View Full Version : European Football 2012
PartySaint
02/08/2012, 12:41 AM
I reckon you will be able to get tickets at the gate. Will post here tomorrow to confirm.
02/08/2012, 1:21 AM
Mame Biram Diouf amongst others are missing for Hannover. Is that right that Pats' playing budget is 7k a week?
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0802/1224321294637.html
El-Pietro
02/08/2012, 10:09 AM
4th in a row, (4 in 5 total). Fabio scored 4 in a row for us in 2009 (home and away v Valletta and Krylya Sovetov) too
Does anyone know who the highest goal scorer from the LOI is in European Competition?
Dan Murray is Citys highest with 5 or 6 or something like that. more than Pat Morley by one I think.
ger121
02/08/2012, 10:31 AM
I know Glen Crowe was for a while but wonder if Jason Byrne overtook him
PartySaint
02/08/2012, 2:25 PM
Tickets available in Inchicore up until 4 o'clock then will be available at Tallaght Stadium for anyone looking to go.
800 Germans expected. handed back tickets today. Tickets on sale from the ground.
Pitch looks well.
Spudulika
02/08/2012, 4:40 PM
Going to watch a feed at a local pub, owner was hapoy to have something other than women's basketball on. 2 Germans going to be there, love to stick it up their Roy Keanes! Come on Pats!!!
02/08/2012, 5:10 PM
What time is kick-off, im at the boxing so will miss this.
ger121
02/08/2012, 5:33 PM
Any links to watch this match? The one above for the German channel,is giving me a rights restrictions message:(
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 6:01 PM
Any links to watch this match? The one above for the German channel,is giving me a rights restrictions message:(
Hopefully, something listed here will be showing the game: http://lshunter.net/
There are German channels currently being streamed via the links under the St. Pat's heading, so looking likely.
02/08/2012, 6:05 PM
So, Spartak Trnava are 1-0 up away to Steaua Bucharest. Interesting.
Best of luck to Pats tonight.
http://myp2p.mu/
Keep an eye there for links to the match.
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 6:18 PM
Live here now: http://www.belovedsport.com/channel.php
Coverage is German and from pitch-side. Looks like a nice evening in Tallaght.
ger121
02/08/2012, 6:39 PM
None of the links seem to work on the iphone.
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 6:43 PM
Teams out. Massive Hannover crowd in. Good luck, Pat's!
Mad Moose
02/08/2012, 6:44 PM
Is the St Pats uStream channel covering tonights game?
I don't run my browser on firefox so either of the links above are destroyed by ads etc.
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 6:48 PM
Do you use Google Chrome? Pretty handy extension to cut out ads, this: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 6:50 PM
********. 1-0 down. Was quite a strike, mind. Right into the top corner. Gave Clarke no chance.
02/08/2012, 6:51 PM
Goal Hannover. Good strike.
zoiks, just tuned in 1-0 ze germans already. Who scored.
'mon Pats!
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 6:53 PM
zoiks, just tuned in 1-0 ze germans already. Who scored.
Leon Andreasen.
Mad Moose
02/08/2012, 6:55 PM
Do you use Google Chrome? Pretty handy extension to cut out ads, this: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom
Cheers. Thank you. I've just run it to see if I can something of this game. Thanks for that.
ped_ped
02/08/2012, 7:05 PM
Turns out St. Pats don't have much Ansehen but they've plenty of Hertz.
02/08/2012, 7:23 PM
Perfect stream here. German commentary of course though. Doesn't seem to be English commentary anywhere.
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 7:33 PM
Perfect stream here.
Well, bar the score. :)
i think Pats have been very good in spells when you consider that they are up against a technically top notch German side.
Munster Saint
02/08/2012, 7:39 PM
As far as I could make out from my rusty German, Andreasen hasn't played first team football since April 2010 because of injury.
Couldn't he have taken another few weeks off?
