08/08/2012, 2:34 PM
14-0 Pats
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/08/2012, 8:30 PM
Anderlect win 6-0 in Ekranas
PartySaint
08/08/2012, 8:43 PM
We are lucky Rovers didn't get through so, that would have been even worse.
Hibs4Ever
08/08/2012, 10:12 PM
11-0 on agg. Would've been a cricket score had Shams gone through!
Missing Links
08/08/2012, 11:12 PM
Certainly puts the LOI in a bad light...without the light shining on it (thankfully!).
So how do people see the 2nd leg going, kind of worried they'll get hockeyed even if they play relatively well.I hope they put up a good show while running themselves ragged in the mean time.
I suppose extra time would be too much to hope for :D
Europe is turning out to be a right pain for us, by the time we host Rovers at the end of the month we'll have had one home Friday night game in 10 weeks.
09/08/2012, 4:06 PM
Usual question so. Is the game on anywhere? (Don't think so - setanta showing Dynamo Moscow v Dundee United for some reason) Or is there a stream?
09/08/2012, 4:28 PM
I found two. One of those might work. Most stations are showing Valencia v Tottenham or Liverpool v Gomel.
http://www.ilemi.me/23435/1/Watch-Hannover-96-vs-St--Patrick-Athletic/
http://www.ilemi.me/23436/2/Watch-Hannover-96-vs-St--Patrick-Athletic/
DannyInvincible
09/08/2012, 6:23 PM
German stream here: http://www.belovedsport.com/channel-5.php
09/08/2012, 6:31 PM
That one's grand. Just ignore the iLivid pop up at the start, I think.
MeathDrog
09/08/2012, 6:43 PM
Pats hit the crossbar early on. Great chance.
09/08/2012, 7:12 PM
1-0 Hannover. Living on the edge. Some sort of chat about the League of Ireland between the commentators. No idea what they're saying but mention of Cork, Derry, Bohs and Shamrock Rovers.
Could have swore they just mentioned Sean Connor too.
born2bwild
09/08/2012, 7:13 PM
1-0 to the Germans - looked like a feckin og.
born2bwild
09/08/2012, 7:14 PM
1-0 Hannover. Living on the edge. Some sort of chat about the League of Ireland between the commentators. No idea what they're saying but mention of Cork, Derry, Bohs and Shamrock Rovers.
Could have swore they just mentioned Sean Connor too.
I think they said something about Packie Bonner.
Spudulika
09/08/2012, 7:23 PM
Commentators complimented Pats, saying their brand of football was good. Unfortunate to concede such a soft goal. Playing well though - but no cutting edge up front.
DannyInvincible
09/08/2012, 7:24 PM
I think they said something about Packie Bonner.
They were chatting about Ireland beating England in Stuttgart in '88.
Europe all done and dusted for another year. Pats won the two ties they were seeded for and showed the league in a positive light. Apart from that no positives.
09/08/2012, 11:04 PM
Thought the LOI teams would have done a bit better this year, not to worry but we really need to get a good year next year or we'll start slipping down again, undo all the work done previously
freewheel30
10/08/2012, 3:00 PM
The poor devils (Ekranas) now have to go and play Steaua Bucharest in the Europa League play-off round.
Steaua obviously beat Spartak Trnava last night - if the two Irish clubs had somehow reached this stage instead would they have been allowed to meet each other?
10/08/2012, 5:19 PM
Teams can't play each other from the same country until the quarter finals.
swinfordfc
14/08/2012, 9:08 AM
Correct me if i'm wrong on this but Ireland will be ranked in the earlier 40's next year in the co-efficient?
14/08/2012, 9:20 AM
For next season, we'll be 36th (the position we are now; I don't see Lithuania catching us this year). For the season after, we'll be 37th, plus adjustment for whatever happens next season. So yep, you're wrong. :)
A N Mouse
14/08/2012, 9:21 AM
Correct me if i'm wrong on this but Ireland will be ranked in the earlier 40's next year in the co-efficient?
Depends on what you mean exactly by earlier 40's.
But I think you're wrong.
This shows current ranking
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_coefficient#Current_ranking
Also, I believe next years access list will be based on the standing at the end of last season. This should be viewable on bert's site.
14/08/2012, 10:55 AM
Pats found their level a few years ago and fair play to them
beating teams in the 1st and 2nd round in the europa league, helped no doubt by finishing 3rd in the league every year.
Pats haven't finished 3rd in the league since 1991 and there's no difference in terms of euro qualification between teams finshing 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc etc
I'm just glad we've never had to face the might of Flora Tallinn and Ekranes
16/08/2012, 8:48 AM
Which is why Pats still wait to see the inside of a group stage.
placid casual
16/08/2012, 10:08 AM
Pats haven't finished 3rd in the league since 1991 and there's no difference in terms of euro qualification between teams finshing 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc etc
and you never will face champions league opponnents. enjoy your mediocrity.
green-blood
16/08/2012, 10:29 AM
FC Zimbru Chişinău, 0–5, 0–5 (0–10 agg.)
I rest my case
16/08/2012, 10:30 AM
Classic banter here from the Rovers fans.
16/08/2012, 11:31 AM
Classic banter here from the Rovers fans.
