last matches. The latter are away too. Ludogorets should maybe getting something at home to Lask.
Yeah, my mistake originally - misread the BBC report
"Dundalk equalled the Europa League record of five straight defeats in the group stage as the League of Ireland side lost 3-1 to Molde in Norway."
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55164272
(Though I think they may have amended it after originally saying it was an outright record? Unsure)
Yossarian
04/12/2020, 7:08 PM
Yeah, my mistake originally - misread the BBC report
"Dundalk equalled the Europa League record of five straight defeats in the group stage as the League of Ireland side lost 3-1 to Molde in Norway."
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55164272
(Though I think they may have amended it after originally saying it was an outright record? Unsure)
Surely the record is six straight defeats seeing as it has happened a number of times before? Or am I missing something?
D24Saint
04/12/2020, 7:16 PM
Surely the record is six straight defeats seeing as it has happened a number of times before? Or am I missing something?
I don’t know for a fact but sounds like something that happens regularly.
sidewayspasser
04/12/2020, 7:25 PM
I saw somewhere that the record in question is 9 straight group stage defeats (obviously across multiple seasons), which Dundalk equalled with the defeat in Norway. The other club to have 9 straight group stage defeats is Slovan Bratislava (3 defeats in 2011 and 6 in 2014).
04/12/2020, 7:28 PM
Yeah, that'd do it alright
04/12/2020, 8:24 PM
Looking at a probable loss for Dundalk to Arsenal next week, it will mean LOI sides have played 18 matches in the Europa League group stages and lost 16 of them. We're just not good enough unfortunately. I presume (I've found it incomprehensible and baffling trying to research this) that from next season Irish clubs will end up - if they qualify at all - in the Europa Conference League, and that will be more our level.
I've enjoyed watching Dundalk's adventures in Europe this season. The games have been entertaining with lots of goals, and they haven't been humiliated. And to see Irish clubs play in 'proper' stadiums is a bit of a thrill.
Also - Flores' goal last night was breathtaking.
Its a bit mad that the general competitiveness of LoI since the introduction of the non straight knockout formats, has had an overall detrimental effect on our league. Excluding clubs that collapsed soon after winning the league, nobody has ever really sustained things to build ranking, co-eff, easier routes to latter qualifying rounds, more money, prestige and so on. Clubs tried of course but Ye look at the Bate Borisovs with class grounds in leagues not massively superior to our own, not well supported either, but one or 2 sides dominate. As long as it was my club dominating and reaping the benefit grand, but how dull for a league. Does a rising tide raise all boats if for example Dundalk and Rovers were to battle it out for UCL (and the title obviously).
Info on ECL is still scant, possible finances havent been finalised due to the year thats been. Has there been an indication of adding to coefficients? As a league we really should be targeting ECL groups annually, with our champions occasionally making EL groups. Until money is announced whether that can be resourced is another thing unless the FAI start weaving gold for domestic success.
You are spot on Calcio about making history, fly in the ointment is when it is unwanted history! :P
Yossarian
04/12/2020, 8:40 PM
I saw somewhere that the record in question is 9 straight group stage defeats (obviously across multiple seasons), which Dundalk equalled with the defeat in Norway. The other club to have 9 straight group stage defeats is Slovan Bratislava (3 defeats in 2011 and 6 in 2014).
That makes more sense alright.
CorribsideSteve
05/12/2020, 12:20 PM
Its a bit mad that the general competitiveness of LoI since the introduction of the non straight knockout formats, has had an overall detrimental effect on our league. Excluding clubs that collapsed soon after winning the league, nobody has ever really sustained things to build ranking, co-eff, easier routes to latter qualifying rounds, more money, prestige and so on. Clubs tried of course but Ye look at the Bate Borisovs with class grounds in leagues not massively superior to our own, not well supported either, but one or 2 sides dominate. As long as it was my club dominating and reaping the benefit grand, but how dull for a league. Does a rising tide raise all boats if for example Dundalk and Rovers were to battle it out for UCL (and the title obviously).
