View Full Version : 2012 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

gufc2000
07/07/2012, 3:19 PM
30 more then ye this season.
Very observent of you, given we don't have a team to support it would be pretty hard to a get a crowd.

bluewhitearmy
07/07/2012, 3:22 PM
Very observent of you, given we don't have a team to support it would be pretty hard to a get a crowd.

Go way really? :eek:

07/07/2012, 4:50 PM
1778 at Sligo v Bray according to Extratime.

bullit
07/07/2012, 5:06 PM
1778 at Sligo v Bray according to Extratime.

They fairly rocked the joint:rolleyes:

gufc2000
07/07/2012, 7:53 PM
91 in Drom as per extratime

oriel
07/07/2012, 8:43 PM
Less than 3000 for two European games in Dublin not great, maybe if both get to next round more will come out to support them.

I remember remarking that the 2,500 we got for the home game v Grevemacher (Lux) in 2010 wasn't great for the first Euro game in Oriel Park for about 20 years (1995 Euro game v Malmo was played in Drogs), then again these games are very early in the summer, back in the day they would have been played late August or even Sept. Possibly a factor in lower crowds.

gufc2000
07/07/2012, 9:54 PM
Go way really? :eek:
Seen as you stated the obvious I said I'd do likewise

08/07/2012, 3:01 AM
Probably less than 300 in Finn Park tonight. Another very very disappointing home crowd

08/07/2012, 4:21 AM
Must have been 500 odd at the Town game, not totally sure thou, any other lads have an estimate?

08/07/2012, 7:47 AM

I counted 68, including the 2 dogs !

ger121
08/07/2012, 11:04 AM
Interesting article in the Independent on how to boost attendances through post Euro 2012 initiatives

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/champions-league/lets-cash-in-on-spirit-of-poland-before-it-evaporates-3161542.html

adamd164
08/07/2012, 6:27 PM
Cork City v Bohs = 2709.

Cuyahoga
08/07/2012, 7:25 PM
3,500 at Tallaght for Shamrock rovers v St. Patricks athletic according to extra time.ie

trevy
08/07/2012, 7:39 PM
585 at Waterford United Limerick as per extra time.ie

08/07/2012, 8:08 PM
That stats seem to suggest that poor results and attendance are having a direct impact on attendances in Tallaght and Derry, which were perhaps overinflated by success last season, while improved results don't seem to be having as much of an effect in Inchicore.

09/07/2012, 8:08 AM
Results at this stage of the season aren't improved in Inchicore. We were top or 2nd this time last year

09/07/2012, 8:38 AM
Happy enough with our attendances, averaging just over 3000 in the league at this point with Shels and Pats the next two games.
I was unsure about last nights kick off time but 2,700 is a decent crowd.

Youths4Ever
09/07/2012, 8:53 AM

where then counting the players and officials with that figure

09/07/2012, 10:33 AM
Averages after week 17:

PREMIER DIVISION

Bohs - 1765 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 1019 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 3126 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1788 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 1014 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1006 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Pat's - 1652 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3475 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1401 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2346 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 481 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Athlone - 300 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Harps - 452 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Limerick - 657 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 406 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 259 (349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 216 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
Waterford - 390 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 382 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 1734
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 383

OVERALL AVERAGE: 1165

Eminence Grise
09/07/2012, 12:25 PM
Interesting article in the Independent on how to boost attendances through post Euro 2012 initiatives

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/champions-league/lets-cash-in-on-spirit-of-poland-before-it-evaporates-3161542.html

Might have been a better article had the writer got all his facts right (the Euro 2012 programmes being the most obvious point), or not contradicted himself (offer Polish beers on the one hand, enlist the help of Carlsberg on the other...). Even his assertion that "there is little football on for the next month" suggests a talking head talking out of another orifice. The product he's trying to market is running at full steam with the league and Euro ties, but across the water (the centre of the universe!) there is no football.:rolleyes:

It's very much based on a one-dimensional approach aiming at recreating Little Poland at league games, and already memories and feelings of Euro 2012 are lessening to a point where that horse has well and truly bolted.

marinobohs
09/07/2012, 3:01 PM
Would be fairly cool on most of his ideas myself EG but good to see some effort at tapping in to the mythical "best fans.....". So, lets follow suit and come up with some (cheap) ideas.

I agree 100% with him saying promotion is the key. So, as I have said before, a rebranding of the LOI would be my preferred starting point (FAI give contract to major ad agency) but pending this happening (2/3 weeks after winter olympics are held in hell) a couple of local ideas.

FAI/LOI make contact with "You Boys In Green" and any other group representing the Oirish fans. LOI fans are involved in the 'singing section' initiative at the Aviva so lets get some feedback from YBIG etc on what they think would divert some more punters through our underused gates.

Agree with article also RE 'new Irish'. Many come from countries with strong football tradition, clubs and FAI should be doing more to try and tap into this. In Aerican baseball almost every second game is aimed at particular groups/interests so we are not inventing the wheel. Products (foodstuff etc) from all countries are available in Dublin (and most other cities/towns) so with a bit of effort this could be made attractive (yes, even including Polish beer). Similarly matchdays dedicated to various community groups would attract punters not used to attending LOI. More contentiously links with EPL (or other Leagues) supporters clubs based here might add a body or two to the gates.

