View Full Version : 2012 attendances
geezer
13/07/2012, 5:58 PM
Does this mean I can't report on match attendances even though I hold season tickets for both Mervue and Salthill?
Attendances are hugely important when you have been expunged from football, and despite been out of football are the only group of people in the region promoting League of Ireland.
13/07/2012, 6:24 PM
Jesus that's a poor looking crowd in Derry. Especially the away crowd. Very poor support from Sligo, must be less than 100 away fans, only a 2 hour drive up the road.
13/07/2012, 6:33 PM
Stupid time for a kick-off though.
gordongekko
13/07/2012, 7:15 PM
Jesus that's a poor looking crowd in Derry. Especially the away crowd. Very poor support from Sligo, must be less than 100 away fans, only a 2 hour drive up the road.
Ah leave it out we are all sick of hearing harps fans on here talking about crowds in Derry and Sligo support. Sick of it i tell ya :)
13/07/2012, 8:23 PM
Ah leave it out we are all sick of hearing harps fans on here talking about crowds in Derry and Sligo support. Sick of it i tell ya :)
Anyone who is sick of hearing it can just skip the posts and not whine about it like muppets.
I dont understand the fascination with people complaining about me posting an accurate figure
Shame on me for discussing attendances in an 'Attendance' thread, absolutely shocking.
gordongekko
13/07/2012, 8:31 PM
Anyone who is sick of hearing it can just skip the posts and not whine about it like muppets.
I dont understand the fascination with people complaining about me posting an accurate figure
Shame on me for discussing attendances in an 'Attendance' thread, absolutely shocking.
The point I'm making is, I don't care, and nobody else really does either.
I support the Harps cause, I would love to see a Harps team in the League of Ireland in their new stadium, but jesus christ, please give it a rest as I'm growing tired of constant giving out about Sligos and Derrys attendances.
13/07/2012, 8:33 PM
I'm no good at judging the size of crowds,but i'd say theres around seventeen million of them out there.
13/07/2012, 8:36 PM
I support the Harps cause, I would love to see a Harps team in the League of Ireland in their new stadium, but jesus christ, please give it a rest as I'm growing tired of constant giving out about Sligos and Derrys attendances.
Find 5 posts where I do so ;) And sorry to let you down, but Harps already do play in the League of Ireland. It's wonderful having a team to support.
gordongekko
13/07/2012, 8:46 PM
Regardless of what you believe, what you give out about, and what crowd you say are there, I will continue to put Extratimes attendance figures down for as long as I keep doing the attendance averages.
I've said it already, and it's the last time I'll say it. We all know they are inflated figures, we all know nobody actually supports Mervue and SD Galway, I've been to Drom with about 40 Harps fans and outnumbered the home support 40 to 1.
I support the GUST cause, I would love to see a GUST team in the League of Ireland in Terryland, I don't like how you were just discarded from the league in favour of Mervue and Salthill, but jesus christ, please give it a rest as I'm growing tired of constant giving out about their attendances.
Find 5 posts where I do so ;) And sorry to let you down, but Harps already do play in the League of Ireland. It's wonderful having a team to support.
I was just adopting your last post giving out about us talking about the salthill crowds. And we still have a team to support just not one in this league at the moment.
Battery Rover
13/07/2012, 9:00 PM
Athlone Town vs Finn Harps
302 official
gufcfan
13/07/2012, 9:09 PM
Dundalk v Rovers
1319 wasn't it?
Trust member give it as 1619 on Twitter.
Deffo more than 1319 there anyway.
13/07/2012, 9:22 PM
Any significant increase in the home support now McCaffrey is gone?
gordongekko
13/07/2012, 9:30 PM
The gospel according to extratime have it as 1319
Cuyahoga
Extratime.ie said 1,319 though that could well be wrong.
colonelwest
Roughly about 50% compared to the average this season. Not to be going to go off topic but tbh in the grand scheme of things he wasn't the problem, still have the other clown running the show and the club into the ground the last 2/3 years, but not for much longer hopefully.
bullit
13/07/2012, 9:41 PM
Extratime.ie said 1,319 though that could well be wrong.
