View Full Version : 2012 attendances
07/10/2012, 8:55 PM
Any Attendance from Longford? Id say 450 with 300 up from Limerick
NeverFeltBetter
07/10/2012, 9:20 PM
Is that Longford's biggest gate this season?
07/10/2012, 9:27 PM
Extratime had it down as 450est. I think Longford have got over 500 on a few occasions.
PartySaint
07/10/2012, 9:54 PM
2,100 att DundalkFC v StPats
Very poor home support for a Cup semi-final. I'd say the crowd was 50-50 maybe 55-45 in favour of Dundalk.
07/10/2012, 10:10 PM
Gosh darn it...inflating those figures again. Where was the other one hiding?
Did you count yourself?
Sean South
08/10/2012, 11:05 AM
Really poor attendances in both semi finals. Be lucky if there is 10k at the final this year.
08/10/2012, 11:17 AM
Really poor attendances in both semi finals. Be lucky if there is 10k at the final this year.
Derry can get a cup final bandwagon. What did Shels bring last year?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/10/2012, 11:19 AM
Derry can get a cup final bandwagon. What did Shels bring last year?
4k I think
(don't even know why I'm answering this as all it's going to lead to us a "we brought way more then that" v "they never brought that many" debate)
08/10/2012, 11:32 AM
4k I think
(don't even know why I'm answering this as all it's going to lead to us a "we brought way more then that" v "they never brought that many" debate)
Thats basically what this thread is. Cheers though.
Straightstory
08/10/2012, 11:34 AM
Weird that attendances were so low. Both games looked terrible on TV. Hopefully there's a much better sense of occasion at the Aviva.
08/10/2012, 12:15 PM
Did you count yourself?
See now, I'm not too sure if I did or not.
08/10/2012, 12:28 PM
Weird that attendances were so low.
It was actually an increased attendance for us compared to most league games. Symptomatic of our home performances this season. Really apathy about.
gufcfan
08/10/2012, 12:38 PM
What was the attendance at the Derry v Dundalk league game last Tues?
08/10/2012, 5:50 PM
What was the attendance at the Derry v Dundalk league game last Tues?
700 odd, AFAIK. Horrific stuff.
08/10/2012, 8:48 PM
700 odd, AFAIK. Horrific stuff.
Whats happening up in Derry? I always thought ye would be one of those clubs with such a hardcore support ye would always have big (LOI wise) crowds through thick and thin. What would have happened if ye had spent another few years in the First Division? Is it just there was high expectations after a great first season back in the Premier?
08/10/2012, 9:13 PM
Any Attendance from Longford? Id say 450 with 300 up from Limerick
Extratime had it down as 450est. I think Longford have got over 500 on a few occasions.
Sounds about right. We've had bigger attendances than that, I think we had over 700 at one game earlier in the year.
PartySaint
08/10/2012, 11:12 PM
Whats happening up in Derry? I always thought ye would be one of those clubs with such a hardcore support ye would always have big (LOI wise) crowds through thick and thin. What would have happened if ye had spent another few years in the First Division? Is it just there was high expectations after a great first season back in the Premier?
I've been surprised by that myself. It seems now only Cork can get good (LOI wise) attendances no matter how they are doing.
gufcfan
08/10/2012, 11:23 PM
Would be pleasantly surprised if RTÉ show it. Probably Setanta if anybody.
09/10/2012, 12:21 AM
I've been surprised by that myself. It seems now only Cork can get good (LOI wise) attendances no matter how they are doing.
*cough Finn Harps? ;)
09/10/2012, 12:31 AM
Averages 28. Ahead of final round of First Division games. Interestingly, the overall averages of both divisions stay exactly the same after this week. (Granted only 3 Premier League clashes were added.)
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1488 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 970 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2786 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1436 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 963 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1037 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Pat's - 1494 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3277 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1200 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2600 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 521 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 283 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 429 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Limerick - 677 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 365 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 242 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 182 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 453 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 302 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1616 (1,547, 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 367 (578, 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1090 (1,110, 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
09/10/2012, 12:37 AM
One strange thing I'll point out. The average attendances in the First Division in order:
Limerick - 677
Waterford - 453
Harps - 429
Longford - 365
Wexford - 302
Athlone - 283
Mervue - 242
SD Galway - 182
Now simply switch Finn Harps below Wexford, and you have the current standing in the table. Similarly, how easily the table could have turned out exactly like this.
09/10/2012, 1:57 AM
Would be pleasantly surprised if RTÉ show it. Probably Setanta if anybody.
RTE won't show it and I doubt Setanta will either. I don't know how the RTE option works but I wouldn't be surprised if they could veto Setanta showing FAI Cup games, and exercised said veto.
Straightstory
09/10/2012, 9:32 AM
Bohs 1,488 both this year and last year. Uncanny. Anybody know if these are also exactly the same people?
09/10/2012, 11:36 AM
I'd say we'd have a core of about 1,000 who'd turned up for all weekend games regardless. Our mid-week attendances have always been a fair bit lower anyway, and this season has just made it worse.
There were fairly high expectations at the start of the season (misplaced, IMO), but the main reason is simply because we keep losing at home. People aren't used to it. Even back in 2003 when we almost got relegated, we didn't lose an awful lot of home games. It frustrates fans, I suppose.