02/08/2012, 7:40 PM
http://www.ilemi.me/21435/1/Watch-St--Patrick-Athletic-vs-Hannover-96-/
For anyone looking for a good stream.
great chance there, unlucky...
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 8:00 PM
Pat's playing really well this half. Plenty of possession and pressure.
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 8:03 PM
Sweet Holy Communion! That was close. Just as I'd praised Pat's, Hannover miss a glorious chance clean through on Clarke by dragging it wide. What a let-off.
Munster Saint
02/08/2012, 8:08 PM
Fook, 0-2 now...
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 8:09 PM
Bah! 2-0. Very poor from Clarke as he reacts slowly to a direct free-kick at a comfortable enough height. Got a hand to it but not enough to keep it out.
02/08/2012, 8:21 PM
Feck it.
DannyInvincible
02/08/2012, 8:21 PM
Well, that's that. Hannover go 3-0 up.
ger121
02/08/2012, 8:29 PM
Hannover have had one more attempt on target than Pats. Difference is they've scored from all 3:(
Dalymountrower
03/08/2012, 8:49 AM
Hannover have had one more attempt on target than Pats. Difference is they've scored from all 3:(
Pats had 2/3 good chances I `m not sure that if they had scored that Hanover would have had the ability to up a gear. Good ten- fifteen minute spell before Pats start of the second half when they should have scored.
Impressed by Fagan and by O`Connor and Bolger in the second half. A lot of posession given away too easilly by Pats. They stood off a far from impressive Hannover. If they had pressed them for the entire game as they did early in the second half they might have got something from the game.
Disappointing display by Forrester
I heard on the radio that the crowd was 4,000 +, if thats the case the "old" stand in Tallaght must hold 3,600 as there were about 400 Hanoverians in the far stand and no-one else.?
Saw a good few Bohs fans at the game.
Straightstory
03/08/2012, 9:03 AM
Impressed by Pats' possession football. Great to see an Irish team play that way. But they were lacking in defence and attack, and punished by the Germans. Clarke should have kept out the second goal.
CuanaD
03/08/2012, 11:36 AM
Pats had 2/3 good chances I `m not sure that if they had scored that Hanover would have had the ability to up a gear. Good ten- fifteen minute spell before Pats start of the second half when they should have scored.
Impressed by Fagan and by O`Connor and Bolger in the second half. A lot of posession given away too easilly by Pats. They stood off a far from impressive Hannover. If they had pressed them for the entire game as they did early in the second half they might have got something from the game.
Disappointing display by Forrester
I heard on the radio that the crowd was 4,000 +, if thats the case the "old" stand in Tallaght must hold 3,600 as there were about 400 Hanoverians in the far stand and no-one else.?
Saw a good few Bohs fans at the game.
We were in the main stand (it holds 3300 in total) - some empty seats, but also plenty standing, so it was very near to full. We were wondering about the numbers too & did a reasonable headcount of the Hanover side - came up with a figure of at least 790 - so 4,000 in total sounds reasonable.
(the Hanover side looked bare alright, but c.800 in a 2700 seat stand always will)
DannyInvincible
03/08/2012, 5:11 PM
That's just how it is at this level. You can huff and puff all you like but if you're not as clinical as your opponent, you'll end up losing more often of than not. And it has little to do with luck, or whatever people might call it. These teams get "lucky" because they have the ability to create their "luck". Irish teams are "unlucky" because they often need numerous more chances (and clear-cut ones at that) to actually hit the back of the net because, when it comes down to it, they aren't as good as their opponents.
In saying that, I do have to commend how Pat's played; very enjoyable to watch despite suffering a 0-3 loss.
Undoubtedly all true Danny, but Christ what did people expect ? Hannover are at a different level to us and realistically were always going to win this game, and the tie. I think Pats did well. Yeah sure you can pick holes, and probably all the goals were avoidable, but as you say, that's what happens when you face superior opposition, you get punished for things you'd probably get away with in LOI games. I have to say, I've been very disappointed by some of the negative comments about Pats performance. At least we tried to play the game the right away by keeping the ball, unlike our National team in the Euros. And how did that work out again ?
