sullanefc
31/08/2012, 9:04 PM
Tx 3004.
bluemovie
31/08/2012, 9:11 PM
843 at Limerick
01/09/2012, 6:37 PM
Counted 160 in Mervue last night. That includes about 50 Harps fans.
You really know the site has died when there's people posting about attendances but not a thread to be seen about the actual games.
2375 in the showgrounds tonight
Was a small bit in last week Sun Indo on this , comparing what Cooke had left to go to. Accrington Stanley got something like 400 less in their lge 2 game that w/e, and as Cooke is a big Scouse fan, it also said the Sligo game was sponsored by the 'Liverpool branch' of their SC (Prob a few lads, but fair play)
Drogs v Dlk, 933 as per ET, but unusually a little higher by the Irish Times, 1115.........the locals dont seem to be that excited about 2nd place.........which is a shame. I wasnt at the game so cant vouch for away support.
gufcfan
01/09/2012, 10:04 PM
239 in Eamonn Deacy Park tonight.
Did a rough count myself before HT and came out around the same.
bullit
02/09/2012, 3:29 AM
Was a small bit in last week Sun Indo on this , comparing what Cooke had left to go to. Accrington Stanley got something like 400 less in their lge 2 game that w/e, and as Cooke is a big Scouse fan, it also said the Sligo game was sponsored by the 'Liverpool branch' of their SC (Prob a few lads, but fair play)
Drogs v Dlk, 933 as per ET, but unusually a little higher by the Irish Times, 1115.........the locals dont seem to be that excited about 2nd place.........which is a shame. I wasnt at the game so cant vouch for away support.
400 wrecked at the end Lilywhites.
WindmillWarrior
02/09/2012, 9:27 AM
400 my a*se!! There was a few more than usual, but defo not as many as 400!
Brutal home crowd from us alright, but those that did bother to go were thoroughly rewarded :D :D :D
bullit
02/09/2012, 2:52 PM
Ahhh your annual post is in i see WW.It usualy arrives just after yee beat us. :rolleyes:
02/09/2012, 5:02 PM
Ahhh your annual post is in i see WW.It usualy arrives just after yee beat us. :rolleyes:
I didn't even think this forum was 664 years old.
400 wrecked at the end Lilywhites.
Thats more than was at your home game with Pats 2 weeks ago.
oriel
03/09/2012, 10:22 AM
Are you suggesting there was 600 Pats fans at that game Dodge?? in the same game that ET reported 'estimated 1,000'..............I dont have the offical figure to hand but think it was 955, which actually surprised me for a Mon night.
03/09/2012, 10:40 AM
The estimate was frankly a joke. I'd say less than 500 at it.
Not that it matters what I think, obviously
03/09/2012, 10:48 AM
These Monday night games are killing us, seriously need to avoid these. Clubs find it hard to survive week to week with this craic.
And for all the noise the FAI make about RTE having exclusive access to footage for MNS, then then go and take about 50% of the viewership away from actually watching the damn thing by putting the games on a Monday night, stooopid or what !!!The FAI don't care about football in this country, it's their job to sabotage it.
Monday again next week against Bray.
The club asked Bray would they mind moving it out to the following Friday as we are both out of the cup.
Bray agreed but the FAI said No.
With the kids now back at school a Monday game is attendance suicide.
03/09/2012, 10:52 AM
and as Cooke is a big Scouse fan, it also said the Sligo game was sponsored by the 'Liverpool branch' of their SC (Prob a few lads, but fair play)The Sligo branch of the Liverpool supporters club.
Its a real achievement from any source these days getting games sponsored, so fair play to this group. We had an unusal source who sponsored 2 or 3 games in the last 2 years, 'The Sunday Night Club', Im told a group of seniors who go to the Oriel Pk clubhouse every week for a night's entertainment, god knows how they raise it, but it all counts these days. Gone are the days when games were sponsored in advance, and for a lot of years, for the whole season.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/09/2012, 8:04 PM
3,127 in the showgrounds
Good enough for a Monday night I suppose. It's annoying to think of the revenue lost though.
I don't think it's overstating to suggest we could have managed to top 4000 for this if it were on a Saturday night.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/09/2012, 8:55 PM
I blame the FAI for the rain that put people off as well
Cuyahoga
04/09/2012, 4:20 PM
852 at Richmond park last night and 1,250 at Tallaght stadium for the LSC final according to extratime.ie
ForzaForth
04/09/2012, 6:19 PM
194 at Wexford Youths v SD Galway
oriel
04/09/2012, 10:08 PM
Good enough for a Monday night I suppose. It's annoying to think of the revenue lost though.
