View Full Version : European Football 2012
26/07/2012, 10:11 PM
Well done to Pats. Great result for them.
As for us, we obviously paid the price for a shambolic ten minutes in the first leg. We were full of endeavour and effort tonight all over the park and all the lads can hold their heads high after that.
North's penalty miss was a huge moment and the fact they scored with what I honestly think was their only shot of the game shows the price you pay.
Packed Showgrounds and a great atmosphere. The European nights are really occassions to savour. Would be nice to win one at some stage.
Was that because they were sitting back and content to defend the lead or did Sligo just boss it?
redobit
26/07/2012, 10:28 PM
Was that because they were sitting back and content to defend the lead or did Sligo just boss it?
Im going to say the latter based on our performance in Slovakia. I was at the game and at half time we were easily the better team and yet were 3 nil down. Even when they were one up from the freee kick tonight, and the tie was won, they werent up to much. 5 minutes of madness kilt us over there. Better team over there and sligthly the better team in the Showgies. Football is a bitch sometimes.
26/07/2012, 10:47 PM
Mad stuff. Ger O'Brien with an apparently goal-saving tackle. 3 minutes-ish to go according to the commentators.
Absolutely heroic tackle from GOB. Seemed to come out of nowhere just as the striker was winding up to shoot. Thought we were the better team and deserved the win, probably in normal time too, but we don't believe in making it easy for ourselves. Lovely to see an Irish team play some nice football as well as getting the result. The team is a credit to Liam Buckley, if only we could be more clinical......
wonder88
26/07/2012, 11:10 PM
Congrats to Pats, saved what has been a very poor year for League of Ireland teams in Europe especially the two full-time Rovers squads.
sullanefc
26/07/2012, 11:14 PM
Fair play to Pats. A team progressing in Europe, doing well in the league, playing good football with good players and only 1800 in attendance. What do the people of Inchicore want to get them to attend, Barcelona?
gufcfan
26/07/2012, 11:16 PM
Did the lads video the Pats game for goal highlights or did they give it a miss because of UEFA?
Well done Pats. Look forward to Hannover game.
26/07/2012, 11:20 PM
Fair play to Pats. A team progressing in Europe, doing well in the league, playing good football with good players and only 1800 in attendance. What do the people of Inchicore want to get them to attend, Barcelona?
More seats I'd imagine.
gufc2000
26/07/2012, 11:47 PM
Congrats Pats, great consistency in Europe the last few years, and a nice reward next week against Hanover. Nothing to lose, and at least they'll have the added break of the weekend off after the extra time tonight.
sullanefc
27/07/2012, 12:37 AM
More seats I'd imagine.
What? They have only 1800 seats? There's surely more than that between the main stand and behind the goals?
gufcfan
27/07/2012, 12:45 AM
What? They have only 1800 seats? There's surely more than that between the main stand and behind the goals?
Is there not close to 3k seats in Richmond? Or have 1k been nicked?
bullit
27/07/2012, 12:57 AM
Is there not close to 3k seats in Richmond? Or have 1k been nicked?
Section in Richmond closed down by H&S i believe ? Kinda remember one of the Pat's guys saying it before ?
27/07/2012, 12:57 AM
It was reduced capacity due to UEFA standards. I'm open to correction but I think they sold out all the seats.
Well done Pat's. They always seem to do the league proud.
TheBoss
27/07/2012, 1:59 AM
Is 11 home European games in a row unbeaten now?
They have lost 'Home' matches last year to Karpaty at Tallaght and Steaua at the RDS in 2009. Last defeat in Richmond was in 1999 against the infamous Moldovans.
In case any of you chaps did not notice, Sligo's draw was the 100th draw involving a LOI team in Europe !
MeathDrog
27/07/2012, 2:21 AM
Where does last night leave us co-efficiennt wise?
Hibs4Ever
27/07/2012, 5:32 AM
Russell goal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_GAaEHGTAc&feature=g-all-u
Hibs4Ever
27/07/2012, 5:33 AM
Fagan winner:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsfFSMDOuG0&feature=context-gfa
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/07/2012, 7:59 AM
Ah ffs!!