Free admisssion for all accompanied under 12 year olds. Get them young etc and they also bring Mammy/Daddy (and tend to spend mammy/daddy money :o). Hit each local school with free tickets, nothing encourages young lad (or girl) to matches as much as peer pressure.

Some variations of these ideas have been tried at different clubs but given the ire situation at present we need to do something. Lets hear those ideas..............................

09/07/2012, 4:27 PM
345 at Harps v Mervue

Eminence Grise
09/07/2012, 6:01 PM
Some variations of these ideas have been tried at different clubs but given the ire situation at present we need to do something. Lets hear those ideas..............................

I'm all for it, MB. But maybe the mods would prefer to separate our posts into a new thread so we don't clutter the official attendances?

09/07/2012, 9:37 PM
Results at this stage of the season aren't improved in Inchicore. We were top or 2nd this time last year
Fair enough, but last season I don't think anyone really think Pat's stood a chance of lasting the distance.

marinobohs
10/07/2012, 9:43 AM
I'm all for it, MB. But maybe the mods would prefer to separate our posts into a new thread so we don't clutter the official attendances?

Fair enough point EG, Mods, any chance of decluttering ?

10/07/2012, 9:45 AM
Fair enough, but last season I don't think anyone really think Pat's stood a chance of lasting the distance.

No, true. Some still don't. Up to the break out crowds OK. Since then they've clashed with Euros and Stone Roses. Sundays for a while probably won't help either

gufcfan
11/07/2012, 4:57 PM
FIRST DIVISION

SD Galway - 216 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)

Thanks for compiling these figures lads.

Just want to point out that the Salthill figure is inflated by far in excess of 100% and at least 40% if you are counting people who didn't pay in and non-attending season ticket holders.

Salthill's total attendance figure for the league this season so far is give or take a few, 1243. Even that is being generous, in that a minority of those would have paid on the gate, away fans basically. That's an "average" just north of 150. Far short of that in reality.

And before anybody says something, I'm talking about attendances in an attendance thread.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/07/2012, 7:45 PM

Just want to point out that the Salthill figure is inflated by far in excess of 100% and at least 40% if you are counting people who didn't pay in and non-attending season ticket holders.

Salthill's total attendance figure for the league this season so far is give or take a few, 1243. Even that is being generous, in that a minority of those would have paid on the gate, away fans basically. That's an "average" just north of 150. Far short of that in reality.

And before anybody says something, I'm talking about attendances in an attendance thread.

Change the record

12/07/2012, 1:09 PM

I know this, and understand this. But I'm only going by the 'official' attendances given by Extratime.ie.

12/07/2012, 1:29 PM
Can we all please agree no not mention how much the attendances in any Galway club may have been inflated by, for the rest of the season? We can just take it as a given because lord blessus its a pain in the arse to see it cropping up constantly.

gordongekko
12/07/2012, 1:38 PM
I know this, and understand this. But I'm only going by the 'official' attendances given by Extratime.ie.

So if extratime say there are 40000 are the next Salthill game we will take that as an "official number" ?

12/07/2012, 1:40 PM
That's one of the most idiotic replies you could have come out with, and does not even deserve a rational retort.

Why in gods name would they report that even hypothetically, the situation will never arise unless Scarlet Johansson and Megan Fox were making a porn Movie live at half time with Man united reserves.

gordongekko
12/07/2012, 1:52 PM
That's one of the most idiotic replies you could have come out with, and does not even deserve a rational retort.

Why in gods name would they report that even hypothetically, the situation will never arise unless Scarlet Johansson and Megan Fox was making a porn Movie live at half time with Man united reserves.

No letting the pro of the club do reports on extratime and let his made up figures stand as "official attendence" is the most idiotic things i have heard of in a long time. Every match an away supporter has posted here how many were at each match. They would have no reason to lie about the numbers.

12/07/2012, 2:01 PM
Most importantly thou, no one outside of Galway cares so stop banging on about it, ye'd swear none of us had heard any of this before.

I'm not picking on you specificity by the way, so don't feel like I'm singling ye out and attacking you for no reason, its a general address to all Galway fans who like to bring it up, I ask you kindly to please stop. Hugs and kisses etc. xox

12/07/2012, 5:30 PM
Regardless of what you believe, what you give out about, and what crowd you say are there, I will continue to put Extratimes attendance figures down for as long as I keep doing the attendance averages.

I've said it already, and it's the last time I'll say it. We all know they are inflated figures, we all know nobody actually supports Mervue and SD Galway, I've been to Drom with about 40 Harps fans and outnumbered the home support 40 to 1.

The point I'm making is, I don't care, and nobody else really does either.

