View Full Version : European Football 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

20/07/2012, 5:49 AM
I don't think 3-1 away is all that bad, but I'll take your word for it. After all, you should be a bit of an expert on what constitutes being an embarrassment in Europe.

This post made me laugh. Cheers Fivesilver!

Hibs4Ever
20/07/2012, 6:49 AM
They play well for an hour against 10 men and some people get excited.

Forgetting that this is the same side who scraped through on away goals against a club from a supermarket the week before.

Ha, what a bitter post!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/07/2012, 6:57 AM
And not forgetting that this Pats side comprehensively beat your Galacticos by four goals this season.

Well done Pats, can`t understand why Fagan didn`t take the peno, he was excellent for the goal and Pat`s played some decent football but like a lot of LOI teams , have a confidence problem with killing off European sides, however humble,when on top

Probably cause of the peno he took in the Showgrounds earlier on this season

Goals from last night. Defending got worse for each goal. Great finish for their third goal all the same.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LeT1qoI_Vfk&feature=youtu.be

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2012, 8:00 AM
They play well for an hour against 10 men and some people get excited.

Well it doesn't take a whole lot to get people excited to be fair given what was served up to us in the summer by your hero Il Trap and that results machine of a national team.

Here was have an Irish team who go away from home in conditions less than ideal - playing their 3rd game in a week against a team from a league ranked higher than our own - they proceed to go out, yet again, and do the business in Europe - and yet when I see bitter begrudging posts like above it really makes me wonder.

Well done Pat's - I sincerely hope ye can finish the job next week as well as Sligo and Shams, Pats deserve either a shot at the group stages or at least a very big payday in the next round - not sure fans of any other club could possibly begrudge them on that.

20/07/2012, 8:10 AM
Here was have an Irish team who go away from home in conditions less than ideal - playing their 3rd game in a week.

All the Irish clubs in Europe have to play 3 games a week, in less than ideal conditions. That's what they have to accept.

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2012, 8:17 AM
All the Irish clubs in Europe have to play 3 games a week, in less than ideal conditions. That's what they have to accept.

Yep and Pats got the best result of the 3 this week. Hard to be critical of them I think. Granted that last minute goal was a sickner.

20/07/2012, 8:22 AM
I'm not critical of Pats result. I'm critical of somebody wanting them on tv, because they can play good football for an hour against 10 men.

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2012, 8:32 AM
I'm not critical of Pats result. I'm critical of somebody wanting them on tv, because they can play good football for an hour against 10 men.

Imagine people wanting to see good football on tv.

legendz
20/07/2012, 8:39 AM
Dear Sligo,

you're an absolute EMBARRASSMENT to the League.

Yours in disgust,

Bohs Fan.

lol, coming from Bohs who do sweet **** all in Europe. Sligo can still turn it around.

20/07/2012, 8:46 AM
Sligos lack of european experience has showed this year and last, they failed to take chances away last year also that would have put them in the driving seat when they got home. 2-0 at home against a side in a league ranked a good big higher(10 or 11?) is not impossible but highly unlikely.

Fair play to Pats, whatever it is that they have gained over the years they have put it to good use over the last 2-3 years. They are always capable of getting good results against teams ranked similar or slightly higher i.e. they are consistent. If more LOI teams could be then progression would be made year on year.

Hopefully Pats can keep the momentum for next week. I fear they will be the only ones going through.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/07/2012, 9:08 AM
Pats team is pretty much a new team from last season. And they have a new manager. So as far as their European experience goes that group don't really have any.

Still excellent performance from them but as Dodge always says (I think it's him who is) it's all about taking your chances

20/07/2012, 10:20 AM
Rovers away to Anderlecht first leg, should Rovers win on Tuesday.

20/07/2012, 10:36 AM
Pats team is pretty much a new team from last season. And they have a new manager. So as far as their European experience goes that group don't really have any.