That cheered me up!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/07/2012, 8:04 AM
Well done to Pats. Great result for them.
As for us, we obviously paid the price for a shambolic ten minutes in the first leg. We were full of endeavour and effort tonight all over the park and all the lads can hold their heads high after that.
North's penalty miss was a huge moment and the fact they scored with what I honestly think was their only shot of the game shows the price you pay.
Packed Showgrounds and a great atmosphere. The European nights are really occassions to savour. Would be nice to win one at some stage.
It was hardly their only shot of the game. They dragged one just wide right on half time, curled one over at the start of the second half and hit the bar towards the end and I'm sure there's others I can't think of. Having said that we were certainly the better team. I think if North had scored the penalty or we got any of our chances in the first half we would have gone through as they weren't great. Nothing compared to Poltova last year. Yet again though bad defending and not taking our chances has cost us.
Sitting waiting on news of Danny Norths scan at this stage
Well done to Pats
Dalymountrower
27/07/2012, 8:35 AM
In summary, the co-efficient haul for the two full -time Rovers squads and the Bohs kids was three miserable draws between them.
I would fancy Pats to pick up at least a draw over two legs against Hannover. Well done Pats.
legendz
27/07/2012, 8:47 AM
Hats off to Pat's. Representing themselves, Ireland and our league proud in Europe once more. Very disappointed with Sligo. Two years in-a-row they've been a disappointment. I thought they'd have learned their lessons from last year but I suppose that was under a new manager. Pat's though continue to do well in Europe with a different manager to last season. Their manager I'm sure learned a bit from his European experience with the disappeared S. Fingal.
Pat's not only the only team to get by one round, they've gone and got through another. Well done Pat's, respect!
Straightstory
27/07/2012, 9:25 AM
Pats are a credit to the League. Their recent record n Europe is something to be really proud of.
It's something the fans are very proud of. The funniest part is that the 4 runs have been under 4 different managers and basically 4 different teams.
27/07/2012, 9:48 AM
Fantastic stuff by Pat's. Really a credit to the league.
I do wish they'd get rid of that f**king bell though. The term 'needs more cowbell' most certainly does not apply here.
27/07/2012, 10:02 AM
Looked like it was great night for the Pats' fans.
After getting turned over twice by a team from a fishing village, Pats are battle hardened enough to appreciate the grind and discipline it takes to eek out a win over 2 legs at this level. A very nice and deserved award for their travails await them in the next round.
marinobohs
27/07/2012, 10:04 AM
Fine. Bohs won a total of 2 ties in the period before 2001. In absolutely no way could Bohs be creditted with a 'fair chunk' of Ireland's coefficient. Or anything resembling it.
Not a single Irish side was ever seeded on the basis of Bohs results. Your fine results against Aberdeen, kaiserlautern and Bate were off the books by the time an irish side was seeded. Still want to continue this?
If only Bohs had concentrated on the co efficient instead of running off winning Leagues and Cups instead :rolleyes:
Well done to Pats on a great result last night, hard luck to Sligo. First leg deficit always made Sligo's job a very uphill battle. Glad to see Pats have the weekend off to prepare for European game.I still believe this otion should be accorded all teams participating in Europe given the week after week schedule.
God knows we need every bit of help we can get :o
MeathDrog
27/07/2012, 10:07 AM
Any video of Ger O Brien's infamous tackle?
sullanefc
27/07/2012, 10:21 AM
Glad to see Pats have the weekend off to prepare for European game.I still believe this otion should be accorded all teams participating in Europe given the week after week schedule.
God knows we need every bit of help we can get :o
There really should be a series of matches involving the Euro teams played mid-week earlier in the season to allow for this.
i.e. Mid-week 1: Bohs V Pats, Shamrock V Sligo
Mid-week 2: Shamrock V Pats, Sligo V Bohs
Mid-week 3: Pats V Sligo, Bohs V Shamrock
Ok, the euro teams will have 3 games in hand for a few weeks, but it would cut out the last minute scramble to call off games and re-schedule, and euro fixtures would not affect the gate receipts of other clubs.
ger121
27/07/2012, 10:24 AM
That was actually a post in relation to the Bosnian equaliser. Though I do admit, I had mixed emotions when you equalised:)
Saint_Charlie
27/07/2012, 10:26 AM
Any video of Ger O Brien's infamous tackle?
