View Full Version : 2012 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

fionnsci
07/04/2012, 4:28 PM
Your math skills leave a lot to be desired.

I think you miss the point he was making. He wasn't saying that 600 is 1/3 of 1,500. He was saying that 600 constitues "well over" 1/3 of 1,500.

07/04/2012, 4:30 PM
My only problem with Nigels post was his use of the word "math"...

Sean South
07/04/2012, 6:00 PM
Your math skills leave a lot to be desired.
Your reading skills leave a lot to be desired.

07/04/2012, 7:58 PM
Your reading skills leave a lot to be desired.

Afraid not, my reading skills are superb. You should watch me read a book some time, it's riveting altogether.

bluewhitearmy
08/04/2012, 11:45 AM
Afraid not, my reading skills are superb. You should watch me read a book some time, it's riveting altogether.

I have to say i agree.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkS3i0XxQrc

dong
08/04/2012, 12:58 PM
Looks like a party over at Philly Hughes' house.

09/04/2012, 4:46 PM
Supposedly 710 in Brandywell today. About 100 Harps fans.

red bellied
09/04/2012, 7:53 PM
1386 in Showgrounds.

09/04/2012, 8:31 PM
320 at the EA cup game today between Limerick and a terrible cork side.

monkey9
09/04/2012, 9:25 PM
1386 in Showgrounds.

At this evening's match against Monaghan??

geezer
09/04/2012, 9:36 PM

146 rovers fans in Terryland and 48 Salthill a total of 194 ..awkward

Trainee
09/04/2012, 10:20 PM

That's what extra time is saying anyway.

I wounder how many of the 1,386 paid the €100 Sligo were begging for during the week

monkey9
09/04/2012, 10:30 PM
If true, or anywhere close, that's a serious crowd for a league cup match!!

Patrick Dunne
09/04/2012, 10:53 PM
Has to a record crowd for this stage of the competition, certainly in the last 20 years.

corkharps
09/04/2012, 11:10 PM
Has to a record crowd for this stage of the competition, certainly in the last 20 years.

Only in real life,not on foot.ie!

redobit
09/04/2012, 11:37 PM
I wounder how many of the 1,386 paid the €100 Sligo were begging for during the week

... more people than ye had make an effort to help your club from disappearing.

10/04/2012, 12:09 AM
I wounder how many of the 1,386 paid the €100 Sligo were begging for during the weekSeriously? Your club doesn't exist and you're cracking jokes about other clubs?

codology
10/04/2012, 7:21 AM
I went to the SD and Rovers match as I was down in Galway for the easter,I had 2 young lads with me who were allowed in free so I imagine that the attendance was probably around 350 if you include all the kids.It was a rral four seasons in one day day.

El-Pietro
10/04/2012, 7:39 AM
320 at the EA cup game today between Limerick and a terrible cork side.

would have guessed less than that - would have said 150-200 with about 30-50 City fans.

10/04/2012, 8:00 AM
would have guessed less than that - would have said 150-200 with about 30-50 City fans.

Going by previous matches with similar crowds I'd say the 300 mark is right. The stand holds 350 and was over half full. There was about another 100 or so on the opposite side and a few people down the side of the stand and by the dressing rooms.

10/04/2012, 10:05 AM
Pats crowd v UCd was just over 500. Can't remember the exact figure. Don't normally post in this thread but seeing as extratime had it at less than half that.

Great crowd in Sligo

gufc2000
10/04/2012, 10:17 AM
... more people than ye had make an effort to help your club from disappearing.
You are deluded, you clearly forget that 1400 people turned up in Terryland last November to watch our club relegated. Most people knew we weren't going to beat Monaghan in that play-off, but they still came. We had a higher average attendance than Drogheda and UCD, a team that lost 32 out of 36 games, conceded 115 goals, battered at home, only getting 2 draws in front of our home fans all season still managed an average home attendance of 852.

Our club hasn't disappeared either, we weren't 'invited' into this league. When you have people working against you at the top how are you supposed to win. Our U19s ploughed on in case you didn't notice either, just finished their league season 2 weeks ago, the hard working lads in GUST kept the show on the road and ensured the fixtures were fulfilled.