Still excellent performance from them but as Dodge always says (I think it's him who is) it's all about taking your chances

As much as it is taking your chances, its about ensuring you don't make any silly mistakes, which was the crux of the problem in years gone by, and looks kinda like Sligo Rovers still suffer that problem.

marinobohs
20/07/2012, 10:46 AM
lol, coming from Bohs who do sweet **** all in Europe. Sligo can still turn it around.

Really Legendz keep up, I think Stu irony was pretty much "outed" by now :rolleyes:

Great result by Pats, pity they conceded so late but excellent performance and they should be able to seal the deal at Richmond. Anyone suggesting 1-1 away from home (1st leg) is not a good result simply does not understand european football.

Going to be a big ask for Sligo, away goal gives them a chance but having to score two unanswered goals at the Showies will be tough. Hopefully a big crowd will turn up and make it a noisy occassion as I suspect Sligo will need all the help they can get.

swinfordfc
20/07/2012, 10:48 AM
Ireland are down to 36th placed in the co-efficient rankings ..... if St Pats held out for win ..... we be 34th ..... thats the difference.

Thats a tough draw for Shamrock Rovers if they get through .....

swinfordfc
20/07/2012, 10:51 AM
Great result by Pats, pity they conceded so late but excellent performance and they should be able to seal the deal at Richmond. Anyone suggesting 1-1 away from home (1st leg) is not a good result simply does not understand european football.

When your 1-0 up ... into injury time playing a team that has 10 men away from home and you concede ...... then thats poor .... it could cost them in the home leg

marinobohs
20/07/2012, 10:53 AM
When your 1-0 up ... into injury time playing a team that has 10 men away from home and you concede ...... then thats poor .... it could cost them in the home leg

As I said pity they conceded, but 1-1 away (1st leg) is an excellent result for any LOI team.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/07/2012, 10:57 AM
As much as it is taking your chances, its about ensuring you don't make any silly mistakes, which was the crux of the problem in years gone by, and looks kinda like Sligo Rovers still suffer that problem.

We had a mixture of both. Missed chances / crap defending. A lethal combination.

swinfordfc
20/07/2012, 11:00 AM
Rovers away to Anderlecht first leg, should Rovers win on Tuesday.

The draw is not till next Monday according to UEFA website

20/07/2012, 11:06 AM
First time seeing the goals from Sligo game. Holy christ, call it inexperience or whatever you like, but some of that defending simply cannot be excused. Rodgers wants to be taken and shot for that 2nd goal too.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/07/2012, 11:22 AM
The draw is not till next Monday according to UEFA website

You're looking at the wrong website. Draw made earlier. Europa League draw next.

legendz
20/07/2012, 11:27 AM
Shamrock Rovers have to get through. European nights with games against the likes of Anderlecht are needed.

swinfordfc
20/07/2012, 11:47 AM
Sorry to all ....... i am .... really tough draw ..... toughest they could have got but it would be some occasion in Tallaght ... hope Rovers can get through on Tuesday night

20/07/2012, 11:52 AM

Agreed. Pats should have won that easy. Pity as now they have to keep up the pressure in the home game, but still should get through.
(wonder do people actually watch these games or just read the stats all day!!!!)

Anyway to be positive - not a whole lot different from last year at this same stage - and the Pats/ Shamrock Rovers are still definitely in it.

Uefa's website is rubbish this year - their streams are so hard to get?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/07/2012, 12:18 PM
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) v FC Spartak Trnava (SVK)/Sligo Rovers FC (IRL)
NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)/Saint Patrick's Athletic FC (IRL) v Hannover 96 (GER

swinfordfc
20/07/2012, 12:20 PM
Two very tough draws ....

Cuyahoga
20/07/2012, 12:31 PM
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) v FC Spartak Trnava (SVK)/Sligo Rovers FC (IRL)
NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)/Saint Patrick's Athletic FC (IRL) v Hannover 96 (GER
Could be big T.V money for Pats if they get through. The Germans pay well for T.V rights.

legendz
20/07/2012, 12:51 PM
I hope Pat's fans get to experience the hangover in Hannover at least. Sligo should be capable of winning their second-leg 2-0 and also of getting past the next round. It's a big ask but my hope and expectation is still for the league to have two clubs in the play-off stages.

