View Full Version : 2012 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

02/04/2012, 9:11 AM
for what one game? two? id be very surprised if Limerick averaged over 1500 over a whole season

We're obviously not close to 1000 a season at the moment, and I actually think that for league games, we won't get 1,000 more than once or twice this season, if at all.

After so many years in the first, it's hard to gauge what kind of crowds we'd get in th premier. One thing that following Limerick hs taught me is that a lot of our apparently loyal fans will abandon the team at the first sign of anything less than success.

thomas72
02/04/2012, 9:40 AM
We're obviously not close to 1000 a season at the moment, and I actually think that for league games, we won't get 1,000 more than once or twice this season, if at all.

After so many years in the first, it's hard to gauge what kind of crowds we'd get in th premier. One thing that following Limerick hs taught me is that a lot of our apparently loyal fans will abandon the team at the first sign of anything less than success.

That's the spirit.

El-Pietro
02/04/2012, 10:02 AM
you would be wrong I reckon along with playing top teams but the main reason iv predicted that is moving to our new stadium a 8,100 all seater which is in a excellent location in the city were we are now is a nightmare its a awful setup and location there are better junior grounds in Limerick.

and I predict you are delusional

02/04/2012, 11:03 AM
Wonder will there by any updated lists of all the teams this year......................loads of work for whoever but its always great to see the averages.......

02/04/2012, 8:20 PM
EDIT: Attendances have come from Extratime.ie or estimates from Foot.ie

Pineapple Stu usually does it. I did a list of the average attendances so far there. In the style of Stu as follows.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2057 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 625 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 3708 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 3250 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 1213 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1213 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Monaghan - 1125 (372 FD; 410 FD; 183 FD; 177 FD; 292 FD; 204 FD; 183 FD)
Pat's - 1340 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 4317 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1664 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2419 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 439 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 342 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 649 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Limerick - 750 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 450 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 146 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 198 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 336 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 393 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)

Premier Division average - 1948 (1,547; 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 408 (578; 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)

Overall average - ​1332 (1,110; 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)

El-Pietro
02/04/2012, 8:31 PM
can you put in that our 2009 seasons and before are premier seasons

02/04/2012, 8:33 PM
They would automatically be classed as that, as with everyone elses by being in the Premier. They're Premier unless stated otherwise. Likewise, in the first division, it would be First, unless stated otherwise.

02/04/2012, 9:26 PM
Top man Nigel, thanks.
Some good averages so far, good for the league

Trainee
02/04/2012, 9:51 PM
0.51% of our population regularly attend LOI games

http://www.sportingintelligence.com/2012/04/02/revealed-the-most-dedicated-football-nations-the-faroes-iceland-cyprus-scotland-and-england-020403/

02/04/2012, 10:12 PM
Top man Nigel, thanks.
Some good averages so far, good for the league

Averages would have been so much better in the first division if the FAI had a bit of sense and included GUST instead of Salthill. Not one average even close to 1,000 in the First for the first time in years I'd imagine. Unless Harps have a big promotion push I can't see that changing either.

bluemovie
02/04/2012, 10:40 PM
LImerick getting near a thousand a home game prob the best in the league huge potential if we get up to the premier next season with a new stadium playing the likes of shamrock rovers, cork, bohs, Derry, Silgo our attendance would hit between 3 and 4 thousand IMO.

:shock: Who are these people and where have they been?

02/04/2012, 11:27 PM
:shock: Who are these people and where have they been?

While I don't see us getting crowds stated above they are in fact the bandwagoners he is referring to. Same ones that show up to GAA matches when Limerick do well but go missing the rest of the year, the same ones who when Munster didn't get out of the group stages of the Heineken Cup didn't bother going to games till Munster were in a final against Leinster and suddenly were back in the their numbers.

If we go premier and do relatively well I think we could average about 1,300. If we do really well and challenge near enough the top we will go up towards the 2,000 mark. If we even slightly struggle we will be back to the usual 600-700. Same as a lot of teams I suppose.

