View Full Version : Rate the last film you saw

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35

DannyInvincible
23/01/2015, 1:40 PM
Salon's Zaid Jilani seeks to correct what he views as the misleading and mythical impression of the real Chris Kyle (and the US invasion of Iraq) generated by 'American Sniper': http://www.salon.com/2015/01/23/7_enormous_lies_american_sniper_is_telling_america _partner/

The Film Suggests the Iraq War Was In Response To 9/11: One way to get audiences to unambiguously support Kyle’s actions in the film is to believe he’s there to avenge the 9/11 terrorist attacks. The movie cuts (http://www.vox.com/2015/1/21/7641189/american-sniper-history) from Kyle watching footage of the attacks to him serving in Iraq, implying there is some link between the two.

The Film Portrays Chris Kyle as Tormented By His Actions: Multiple scenes in the movie portray Kyle as haunted by his service. One of the film’s earliest reviews praised it (http://www.screendaily.com/reviews/the-latest/american-sniper/5079898.article) for showing the “emotional torment of so many military men and women.” But that torment is completely absent from the book (https://books.google.com/books?id=wiynL1yKaAEC&printsec=frontcover&dq=american+sniper&hl=en&sa=X&ei=zAbAVOuSDIGyggSZu4KwCQ&ved=0CC0Q6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=american sniper&f=false) the film is based on. In the book, Kyle refers to everyone he fought as “savage, despicable” evil. He writes, “I only wish I had killed more.” He also writes, “I loved what I did. I still do. If circumstances were different – if my family didn’t need me – I’d be back in a heartbeat. I’m not lying or exaggerating to say it was fun. I had the time of my life being a SEAL.” On an appearance (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiVDtNjORbY) on Conan O’Brien’s show he laughs about accidentally shooting an Iraqi insurgent. He once told (http://www.laweekly.com/film/american-sniper-is-a-rah-rah-war-on-terror-fantasy-5304457) a military investigator that he doesn’t “shoot people with Korans. I’d like to, but I don’t.

Spudulika
22/02/2015, 8:39 PM
The Hunt - An achingly good film. Revolves around a man, teacher, who is accused by a friends daughter of abuse. The "abuse" spreads so that all the kids were abused by the same man. Set in a village in Denmark it stars Mads Mikkelsen and just keeps you hooked until a chilling finale. It is a perfect example of mob mentality and how those meant to care for children, very often care more about their reputation than due process. One of the best films I've seen in 2015 and one I would not like to watch again, because I know I will be having some chilling nightmares on this one. The pace is deceptively fast (like a LOI full back) and while it appears the acting is not brilliant, it could be argued that it is more real than reality. Would really recommend this for an evening with a bottle of wine - not a cup of tea on a Bank Holiday weekend! 3.5/5

Neish
14/04/2015, 8:45 AM
Anyone seen "The Water Diviner" ? Considering going to cinema wondering if it any good nothing else but pure muck on

Spudulika
16/04/2015, 4:10 AM
Anyone seen "The Water Diviner" ? Considering going to cinema wondering if it any good nothing else but pure muck on

It is a big vehicle for Russell Crowe, what can be termed a vanity project. The basic story is interesting, man loses sons to war, loses wife to grief, gives everything up to go find the bodies and bring them home. Along the way battles the evil English attitude, meets some likeable Turks and meets a war widow - the horrifically untalented ex-Bond mannequin Kurylenko. Until a point the movie is decent, then it starts borrowing scenes from Lawrence of Arabia and other biggies.

If you like Russell Crowe, you'll enjoy it. If you want to shed a few tears (at 2 points), you'll like it. It's worth a look, but I'd wait until it's on CD to FF the crowbarred in love bits.

Neish
28/05/2015, 10:09 PM
Saw Mad Max Fury Road today, nothing great but decent action film. But what the f@ck was with that guitarist

Spudulika
29/05/2015, 8:06 AM
I stuck it out for just under 20 minutes, then had to switch off. The original series scarred me for life!

