View Full Version : Rate the last film you saw
04/01/2010, 2:02 PM
Watched 3 good horror DVD's over Xmas.
Drag Me To Hell:Girl working in a bank refuses an old lady a loan to keep her house and ends up with a curse on her head which she has 3 days to overturn.Some good frights along the way and much better than I expected :8/10
The Orphan:American family adopt a Belarussian kid but all is not what it seems as the kid doen't exactly fit in well with her new family. 8/10
Horsemen Of The Apocalypse; Denis Quaid as a recently bereaved Cop who tackles a serial killer with biblical references (a bit like "Seven"),I enjoyed it anyhow:). 7.5/10
weecountyman
04/01/2010, 6:45 PM
Watched 3 good horror DVD's over Xmas.
Drag Me To Hell:Girl working in a bank refuses an old lady a loan to keep her house and ends up with a curse on her head which she has 3 days to overturn.Some good frights along the way and much better than I expected :8/10
The Orphan:American family adopt a Belarussian kid but all is not what it seems as the kid doen't exactly fit in well with her new family. 8/10
Horsemen Of The Apocalypse; Denis Quaid as a recently bereaved Cop who tackles a serial killer with biblical references (a bit like "Seven"),I enjoyed it anyhow:). 7.5/10
I'd call that a slight understatement :D Good movie, watched it late one Saturday night with my other half and was scared of kids after, especially dark hair girls!
04/01/2010, 7:11 PM
just saw Up In The Air, brilliant show, there big talk that this and avatar are the major best picture contenders for the oscars, theres still 3 months to the oscars, and this film is probably ahead by a good bit,
this is probably the best film ive seen with george clooney since oceans 11, (Michael Clayton the probably the main one i havent seen, didnt like Burn After Reading or Men Who Stare At Goats)
:eek: mmmm
don ramo
04/01/2010, 7:15 PM
so what was his last good film, mmmmm isnt really much of discussion like:rolleyes:,
04/01/2010, 7:29 PM
Just watched Wanted with James McAvoy and Angelina Jolie. Brutal in both senses of the word. 1/5
04/01/2010, 7:49 PM
Great film, and (as pointed out above) great understatement :p
weecountyman
04/01/2010, 8:10 PM
Just watched Wanted with James McAvoy and Angelina Jolie. Brutal in both senses of the word. 1/5
Agreed, I thought it was going to be another rollercoaster with the Director in place and a couple of the actors involved, but it was poor in spite of some good effects. If you want to see something very good that this Director has done check out Nigh****ch and Daywatch (they've been on E4 a few times) and remember that the subject matter is almost too close to the truth, okay, apart from vampires, magicians and werewolves etc. But the special effects, humour and dialogue make Wanted look like a straight to betamax effort.
04/01/2010, 9:09 PM
District 9...weird, but decent film.
Razors left peg
04/01/2010, 9:54 PM
Oceans 11 was one of my favorite movie.Its not exactly Shakespeare but its good popcorn entertainment
05/01/2010, 12:21 PM
Oceans 11 was one of my favorite movie.Its not exactly Shakespeare but its good popcorn entertainment
Thats fine, I like One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest myself :)
05/01/2010, 1:05 PM
The last film I saw: Forever Strong.
A film based on a compilation of true individual stories, centred around a troubled rugby union player who is sent to juvenile detention in Salt Lake City. Unable to play for his former team while in detention, he begins playing for Highland Rugby under coach Larry Gelwick - and this movie is a much of a tribute to him as it is about the troubled main character. From there, some stuff happens.. you know, it's a movie, stuff happens. More stuff happens, it ends.
The film is reasonably predictable and is cheesier than a slice of chedder melted onto some brie, but still likeable and somewhat emotional.
The last great film I saw (not including documentaries) was Donnie Darko. Brilliant.
I also watched In Bruges again, love it!
05/01/2010, 4:14 PM
Watched Milk last night. Enjoyable film, Sean Penn was excellent in it.
4/5.
lionelhutz
06/01/2010, 2:15 PM
Went to see Planet 51 in the cinema over xmas with my nephew - very enjoyable cartoon film. It's kind of the opposite to ET. Man lands on another planet, the green inhabitants are terrified and sceptical of him at first, but he befriends a native who sets out to save him. Great entertainment.
