View Full Version : European Football 2012
ger121
21/07/2012, 4:41 PM
I think a good year,would probably be Pats into R3 and Rovers into EL Play-off round via the CL backdoor. Anything else beyond that would be a bonus
swinfordfc
21/07/2012, 7:16 PM
I think a good year,would probably be Pats into R3 and Rovers into EL Play-off round via the CL backdoor. Anything else beyond that would be a bonus
It vital for the Airtricity League that Rovers gets through on Tuesday night. If the do , they have at least 4 more games in Europe. St Pats better get through to the next round especially after dominating the game in Bosnia and still only drawing 1-1
oriel
23/07/2012, 10:54 AM
Of course it would be good if all sides get through, Pats prob have the best chance, followed by Rovers, then Sligo really up against it to win 2-0 (or better)
I think one point missed by a lot is the difficulty that most Irish clubs have in competing in Europe. Regardless of the opposition, I still think its a great achievement to win even one game. We can grind out draws and generally run teams close, but it does seem to be getting harder. When I think back to the match away to Grevenmacher we played in Lux in 2010, sweltering heat of 30+ C at kick off, and the negative reviews we got for 'only drawing 3-3 away', ok we beat them at home, but it was very difficult, and its the same for most clubs these days I feel.
Good luck to all of them this month.
CuanaD
23/07/2012, 11:27 AM
I think a good result would be 1 full coefficient point (we are on 0.625 at the moment),
so one more win & 1 more draw,
anything more than that would be a bonus
Bawnville Hoop
23/07/2012, 12:27 PM
I think a good result would be 1 full coefficient point (we are on 0.625 at the moment),
so one more win & 1 more draw,
anything more than that would be a bonus
We should really be aiming for 1.500. Not impossible.
swinfordfc
23/07/2012, 12:31 PM
We should really be aiming for 1.500. Not impossible.
I agree ..... should be over 1 now by right .....
23/07/2012, 12:52 PM
Would I be right in saying, this year really needs to be 2.500 or more to stay where we are in the rankings? Do we lose 08-09 co-efficient after this season?
Currently, we're 8th worst ranked country this season so far.
swinfordfc
23/07/2012, 2:00 PM
Would I be right in saying, this year really needs to be 2.500 or more to stay where we are in the rankings? Do we lose 08-09 co-efficient after this season?
Lose 2.500 start of next season
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/crank2013.html
This shows next year's rankings (with updated results from this season). The 2.5 is with us for another year
The 2.5 include 1 point that Pats earned for drawing with Hertha in the 2nd lef of the UEFA CUp 1st round (proper) in 08/09. Derry earned the same in 06/07 (PSG). AFter that the seedings were revamped and only group stage results gave whole points to nations and clubs
If you're chasing co-efficients, then the round of entry shouldn't be that important. Now club ranking points mean more
Rovers will win tomorrow
23/07/2012, 3:29 PM
Ya, thats if its the same clubs getting back to Europe every year, like Pats for example, given their good results over the years, i still find it hard to see they aren't ranked higher on club points for the 2nd round.
Thats a bold statement, what makes you so confident oh wise one?
PartySaint
23/07/2012, 3:35 PM
Looking at that table it would be good if pats and Rovers could win this week. Lithuania right behind us and Bosnia 3 places ahead of us.
Really is it a terrible thing if our coefficient slips? All things being equal having two teams in the first round gives teams a chance to build up co-efficient points. You'd hope we'd have better representatives than Bohs next year but say next year if Shamrock Rovers were to start at the first qualifying round of the Europa League, if things are back in some sort of shape there you'd fancy them to progress through a few rounds and pick up a lot of co-efficient points. Hopefully Pats get through on Thursday and they have built up a good ranking in Europe and should be seeded in the Europa next year again be it round 1 or 2. Sligo is the problem as they'll be unseeded if they are in the CL next season but it depends on the luck of the draw, there are always a few seeded sides who are beatable.
Our other representatives are unlikely to beat great but they couldn't do any worse than Bohs.
Ya, thats if its the same clubs getting back to Europe every year, like Pats for example, given their good results over the years, i still find it hard to see they aren't ranked higher on club points for the 2nd round.
Thats a bold statement, what makes you so confident oh wise one?
I think Rovers will get a score draw which would see them through. Wouldn't be so definitive on Rovers winning any game in their current state.