20/07/2012, 2:04 PM

I said that at the start of the second half, shortly after the player had been sent off.

marinobohs
20/07/2012, 2:07 PM
I said that at the start of the second half, shortly after the player had been sent off.

Great minds think alike OR ...........................:D

dong
20/07/2012, 2:23 PM
I think the problem for a lot of LoI teams in Europe (particularly ourseleves it has to be said) is that they lack the necessary concentration to stop giving up chances against teams with a bit of quality and get punished severely for it.
you can switch off for ten minutes against most teams on a weekly basis here and get away with it as they won't be clinical enough to punish you. This forms bad habits which are so ingrained it is almost inevitable that they come to the fore in Europe.
With that in mind I can't see us getting through next week.

Fivesilver
20/07/2012, 2:54 PM
Agreed - the difference with that step up is that if you let the discipline drop at all, you get punished. What was so good about that Shams side last year was that they gave absolutely nothing away cheaply. Once you accomplish that you give yourself a fighting chance.
It's not over yet, but having to score twice without conceding is going to be tough as they look like they'll make the most of any opportunity to counter. I don't think going hell for leather from the whistle next week is necessarily the answer - getting caught out early would kill it. If we can get to half-time intact and get the Showgies rocking for 45 minutes anything could happen. I'd like to see PMilly unleashed on them for at least a half.

dong
20/07/2012, 6:03 PM
Why not play Millien from the start though?
This idea of using him as an impact sub isn't doing the lad justice. He's a better player than Cretaro, so just play him ffs.

abcd
20/07/2012, 6:24 PM
I'd agree, having seen Sligo against Bray and Derry leading into this game I was worried by the sort of goals Sligo were conceding. They have enough quality and strength in depth to retrive the situation most of the time in the LOI but in Europe those mistakes are punished even more.

For Sligo going out of Europe at this stage it isn't a disaster, even if they get through Steaua isn't a realistically winnable game and its not exactly a glamour game where the eyes of the country would be on them. Really this is the year they want to win the league, anything else would be a bonus.

Its difficult to see the Irish sides having much of a run this year with the draws they've got there. I haven't much hope for Sligo but Shamrock Rovers and Pats can progress if they get things right next week.

The Lep
20/07/2012, 7:44 PM
Not a glamour game? Steaua won the european cup 1986 and may attract a large Romanian support for the home game for Sligo seeing that there is a massive amount of Romanians here. Romanian tv might want to show it live as well so it could be a good pay day for Sligo and a huge extra incentive to get through this round.

shellyriver
20/07/2012, 8:18 PM
I'd agree, having seen Sligo against Bray and Derry leading into this game I was worried by the sort of goals Sligo were conceding.

All those nonsense goals (bar that ridiculous corner) have come from Gaynor (3) at left-back ( along with Davoren (1) letting Jason Byrne in not up to form). This is our most vulnerable position for many's a game. What is Baraclough thinking? We need to shore this position up - Jake Dykes (16) appeared more capable for this role when against Monaghan than Gaynor.

Bring back Dillon -- our midfield is too ponderous. Hopefully, Quigley is back on track.

Anyways, here's hoping for a 2-nil result.

20/07/2012, 8:35 PM
Not a glamour game? Steaua won the european cup 1986 and may attract a large Romanian support for the home game for Sligo seeing that there is a massive amount of Romanians here. Romanian tv might want to show it live as well so it could be a good pay day for Sligo and a huge extra incentive to get through this round.

Its still not a glamour game to the general public.

20/07/2012, 8:41 PM
I don't agree whatsoever. I think Steaua is a glamour game. It's not exactly Man City, or Bayern Munich or what have you, but they are still a massive club in Europe, they aren't the powerhouse they once were, but they're still a very big name, and still a huge club.
Each of the draws for the next round, Anderlecht, Steaua, and Hannover are all massive clubs, massive games, and each club should be doing all they can to reach the next round and play a club such as one of these.

Any LOI club could only dream of being as big as any of those clubs.