I don't think it's overstating to suggest we could have managed to top 4000 for this if it were on a Saturday night.
3,127 Good enough for Monday night ????
I'd suggest a lot of clubs in Lge 2 in UK would be happy with that on a Sat afternoon.
bullit
04/09/2012, 10:25 PM
Question is,have Sligo ever beaten 3.127 for a leauge match that was played on a Sat night? Or is this just complaining for the sake of it?
Battery Rover
05/09/2012, 12:04 AM
Question is,have Sligo ever beaten 3.127 for a leauge match that was played on a Sat night? Or is this just complaining for the sake of it?
They have had 5000 at a First Division game against Athlone on a Saturday night the year they won Division 1.
I would expect them to top 6000 / 7000 for the game that will win the league for them.
Yes and Yes
redobit
05/09/2012, 11:45 AM
Well we'd have a lot more of those size crowds thats for sure. We had 2550 odd for a saturday night game against UCD with no travelling fans. As for the complaining for the sake of it. Please, sure we only love losing gate money so we can have a moan about it on foot.ie ffs.
In fairness bullit I think the question that you/we should be asking is Why the Director of RTE can dictate footbal matches start times without any input from clubs? He could have a game on a Tuesday morning at 10 o'clock if he wanted to.
3,127 Good enough for Monday night ????
I'd suggest a lot of clubs in Lge 2 in UK would be happy with that on a Sat afternoon.
For a team top of the league it's good enough. Could be better and almost certainly would be if it were on a Saturday night.
Well we'd have a lot more of those size crowds thats for sure. We had 2550 odd for a saturday night game against UCD with no travelling fans. As for the complaining for the sake of it. Please, sure we only love losing gate money so we can have a moan about it on foot.ie ffs.
In fairness bullit I think the question that you/we should be asking is Why the Director of RTE can dictate footbal matches start times without any input from clubs? He could have a game on a Tuesday morning at 10 o'clock if he wanted to.
The game was on Setanta.
05/09/2012, 9:52 PM
The FAI don't care about football in this country, it's their job to sabotage it.
Monday again next week against Bray.
The club asked Bray would they mind moving it out to the following Friday as we are both out of the cup.
Bray agreed but the FAI said No.
With the kids now back at school a Monday game is attendance suicide.
Was there any reason given? It makes absolutely no sense to anyone if both clubs were agreed on it. Is it a resources thing or what, sounds like a daft decision to me anyway considering both are out of the cup.
Was there any reason given? It makes absolutely no sense to anyone if both clubs were agreed on it. Is it a resources thing or what, sounds like a daft decision to me anyway considering both are out of the cup.I think I read something on our forum about them saying the extra rest would be an unfair advantage to us and Bray.
Maybe we should ask the rest of the teams in the league if they're ok with it?
Bad week to be trying to contact anyone at HQ anyway, Asia beckons.
Spencer707
06/09/2012, 2:30 PM
Big turn out the last day at the showgrounds !
redobit
07/09/2012, 9:08 AM
The game was on Setanta.
Im talking about the bigger picture.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/09/2012, 12:27 PM
Im talking about the bigger picture.
They broadcast on the same size screen as RTE
07/09/2012, 12:35 PM
Averages after week 24.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1517 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 916 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2854 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1600 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 1025 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1080 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Pat's - 1543 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3490 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1252 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2421 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 523 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 313 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 424 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Limerick - 690 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 379 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 247 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 194 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 437 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 327 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1656
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 376
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1118
gufcfan
08/09/2012, 12:32 AM
ET estimates
Rovers v Shels - 3,000
Dundalk v UCD - 800
Derry v Cork - 1,000
Bray v Drogs - 500
Bohs v Pats - 1,520 (Official)
Limerick v Mervue - 485 (Official)
Salthill v Waterford - 121 ("Official")
L.T.F.C.
08/09/2012, 10:09 AM
I hope GUST crash and burn just because of their pain in the ***** fans. Imagine having to listen to this ****e when they come round.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/09/2012, 10:48 AM
Salthill and Mervue are a disgrace. Imagine going about your business in a decent manner, not annoying any other of the clubs and not running up massive debts. That not the League of Ireland way.
Fivesilver
08/09/2012, 12:18 PM
I would expect them to top 6000 / 7000 for the game that will win the league for them.
There were times when those kind of numbers were squeezed into the Showgies - I remember as a kid watching large chunks of the '83 Cup semi-final replays against Cobh with my feet not touching the ground - but not allowed these days.