About 25 seconds in
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FX9Sj5jb3L0&feature=youtube_gdata_player
desaintsno.12
27/07/2012, 11:53 AM
About 25 seconds in
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FX9Sj5jb3L0&feature=youtube_gdata_player
He was so far off when the player received the ball, birlliant stuff. At the time i wasnt even considering he might make it
oldfan
27/07/2012, 12:35 PM
Will Cork City v St Pat's game on 10th Aug now go to the Sunday or will it be postponed due to a planned friendly on the Sunday in Turners X ??
27/07/2012, 12:35 PM
That was actually a post in relation to the Bosnian equaliser. Though I do admit, I had mixed emotions when you equalised:)
Pats never equalised...
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/07/2012, 12:43 PM
Pats never equalised...
He was talkin to me.....
Dalymountrower
27/07/2012, 2:21 PM
Was that Christy Fagan`s third goal in three successive European ties? one for Bohs V Lubjiana last year and two against the Bosnians? Is that a record Dodge, hood of all Euro anorak`s?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/07/2012, 2:34 PM
Action from the showgrounds
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cPPtdpKigY
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/07/2012, 2:36 PM
Was that Christy Fagan`s third goal in three successive European ties? one for Bohs V Lubjiana last year and two against the Bosnians? Is that a record Dodge, hood of all Euro anorak`s?
Fourth - he scored in the only game he played against Geysirs crew as well
27/07/2012, 2:58 PM
Action from the showgrounds
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cPPtdpKigY
Jesus, the amount of chances yous had.
Cuyahoga
27/07/2012, 3:05 PM
Hanover96 are a decent side. Thay are 70/1 to win the Bundesliga with 7 teams ahead of them in the betting.They have a striker called Diouf who played for Blackburn and Man utd. I reckon they will bring a decent support over next week, most German teams travel in large numbers.
27/07/2012, 4:22 PM
North out for up to six months with an anterior cruciate rupture. This'll put a lot of pressure on Gavin Peers to replace his goals.
4th in a row, (4 in 5 total). Fabio scored 4 in a row for us in 2009 (home and away v Valletta and Krylya Sovetov) too
JayC90
28/07/2012, 1:28 AM
St. Pat's first leg to be shown live on German channel, Kabel Eins (http://www.kabeleins.de/tv/europa-league).
28/07/2012, 3:02 PM
St. Pat's first leg to be shown live on German channel, Kabel Eins (http://www.kabeleins.de/tv/europa-league).
And Irish television on......oh wait...
Hibs4Ever
28/07/2012, 6:40 PM
And Irish television on......oh wait...
Setanta Ireland are showing Liverpool away to FC Gomel that night anyway
ger121
01/08/2012, 9:56 PM
Good luck to Pats tomorrow. I see Hannover requested 2000 tickets. Should be some atmosphere! Think a draw would be a great result.
01/08/2012, 10:01 PM
Wow, 2000 Hannover fans would further diminish the "home" feel of the game for Pats, you'd think.
01/08/2012, 10:54 PM
While this thread is being bumped, see Ekranas lost 5-0 to Anderlecht? I'd say Stephen Kenny is kind of relieved...
01/08/2012, 11:58 PM
I'd say Oscar Jansson is on his knees thanking whichever god he may or may not worship too.
PartySaint
02/08/2012, 12:18 AM
Wow, 2000 Hannover fans would further diminish the "home" feel of the game for Pats, you'd think.
There will be 1,000 Hannover fans and a few Rovers fans I know who are going to support them. Cheers for the money lads.
02/08/2012, 12:23 AM
Is it going to be a sell out? I might head down myself (and support Pats).