Prob a typo,1619 is dead on,felt like 16,190,great atmosphere,the ground was rocking.
Partizan
13/07/2012, 9:59 PM
572 tonight according to extratime at the RSC for the Waterford v SD Galway game.
13/07/2012, 11:25 PM
Mervue vs Limerick Att: *10,010.
*Drop as many zero's as ye feel necessary.
Green&whitearmy
14/07/2012, 10:44 AM
I's say there was about 800 at the bray-shels game last night.
Eminence Grise
14/07/2012, 11:38 AM
Is that not binary? Converts to 18 the interwebby informs me. We could always ask the Corrib College of Counting to get back to us with a definite figure when they've finished their Salthill sums.
14/07/2012, 12:15 PM
307 according to extratime. *raises eyebrow..waits for gust response.
14/07/2012, 12:35 PM
I was also at the game in Mervue last night and I can confirm that Jofspring's crowd is accurate to the last man.
Or there may have been a minimum of 250 at it (a good Limerick crowd) making the official figure reasonable enough in my eyes.
In other news Mervue tore strips off Phil Caschera in their programme (called him a 'liar' amongst other things) and Alan Murphy is currently sporting a beard that would look more at home in a police line-up than on the football field.
14/07/2012, 1:28 PM
In other news Mervue tore strips off Phil Caschera in their programme (called him a 'liar' amongst other things) .
A €5,000 fine for any other club. A "Please don't say that again" for Mervue no doubt.
Is that not binary? Converts to 18 the interwebby informs me. We could always ask the Corrib College of Counting to get back to us with a definite figure when they've finished their Salthill sums.
Do you mean the Colaiste Na Coiribe on the tuam road?
gufcfan
15/07/2012, 6:00 PM
From Extratime...
Bohs v UCDD: 799
Pats v Drogs: 1391
16/07/2012, 10:42 AM
Averages after week 18:
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1644 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 1000 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 3126 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1711 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 1014 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1091 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Pat's - 1620 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3475 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1401 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2346 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 481 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 300 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 452 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Limerick - 657 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 406 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 265 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 216 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 410 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 365 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1719
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 384
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1157
wonder88
16/07/2012, 10:24 PM
Poor crowds by both Bohs and Pats. Clear that fine sunny sunday afternoons do not suit the Dublin soccer public.
PartySaint
16/07/2012, 10:38 PM
Poor crowds by both Bohs and Pats. Clear that fine sunny sunday afternoons do not suit the Dublin soccer public.
Anything other than Friday night at 19:45 affects our crowd big time, I'm actually happy with just under 1,400 for a Sunday afternoon game.
16/07/2012, 11:05 PM
Yeah, more than happy with that crowd.
horton
17/07/2012, 3:58 PM
Apologies if this has already been mentioned elsewhere:
DERRY CITY is to seek compensation from the FAI for the dramatic loss in gate receipts caused by televised games which the club believe are ‘crucifying’ its finances.SIMON COLLINS reports
The club’s Vice Chairman, Sean Barrett insists that the presence of the RTE cameras for Friday night’s home clash against league leaders, Sligo Rovers dramatically reduced the attendance at the Brandywell which is having severe financial implications for the club.
In fact Friday’s attendance, which is believed to be well below 1,000 with just 448 paying customers, was incredibly the lowest it has been in the Premier Division since the club entered the League of Ireland in 1985.
Sligo Rovers, who normally bring in the region of 600 travelling supporters to Brandywell, brought just 125 on Friday night despite the Bit O’Red chasing their first League of Ireland title since 1977.
At the beginning of the 2012 season, Premier Division clubs waived any TV rights when signing the ‘participation agreement’ but Mr. Barrett revealed last night that the club will seek compensation such is the financial loss experienced when the RTE cameras roll into town.
Premier Division clubs have reported as much as a 60 per cent loss in ticket sales when games are televised ‘live’ which, according to the ‘Candy Stripes’ Vice Chairman, is simply unsustainable.