No need to worry, we haven't gone away, and we won't be.

Hopefully the FAI will tidy the LoI mess up in Galway, and that we will be running out in Deacy Park in 2013.

10/04/2012, 10:25 AM
When you have people working against you at the top how are you supposed to win

Seriously gufc2000, if you're going to be making ridiculous excuses like this, then you're doomed. There's a million reasons why Galway crumbled, and an anti-Galway FAI wasn't one of them.

gufc2000
10/04/2012, 10:36 AM
Seriously gufc2000, if you're going to be making ridiculous excuses like this, then you're doomed. There's a million reasons why Galway crumbled, and an anti-Galway FAI wasn't one of them.
I'm not saying they were the sole reason, yes we contributed to our downfall with the ridiculous spending in 2007 and 2008. But were the goalposts shifted? Yes they were, Derry & Cork got back in no problem. Anyways I'm not getting into this again, all the focus has shifted towards One City, One County, One Club for 2013. I was only highlighting the pathetic comment made by redobit

gufcfan
10/04/2012, 10:37 AM

That is an ignorant uninformed comment. You give out about people and their comments about the €100 donation but you can't see past your own uninformed bias in other situations.

10/04/2012, 10:53 AM
But were the goalposts shifted? Yes they were, Derry & Cork got back in no problem.

If they were shifted, they were shifted to the correct spot.

The former directors of Galway United (led by Leeson) are the reason Galway United aren't in the league now. Not the FAI

10/04/2012, 10:55 AM
but you can't see past your own uninformed bias in other situations.

Huh? YOu think I have an anti-Galway bias now?

redarmyfaction
10/04/2012, 11:19 AM
If true, or anywhere close, that's a serious crowd for a league cup match!!

I would have said 1600 , red stand 80% full and a couple of hundred or more in the rest of the ground on a cnutish night. 1386 was what was announced.

redobit
10/04/2012, 12:14 PM
I'm not saying they were the sole reason, yes we contributed to our downfall with the ridiculous spending in 2007 and 2008. But were the goalposts shifted? Yes they were, Derry & Cork got back in no problem. Anyways I'm not getting into this again, all the focus has shifted towards One City, One County, One Club for 2013. I was only highlighting the pathetic comment made by redobit

Ah look gufc2000. My response was a jibe, thats all, based on a laughable post from a Galway fan. Do you think a Rovers fan is going to let that slide with the state youre in.

gufcfan
10/04/2012, 2:51 PM
Ah look gufc2000. My response was a jibe, thats all, based on a laughable post from a Galway fan. Do you think a Rovers fan is going to let that slide with the state youre in.

We're great for taking the bait these days, but there are so many uninformed opinions being thrown around that it would drive a person mental. GUST's affairs are fine. Galway United would have gone tits up long ago if it wasn't for them.

10/04/2012, 4:41 PM

320 is an "actual" and not a "guessed"
all limerick games are ticketed and scanned

10/04/2012, 5:26 PM

You would have guessed wrong.

The gate is split. It's a competition no one cares about. We're actively trying to leave Jackman Park. Why in the name of god would we exaggerate our attendances??

You're like that Longford fan in some other thread (forget who or where) who said no way was there 1200 in a ground he'd never been in before in his life last Friday night because he would have guessed around a thousand. :bulgy:

For the record it was three twenty odd not three twenty exactly. I can get the print outs for this (and ALL other games) sent to anyone who's overly arsed.

Thanks. :good:

10/04/2012, 5:57 PM
You are deluded, you clearly forget that 1400 people turned up in Terryland last November to watch our club relegated. Most people knew we weren't going to beat Monaghan in that play-off, but they still came. We had a higher average attendance than Drogheda and UCD, a team that lost 32 out of 36 games, conceded 115 goals, battered at home, only getting 2 draws in front of our home fans all season still managed an average home attendance of 852.

Our club hasn't disappeared either, we weren't 'invited' into this league. When you have people working against you at the top how are you supposed to win. Our U19s ploughed on in case you didn't notice either, just finished their league season 2 weeks ago, the hard working lads in GUST kept the show on the road and ensured the fixtures were fulfilled.