Seems I hit a nerve alright.
PartySaint
16/08/2012, 2:01 PM
You definitely upset them Dodge. Bringing up results from 13 years ago and taking about mediocrity when there is a good chance they wont even be in Europe next season, aw bless.
16/08/2012, 5:43 PM
The current Top 4 will be playing European football of some kind next year.
Trips to Derry don't count :)
17/08/2012, 10:21 PM
Which is why Pats still wait to see the inside of a group stage.
Jesus. One good result last year and you think you're the bees knees now. Didn't work out for you too well this year, did it? Oh and btw, can I just mention.. 5-1.
18/08/2012, 12:31 AM
You can of course. One good league result and that's Pats season covered.
Meanwhile in Europe, we play 12 games in one year. Pats play 12 games as well....in 2 years.
Or for consistencies sake
You play 14 games in 2 years. Pats played 12 games in 2 years. Not a whole lot of difference there...
Kenny Our Hero.
PartySaint
18/08/2012, 7:33 PM
Not to mention we won 4 of those 12 whereas Shams only won 2 of their 14.
20/08/2012, 2:31 AM
A more accurate comparison will be available next season when Rovers are parachuted straight into the easy round of the Europa League.
Hardly. (Was fun though;))
Dalymountrower
23/08/2012, 8:36 AM
The current Top 4 will be playing European football of some kind next year.
So.. you are assuming that Drogs or Pats will win the FAI Cup or is it that you will get rid of Stephen Hero in the next month and finally live up to the "coup specialists " cliche
23/08/2012, 9:17 AM
Not to mention we won 4 of those 12.
Nor to mention that just one of them was from somewhere that wasn't the football powerhouses of Iceland or Kazach Indo-China.
With respect, we've had to face ex-European Cup champions, finalists, and group teams in the past couple of years. If you ever face them, we'll see if you win 2 games, let alone play 12.
Tonight, it's Tromso's turn to deal with Partizan Belgrade. Been there, done that.
DaveyCakes
23/08/2012, 10:31 AM
Nor to mention that just one of them was from somewhere that wasn't the football powerhouses of Iceland or Kazach Indo-China.
With respect, we've had to face ex-European Cup champions, finalists, and group teams in the past couple of years. If you ever face them, we'll see if you win 2 games, let alone play 12.
Steaua Bucharest.
23/08/2012, 12:16 PM
Tonight, it's Tromso's turn to deal with Partizan Belgrade. Been there, done that.
Rubbish, rovers couldnt have gotten an easier team this season. Ik Ekranas were muck
PartySaint
23/08/2012, 3:20 PM
You're right we probably would have lost if we played teams from the European powerhouses of Estonia or Lithuania.
Can't we just agree we are all rubbish and move on.
Without doubt Pats have been the most consistent LOI side in Europe in the past few years and have always got through against the opposition they should be beating. Elfsborg and Sovetov were their two genuinely decent scalps in their European runs. The other wins (Olimps, Valletta, IBV x 2, Karganty and Brijeg) were as they should be getting but where so many LOI sides have fallen down over the years so its their consistency in beating poor sides thats to be admired (something which they haven't mastered in the league over recent seasons).
As for Shamrock Rovers, its only their third season back in Europe, Shamrock Rovers have two genuine scalps to their name in Bnei Yehuda and Partizan and of course made the breakthrough last season. They left it behind them against a weak Lithuanian side this year but given how Rovers have played this season it was almost inevitable.
Lets see how both sides do in the Europa next year.
ah now, come on? Bnei Yahuda a scalp?
24/08/2012, 12:08 AM
rovers couldnt have gotten an easier team this season. Ik Ekranas were muck
We could have got much easier teams. If only Arjen Robben put that penalty in last May, we might be playing someone from Malta or even Iceland. Instead he missed it, Bayern lost, and we had to go away in the second leg to a seeded side who hadn't lost at home in Europe for 4 years until after we showed up.
PartySaint
24/08/2012, 2:13 AM
We could have got much easier teams. If only Arjen Robben put that penalty in last May, we might be playing someone from Malta or even Iceland. Instead he missed it, Bayern lost, and we had to go away in the second leg to a seeded side who hadn't lost at home in Europe for 4 years until after we showed up.
And if Robben had of scored that peno and you were seeded and Ekranas were un-seeded would that have made the game a lot easier?
24/08/2012, 6:01 AM
:rolleyes: Don't know about the stats but from watching both legs they were as easy a team as one could have got, just admit that please
(and were well beaten in the next round by Anderlecht h and a, and tonight at home by Steaua).
Pats deserve great credit for their Euro runs down through the years.
We could have got much easier teams. If only Arjen Robben put that penalty in last May, we might be playing someone from Malta or even Iceland
If you had've drawn a single game in the group stages last season you'd have been seeded too. Why focus on results outside of your control
24/08/2012, 11:32 AM
Can't we just agree we are all rubbish and move on.
Without doubt Pats have been the most consistent LOI side in Europe in the past few years and have always got through against the opposition they should be beating.
Thank you. Finally someone gets it. No Pats fan is claiming we are anything that we're not,but Rovers fans trying rubbish our acheivements on the back of one good year in Europe themselves is just petty and childish.