DannyInvincible
07/08/2012, 8:02 PM
Undoubtedly all true Danny, but Christ what did people expect ?
Hey, I was being complementary. And just stating some facts while I was at it. :)
07/08/2012, 9:18 PM
I have to say, I've been very disappointed by some of the negative comments about Pats performance. At least we tried to play the game the right away by keeping the ball, unlike our National team in the Euros. And how did that work out again ?
As a LOI side, if you want to beat the likes of Hannover, you have to learn how to play ugly and hold your own. You won't outpass them as they are better at keeping the ball.
Ireland at least got to the Euros. Fate gave Ireland both finalists in the group phase. Neither Ireland nor anyone else they faced could beat them. Somebody will beat Hannover though, well before the final.
07/08/2012, 9:21 PM
As a LOI side, if you want to beat the likes of Hannover, you have to learn how to play ugly and hold your own. You won't outpass them as they are better at keeping the ball.
Ireland at least got to the Euros. Fate gave Ireland both finalists in the group phase. Neither Ireland nor anyone else they faced could beat them. Somebody will beat Hannover though, well before the final.
You don't have to surrender the ball to hold your own. They didn't command the ball either but they weren't as meek as Ireland. They did what Rovers did in Europe last year - they set themselves up to achieve some sort of parity in terms of possession so they weren't so tired they got picked off. Unfortunately, they let in two dreadful goals, much like Rovers did against the likes of Rubin, but that is down to individual error, not playing the wrong way.
PartySaint
07/08/2012, 9:39 PM
Right lads, these are better than us so lets not pass the ball and just give it to them. THAT'S how will we will beat this lot.
placid casual
07/08/2012, 9:59 PM
Pats found their level a few years ago and fair play to them
beating teams in the 1st and 2nd round in the europa league, helped no doubt by finishing 3rd in the league every year.
Bawnville Hoop
08/08/2012, 12:21 AM
Pats found their level a few years ago and fair play to them
beating teams in the 1st and 2nd round in the europa league, helped no doubt by finishing 3rd in the league every year.
They deserve the oppertunity of a pop at the Champions league next year. If we don't make it I would rather they will. Sligo won't be seeded anyway and there will be no easy opponents next year for those unseeded.
I've been very disappointed by some of the negative comments about Pats performance. At least we tried to play the game the right away by keeping the ball, unlike our National team in the Euros. And how did that work out again ?Fair play to Pats, you have to be realistic regarding the gulf between the teams, it's huge.
Having said that though the keeper was extremely poor for 2 of the goals.That won't help your cause when playing a team a few levels above you.
08/08/2012, 10:08 AM
You don't have to surrender the ball to hold your own. They didn't command the ball either but they weren't as meek as Ireland. They did what Rovers did in Europe last year - they set themselves up to achieve some sort of parity in terms of possession so they weren't so tired they got picked off.
Ireland played the best teams with the best players in the world at the Euros. It's a struggle for most teams. Pats played a mid-table side from the German league. As good as they may be, they're not quite Bayern Munich in full flow.
That said, pragmatism has to take over at that level. If it means parking the bus and counter-attacking, that's what it takes. They can play their nice football against the Droghedas and Dundalks at home. At European level, results are everything.
ped_ped
08/08/2012, 11:25 AM
Ireland played the best teams with the best players in the world at the Euros. It's a struggle for most teams. Pats played a mid-table side from the German league. As good as they may be, they're not quite Bayern Munich in full flow.
Christy Fagan isn't quite Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle or Shane Long, nor is Chris Forrester quite Aidan McGeady nor Conor Kenna quite Richard Dunne.
Comparisons have to go both ways.
08/08/2012, 2:22 PM
So how do people see the 2nd leg going, kind of worried they'll get hockeyed even if they play relatively well.