I support the GUST cause, I would love to see a GUST team in the League of Ireland in Terryland, I don't like how you were just discarded from the league in favour of Mervue and Salthill, but jesus christ, please give it a rest as I'm growing tired of constant giving out about their attendances.

gufcfan
12/07/2012, 5:42 PM
Regardless of what you believe, what you give out about, and what crowd you say are there, I will continue to put Extratimes attendance figures down for as long as I keep doing the attendance averages.

That's grand, I never said it wasn't.

God forgive us for pointing out accurate figures. People question figures here all the time.

Anyone who is sick of hearing them can just skip the posts and not whine about it like muppets.

Fairplay for putting them together.

It makes no bloody difference to me whether there were 2000, 1500 or 2500 people in Tallaght or wherever, but I somehow find the strength within me not whine about it when people disagree with the figures posted.

bluewhitearmy
12/07/2012, 9:09 PM
That's grand, I never said it wasn't.

God forgive us for pointing out accurate figures. People question figures here all the time.

Anyone who is sick of hearing them can just skip the posts and not whine about it like muppets.

Fairplay for putting them together.

It makes no bloody difference to me whether there were 2000, 1500 or 2500 people in Tallaght or wherever, but I somehow find the strength within me not whine about it when people disagree with the figures posted.

Now who else involved in discussions about SD Galways attendances could do with following this advice :confused:

gufcfan
12/07/2012, 9:11 PM
Now who else involved in discussions about SD Galways attendances could do with following this advice :confused:

You perhaps.

Sean South
12/07/2012, 9:14 PM
Sure Galway United inflated their attendances for years.

bluewhitearmy
12/07/2012, 9:18 PM
You perhaps.

I dont whine i just find it funny that you want people to just skip past Galway fans constant talk about it we all know they put up the numbers ye are not revealing some deep dark secret.

Why not take your own advice and just ignore it when they put up their attendances what difference does it make to you? Ye are just boring everyone at this stage.

13/07/2012, 12:55 AM
The funny thing about SD Galways crowds is that every time I've been there there has been a few Galway United heads knocking around whos apparent sole intention is to count their crowd.

So a good chunk of the crowd is people who are there to count the crowd.

http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00512/YOUCOULDNTMAKEITUP__512279a.jpg

gufcfan
13/07/2012, 2:03 AM
Sure Galway United inflated their attendances for years.

Funny how you say that like it support some sort of point.

13/07/2012, 9:10 AM
Funny how you say that like it support some sort of point.

In fairness he's not wrong. True of pretty much every club. Is it worse reporting 1,300 at a game when 1,100 there or reporting 200 then when 150 there?

its all the same to me. Don't really see your fascination with their crowds? They're brutal regardless of the actual figure and only they will know how it stacks up with how they budgeted. Who cares if its 200 or 50?

gordongekko
13/07/2012, 11:08 AM
In fairness he's not wrong. True of pretty much every club. Is it worse reporting 1,300 at a game when 1,100 there or reporting 200 then when 150 there?

its all the same to me. Don't really see your fascination with their crowds? They're brutal regardless of the actual figure and only they will know how it stacks up with how they budgeted. Who cares if its 200 or 50?

So if Sligo start reporting 8000 instead of 2000 will people on here start saying "Don't really see your fascination with their crowds?" We have only pointed out that they are massively inflated. I dont understand the fascination with people complaining about us pointing out a clearly incorrect figure passing as fact.

Eminence Grise
13/07/2012, 11:24 AM
I think I understand the problem now: GUST supporters post 500 times about SD, but it feels like 5,000.

The issue most us have is with the grossly inflated reports of the grossly inflated attendances.

Must be Groundhog day in Galway every other Friday night... Just wish you'd all do something more productive with your time, like learn to play the piano, bed Andie McDowell and leave the rest of in peace.

gufc2000
13/07/2012, 12:28 PM
Shame on us all for discussing attendances in an 'Attendance' thread, absolutely shocking. Forgive those that actually do discuss attendances here.

Eminence Grise
13/07/2012, 3:39 PM
I've always regarded this as more of a reporting thread than a discussion, and more of a discussion than a whingefest. Some of the guff that passes for 'discussion' this season has been nothing more than publicly picking scabs to show how one benighted, misbegotten, woebegone club has been sooooo badly treated. We know. We sympathise. But most of us are beyond caring.

It's going to be a long time till November at this rate.

geezer
13/07/2012, 3:53 PM
I think I understand the problem now: GUST supporters post 500 times about SD, but it feels like 5,000.

The issue most us have is with the grossly inflated reports of the grossly inflated attendances.

Must be Groundhog day in Galway every other Friday night... Just wish you'd all do something more productive with your time, like learn to play the piano, bed Andie McDowell and leave the rest of in peace.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-OQ86WAoElbA/T-zsraY0XBI/AAAAAAAAAZQ/GNmhzlArlG0/s1600/summer_events_website.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13671334/GUST_summer_of_events.pdf

gufcfan
13/07/2012, 4:04 PM
Edit: Never mind, will have to find reasonable discussion elsewhere.

13/07/2012, 4:08 PM
Does this mean I can't report on match attendances even though I hold season tickets for both Mervue and Salthill?