29/05/2015, 8:54 AM
I enjoyed Mad Max. Pure action and a bit nuts. Great fun.

The new Poltergeist was a bit dull. No real atmosphere, no tension and not enough character building to develop any attachment. It had all been done before and done much better.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/05/2015, 4:06 PM
Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2 - 2/5

Not as good as the first movie. Kevin James is a likable lead though.

Spudulika
30/05/2015, 11:29 AM
Watched "Unfinished Business" - was looking forward to seeing it in English as it was not quite interesting in Russian. Disappointed. I like Vince Vaughan and Tom Wilkinson, and Nick Frost can be hilarious, but it was a bit drab. It was kind of Eurotrip means middle age and without fresh jokes. The other lad Dave Franco was kind of funny as a challenged individual, but that was about it. Main story - good salesman tries to balance family life with work, sets out on his own with 2 outsiders, and travels around America and the to Europe - even if there are some seriously poor edit errors. 1.5/5

Survivor - if ever there was a movie which needed a proper female lead, it was this. The car crash that is Milla Jovovich someone manages to destroy every scene as she's supposed to be a security agent who is filtering visa applications in the US Embassy in London. Pierce Brosnan is a kind of baddy, but the whole film has a straight to bargain bin in Poundworld about it. Jovovich should wander off into the sunset. 0.5/5

Spudulika
13/06/2015, 4:40 AM
Spy - Was caught a little with the hype, though I find Melissa McCarthy more than a bit boring and unfunny. Basic story is a secret service/spy who is desk bound. Her colleague is killed and she goes off to get revenge with Jason Statham. Statham is quite funny in an "ould eejit" kind of way, but after an hour I'd enough and left the cinema. I know it's poor form to walk out before time, but in any language it's just a bit boring. McCarthy is the same as in every other movie, the story is a bit too out there plot wise and unless you're trying to get on the good side of your partner, who has recently begun to let their standards slip, it's not worth the entry fee. 1/5

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/07/2015, 7:24 PM
Love and Mercy

John Cusack's portrayal of Brian Wilson was excellent. Jake Abel's portrayal of Mike Love was game but he failed to capture the full essence of Love's douchiness. Paul Giamatti's portrayal of Eugene Landy was a little bit over the top. Most of the movie was focused on Brian's (Cusack) now wife rescuing him from the clutches of Landy with the rest focusing on Wilson's (Paul Dano) creation of Pet Sounds and abortive attempts to finish the Smile album - where Love's douchiness is in full flight.

The actor that portrayed Al Jardine didn't get any lines. Carl & Dennis Wilson were almost afterthoughts save for two scenes that threatened to become poignant; the latter's life story is easily movie material.

It was pretty, pretty good; not really, really good. It lagged just a tiny bit in places. I think a bit more time could have been devoted to Wilson's creative clashes with Love, and also the younger brother Dennis.

7.5 out of 10.

23/07/2015, 7:42 PM
Prisoners:Hugh Jackman plays a guy whose young kid gets kidnapped at a Thanksgivings party and Jake Gyllenhaal leads the investigation into the disappearance when Jackman decides to take the law into his own hands things turn nasty/violent,about 2.5 hours long but enthralling

9/10

24/07/2015, 3:07 PM
Prisoners:Hugh Jackman plays a guy whose young kid gets kidnapped at a Thanksgivings party and Jake Gyllenhaal leads the investigation into the disappearance when Jackman decides to take the law into his own hands things turn nasty/violent,about 2.5 hours long but enthralling

9/10

Saw that in the cinema and wasn't gone on it.