“The impact it has on attendances is dramatic,” said Mr Barrett. “Especially Friday night’s game, it was an absolute killer for us. On average we would have between 500 and 600 Sligo fans coming and we had 125 on Friday night!
“From a revenue point of view it’s disastrous,” he added. “Even some of our season ticket holders don’t come to the games if they’re on the television. That’s people that have already paid their entrance money.
“The Derry City v Sligo matches are normally our biggest for attendances. In fact, from when we came back into the League of Ireland, our biggest gates are against Sligo Rovers and our smallest gate in the Premier Division since we’ve been in the League of Ireland was on Friday night.
“It’s scary how big of an impact the presence of the RTE cameras have on attendances. Obviously the fact we’re not playing too well has an impact and maybe because it was the July weekend and everyone was away for the weekend had too.
“But it’s been proved that gates receipts are down in the region of 60 per cent with TV games. It’s crucifying the crowds.”
Friday night’s game was the second Derry City fixture shown ‘live’ on RTE this season and with Shamrock Rovers having been televised in excess of six times already, the clubs have called for an EGM to address the situation.
“Shamrock Rovers are getting absolutely hammered because they’ve seven or eight games televised,” explained Mr Barrett. “There’s no set figure on how many games will be televised. We don’t get any funding whatsoever for ‘live’ games. There’s no TV rights whatsoever, they’ve ended all that.
“They included that in the participation agreement at the start of the season that we all signed up to or else we weren’t allowed into the league and it was part of the stipulations that we had to build a gantry for TV.
“We’ve been lucky in that we’ve only had two ‘live’ games so far but it dramatically effects the crowd, there’s no doubt about that. It’s incredible.
“We have no say because we’ve signed up to it at the start of the season but will we sign up to it next year? I’m not so sure. We must get some sort of compensation for it because we simply can’t afford to be losing the amount of money that we’re losing because of it.
“We’ll be asking for compensation. The clubs have asked for an EGM for several reasons but that’s the main issue - the TV. It’s only affecting three or four clubs, that’s the problem. They’re not going to Shelbourne or Bohs, they’re just coming to Sligo, Derry, St Pat’s and Shamrock Rovers are getting hammered by it.”
Obviously the knock-on effect of the paltry gate receipts is the impact on Derry boss, Declan Devine’s transfer budget and with the club currently amid a well documented injury crisis, the poor attendances are greatly damaging any chances of strengthening the squad.
“We have to re-adjust our budget month by month and even last month we’re dramatically down and it’s scary.
“It’s affecting Declan’s budget. Both Declan and Paul wil be coming to the Board meeting and asking to strengthen the squad and I’m going to be giving them a report of where we stand based on what money we have in and he’s going to be disappointed. That’s the reality of it.
“We’ll be seeking compensation., we might not get it but it’s disastrous. It’s crucifying the league.”
Incredibly, six of Friday night’s squad were involved in last night’s Foyle Cup Under-19 competition which highlights the lack of depth available for Devine, yet he understands the detrimental affect the poor attendances are having on the club’s funds.
“As much as I welcome the involvement of RTE in the league, it does help the league but attendances are definitely down,” said Devine.
“We were down at least 400 Sligo supporters. The last time Sligo were here and it wasn’t televised they brought over 400 supporters. That’s big income to the club that we’re missing out in.
“The atmosphere was very good having saying that. I thought the support was very pleasing and they got behind the team. I think they recognised the players are trying their best”
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/television-is-crucifying-the-league-1-4064401
Whilst televising games obviously has a knock on effect on attendances, our gates have been gradually declining for last couple of months anyway, there's been manys a thread on our own MB complaining about this, fans are getting increasingly frustrated about the team/managements performance.
I'd say the July weekend did have a big impact on the home support. The impact on the Sligo fans is unexpectedly high, although the earlier kickoff may well have made it more awkward for a lot of people.