El-Pietro
03/04/2012, 7:34 AM
0.51% of our population regularly attend LOI games

http://www.sportingintelligence.com/2012/04/02/revealed-the-most-dedicated-football-nations-the-faroes-iceland-cyprus-scotland-and-england-020403/
thats based on this season so far I'm sure. Not really accurate, I'm sure for example our attendance will fall away from the 3708 average we have so far. Something closer to 3,000 or 2,800 is more likely, and thats being optimistic.

bluemovie
03/04/2012, 9:55 AM
While I don't see us getting crowds stated above they are in fact the bandwagoners he is referring to. Same ones that show up to GAA matches when Limerick do well but go missing the rest of the year, the same ones who when Munster didn't get out of the group stages of the Heineken Cup didn't bother going to games till Munster were in a final against Leinster and suddenly were back in the their numbers.

If we go premier and do relatively well I think we could average about 1,300. If we do really well and challenge near enough the top we will go up towards the 2,000 mark. If we even slightly struggle we will be back to the usual 600-700. Same as a lot of teams I suppose.

Your figures are way more realistic than averaging three to four thousand.

03/04/2012, 1:30 PM
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 342 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 649 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Wexford - 393 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)

http://thumbpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/skeptical-baby.jpg

On the great Limerick debate, a competitive (which we should be with our vast, VAST, fortunes) Limerick team could possibly imho hit around the 3000-4000 mark for games with Shamrock Rovers and Cork City (assuming both bring at least 500 fans) You'd then have the 1500-2000 games against your Sligos, St. Pats, Dundalks and you'd have your 500-1000 games against your Brays and your UCD's.

Delighted with the crowds this year BUT we're yet to have a bad night for it. Even if they settle around last years average by the end of the season it'll be a great result considering the state of the division. :ball:

El-Pietro
03/04/2012, 2:08 PM
only Shamrock Rovers and Cork City have hit 4,000 this season and we're not likely to do it again for a league game this year. Limerick won't hit that target next season, you would need to be competitive for several seasons.

You'd get a bumper crowd for the first game or two alright in the new stadium if the fixture list is kind and you get attractive opposition but talk of an average of 3-4k is delusional. If Limerick could get those sort of numbers it would be fantastic for the league but its completely unrealistic

03/04/2012, 2:17 PM
only Shamrock Rovers and Cork City have hit 4,000 this season and we're not likely to do it again for a league game this year. Limerick won't hit that target next season, you would need to be competitive for several seasons.

You'd get a bumper crowd for the first game or two alright in the new stadium if the fixture list is kind.

You're contradicting yourself surely, you don't understand the amount of waffle and hype that goes on in Limerick.

I said possibly hit the 3-4000 mark for games with Shamrock Rovers or Cork City.

If our first game in the Markets Field was against Shamrock Rovers I'd bet you a million pound we'd hit 3-4000, it doesn't mean anything, it's just the nature of the beast.

An average in the Premier of 1200-1500 would be more than respectable for a city of Limericks size, if we're not ****e we could hit it.

If and when we get promoted like!!

03/04/2012, 8:47 PM
Lim till I die, why skeptical? What's so wrong with those attendances? Athlone and Wexford always have the start of season boost, and for Harps it's still disappointing, but there's an air of sudden optimism around Finn Park at the minute.

bluemovie
03/04/2012, 11:32 PM
If our first game in the Markets Field was against Shamrock Rovers I'd bet you a million pound we'd hit 3-4000

Typical nouveau riche splashing their cash around!

L.T.F.C.
03/04/2012, 11:38 PM
LImerick getting near a thousand a home game prob the best in the league huge potential if we get up to the premier next season with a new stadium playing the likes of shamrock rovers, cork, bohs, Derry, Silgo our attendance would hit between 3 and 4 thousand IMO.
You've been posting alot of crap in the last few days...

04/04/2012, 12:01 AM
Lim till I die, why skeptical? What's so wrong with those attendances? Athlone and Wexford always have the start of season boost, and for Harps it's still disappointing, but there's an air of sudden optimism around Finn Park at the minute.

There always seems to be a lot less people in Ballybofey when I get there than this thread ever suggests. With two exceptions -

That time ye were going for the title and there was feckin thousands there (went up in the back of a Citroen Berlingo to watch us get hosed 3-0 :bulgy:

When ye were going through that kiddie disco phase when every just about pubescent teen in Donegal seemed to be in for nothing roaming around the place. And you'd have a cheek counting them as attendane, they were just fighting and shifting, could have been at a bullfight for all the difference it made to them!

Wexford I could probably just about except considering they had their derby first day (and won same 6-0) Their crowds have been in the toilet the last couple of years though, barely a hundred there last time I was down and that was with a nice wedge of Blues.