No need to worry, we haven't gone away, and we won't be.

Hopefully the FAI will tidy the LoI mess up in Galway, and that we will be running out in Deacy Park in 2013.

This is one of the most sanctimonious things I've read from GUST on foot.ie (and that's a reasonable achievement)

I'll deal with it point by point in the hopes of enlightenment. (I'm at a loose end for the next few minutes.)

You are deluded, you clearly forget that 1400 people turned up in Terryland last November to watch our club relegated. Most people knew we weren't going to beat Monaghan in that play-off, but they still came.

Galway Uniteds potential last ever game had a large novelty factor which played a part in this attendance. You are either being silly or being disengenuous in failing to recognise this. I was at this game. A dozen or so of my mates were at this game. We weren't regulars.

Your U-19s played Limerick a couple of weeks after in Terryland and there was about 30 people there.

We had a higher average attendance than Drogheda and UCD

Wowzers.

a team that lost 32 out of 36 games, conceded 115 goals, battered at home, only getting 2 draws in front of our home fans all season

I agree, you were a disgrace.

Almost makes you think that as a club you should have done the decent thing and only applied for a First Division licence at the start of last season instead of shafting Monaghan??

Might have arguably been in a better position to fend off Mervue and Salthill at the end of this season aswell as a result. Funny the way things happen eh??

still managed an average home attendance of 852.

I'll leave off the fact that your attendances have for along time been a little "iffy" and give you this.

You had one of the nicest grounds in the coutry.

A lot of your crowd seemed to be teenagers in out of the cold (I done it myself in Hogan Park) I was only in your ground twice so I'm willing to accept this could be wrong.

Galway is the top tourist destination in Ireland.

You were consistently bolstered by large away crowds I'd imagine??

So 852, while pretty respectable given your shameful performances, isn't really a solid indicator of support for GUFC/ST.

Our club hasn't disappeared either, we weren't 'invited' into this league. When you have people working against you at the top how are you supposed to win.

See that bit in bold there??

That's the type of crap that helped your lot fail imho. The amount of dummy spitting that has gone on on the likes of foot.ie from people involved with GUST has been as shocking as it has been hilarious.

The FAI are many things. But one thing they most certainly don't like is transparency. The amount of dirty linen washing that some of your lot got on with around licencing time was absolutely appalling and reflected badly on the whole lot of ye. Just from going on a niche, wierd, pointy headed, little website like foot.ie the world and his mother could know the most intimate of details about the GUST dealings. I shudder to think what the dogs on the streets of Galway knew.

It was shocking and it was no way for a club run in any kind of competent fashion to be conducting itself.

How could the FAI trust ye to run anything??

Our U19s ploughed on in case you didn't notice either, just finished their league season 2 weeks ago, the hard working lads in GUST kept the show on the road and ensured the fixtures were fulfilled.

Your U-19s were a disgrace.

P 15 W 1 (on the final day against a Carlow team that had more or less withdrawn) D 1 L 13 GF 13 GA 58

The hard working lads in GUST were running around trying to hand out walkovers as the season was drawing to an end.

When not playing in Terryland, you togged out in a series of unsuitable and fairly dangerous locations.

You may call this keeping the show on the road. I call it stubborn.

Hopefully the FAI will tidy the LoI mess up in Galway, and that we will be running out in Deacy Park in 2013

I have no doubt in my mind that the FAI will sort out the LoI mess in Galway. It's in their interests.

I've also no doubt in my mind that there'll be precious few GUST members involed when this happens unless they buck up the ideas and learn to keep the gobs shut a small bit.

I genuinely wish ye well. But a little less of the persecution complex would serve your cause no end. :ball:

geezer
10/04/2012, 9:52 PM
running around trying to hand out walkovers as the season was drawing to an end.

When not playing in Terryland, you togged out in a series of unsuitable and fairly dangerous locations.