30/07/2015, 9:07 AM
I finally saw "A Few Good Men" the other night. Definitely of its time with regard to cinematography and the like but still a cracker. Had no idea Sorkin wrote it. Should've known really though. 7/10

Then I watched "The Candidate" with Robert Redford and Peter Boyle last night. Absolutely stunning and again clearly the play for some of Sorkin's West Wing scripting. 8/10

And given I had a couple of hours to kill after TheCandidate I decided to watch Disney's "Hercules". It hasn't aged as well as I would have hoped. And the overtly sexual undertones are much more obvious to a guy in his 30s than the teen who watched it when it came out. James Woods as Hades still steals the show. All in all an enjoyable 90min. Defintely better than Nemo. I fupping hate that fish. 6/10

back of the net
12/08/2015, 11:44 AM

9/10

Absolutely loved prisoners - great flick

Antman - funny in moments - but didn't get all the positive reviews about it(and I am a comic book movie fan) as thought it was slightly above ok - 6/10

Southpaw - really liked it - got a lot of negative reviews - yep , it was predictable at times , but I thought the boxing scenes were great , also found it to be quite emotional .....great performances by whittaker and Gyllenhall ( as usual - the guy was immense yet again)

Fantastic Four - Getting destroyed by reviewers - for the first 45 mins , I enjoyed it , it was setting up the FF4 universe nicely up until that point ....post the 45 min mark....it all collapsed ....the script got lazy , with brutal special effects and a lazy ending. Seemed like the production company wanted to wrap up filming quickly ....the last 40 mins......were BRUTAL ............. 4.5/10

Mission Impossible : Rogue Nation...............Boom........what a fantasitic cinematic ride...Cruise yet again shows that he owns the role of Ethan Hawke.....fast paced, loads of great action sequences and a great story. Cruise is supported by a great cast who all play their parts really well ....especially Rebecca Ferguson and Simon Pegg. Loved M.I 4 Ghost protocol.....The latest Installment betters that for me. The Franchise is gaining huge momentum which is great....with M.I 6 already planned for production next year ..... 9/10

Spudulika
18/08/2015, 9:05 AM
Mission Impossible - watched it Sunday night and enjoyed the silliness of it. The tone was set by Tom Cruises little grin to the girl at the beginning - about the stories she'd heard. Simon Pegg was solid, Jeremy Renner really is a decent actor, I'm becoming more and more of a fan. The action is fast-paced, some clever little twists and basically it's going to pass by quickly. Loved the way the British secret service were portrayed and liked Alec Baldwin's turn. Nice and handy Summer romp. 7/10

Trainwreck - Oh sweet god, I did, for my penance, sit through the whole movie. My mind was screaming - run, run, my body was frozen in the headlights of the worst movie this year. There is a decent cast and while Schumer's comedy is sometimes on the boring level of shock, she has a following and should be expected to do something decent on screen. Judd Apatow is confusing for me. He has been involved in some terrible movies, some really funny ones and is kind of the Adam Sandler of producers. Bridesmaids I couldn't stomach, Knocked Up was painful and yet Talladega Nights and Step Brothers are both very funny movies. He directed and produced this vanity piece and I think in years to come will shy away from it. Awful acting and dialogue, nothing interesting and basically just a vehicle for a relatively decent comedienne to break into movies fully. If you are drunk, just injected heroin or captured by ISIL - you'll sit through it. 1/10

18/08/2015, 9:49 AM
The Maze Runner - Interesting film to say the least based on the book of the same name. Seen a review before watching it saying 'It's the Hunger Games for boys'. Sums it up really. Essentially a group of young people that wake up to a community inside a giant maze type thing without any recollection of who they are outside of their names. It's confusing, and hard to get into, but if you pay close attention to it, it's actually quite good. I only found out afterwards the sequel is out in the US next month, presumably here soon afterwards.
Certainly worth a look though, sort of a mind-f**k thriller kind of film and very well produced, looks very good, CGI is excellent and acting is top class for the most part, including Kaya Scodelario of Skins fame, Thomas Brodie-Sangster from Game of Thrones and Patricia Clarkson of The Green Mile among other films. 7.5/10

18/08/2015, 3:04 PM
The Gift - Enjoyed this one. Hadn't heard anything about it beforehand so didn't know what to expect. It's a thriller rather than a horror and with a nice premise it moves along well. Acting is solid and character development is handled fairly well. Worth a watch anyway. 7/10

Neish
22/08/2015, 9:24 AM
Has intended going to see Southpaw last night but one on the party was 20 minutes late so went to The Man from U.N.C.L.E. instead. Ok show but seen it all before 7/10

Spudulika
30/08/2015, 8:52 PM
Saw 5 films in the last 7 days, thanks to an inability to sleep early.