06/01/2010, 3:19 PM
Saw a free preview of It's Complicated last night, actually better than I expected it to be (which wasn't much). Possibly could have shaved 15-20 minutes out of it, but not a bad comedy.
Watched "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee" there a few nights back. Very good film about how the displacement of the native americans by the USA Goverment in the late 19th century
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0821638
dublinred
06/01/2010, 5:03 PM
Surveillance - On Sky movies at the moment worth a look loads of blood.
500 Days of Summer
proves the romantic comedy is not yet dead.
lionelhutz
07/01/2010, 9:28 AM
500 Days of Summer
proves the romantic comedy is not yet dead.
Excellent film IMO. I laughed out loud at alot of it. The two lead actors were excellent, especially the male (guy from Third Rock from the Sun). The musical scene the morning after he gets laid is hilarious.
07/01/2010, 11:38 AM
Excellent film IMO. I laughed out loud at alot of it. The two lead actors were excellent, especially the male (guy from Third Rock from the Sun). The musical scene the morning after he gets laid is hilarious.
Joseph Gordon-Levitt. He's made a lot of interesting indie films over the past few years, and is starting to get noticed. He's great in Brick, a noir set in a high school, and a few of his other films have been well received - Mysterious Skin, and The Lookout in particular, though I haven't seen those two yet.
07/01/2010, 11:52 AM
The lookout is good. Worth a watch.
I thought Funny people was decent and an interesting move from Apatow. I think everybody thought he'd make Knocked up 2 hence it bombed in the States.
Hurt Locker was solid fare but not as brilliant as the critics made out. Maybe it's my fault expecting a masterpiece. Tense in places, good acting and a solid 7 out of 10.
Pelham 123 was very middle of the road. It could and should have been so much more.
Currently watching days of glory. 30 minutes in and liking it.
07/01/2010, 12:17 PM
Bend It Like Beckham on the box t'other night.
Jesus wept.
I expected it to be ****e and I assure you it was not me who selcted it but christ, Harold in neighbours gets better scripts ...and it's so squeaky middle class as well -I was wondering when Colin Firth was going to pop up.
As I said to herself when it ended "well the important thing is it's over".
danthesaint
07/01/2010, 12:19 PM
watched half of sherlock holmes, was a good watch, will watch the rest later.
watching the chipmunks 2, not as good as first one haha
yes i am a big kid inside haha
07/01/2010, 2:35 PM
watched Alpha Dog last night, excellent film not given enough coverage on release
AFAIK it's Justin Timberlake's acting debut and he's actually really good in it.
Anton Yelchin is kidnapped to cover his brother's debt to a marijuana dealer, and the rest of the gang take him in, give him beer, cigarettes and pot. Eventually he's more like a member than a hostage.
When the dealer learns he faces life for kidnapping, he decides to have the boy killed, and be done with him.
It's a true story, and a lot of the scenes are based on testimony from witnesses in the kidnapping trial, each character is introduced with on screen text identifying their witness number in the trial.
Definitely recommended if you haven't seen it
lionelhutz
07/01/2010, 4:11 PM
watched Alpha Dog last night, excellent film not given enough coverage on release
AFAIK it's Justin Timberlake's acting debut and he's actually really good in it.
Anton Yelchin is kidnapped to cover his brother's debt to a marijuana dealer, and the rest of the gang take him in, give him beer, cigarettes and pot. Eventually he's more like a member than a hostage.
When the dealer learns he faces life for kidnapping, he decides to have the boy killed, and be done with him.
It's a true story, and a lot of the scenes are based on testimony from witnesses in the kidnapping trial, each character is introduced with on screen text identifying their witness number in the trial.
Definitely recommended if you haven't seen it
Yeah, I saw this in the cinema a few years back. I went in not knowing what to expect cause I hadn't heard any reveiws. I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed it and I was shocked that this was based on a true story.