Info on ECL is still scant, possible finances havent been finalised due to the year thats been. Has there been an indication of adding to coefficients? As a league we really should be targeting ECL groups annually, with our champions occasionally making EL groups. Until money is announced whether that can be resourced is another thing unless the FAI start weaving gold for domestic success.
You are spot on Calcio about making history, fly in the ointment is when it is unwanted history! :P
The gas thing about BATE is that they have Athlone or Cobh's average attendance in their space-age stadium. Not sure how I'd feel about that as one of their fans. Great stadium, no-one cares. You'd hate to see a Dundalk or Shamrock winning 20 leagues in a row ala Sheriff, and our already low attendances leauge-wide to plummet. On the game the other night, Dundalk beat themselves as much as Molde. Criminal schoolboy defending for all 3 goals. It was incredibly disappointing how softly all 3 goals were tucked away. And yet, some of their forward play was quite good, until it broke down in the last 3rd. Flores would drive you mad though. He's clearly very talented but has been missing all year, except for the two worldies he has scored. It's been said before, but Dundalk need some surgery over the close-season if they want to qualify, and compete in the Europa League again.
05/12/2020, 12:49 PM
Its a bit mad that the general competitiveness of LoI since the introduction of the non straight knockout formats, has had an overall detrimental effect on our league. Excluding clubs that collapsed soon after winning the league, nobody has ever really sustained things to build ranking, co-eff, easier routes to latter qualifying rounds, more money, prestige and so on.
It ain't hard to knock clubs off their perch when it's only knee high.
05/12/2020, 4:24 PM
It ain't hard to knock clubs off their perch when it's only knee high.
Lol true, Rovers have enough cup wins already so share te wealth! Without looking in to it deeply, there cant be too many leagues that have had so many winners than loI, both those that gambled by selling the family silver and went bang soon after, or the winners that have stuck around albeit with plenty of spells in the doldrums. Football being all about business and making money in most leagues more and more, general competitiveness is disappearing bar the odd Leicester or Bodo Glimt and for bigger leagues its been like members only club for decades. Volatile finances here is probably the main reason it hadnt happened but its a positive too that any club really, with the right pople involved can have a go at a title or to get in to Europe. What odds would there have been on Sligo nabbing a place prior to league suspension or what would have happened without the disruption.
Flores has plenty to prove, I hope he stays and shows more than the glimpses of a very talanted footballer, 2 or 3 GoTS contenders and the rest of the game time passing him by isnt worth a bump in his pay. But I suppose he does have to want to stay at the club too. He has been treated well at Oriel when few other were willing to work with him, for whatever that is worth. Motivation became a real issue with the squad for whatever reason and very unusual with these players. Get that driven attitude back and there wouldnt have to be a major turnover of player imo.
The way the zonal marking system has been applied so far has been very poor. Almost like players werent willing to move out of their zone of responsibility even when there was an obvious threat. Far too static to be able to compete in the air especially when opposition were arriving at pace to attack the ball, getting above some pretty big defenders in the process. It looked pretty and organised but was far to rigid. Zonal marking is all the rage, maybe Im old fashioned but Id prefer M2M as at minimum it disrupts an attacker in the process of losing a marker and also get the leap on defenders. Thursday night we might as well have put some free kick mannequins along the 6yd box, stood back and hoped for the best. Maybe a work in progress but there was enough experience there to know when to switch in or out of another zone. I'm sure Rovers will test the new system tomorrow and corners will be nerve wrecking!
placid casual
05/12/2020, 6:25 PM
I'd be fairly confident Rovers won't be relying on set pieces to expose the difference between the two sides tomorrow.
Hopefully the cut up surface won't be a leveller on the game.
sbgawa
05/12/2020, 8:02 PM
Its a role reversal this year in the final.
Last year going to the final i was up to 90 worried about the consequences of losing and Dundalk doing the treble and looking like seperating themselves totally from us, going on and winning the league again this year.
This year its Dundalk that need a moralle booster against us in the final.
I will be disappointed if we don't win the match but last year i would have been devastated to lose.