NeverFeltBetter
08/09/2012, 12:37 PM
The lower then average Limerick number comes from the dodgy weather earlier in the day, the bad performance last week and the lure of Rugby Union.
Battery Rover
08/09/2012, 7:59 PM
There were times when those kind of numbers were squeezed into the Showgies - I remember as a kid watching large chunks of the '83 Cup semi-final replays against Cobh with my feet not touching the ground - but not allowed these days.
I am lucky to be old enough to remember packed houses in most grounds alas the lure of the bar stool football is greater now. My late uncle travelled from Athlone to Sligo every second week to watch them. He was lifelong friends with the great Sean Fallon
08/09/2012, 11:42 PM
Extratime estimate 400 in Finn Park tonight. I'd say it's not far off alright. 450-500 was what I was thinking.
bullit
09/09/2012, 12:06 AM
Next home game for Dundalk is v Shels.Stick me neck out and say 5/600 will be the attendance,you dont need to be a genius to see the way things are going.
NeverFeltBetter
09/09/2012, 2:21 AM
Think Dundalk would be good enough for one of Limerick/Longford/Waterford?
09/09/2012, 2:27 AM
Yes, all three are awful, of the three, I'd say Waterford would be the most likely to play above themselves and win, Longford and Limerick are fairly cat under pressure. It'll be one of ourselves and Waterford anyhow.
Then again if they had to play Limerick, and Limerick didn't choke, theres only one winner.
bullit
09/09/2012, 5:59 AM
No way will i tempt fate,A poor Mccaffary lead side beat Longford in the EA cup earlier in the season.Take your mark from that.Waterford were thrashed at home by Mervue U in the FAI cup.Dundalk cant win in OP.Form lines are stupid.
09/09/2012, 3:44 PM
People are underestimating the First Division sides and overestimating the Premier. Far as I can see from this season, both divisions are as poor as the other.
I'd fancy Harps to beat Dundalk at the minute, never mind Limerick/Waterford/Longford.
We all know the squad Limerick have, and at any given time they can raise their game and beat half the Premier Division sides.
Longford have a few players capable of turning it on at any time, they haven't exactly a full squad capable, but I think they'd give Longford a good game for it.
Waterford rely far too heavily on young Maguire for goals as far as I see. Too much of a burden for a fella his age and I think Dundalk would beat them. Saying that however, they are capable of an upset.
From what I've seen of Dundalk this year, granted it's not a huge amount, I don't think they're overly capable of any sort of result. The only thing that is to an advantage to them really is their pitch at the minute which the First division sides wouldn't be used to at all. Bar maybe Limerick who train on one (I think?)
09/09/2012, 5:05 PM
371 in Finn Park last night against Athlone.
bullit
10/09/2012, 6:15 AM
People are underestimating the First Division sides and overestimating the Premier. Far as I can see from this season, both divisions are as poor as the other.
I'd fancy Harps to beat Dundalk at the minute, never mind Limerick/Waterford/Longford.
We all know the squad Limerick have, and at any given time they can raise their game and beat half the Premier Division sides.
Longford have a few players capable of turning it on at any time, they haven't exactly a full squad capable, but I think they'd give Longford a good game for it.
Waterford rely far too heavily on young Maguire for goals as far as I see. Too much of a burden for a fella his age and I think Dundalk would beat them. Saying that however, they are capable of an upset.
From what I've seen of Dundalk this year, granted it's not a huge amount, I don't think they're overly capable of any sort of result. The only thing that is to an advantage to them really is their pitch at the minute which the First division sides wouldn't be used to at all. Bar maybe Limerick who train on one (I think?)
For someone that never seen it yon pitch in Dundalk has you Fcuked over a barrell.It's a great advantage to Dundalk.Away sides are at a huge disadvange:rolleyes:
Partizan
10/09/2012, 1:16 PM
ET estimates
Rovers v Shels - 3,000
Dundalk v UCD - 800
Derry v Cork - 1,000
Bray v Drogs - 500
Bohs v Pats - 1,520 (Official)
Limerick v Mervue - 485 (Official)
Salthill v Waterford - 121 ("Official")
Radio DBSC counted just 58. I dont know where or how they conjured up that figure.
10/09/2012, 2:25 PM
Averages after week 25.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1517 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 881 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2854 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1550 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 1025 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1056 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Pat's - 1543 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3445 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1252 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2421 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 523 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 313 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 419 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Limerick - 673 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 372 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 247 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 188 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 437 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 327 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1643
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 372
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1108