07/01/2010, 6:46 PM
Alpha dog is very underrated. Bought it for my brother a few years back for a birthday present and he looked at me with disgust when he noticed it had Timberake in it.......don't think he has ever watched it. Ok in the past I'll admit I bought him seabiscuit as a present/joke but that doesn't mean Alpha Dog is bad!!!
lionelhutz
08/01/2010, 1:54 PM
Went to the cinema last night with the intention of seeing Avatar but it was booked out so watched Sherlock Holmes instead. I thoroughly enjoyed it, I actually enjoy Robert Downey Jnr's humour and he was very funny at times in this. Granted I find Jude Law to be a complete muppet in most films but he was ok as Watson.
don ramo
08/01/2010, 7:11 PM
saw The Lovely Bones recently, big dissapointment,
i heard about it last year and was really looking forward to it, peter jackson directing, mark whalberg and rechael weisze and our own soarise ronan who was tipped for an oscar in this role,
sadly the premise of the book just didnt translate to film, the purgutory scenes were awful, the story just stumbles along at an awful pace,
still though id give it a 5/10,
also saw Sherlock Holmes, must say it was good fun, i honestly thought it would be funier, but i wasnt dissapointed,
its a film that holds the mystery till the end, and is set up nicely for a sequel, RDJ and jude law make for a great pairing and work well off one another, its seems guy ritchie has rediscovered he touch, long may it contuinue
a good 4.5/5:cool:
Finally got around to watching District 9, fantastic movie, not as thought provoking as I was led to believe it was but still very, very enjoyable
09/01/2010, 12:53 AM
Watched Big Fan with Patton Oswalt, a small indie movie about an obsessive NY Giants fan. Works as a car park attendant, and calls in nightly to a sports radio show.
Really good film, and reminded me a little of The Wrestler (the writer of the wrestler directed it) and certainly not something you'd expect Oswalt to appear in.
Razors left peg
09/01/2010, 8:41 AM
I watched The Hurt Locker a few days ago and still cant figure out if I thought it was good or not:) Parts of it were very enjoyable but parts a bit ridiculous
ken foree
11/01/2010, 3:52 PM
Watched Big Fan with Patton Oswalt, a small indie movie about an obsessive NY Giants fan. Works as a car park attendant, and calls in nightly to a sports radio show.
Really good film, and reminded me a little of The Wrestler (the writer of the wrestler directed it) and certainly not something you'd expect Oswalt to appear in.
supposed to be terrific, a sleeper hit, and you don't have to be into the sport or sports in general to be a... fan ;) cool, good to hear a review from the other side of the ocean.
11/01/2010, 4:06 PM
supposed to be terrific, a sleeper hit, and you don't have to be into the sport or sports in general to be a... fan ;) cool, good to hear a review from the other side of the ocean.
yeah, there's no footage from games in the film, he could just as easily be a Knicks/Yankees/Rangers fan and it would be the exact same film
Saw Avatar in the cinema the other day, def worth a look, wouldnt say its brillant but decent show. Quite long mind you.
Also saw I love you man recently, quite funny and much better than i expected it to be.
11/01/2010, 7:16 PM
Watched Glen Hansard's film Once. It's ok but too much music really. And nothing really happens.
Plot: Guy meets girl busking. They hang out. And form a band. He goes back to London, girl's fella comes to Dublin. And that's it.
11/01/2010, 8:11 PM
Saw two films yesterday.
Sunshine cleaning. Very enjoyable. Amy Adams, Emily Blunt, Alan Arkin.
Couple of sisters start a crime scene clean up business. Not sure if its a "good" film or not, but I enjoyed it a lot. Helps that Blunt (and Adams to a lesser degree) is a belter.
4/5
The Uninvited.
Crap. But a few cracking birds in it.
1/5
11/01/2010, 10:58 PM
watched 'let the right one in' i loved it! a beautifully made movie even if it is in sweedish and the special effects a little crude.. well worth the watch you shall'nt be dissapointed
weecountyman
12/01/2010, 6:05 AM
Watched "Couples Retreat", funny in parts and Vince Vaughan and Jon Favreau were strong. Decent storyline with Jean Reno providing comic gold (I can never see him as a tough guy again after one particular scene). 3/5
"Up in the air" was a very good and kind of sad movie, so much better than Men who stare at goats, and I wondered whether this is a story about George Clooney himself (perennial singelton, saying he'll never marry etc - which normally means one of two things, interested in same sex or a little odd). 4.5/5
"Kandahar" - it's coming out, with subtitles next month (saw an advance screening) and it's very, very, very good! A true story from 1995 about Soviet pilots caught by the taliban and held hostage in Afghanistan and how they deal with captivity, being in a country where a few years before they'd been at war and business. A couple of recognisable faces (the sniper from Behind Enemy Lines) and some good special effects. Time flew by. 4/5.