20/07/2012, 8:49 PM
thats fine and all Nigel. I dont necessarily disagree. I just dont think that your opinion is representative of that of the general public.

Theres about 20 clubs total that represent glamour to the general public and they are located in England, Spain and Italy with one or two each from Scotland, France and Germany. Try asking Bill O'Herlihy who Steaua are or who their best player is and you'll get an idea of what the general public think of them.

The Lep
20/07/2012, 9:22 PM
Its still not a glamour game to the general public.

Maybe not appeal to the general public but it might appeal to the football loving public. Either way, i say it will be a sell out if Sligo get through.

20/07/2012, 9:25 PM
When Steaua played pats a while ago in Europe think every Romanian in Dublin was at the game, cracking atmosphere and a decent crowd at the RDS that day

placid casual
20/07/2012, 9:55 PM
Great minds think alike THOR ...........................:D

20/07/2012, 9:57 PM
Try asking Bill O'Herlihy who Steaua are or who their best player is and you'll get an idea of what the general public think of them.

Christ, I'd say Bill O'Herlihy forgets his own name from time to time never mind anyone elses.

The Lep
20/07/2012, 10:03 PM
Laughed at the Mirror today ( the paper ;) ). It had a picture of the Sligo fans with flags, with Sligo on them and had the caption underneath that said that they were Pats fans ;).

PartySaint
20/07/2012, 10:54 PM
thats fine and all Nigel. I dont necessarily disagree. I just dont think that your opinion is representative of that of the general public.

Spot on. If they are not regulars in the Champions quarter final they are not a glamour club for the Irish sporting public. For the Irish football loving public it would be good for us to see Sligo take on a former European Cup winner but we would have all been interested in the game whoever they played.

IF Sligo can get through it will be a sell out so they will be happy with that.

Hannover would be an amazing trip for us, just hope we can get through (wont be too disappointed if we don't).

21/07/2012, 7:54 AM

Theres about 20 clubs total that represent glamour to the general public and they are located in England, Spain and Italy with one or two each from Scotland, France and Germany. Try asking Bill O'Herlihy who Steaua are or who their best player is and you'll get an idea of what the general public think of them.

I disagree. The example I'd use would be when we were drawn against Red Star a few years back. Quickest sold out game I've seen. Stadium sold out in about 5 hours.

21/07/2012, 8:26 AM
Jesus, far too many of you are missing the pretty obvious point I'm making. my point is most of Ireland won't give a toss about Steaua and probably didn't care a whole lot more about Red Star. Compare the coverage of the game you mention versus the media scrum before, during & after the Rovers v Juve game. Worlds apart.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/07/2012, 8:50 AM
Fully agree. We had Liverpool in the 6 teams the winners of our game could have drawn. There would be a very different reaction if it was them who were drawn out.

21/07/2012, 9:05 AM
Just looking at the draw for the Scottish teams - Celtic got HJk Helsinki, but the Finnish teams are flying this year so might be a potential banana skin there, and Dundee Utd got Torpedo Moscow, and St Johnstone 0-2 to that Turkish team. By the time Rangers Newco get back to the SPL their teams good be starting off in the Euro preliminary rounds!

Spudulika
21/07/2012, 11:47 AM
Just looking at the draw for the Scottish teams - Celtic got HJk Helsinki, but the Finnish teams are flying this year so might be a potential banana skin there, and Dundee Utd got Torpedo Moscow, and St Johnstone 0-2 to that Turkish team. By the time Rangers Newco get back to the SPL their teams good be starting off in the Euro preliminary rounds!

I think Dundee United got Dinamo, not as fun a draw seeing as Torpedo could be going out of business if the match fixing trial goes to court. Leaves 1 less team in the 1st Division too (only 17 of 20 runners came to post, 4 went out and 1 came in).

It's a good draw for the Irish sides, nothing completely devastating. Hannover are good but not amazing, Steaua are not the force they were but still strong. Rovers could pull off a shock though. So long as Sligo and Pats can make it that far it'll be a good year (kinda).