Southpaw - quite a weak, paint by numbers movie with weak storyline and performers. The boxing scenes were about as realistic as an MMA fight and the story just wandered and bored. I purposely didn't read about the movie, nor watch a trailer, just watched it straight up, and really it was disappointing. Nothing made sense in the whole movie and it really should never have been made, unless it was going to mean something. 2/10

Vacation - went to see it tonight in the cinema, laughed the whole way through. It's predictable pretty much but with some good acting and a few "oh sweet jesus" moments. Helms was really good in the Chevy Chase role and 2 scenes with a plastic bag will make you laugh a lot, whatever your mood. Would watch it again in a few months just for a bit of a laugh. 7/10

The Runner - an attempt by Nic Cage to get back some acting kudos, and it's an interesting moral tale, but kind of falls flat. He wants to fight for the little guy (no pun intended) but is a serial affairist and finds himself under the cosh of big oil. So as an elected politician he has a choice to make, fight for what's right or just go with the political flow. It could have been a really good movie, but just meanders and tries to give Nic a shot at redemption. 4/10

Moscow Never Sleeps - I did, for 15 minutes. Saw a preview of this much hyped movie part made by an Iris guy living here. It's what's call "trash" in Russian, basically a whole heap of garbage regurgitated onto the screen to spend money. It's all about how Moscow eats its young and the rich get richer and sex and money and how life really is. But it's a boring circle j**k that made me realise I probably don't have any cinematic taste. Taste for what, can be decided by someone else. 2/10

Eminence Grise
31/08/2015, 4:56 PM
The Bad Education Movie - Jack Whitehall, minus his irritating dad but with mum reprising her role as Mrs Carmichael, the usual motley crue of students, and unfeasibly large test1cles make this a pretty good way to spend an hour and a half. From the opening scenes at the Ann Frank museum, the pace didn’t flag, even though it took the well-worn path of bringing a sitcom from its usual setting onto a road trip/holiday destination. Some very funny lines and visual gags, a few moments that might have been mawkish but managed to steer clear of it and a suitably OTT performance from Joanne Scanlan as pyscho-mum made this perfect preparation for the new academic year. Not going to win any prizes, but an enjoyable 3*.

01/09/2015, 9:32 AM
Straight Outta Compton - Thoroughly enjoyable. Gives a good insight into the background of N.W.A. and the climate that produced "gangsta" rap. There's definitely some glossing over of controversies, particularly in relation to violence against women. Biggest crowd I've seen in a cinema in a long time. Went in without reading any reviews and was pleasantly surprised, the acting is high quality and the story is carried along nicely. 7/10

09/09/2015, 11:17 PM
Get On Up - Biopic of James Brown. As a film, it's a great show. Chadwick Boseman plays the role of Brown and does an absolutely superb job. Fantastic in the lead role and really well cast. Mick Jagger played a part in the production of the film and of course The Rolling Stones got themselves a couple of mentions.
Can't help but notice they left out a great deal of music and how Browns genius really came through in the songwriting, and also left out a great deal of his life story including the drug problems and domestic abuse but all in all, it's definitely worth a watch and serves as a good tribute to one of the greats. 7.5/10 (It would be a 7 or less if it weren't for the fantastic performance of Boseman.)

back of the net
06/10/2015, 12:38 AM
Saw "The Walk" this evening...based on Phillipe Petit's tightrope walk between the Twin Towers in New York in 1974

Really liked it.... Mainly due to the Exceptional cinematography and gripping 2nd half and ending. Although some of the films dialogue was poor ....the film makes up for that later on with a palm sweating end piece
Saw the film in IMAX 3D and i would advise anyone who plans on seeing this film to do the same.