In general though I'd always argue you should be able to make back what you lose in gates in terms of sponsorship, but in the current environment maybe that's not the case.
gufc2000
17/07/2012, 4:34 PM
7pm kick offs on a Friday are ridiculous anyways, RTE need to pick more suitable times if they are televising the games. Also why did the clubs waive their TV fees? Surely the clubs can dispute/challenge items in the Participation Agreement, there should be two way collaboration instead of it all being down to the FAI.
That said- it's scary when Derry are only getting that many paying in. Is there even a single club that can be really happy with their crowds this season? Maybe Sligo and Limerick, but neither of them are really outstanding considering their positions.
17/07/2012, 9:16 PM
I'd say Cork city are pretty happy with our attendances. Our form has been patchy but the crowds have held up pretty well.
18/07/2012, 1:55 PM
Drogs would have to be happy to be back to the level of 3 years ago, though they're still a long way off their peak.
El-Pietro
19/07/2012, 1:09 PM
So if Sligo start reporting 8000 instead of 2000 will people on here start saying "Don't really see your fascination with their crowds?" We have only pointed out that they are massively inflated. I dont understand the fascination with people complaining about us pointing out a clearly incorrect figure passing as fact.
but ye are annoying the people who would normally be on your side, putting people off GUST in general
gufcfan
19/07/2012, 1:27 PM
but ye are annoying the people who would normally be on your side, putting people off GUST in general
If you are annoyed by people giving accurate attendance figures in an attendance thread, then the problem lies with you.
There's plenty of issues I'm sick hearing about on foot.ie, but I don't post whining about that fact. I just ignore them.
So you're not sick of people posting Salthill crowd figures then?
gufcfan
19/07/2012, 1:59 PM
The irony in this thread is unbelievable.
bluewhitearmy
19/07/2012, 2:18 PM
If you are annoyed by people giving accurate attendance figures in an attendance thread, then the problem lies with you.
I agree that is ridiculous the figures they give at our recent game against Mervue the attendance given to Extratime was at very least 150 more then was actually there. But we know this and we will take it every week that they have put them up.
Is there not more use in looking at the trends in the attendances rather than absolutes anyway? That makes whether clubs count non attending season tickets or not irrelevant, once the basis is consistent over a few seasons.
Insiders (i.e. us) know that some figures are inflated, so what if the impression is given to outsiders that the league and/or clubs are slightly more popular than they are?
I don't see it helping GUST's cause to be continually justifying themselves by doing down others either tbh.
19/07/2012, 2:46 PM
I don't see it helping GUST's cause to be continually justifying themselves by doing down others either tbh.
Which of course is the whole point of all these posts which are 'just pointing out the exaggerated attendance numbers.' But they ignore the fact that people have been highlighting this for ages, and nobody has taken the figures seriously for a long time.
marinobohs
19/07/2012, 3:29 PM
Sunday kick off always lead to dip in crowds and, to be fair, european matches probobly had an impact (both on and off the pitch)
Trainee
19/07/2012, 4:11 PM
Sunday kick off always lead to dip in crowds and, to be fair, european matches probobly had an impact (both on and off the pitch)
Worst time for kick off is Saturday afternoon that Rte show live
Trainee
20/07/2012, 10:17 PM
Tonight's attendances as per Extratime.ie
Tallaght 2,100 (est)
Dundalk 1,000 (est)
Mervue 150
Tolka 1,131
Limerick ?
bullit
20/07/2012, 10:38 PM
Tonight's attendances as per Extratime.ie
Dundalk 1,000 (est)
it must be hard to try and estimate the attendances from the press box in Oriel(way back in the stand).There was over 1300 at the match and if i was to round it up to even numbers i would go 1400.Not great but an improvment on what we where getting.
20/07/2012, 11:05 PM
it must be hard to try and estimate the attendances from the press box in Oriel(way back in the stand).There was over 1300 at the match and if i was to round it up to even numbers i would go 1400.Not great but an improvment on what we where getting.
See if you can get your hands on an official attendance. I find sometimes that extratime estimates are way off.
Bawnville Hoop
20/07/2012, 11:16 PM
2,600 in Tallaght