Dalymountrower
09/10/2012, 1:11 PM
Bohs 1,488 both this year and last year. Uncanny. Anybody know if these are also exactly the same people?
One home game to go against Drogs so the average will be up or down ever so slightly on last year. It all depends on whether Chris Forrester is otherwise engaged that night
09/10/2012, 1:21 PM
Unless, the attendance is exactly 1,488 against Drogs.
One strange thing I'll point out. The average attendances in the First Division in order:
Now simply switch Finn Harps below Wexford, and you have the current standing in the table. Similarly, how easily the table could have turned out exactly like this.
its almost as if people prefer going to see sides who are doing well? mad..
09/10/2012, 1:34 PM
its almost as if people prefer going to see sides who are doing well? mad..
And they still go to our games?
Nope I don't buy that for one minute...
09/10/2012, 4:23 PM
I think our game against limerick earlier in the season after our fai cup match ko we got an attendance of 700!
Limerick - 677
Waterford - 453
Harps - 429
Longford - 365
Wexford - 302
Athlone - 283
Mervue - 242
SD Galway - 182
GUST FC will surely walk the league next year so, if they get a licence !!!!
09/10/2012, 4:38 PM
GUST FC will surely walk the league next year so, if they get a licence !!!!
And Salthill will still finish bottom.
the only way is up !
ForzaForth
10/10/2012, 10:24 PM
Attendance at Wexford v. Athlone: 224.
MeathDrog
10/10/2012, 11:00 PM
1477 at Shels V Derry.
NeverFeltBetter
13/10/2012, 9:39 PM
1386 in Jackman tonight.
13/10/2012, 9:40 PM
428 in Finn Park tonight with a grand total of 4 Longford fans.
Guinney
13/10/2012, 9:58 PM
Quite sad to see Oriel so empty tonight. LMFM tweeted 250 at it. In fairness Bohs brought a good few up to Oriel and there was a bunch of maybe 15/20 German fans there who were passing through Dundalk and popped in for the match. Not to many Dundalk fans though :(
Battery Rover
13/10/2012, 10:00 PM
Athlone Town vs Waterford 124
fionnsci
13/10/2012, 10:13 PM
1386 in Jackman tonight.
What was the presentation like considering the loss? Take away from party atmosphere?
NeverFeltBetter
13/10/2012, 10:37 PM
Not really. Lads in the stand went mental at FT, spent most of the time before that mocking Danny Furlong everytime he missed or scored. Game was pretty much a write off once the second red was flashed.
d rovers
14/10/2012, 12:39 AM
5621 at Sligo Rovers vs St Pats.
Fair play to all the Pats fans who stayed on long after the final whistle to applaud, touch of class.
Dalymountrower
14/10/2012, 4:04 PM
A few hundred German fans in the crowd of 1800 in Tallaght. Did UCD get a German subsidy as well yesterday?
bluemovie
14/10/2012, 4:13 PM
Not really. Lads in the stand went mental at FT, spent most of the time before that mocking Danny Furlong everytime he missed or scored. Game was pretty much a write off once the second red was flashed.
Danny Furlong whose girlfriend was murdered during the season, but who still ended up the division's top scorer? Have to admire the fella.
bluewhitearmy
14/10/2012, 4:16 PM
Danny Furlong whose girlfriend was murdered during the season, but who still ended up the division's top scorer? Have to admire the fella.
What has that got to do with people singing "Score if you want we're still the champions".
I mean fair play to him its brilliant for him and it was tragic what happened but has nothing to do with what was being said.
14/10/2012, 5:29 PM
I thought it was his sister?
He sprung up out of nowhere too in the scoring charts. Fair play to him. 2 Wexford players in the top 4 scorers in the First Division.
14/10/2012, 5:33 PM
I thought it was his sister?
He sprung up out of nowhere too in the scoring charts. Fair play to him. 2 Wexford players in the top 4 scorers in the First Division.
Ya it was his girlfriend, just the same last name.
Ya he did very well seems as he didn't play a lot of the season. Wouldn't mind seeing him get a crack at the premier with ourselves. Think he was on trial with Cork at the start of this season.
cornflakes
14/10/2012, 6:07 PM
Ya he did very well seems as he didn't play a lot of the season. Wouldn't mind seeing him get a crack at the premier with ourselves. Think he was on trial with Cork at the start of this season.
I heard he turned down Limerick and Waterford at the start of the season to stay with us. Hopefully he stays next season too
bluewhitearmy
14/10/2012, 6:14 PM
I heard he turned down Limerick and Waterford at the start of the season to stay with us. Hopefully he stays next season too
Heard the same... he is a very good player wouldn't be surprised if we came back in.
cornflakes
14/10/2012, 6:33 PM
He really did, he got 10 goals in his last 8 games! Elmes had a great season too, scored a lot of important goals and plenty against Harps :p
Heard the same... he is a very good player wouldn't be surprised if we came back in.
You don't need him. Spend your coal money somewhere else
14/10/2012, 6:42 PM
only for Wexford's blip in the middle of the season they could have easily have passed us out! I am not surprised with only 4 ltfc fans as a lot of fans are savin their money for the playoffs including yours truly! the next two/four weeks are goin to be massive for us ...