I expect to win but its a cup final so anything is possible. Dundalk were the better team on form going into every cup final against Cork and didnt win them all.
Looking forward to it but am also really looking forwatd to starting again next year
05/12/2020, 8:26 PM
I'd be fairly confident Rovers won't be relying on set pieces to expose the difference between the two sides tomorrow.
Hopefully the cut up surface won't be a leveller on the game.
I didnt mean that rovers would be relying on set pieces, they have players that can unlock the meanest of defences. It would be remiss of Bradley not to instruct his players to put a few corners in to the mixer early at least, test whether the keeper has the confidence to go claim a ball or will stick and leave it to defenders. On recent displays at the back either would cause a worry!
It will very much be a kick on to Dundalk to win the cup, especially against a team unbeaten so far this season, solidify FGs credentials as a LoI manager. I dont think it will be a make or break thing psychologically in a 1st trophy way. Plenty of the players have both won and lost cup finals with silverware in the last season (2019) - not just like breaking a duck. Dunno how to call it at all - Rovers odds on, but not beyond Dundalk to put in that complete type performance. Rovers could even be a bit stale where Dundalk have had a run out, training match against a decent European side in preperation.
A poor pitch wont suit either side, it wont be a case of Dundalk looking for a ropey pitch to stop Rovers from playing if thats whats meant as a leveller. I'd even think that Rovers are better equipped to change things up if the pitch is messy.
placid casual
05/12/2020, 8:29 PM
Yeah, it's not the end of the world if Rovers don't retain the cup, the league and the knock on benefits from it, were the main focus this year.
Lots of talk from Dan McDonnell about this being Jack Byrnes last game for the hoops- it seems to be said more in hope than any concrete knowledge or expectation.
sbgawa
05/12/2020, 8:35 PM
it may very well be Jacks last game for us this time around but if he does leave i can see him back in Tallaght again even if its ten years from now.
05/12/2020, 8:44 PM
Cup is the cherry on top. Its all about the league and qualifying for europe (if not top 3 or league winners). Sad as it is the FA(I) blue ribband day is being left behind. Not comparing the 2 but the flashes from Flores and Byrne being the standout midfielder and after international call-ups, its unlikely that they arent courted by clubs abroad. Byrne especially. Though Michael Duffy did stick with Dundalk when he could have gone to England, maybe players are considering that there is more to a move abroad than €x's. Family, friends and associates, belonging, and a being a 'big fish in a small pond' is better than average joe bench warming. Especially with european footy and bonuses to look forward to.
05/12/2020, 8:47 PM
it may very well be Jacks last game for us this time around but if he does leave i can see him back in Tallaght again even if its ten years from now.
As long as he is an Irish International 15 years would be ok for Rovers ;p
06/12/2020, 5:44 PM
Seen in Sun today that Jordan Flores wants to move back to the UK. Im surprised hes not playing from the start for Dundalk.
06/12/2020, 6:47 PM
Seen in Sun today that Jordan Flores wants to move back to the UK. Im surprised hes not playing from the start for Dundalk.
The rumour before the leagues suspension and after his goal in Tallaght that he wanted an improved contract. He had worked back to fitness just about but bar 3 classy goals there was little else to suggest that he was worthy of improved terms before his current contract was about to run out, Considering all wages were paid in full too the right thing would be to take a year extension - but if there isnt loyalty, if looking for too much then off he goes. i cant see him getting a significantly better options with a move to the lower leagues in the UK. If he does hit form and consistency he could play at a higher level, where he's most likely to get a good season under the belt to kick on, make an impression is is anybody's guess.
Not a good time for any footballer looking for a contract in the Third or Fourth Tier in England. There was a funding package announced the other day but the lack of gate income is really hitting clubs at that level.
Wigan would probably take him back, but they’re in a bit of an ownership wrangle.
06/12/2020, 11:49 PM
They could, but they were also the club that released him rather than back him for rehabilitation. They shafted him and just cut him loose for something that was poor luck. Maybe Wigan were already feeling the pinch but unless he is a massive Wigan fan he should stay clear!