You may call this keeping the show on the road. I call it stubborn.

absolute rubbish, the most dangerous places we togged out in was in hogan park Limerick, One of our coaching staff had his auto broken into.and the dressing rooms were not good enough for rats

GUST never in a million years would countenance a walkover

sad post to be honest

gufc2000
10/04/2012, 9:58 PM
My comments are totally reflective of my own opinion, this is a forum. Where did I say I was representing GUST at any stage there? I'm a supporter, not on any Management Committee or that, those views which are represented are totally reflective of MY opinion

A pathetic reply

10/04/2012, 10:52 PM
absolute rubbish, the most dangerous places we togged out in was in hogan park Limerick

Was this the game that the hard working lads in GUST managed to have nine players available in time for kick off??

In fairness Anacotty wasn't available on the day for some reason (I forget why) but we didn't use Hogan Park again due to it being less than ideal

What's your excuse for the poor facilities your underage teams have had??

One of our coaching staff had his auto broken into.

This the fella that parked outside Hogan Park??

That was a really silly thing to do. (aside from the obvious fact that Limerick can't be held responsible for it.)

But as I said before on this site when one of your ilk felt the need to bring this incident up, on the day he seemed like a lovely, reasonable, chap. Certainly not the type who'd want his experience used for cheap point scoring on the internet.

GUST never in a million years would countenance a walkover

You are misinformed.

I was expecting some big load of wind but for you to just be misinformed, well, it'd make you wonder what else you're misinformed about.

My comments are totally reflective of my own opinion, this is a forum. Where did I say I was representing GUST at any stage there? I'm a supporter, not on any Management Committee or that, those views which are represented are totally reflective of MY opinion

You're not licking stuff like:

When you have people working against you at the top how are you supposed to win.

Up off the stones.

Your opinion is being informed by people who should know better if they ever intend running a League Of Ireland club.

That was the only part of my post where I spoke directly about GUST. Apart from the start where I had wrongly assumed you were a member because you had the same spiel.

So, in summary, bravo on your debating skills.

sad post to be honest

In exchange I got a mixture of misinformation and bluster from a couple of people who didn't actually debate any of the points I raised. Apart from the misinformed bloke.

bluewhitearmy
10/04/2012, 10:55 PM

gufcfan
10/04/2012, 10:55 PM
A bigger pile of ****e I haven't seen on foot.ie for a long time LTID.

geezer
10/04/2012, 10:56 PM
sad sad man

pm me, thats a disgraceful charge and call me and i will tell you otherwise, In fact that 9 man story is such a lie you are a disgrace to the club you claim to represent. We had full squads at all our games except that Limerick game in lovely annacotty except we had 13 players there, one that picked up an injury just prior to kick off.
We had 16 at our last game V Carlow a credit to a bunch of lads that although may not have won all year til the last game but showed tremendous character to stick together all year.
Finding 66 u19s in Galway is not an easy task for national competition. In Galway that would be difficult in Hurling or Football

10/04/2012, 10:59 PM
I know what happened for a fact.

I'm not even getting into it. Throw internet shapes all you like tbh.

11/04/2012, 12:14 AM
In fairness to geezer I'm changing the "liar" label to "misinformed" for reasons I told him via pm and in fairness to the guy he could just be misinformed and was clearly kinda upset.

We don't want to actually upset anyone, tis just the internet. :ball:

In fact that 9 man story is such a lie you are a disgrace to the club you claim to represent

Galway United kicked off that game with nine players. There was people there FFS!! I said "in time for kick off". That was the crucial part.

Seriously, some of you GUST members/well wishers/ etc, get a grip. No one wishes you any particular ill will. Take a step back. Re group.

Stop the whining, paranoia and airing of dirty linen.

It's doing ye no good. It's doing the exact opposite.

Ask yourselves why Ronan Coleman rarely posts here anymore and certainly hasn't got involed in any of the nonsense??

Is it because he has a bit of cop on??

bluewhitearmy
11/04/2012, 1:17 AM
sad sad man

pm me, thats a disgraceful charge and call me and i will tell you otherwise, In fact that 9 man story is such a lie you are a disgrace to the club you claim to represent. We had full squads at all our games except that Limerick game in lovely annacotty except we had 13 players there, one that picked up an injury just prior to kick off.
We had 16 at our last game V Carlow a credit to a bunch of lads that although may not have won all year til the last game but showed tremendous character to stick together all year.
Finding 66 u19s in Galway is not an easy task for national competition. In Galway that would be difficult in Hurling or Football

Its a 100% fact i remember one of ye on here after it saying people got lost thats why ye started with 9 and i was at the game so seen it myself.