23/07/2012, 5:52 PM
I wouldn't be so definite on Rovers scoring a goal in their current state.
Our other representatives are unlikely to beat great but they couldn't do any worse than Bohs.
We have been particularly sh!te in Europe lately though its a bit unfair to forget that we did do a fair chunk of the groundwork in getting the Leagues coefficient raised in the first place which subsequently made things a tad easier for our compatriots.
23/07/2012, 9:00 PM
Really is it a terrible thing if our coefficient slips? All things being equal having two teams in the first round gives teams a chance to build up co-efficient points. You'd hope we'd have better representatives than Bohs next year but say next year if Shamrock Rovers were to start at the first qualifying round of the Europa League, if things are back in some sort of shape there you'd fancy them to progress through a few rounds and pick up a lot of co-efficient points.
Yeah because we might just beat teams from leagues that are lower than us like Lithuania and Iceland......oh wait!:rolleyes:
Maybe not all of the time but Pats have beaten opposition from Iceland x 2, Kazahstan, Malta, Latvia etc. in the early rounds has all helped raise their club co-efficient.
Ok Bohs lost to the Icelandic team but if Pats had got the same team I'd imagine they'd have progressed comfortably enough.
Shamrock Rovers are going poorly and still created more than enough chances to beat the (seeded) Lithuanians at home and if they play with the required composure tomorrow they still have a decent chance of progression.
There are likely to be times when you get opposition from San Marino or Andorra or somewhere like that also.
Sligo got straight into round 3 last year which was good in one way but they came up against a good side and could only pick up a small percentage of co-efficient points but if they'd started in round 1 or round 2 they might have got some results that would have boosted their co-efficient and possibly have had them seeded for future European campaigns.
All I'm saying is that its not the end of the world if the coefficient slips a little. Ok we'd all like us to be back in the top 30 but that position was slightly false. I think the league needs to take stock and stabilise and we should find our level around 35 or so for a few years and hopefully then push on in the future.
We have been particularly sh!te in Europe lately though its a bit unfair to forget that we did do a fair chunk of the groundwork in getting the Leagues coefficient raised in the first place which subsequently made things a tad easier for our compatriots.
Fair enough Bohs had some good European results in the early 00's better than Galway United anyway:rolleyes: but they weren't really in a position to be a good representative of the league this season due to their squad constraints.
PartySaint
24/07/2012, 1:10 AM
So we want to lower our co-efficient so we can improve our co-efficient?
I wouldn't be so definite on Rovers scoring a goal in their current state.
I'd be reasonably confident of scoring a goal, but concede a few others at the other end. 1-0 turning quickly to 3-0 is not out of the question. Last year 1-0 stayed 1-0 in Copenhagen and Belgrade and kept it competitive.
24/07/2012, 9:08 AM
Copenhagan and belgrade were far tricker assignments last year though.
We'll take the last 10 years
03/04 0.33 added
04/05 0.17 added
09/10 0.125 added
10/11 0.25 added
11/12 0.125 added
12/13 0.125 added
Fair to say you haven't really contributed "a fair chunk of the groundwork "
JC_GUFC
24/07/2012, 11:32 AM
We'll take the last 10 years
03/04 0.33 added
04/05 0.17 added
09/10 0.125 added
10/11 0.25 added
11/12 0.125 added
12/13 0.125 added
Fair to say you haven't really contributed "a fair chunk of the groundwork "
I think the 00/01 season was the real "breakout" for Irish clubs - certaintly the results achieved generated a bit of attention among non-LoI supporting fans.
Bohs winning in Aberdeen was huge but equally Rosenborg coming to Dublin for a CL qualifier against Shels was a bit moment.
There had been a few close calls in previous years but those Bohs and Shels really raised the bar to a new level.
Obviously Pat's have been the leading the way in recent years.
24/07/2012, 12:07 PM
I was speaking in terms of co-efficient and where we are now.
No doubt Bohs beating Aberdeen (and then winning in Kaiserslauten) was huge.
In term of co-efficient our best years were
00/01 - 2.33
06/07 - 2.833
08/09 - 2.5
The 3 years after that 00/01 season were 0.67, 0.17 and 0.33 though
swinfordfc
24/07/2012, 12:55 PM
Lads, its quite simple .... Rovers need to progress tonight or its a poor season in Europe for League of Ireland teams
Hibs4Ever
24/07/2012, 2:00 PM
Lads, its quite simple .... Rovers need to progress tonight or its a poor season in Europe for League of Ireland teams
Even if St Pats and Sligo progress?
