View Full Version : European Football 2012
Fester
26/07/2012, 8:10 PM
Now ... last week game coming back to haunt them? They should have finish the game last week when they had the chance!
In fairness it not over yet.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:17 PM
In fairness it not over yet.
I hope ye win it and get through!
Fester
26/07/2012, 8:18 PM
I hope ye win it and get through!
Same here, fingers down to stumps..
Gorm agus Bán
26/07/2012, 8:20 PM
The commentators at the Sligo Rovers game were saying that the buck that scored for Trnava went to celebrate his goal in front of Sligo fans and the Sligo dugout. No call for that carry-on.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:26 PM
The commentators at the Sligo Rovers game were saying that the buck that scored for Trnava went to celebrate his goal in front of Sligo fans and the Sligo dugout. No call for that carry-on.
He scored ... good luck to him .... its quite simple, when sligo scored, you celebrate in front of their bench, it was a soft goal and rogers should have save it.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:31 PM
Extratime credit the goal to Jason McGuinness ?
Sorry ... thought it was Quigley, my mistake
Fester
26/07/2012, 8:33 PM
Pats 1 all FT gone to et
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:34 PM
Extra time again ..... god they like putting us through it , dont they!
DannyInvincible
26/07/2012, 8:53 PM
Yessss! 2-1 to Pat's. Fagan with the goal.
Fester
Pats take the lead
I know I'm putting a jinx on Pats but I can't remember an LOI team in a penalty shootout in Europe. Is that right?
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:54 PM
Fagan ... good man .... if St. pat win this tonight 2-1 ... is that 0.25 TO THE CO-EFFICIENT?
Fester
I know I'm putting a jinx on Pats but I can't remember an LOI team in a penalty shootout in Europe. Is that right?
Drogheda lost 18 v 17 some years back.
Fester
Fagan ... good man .... if St. pat win this tonight 2-1 ... is that 0.25 TO THE CO-EFFICIENT?
It will count as a draw for the coefficient
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:55 PM
Def can't be a penalty shoot out now tonight....
bullit
yEHAAA .Go on Pat's :)
:p Ok. Just ignore my last post. nothing to see there.;)
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 8:56 PM
i taught that but just was not 100%... thanks
Gorm agus Bán
26/07/2012, 8:56 PM
Good stuff Pats. Hope yis can hang in there.
CuanaD
26/07/2012, 8:57 PM
YOu sure?
I thought it was only a draw if it went to pennos?
26/07/2012, 8:58 PM
Are you sure? I thought the final score was what counted.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 9:02 PM
We can discussed it in 10mins time ....... :)
Fester
26/07/2012, 9:04 PM
We can discussed it in 10mins time ....... :)
Cant take much more of this....
26/07/2012, 9:06 PM
Deja Vu.
Dodge said earlier that a win is a coefficient win no matter if it was earned in ET.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 9:07 PM
Lucky there!!!!!!!
26/07/2012, 9:08 PM
Mad stuff. Ger O'Brien with an apparently goal-saving tackle. 3 minutes-ish to go according to the commentators.
26/07/2012, 9:10 PM
Deja Vu.
Dodge said earlier that a win is a coefficient win no matter if it was earned in ET.
thats what i thought too.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 9:10 PM
blow fcuking up!!!!!!
26/07/2012, 9:11 PM
One minute added on.
DannyInvincible
26/07/2012, 9:12 PM
Yes! Pat's through.
Fester
26/07/2012, 9:13 PM
It over yyyessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Nice one Pat's.
ger121
Well done Pats. Another year and two rounds negotiated and it ain't over yet!
bullit
Brilliant stuff,well done Pat's :D
Congrats to Pats. As usual find a way to get the job done in Europe. Made heavy weather of it for 2nd round running but a decent reward for their efforts now with a game against Hannover.
AFAIK Ireland got the coefficient points from the extra time win for Shamrock Rovers last year so I'd imagine Pats will too. Not really bothered just pleased that there is at least one loi representative still in Europe.
swinfordfc
26/07/2012, 9:14 PM
Well done to St Pats again ... have done the League proud...... again!
26/07/2012, 9:15 PM
Great stuff again from Pats. Sounds like they ground it out. Is 11 home European games in a row unbeaten now?
Should be a decent payday if nothing else against Hannover.
DannyInvincible
26/07/2012, 9:16 PM
The result counts as a win for the national co-efficient and counts as a round progression for the team co-efficient. Would only have counted as a draw if it had gone to penalties, irrespective of the shoot-out result.
26/07/2012, 9:17 PM
They don't half drag it out though, do they? They must think they get added bonuses for the 30 minutes of extra time.
ger121
26/07/2012, 9:20 PM
Are Pats home or away 1st against Hannover? Would be great if the tie was still alive for the 2nd leg.
CuanaD
26/07/2012, 9:21 PM
Tallaght next Thursday, is that right?
DannyInvincible
26/07/2012, 9:22 PM
Apparently, Setanta have confirmed they'll be televising the first leg.
bullit
26/07/2012, 9:24 PM
Tallaght next Thursday, is that right?
Yeah
Extratime earlier-
I know it is a bit early to talk about it but if Pat's can get a result here they will play Hannover next week. That first leg would take place in Tallaght Stadium as Richmond Park doesn't meet the UEFA requirements for the third qualifying round.
26/07/2012, 9:34 PM
are st pats the best example of slow consistent progression?! ;) with all these draws and wins and team ranking improving they will eventually make the group stages and then if they win the league - the cl group stages obviously :D
St.Patulations!! Great result! Hope you have a great time in Hannover in a few weeks time and continue to do the league proud!
And fair play for taking all that groundwork that Bohs did and running with it!!
Well done to Pats. Great result for them.
As for us, we obviously paid the price for a shambolic ten minutes in the first leg. We were full of endeavour and effort tonight all over the park and all the lads can hold their heads high after that.
North's penalty miss was a huge moment and the fact they scored with what I honestly think was their only shot of the game shows the price you pay.
Packed Showgrounds and a great atmosphere. The European nights are really occassions to savour. Would be nice to win one at some stage.
26/07/2012, 10:09 PM
for pats home games in 2nd round uefa competitions whats their max capacity?looks like a very low turnout.not even half of sligo rovers attendance.
DannyInvincible
26/07/2012, 10:10 PM
It's easy enough to feel sorry for ourselves through myopic bias and assume that just the Irish sides regularly fall victim to the hard-luck, so-near-yet-so-far stories whilst rarely anyone else does, but lower-ranked teams are hard done-by every year: http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2013/matches/round=2000353/match=2009763/index.html
Poor Ordabasy had a penalty saved ten minutes from time before Rosenborg got their winner four minutes into stoppage time. More often than not, quality will shine through and the stronger teams will capitalise on the "luck" they've been able to create for themselves. Simply because they're more ruthless and have that edge when it comes to overall ability.
Anyway, congrats to Pat's and good luck against Hannover. Thank God there's at least one Irish team still flying the flag in Europe this year. Has been a pretty miserable showing otherwise.