Athlone gave an Official attendance of 350 the other night. Which I thought was a bit on the high side and even at that included 80 to 100 Limerick.

04/04/2012, 1:45 AM
There always seems to be a lot less people in Ballybofey when I get there than this thread ever suggests. With two exceptions -

That time ye were going for the title and there was feckin thousands there (went up in the back of a Citroen Berlingo to watch us get hosed 3-0 :bulgy:

When ye were going through that kiddie disco phase when every just about pubescent teen in Donegal seemed to be in for nothing roaming around the place. And you'd have a cheek counting them as attendane, they were just fighting and shifting, could have been at a bullfight for all the difference it made to them!

Wexford I could probably just about except considering they had their derby first day (and won same 6-0) Their crowds have been in the toilet the last couple of years though, barely a hundred there last time I was down and that was with a nice wedge of Blues.

Athlone gave an Official attendance of 350 the other night. Which I thought was a bit on the high side and even at that included 80 to 100 Limerick.

Hard to argue with some of what you say, but I do know for fact, that these are in fact official attendances, counted at each game in Ballybofey. We have had most definitely a few more this season than the end of last season so I'd 100% back up this seasons attendances stats.

As for the teenagers roaming the grounds, that still happens, it always will happen in Finn Park, but for some reason this season so far, not to the same extent whatsoever. Maybe about 15-20 of them now rather than the 'Finn Harps creche' we had in the past.

Athlone attendances have been iffy for a good while now as far as I see, but there was a fairly decent crowd there against Harps compared to previous seasons and Harps have always had around 50-100 people down in Athlone for away games.

Whenever we are pushing for promotion the crowds always turn out, but this season there seems to be a lot of new faces around Finn Park, and a few folk coming back that left in the past few years.

All's I know is, the last thing League of Ireland fans need to be doing are arguing about who's attendance is bigger, if each and every club in the league could lift their attendances by 400+ every week we'd be absolutely laughing. Fair play to any club who can keep their attendances up.

It's not often you'll find me saying stuff like this, but fair play to the likes of Sligo, Shamrock Rovers, Cork, Derry amongst others who can keep a good solid attendance week in/week out of over 2,500. Harps have made too many mistakes in the past, and one could only be jealous of such attendances. When we had them, we sadly couldn't keep them up.

El-Pietro
04/04/2012, 7:30 AM
You're contradicting yourself surely, you don't understand the amount of waffle and hype that goes on in Limerick.

I said possibly hit the 3-4000 mark for games with Shamrock Rovers or Cork City.

If our first game in the Markets Field was against Shamrock Rovers I'd bet you a million pound we'd hit 3-4000, it doesn't mean anything, it's just the nature of the beast.

An average in the Premier of 1200-1500 would be more than respectable for a city of Limericks size, if we're not ****e we could hit it.

If and when we get promoted like!!
so then we are in agreement regarding your attendances and Thomas72s sanity then?

thomas72
04/04/2012, 9:16 AM
so then we are in agreement regarding your attendances and Thomas72s sanity then?

It's an opinion get over it we will see next season will Limerick hit the 3 or 4 thousand attendance mark in a few games.

Battery Rover
05/04/2012, 11:54 AM

I can't make Friday night games due to college / home etc this season but I had texts from people after I put it online asking was it right as they thought there was more. It was the official ticket count plus sponsors etc at game direct from treasurer after cash count. Which is from the exact same source as the 58 was reported for the Drogheda EA Cup game. No reason for us not to report the correct figure.

More on our plate at the moment like the appointment of a CEO in the coming week (s)

05/04/2012, 4:47 PM
More on our plate at the moment like the appointment of a CEO in the coming week (s)

This isn't anywhere near as impressive as it sounds in your head. :)

geezer
05/04/2012, 5:03 PM
This isn't anywhere near as impressive as it sounds in your head. :)

a good friday home game is normally a great night to increase attendances so tomorrow night should be decent for all clubs

05/04/2012, 5:07 PM
Many Galway lads travelling down to Limerick?? :p

We have Derek O'Brien, Shaun Kelly, Barry Ryan, Shane Guthrie and a MASSIVE wage bill. Ye'd love it. :ball:

geezer
05/04/2012, 5:30 PM
Im know 7 that are going to limerick regularly. There is a bunch going to Athlone and even a few although we tried to ban them (joking) from going to the showgrounds.