07/12/2020, 3:39 AM
Flores is probably the fifth or sixth best midfielder at Dundalk. If he goes I can't imagine Dundalk will struggle to replace him. Good luck to him if he gets a payday from his Puskas nomination.
sbgawa
07/12/2020, 9:48 AM
Decent player but doesn't do enough consistently to justify the big bucks he is on.
Another import that looks like a guy just waiting for a better opportunity.
All LOI clubs have suffered this to a greater or lessor degree, Cork probably more so than most , Sligo probably done better....feelings rather than statistics here tbh.
Dundalk bar Adjornan (not sure about the spelling) have had a poor enough run here, maybe Collovic/flores in patches , Gatt , Patching , Oduwa all very poor.
It cant be that players from abroad arent good enough to play here , has to be an attitude thing when you consider how few have been genuine successes,
Ndo for Sligo , Twigg for Rovers (not sure you can class Scottish as foreign :) )
EalingGreen
07/12/2020, 1:13 PM
The gas thing about BATE is that they have Athlone or Cobh's average attendance in their space-age stadium. Not sure how I'd feel about that as one of their fans. Great stadium, no-one cares.
Not quite.
"When opened in 2014, the stadium boosted BATE's attendances immensely, just as one would expect. In line with the so called 'new stadium effect', the team gained nearly 50% in regular attendance, bringing it close to 6,000 people per game. It was expected that – with further work by the club – it would gradually grow to reach the stadium's potential of 13,000. However, quite the opposite has happened. The 2014 attendance proved to be the highest ever and following seasons brought stagnation at around 5,000.
2014: 5,931 people (+46%)
2015: 5,070 people (-15%)
2016: 4,797 people (-5.4%)
2017: 4,948 people (+3.2%)
Even more ironic, in 2017, for the first time since the stadium's opening, BATE actually lost dominance in terms of average turnout. Considered an underdog, FC Dynamo Brest managed to break through 5,000 per game and became the country's most-watched team."
http://stadiumdb.com/news/2018/02/belarus_bate_facing_attendance_stagnation
And in 2019, their average was 5,050:
http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn/aveblr.htm
Tbh, with a population of 150k and the stadium being way outside the town in the forest (literally), maybe that's not such a low figure.
Otoh, there looks to be absolutely sod-all else to do in the town...
Helluva a stadium, mind:
http://stadiumdb.com/img/news/2018/02/22bate1.jpg
CorribsideSteve
07/12/2020, 8:02 PM
Not quite.
"When opened in 2014, the stadium boosted BATE's attendances immensely, just as one would expect. In line with the so called 'new stadium effect', the team gained nearly 50% in regular attendance, bringing it close to 6,000 people per game. It was expected that – with further work by the club – it would gradually grow to reach the stadium's potential of 13,000. However, quite the opposite has happened. The 2014 attendance proved to be the highest ever and following seasons brought stagnation at around 5,000.
2014: 5,931 people (+46%)
2015: 5,070 people (-15%)
2016: 4,797 people (-5.4%)
2017: 4,948 people (+3.2%)
Even more ironic, in 2017, for the first time since the stadium's opening, BATE actually lost dominance in terms of average turnout. Considered an underdog, FC Dynamo Brest managed to break through 5,000 per game and became the country's most-watched team."
http://stadiumdb.com/news/2018/02/belarus_bate_facing_attendance_stagnation
And in 2019, their average was 5,050:
http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn/aveblr.htm
Tbh, with a population of 150k and the stadium being way outside the town in the forest (literally), maybe that's not such a low figure.
Otoh, there looks to be absolutely sod-all else to do in the town...
Helluva a stadium, mind:
http://stadiumdb.com/img/news/2018/02/22bate1.jpg
Fair enough. Good information. I've definitely seen attendances of 5/600 for different games they've played. via soccerway. May have been their vesrion of playing UCD or something :)
Edit: judging from one of those links, I may indeed have seen statistics for when they played away instead.