If you have a fear of heights...be warned...the scenes at the top of the towers and the vertical shots of Petit walking the wire are surreal. Fantastically done , so much so ....i felt quite uneasy watching them and i consider myself in general to be good with heights. From reading various reviews on the film, alot of people have felt similar effects and also slightly nauseous while watching those scenes in theatres.

This is a film that I have been looking forward to for ages. I have read and watched alot of stuff on this guy and his achievements.

Anyone not familar should check out this documentary on Petit and his twin tower walk before seeing the film called "Man on Wire" (see below)

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x20yzwx_man-on-a-wire-documentary-complete-hd_shortfilms

As for the movie......7/10 for me

back of the net
06/11/2015, 3:11 PM
anyone seen SICARIO?

Saw it the other night - what a fantastic film

Favourite film of the year

Benecio del torro....fantastic

Spudulika
21/11/2015, 5:14 AM
Brooklyn - One of the weakest Irish offerings, if it can be called Irish. I am an admirer of Colm Tobin's prose, though have yet to see him pulled up on his self-loathing and issues with his homeland, that aside, he would be terrified to have his name associated with this made for tv mess. Saoirse Ronan has had a couple of good outings, this is nowhere near good. Domhnall Gleeson, likewise, is a terrific actor, but here he is wasted. Going to see this movie I was excited and eager, I'd bought what PR had been selling. I began to be unsettled when I saw the mish mash of backing the movie needed to be made, never a good sign.. Aside from Julie Walters' over-acting (which was always ready to raise a smile), the movie is torturous, with stilted unrealistic dialogue and "twists", and sadly lacking in charm. Anyone conned into seeing it by sepia coloured images of Ireland or the US/Canada, will feel deeply upset. In the Odeon cinema where I saw this 2 weeks ago, patrons leaving grumbled from "That was a waste of 9 euros" to "That was terrible". What could and should have been an excellent offering is a poorly designed, dud of a dogs dinner.

I came out thinking, unless you have had a full frontal lobotomy, you'll feel cheated by this. If your other half invites you to see it, know your love is being tested and if you survive until the end it's breakfast in bed for life!

1/10 (the 1 I'll give for Julie Walters, and the fact that the movie ended)

24/11/2015, 10:27 AM
Went to see Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 at the weekend.

I've been fairly into the Hunger Games series since it came onto the screens. Herself is a big fan of the books and so I was dragged along to the first of the films, which I actually enjoyed so we naturally have went to see the rest.

I felt quite let down by this one. A lot of plot holes, very jumpy, and the acting wasn't as good as it has been in the previous films. I'm a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence (who wouldn't be?!), but this is one of her poorer outings in my view. Maybe it's just easy to expect too much of her now. She showed glimpses of excellence, but also a bit weak in parts. Phillip Seymour Hoffman died halfway through the making of the film, and it's entirely noticeable how he keeps disappearing from scenes, ending up with a very minor role, where he would have otherwise had a big part to play.
Donald Sutherland and Woody Harrelson however, were both excellent in it, albeit both in slightly more minor roles where again they should have had much, much bigger roles.

It all led to a big anti-climax and they ended the film with a typical cheery soppy two minutes of 'happy ever after' which really grinds my gears.

In all though, the special effects were largely excellent, some of the acting was great, but it was easily the worst of the series, which is disappointing given it wrapped it all up.

A generous 6/10.