So what? Last year was one of the best ever and it hasn't helped the league as a whole. Rovers don't owe the league, or anyone but their fans, anything in Europe.
A N Mouse
24/07/2012, 2:06 PM
Or maybe the last few seasons have been anomalous.
And this kind of season is a more realistic expectation.
Ties won for the past 10 years
2011 - 4 (CL, 3 EL)
2010 - 2 (2 EL)
2009 - 3 (3 EL)
2008 - 4 (CL, 2 UEFA, inter toto)
2007 - 2 (UEFA, inter toto)
2006 - 5 (CL, 3 UEFA, intertoto)
2005 - 3 (CL, 2 UEFA)
2004 - 4 (2 CL, 2 inter toto)
2003 - 2 (CL, inter toto)
2002 - 1 (inter toto)
longfordjames
24/07/2012, 3:31 PM
Everyone on twitter use the hashtag #hoopsineurope.
24/07/2012, 3:37 PM
Ties won for the past 10 years
2011 - 4 (CL, 3 EL)
2010 - 2 (2 EL)
2009 - 3 (3 EL)
2008 - 4 (CL, 2 UEFA, inter toto)
2007 - 2 (UEFA, inter toto)
2006 - 5 (CL, 3 UEFA, intertoto)
2005 - 3 (CL, 2 UEFA)
2004 - 4 (2 CL, 2 inter toto)
2003 - 2 (CL, inter toto)
2002 - 1 (inter toto)
Has anyone actually spotted the pattern there?
TheBoss
24/07/2012, 4:15 PM
1 Oscar Jansson
27 Pat Sullivan
4 Craig Sives
5 Ken Oman (C)
3 Conor Powell
7 Gary McCabe
21 Ronan Finn
6 Stephen Rice
15 Killian Brennan
20 Billy Dennehy
9 Gary Twigg
redobit
24/07/2012, 4:20 PM
Has anyone actually spotted the pattern there?
Ya, Shams plane should be grand.
Straightstory
24/07/2012, 4:20 PM
Good luck to Rovers.
Any live links for this? I know it's on Setanta (via eircom), but that doesn't ever seem to work.
TheBoss
24/07/2012, 4:21 PM
Its on BET365 website
horton
24/07/2012, 4:59 PM
Good luck to Rovers.
Any live links for this? I know it's on Setanta (via eircom), but that doesn't ever seem to work.
Links should be on all the usual streaming websites, they normally don't go live until near enough kick off time though.
poster
24/07/2012, 5:03 PM
Everyone on twitter use the hashtag #hoopsineurope.
#idrathernotthanksverymuch
DannyInvincible
24/07/2012, 5:04 PM
Stream without commentary here: http://futbolo.tv/video/35-a-lyga-video/rungtynes/877-tiesiogiai-ekranas-shamrock-rovers
Edit: Lithuanian commentary now.
horton
24/07/2012, 5:11 PM
Bugger, thought kick off was later, cheers Danny!
Mad Moose
24/07/2012, 5:44 PM
Stream without commentary here: http://futbolo.tv/video/35-a-lyga-video/rungtynes/877-tiesiogiai-ekranas-shamrock-rovers
Edit: Lithuanian commentary now.
Thank you. Just started the stream as Ekranas scored.
ped_ped
24/07/2012, 5:44 PM
Feck it anyway.
born2bwild
24/07/2012, 5:46 PM
What kind of defending was that?
Btw, Is it just me or is Killian Brennan more trouble than he's worth?
Rovers still only need one goal.............
DannyInvincible
A goal will still take Rovers through. Not sure where it'll come from though unless there's a change of game-plan.
Real ale Madrid
Bad defending.
Straightstory
24/07/2012, 5:47 PM
Typical. Why is Twigg so bad in 'Europe'?
Bad Bad Bad but Rovers needed to score anyway so its better coming at this stage than the 88th minute. Rovers have 45 minutes to save their season and Stephen Kennys job.
DannyInvincible
24/07/2012, 5:49 PM
Thought Oman could have done better rather than assuming it was the keeper's. Soft goal to concede.
Spudulika
24/07/2012, 5:55 PM
Won't somebody think of the co-efficient!
Mad Moose
24/07/2012, 6:10 PM
McCormackas and McCabas......;)