And for those who loved "Wanted" with Angelina Jolie, will be deligthed, thrilled to know that "Wanted 2" is in production, soon to be finished!
12/01/2010, 9:12 PM
Watched "Couples Retreat", funny in parts and Vince Vaughan and Jon Favreau were strong. Decent storyline with Jean Reno providing comic gold (I can never see him as a tough guy again after one particular scene). 3/5
It's not fantastic but I don't think it was as bad as some of the reviews it got. It made Mark Kermode's end of year "Top 10 rants." :)
12/01/2010, 9:47 PM
i also watchd 'mirrors' and 'drag me to hell' not bad pretty horrible death and riped open faces and stuff 'drag me to hell' is the better of the two but both very freaky...
watched 'the time travelers wife' with herself at the weekend i was shocked i actually liked it! one to watch if the missus cries easily :)
watched 'silent hill' finally there a few weeks back aswell. taughtit was disgusting but great and good plot twists.
anyone know what the latest saw is like?
12/01/2010, 11:07 PM
Just watched Elizabeth: The Golden Age, utter revisionist tripe, avoid at all costs
weecountyman
13/01/2010, 4:59 AM
Watched Daybreakers last night, relatively scary and a bit disgusting at points (though not in the 28 Days/Weeks mode) and a strong underlying moral tale. Sam Neill was good, so too Ethan Hawke and Willem Dafoe. An interesting take on the vampire idea, reversing the notion vampires are in the minority. 3/5
Mayo Red
13/01/2010, 8:52 AM
I watched The Hurt Locker a few days ago and still cant figure out if I thought it was good or not:) Parts of it were very enjoyable but parts a bit ridiculous
I watched it there lately too and thought the same, didn't really know what to make of it. The idea that an EOD team when caught in an ambush could become a jack of all trades expert sniper team with a Barrett .50 Cal rifle while the hardened mercenaries that actually owned the rifle were pinned down and frozen with fear was ridiculous. I've read in the paper that it's being tipped for an oscar and I suppose it's the type of deep and brooding film they go for but personally I think it's probably a bit overrated.
smellyfeet
13/01/2010, 9:56 AM
Watched The Hangover, Laughed like fook. Great craic
endabob1
13/01/2010, 10:13 AM
Watched Glen Hansard's film Once. It's ok but too much music really. And nothing really happens.
Plot: Guy meets girl busking. They hang out. And form a band. He goes back to London, girl's fella comes to Dublin. And that's it.
I really liked Once & I think you've missed the real subtlety of the plot, actually I don't even think it's that subtle....
Saw Sherlock Holmes a couple of nights ago, really enjoyed it.
More than a bit apprehensive going in cos have some quite set ideas on the subject, but was pleasantly surprised.
OK he was a wee bit too all-action maybe, but it was well done in many ways, and while no Jeremy Brett, RDJ put himself well up the list of Holmes portrayals IMO. Nice double act with himself and Jude Law too.
Also, very good direction from Guy Ritchie. It looks amazing, and the pacing is perfect, not for one second did it drag through the whole 2 hours. 8/10.
don ramo
14/01/2010, 9:52 PM
Saw Sherlock Holmes a couple of nights ago, really enjoyed it.
More than a bit apprehensive going in cos have some quite set ideas on the subject, but was pleasantly surprised.
OK he was a wee bit too all-action maybe, but it was well done in many ways, and while no Jeremy Brett, RDJ put himself well up the list of Holmes portrayals IMO. Nice double act with himself and Jude Law too.
Also, very good direction from Guy Ritchie. It looks amazing, and the pacing is perfect, not for one second did it drag through the whole 2 hours. 8/10.
part 2 stars filming in june i think for a 2012 release
stann
15/01/2010, 12:40 AM
Excellent! Though I think they might end up spinning a lengthy franchise out of this, all to the good if they could keep the standard up.
weecountyman
15/01/2010, 2:16 PM
If Invictus doesn't get an Oscar for best movie and a Best Supporting award go to one of the bodyguards then there's no justice. Great movie, moving and great to watch.
Saw Up in the air last night, new G Clooney film, was ok didnt think it has merited the really good reviews so far.
Neish
17/01/2010, 11:16 PM
Watched "Frost/Nixon" and "Juno" over the weekend, both different but very good in their own right