El-Pietro
11/04/2012, 7:52 AM
You would have guessed wrong.

The gate is split. It's a competition no one cares about. We're actively trying to leave Jackman Park. Why in the name of god would we exaggerate our attendances??

You're like that Longford fan in some other thread (forget who or where) who said no way was there 1200 in a ground he'd never been in before in his life last Friday night because he would have guessed around a thousand. :bulgy:

For the record it was three twenty odd not three twenty exactly. I can get the print outs for this (and ALL other games) sent to anyone who's overly arsed.

Thanks. :good:

I was just making a comment, didn't say your number was wrong. Relax a little bit, your team won, you should be happy.

11/04/2012, 10:15 AM
Ltid you complain about people whining on here while you attack all and sundry especially GUFC supporters.Get a life because its the likes of you who have people leaving this forum in their droves.

JC_GUFC
11/04/2012, 10:17 AM
Seriously, some of you GUST members/well wishers/ etc, get a grip. No one wishes you any particular ill will. Take a step back. Re group.

Stop the whining, paranoia and airing of dirty linen.

It's doing ye no good. It's doing the exact opposite.

Yeah you're right LtID. 99% of League of Ireland fans would be fully in support of Galway United getting back in to the league and realise that the situation in Galway is a total joke. I don't think any of those fans are really that interested in the ins and outs of how and why GUFC/GUST are not in the league this year.

This topic is supposed to be about attendances in the League of Ireland this season but has descended in to this rubbish of fans of each club slagging each other. Obviously with what happened some GUFC fans are very hurt and put out and don't take kindly to their hard effort to keep the show on the road - however bad the show was - being slagged off.

I was delighted for everyone involved that the u19s won their final game of the season - after a combined nearly 50 matches of the senior team and u19s not winning it was brilliant that the worst season in the history of Galway United finished with some positivity!

Anyway let's all be friends! I look forward to having a club to support playing against Limerick in Division 1 next season after you once again screw up this season. :ball:

11/04/2012, 12:25 PM
This topic is supposed to be about attendances in the League of Ireland this season but has descended in to this rubbish of fans of each club slagging each other.

I look forward to having a club to support playing against Limerick in Division 1 next season after you once again screw up this season. :ball:

Good of you to break the cycle though.

12/04/2012, 12:27 AM
I was just making a comment, didn't say your number was wrong. Relax a little bit, your team won, .

I was just playing El-P, you're one of my preferred posters. :good:

you should be happy

Talk to me about ten o'clock Friday!

12/04/2012, 12:31 AM
Ltid you complain about people whining on here while you attack all and sundry especially GUFC supporters..

It's a discussion forum.

It is not, I repeat not, a GUST (or anyone else for that matter) pr sheet

I debated a few points.

I didn't get much in the way of debate in return.

C'est la vie

"attack all and sundry"

It's words on a screen man. Attack is a bit silly.

its the likes of you who have people leaving this forum in their droves

I had assumed foot was dying because I haven't been posting as much as usual. :(

12/04/2012, 1:07 AM
Average Attendances After 6 Rounds:

PREMIER DIVISION

Bohs - 1874 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 850 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 3708 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 2500 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 1213 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1262 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Monaghan - 1125 (372 FD; 410 FD; 183 FD; 177 FD; 292 FD; 204 FD; 183 FD)
Pat's - 1976 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 4367 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1664 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2419 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 439 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Athlone - 346 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 613 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Limerick - 924 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 450 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 200 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 189 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 336 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 393 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)

PREMIER DIVISION AVERAGE: 1950

FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 431

There, look I helped. :ball:

El-Pietro
12/04/2012, 7:58 AM
I was just playing El-P, you're one of my preferred posters. :good:

Talk to me about ten o'clock Friday!
aww shucks:o