Its on local radio today here that whats in Terryland at the minute hasnt exactly caught the publics imagination and its a matter of time before things change.

Hopefully the mooted Villa Legends game V a Galway United/ West United selection (chicks clubs) and the changing of the name from Terryland to Deacy Park in honour of Chick Deacy could be the showcase that Galway United supporters and GUST need and will prove the only appetite is for a unified Galway club.

Then we can all come down to Limerick hopefully sooner rather than later.

CrowdedHouse
05/04/2012, 6:20 PM
Many Galway lads travelling down to Limerick?? :p

We have Derek O'Brien, Shaun Kelly, Barry Ryan, Shane Guthrie and a MASSIVE wage bill. Ye'd love it. :ball:

Went to see Limerick in Fahys Field- ye were appallingly bad

05/04/2012, 6:36 PM
Must have filled you with a warm feeling of nostalgia for United surely??

Mervue away is always a sticky one.

Three points in the bag, onward we march. :cool:

bullit
06/04/2012, 8:53 PM
dundalkfc twitter go 1362 @ oriel park tonight with about 250-300 up from shels

06/04/2012, 9:20 PM
540 in Finn Park tonight against Salthill, definitely seemed more than that.

06/04/2012, 9:26 PM
1,270 in Jackman Park tonight.

wonder88
06/04/2012, 9:38 PM
Good to see Limerick getting over 1k at a game. However with Scully in charge I think it will be difficult for them to keep attracting soccer fans in big numbers because of the awful type of football his teams play.

06/04/2012, 10:24 PM
About 700-800 in Finn Park tonight. A nice crowd altogether to witness a cracking game full of entertainment.

06/04/2012, 10:39 PM
About 700-800 in Finn Park tonight. A nice crowd altogether to witness a cracking game full of entertainment.

540 was the official attendance.

Gorm agus Bán
06/04/2012, 10:53 PM
Yeah that number seems about right to me, I was guessing around the 500 mark. Down 10 from the Wexford game, would that be right?

06/04/2012, 10:55 PM
Jesus that's not what I expected at all. Seemed much more than that.

Gorm agus Bán
06/04/2012, 11:03 PM
It can be hard to gauge at times. I thought there were up to 400 in the RSC last week, but I think that estimate was slightly inflated!

gufc2000
06/04/2012, 11:07 PM
Extratime:

1500 estimated at the Brandywell

1508 in Dayler

3250 estimated in Inchicore

1500 estimated at the Carlisle Grounds

gufcfan
07/04/2012, 7:34 AM
Anybody able to comment on the 241 claimed by the Mervue United P.R.O. in his report for extratime? :D

Also, there was hardly 1,500 in the Carlisle Grounds?

Green&whitearmy
07/04/2012, 8:16 AM
there was probably about 1200 at the game last night with a very decent sligo crowd, maybe about 500 or a bit more of them..

trevy
07/04/2012, 12:05 PM
Less than 100 mentioned by a Waterford fan on our website for the Mervue game last night

Bray Head
07/04/2012, 1:49 PM
Anybody able to comment on the 241 claimed by the Mervue United P.R.O. in his report for extratime? :D

There was a good crowd in the Carlisle, best of the season so far. Around 1300 - 1400 i'd say.

Sean South
07/04/2012, 3:12 PM

600plus Rovers fans

dublinwanderer
07/04/2012, 3:16 PM
600plus Rovers fans

Are you joking? 600plus sligo fans? Not a hope, no more than 500 tops... Which is brilliant by the way and all a credit to your club!!! We will be lucky to have 20 fans travelling to sligo!!!

I would have said 1300 at the game which is great, hope we can build on it!

Battery Rover
07/04/2012, 3:29 PM
Athlone Town vs Wexford Youths

358 (Official)

Sean South
07/04/2012, 3:57 PM
Are you joking? 600plus sligo fans? Not a hope, no more than 500 tops... Which is brilliant by the way and all a credit to your club!!! We will be lucky to have 20 fans travelling to sligo!!!

I would have said 1300 at the game which is great, hope we can build on it!
One of your officials said well over a 1/3 of the attendance was from Sligo. So going by the 1500 was given that would make 600.

07/04/2012, 4:15 PM
One of your officials said well over a 1/3 of the attendance was from Sligo. So going by the 1500 was given that would make 600.

Your math skills leave a lot to be desired.