24/11/2015, 12:33 PM
Brooklyn - One of the weakest Irish offerings, if it can be called Irish. I am an admirer of Colm Tobin's prose, though have yet to see him pulled up on his self-loathing and issues with his homeland, that aside, he would be terrified to have his name associated with this made for tv mess. Saoirse Ronan has had a couple of good outings, this is nowhere near good. Domhnall Gleeson, likewise, is a terrific actor, but here he is wasted. Going to see this movie I was excited and eager, I'd bought what PR had been selling. I began to be unsettled when I saw the mish mash of backing the movie needed to be made, never a good sign.. Aside from Julie Walters' over-acting (which was always ready to raise a smile), the movie is torturous, with stilted unrealistic dialogue and "twists", and sadly lacking in charm. Anyone conned into seeing it by sepia coloured images of Ireland or the US/Canada, will feel deeply upset. In the Odeon cinema where I saw this 2 weeks ago, patrons leaving grumbled from "That was a waste of 9 euros" to "That was terrible". What could and should have been an excellent offering is a poorly designed, dud of a dogs dinner.

I came out thinking, unless you have had a full frontal lobotomy, you'll feel cheated by this. If your other half invites you to see it, know your love is being tested and if you survive until the end it's breakfast in bed for life!

1/10 (the 1 I'll give for Julie Walters, and the fact that the movie ended)

I saw the ads. I heard Saoirse Ronan "Oirishing" her accent. It seems thoroughly deplorable from that pov alone.

24/11/2015, 4:18 PM
that's pretty much her accent, she sounds the same in interviews

25/11/2015, 12:54 PM
that's pretty much her accent, she sounds the same in interviews

Can't be. I've heard her speak many times.

"Sometimes I just want t'be an Oirish gurl in Oireland"

Shivers.

Crosby87
15/12/2015, 2:48 PM
Early reviews from the premier yesterday in LA for Star Wars almost totally positive.
On a side note, all 640,000 kids there staying home from school today due to a terror threat....could it be some kids just calling it in bc they want to go see star wars? Stay tuned.

16/12/2015, 9:19 AM
Watched The Man From UNCLE last night, and wished I hadn't. Trying to be a slick 60's set caper with US and Russian agents butting heads to get the job done, and fails miserably on all accounts. Well shot though.

16/12/2015, 9:41 AM
I've watched two sports film docs in the last week. Red Army focuses on the Russian Ice Hockey stars during the 80's and 90's. Really enjoyable, it probably could have gone a bit deeper, but for someone who has no real idea of the hockey situation at that time, it was good watching.

Also watched the Forest documentary I believe in miracles. If you're into football just watch it.

16/12/2015, 12:27 PM
I've watched two sports film docs in the last week. Red Army focuses on the Russian Ice Hockey stars during the 80's and 90's. Really enjoyable, it probably could have gone a bit deeper, but for someone who has no real idea of the hockey situation at that time, it was good watching.

Also watched the Forest documentary I believe in miracles. If you're into football just watch it.

Hockey in the 70s and 80s was mega. The Summit Series is still talked about in Canada.

16/12/2015, 12:28 PM
In preparation of my inevitable viewing of Star Wars VII over the next week or so I have decided to utilise Sky's wonderful decision to place all the movies up on their on demand service. I have also decided I will view them in "Machete order" ie. IV>V>II>III>VI as:
a) it means I never have to see the Phantom Menace again
b) It means I get to reacquaint myself with Episode II
c) I'll get to see see Episode III for the first time
and
d)Finish it all off with VI:ROTJ without having the stale memories of II and III.
Last night I watched IV:ANH. I don't remember it being so poor. I mean it was fine. But it was relatively mundane and boring. And Luke is a pain in the ass. Uncle Owen is a douche. Vader is all-powerful and yet takes ages to cop on that Obi-Wan is on the Death Star. This is a dude who can telepathise ffs.
It was a good example of Special effects to the rescue and in fairness for a movie made in 1977 they are ****ing awesome and still amazed me as they did when I was a child.
Tonight I will continue with my favourite of all the movies V:TESB. It better not fail me. Cos that will be a sad time.

Hitman
16/12/2015, 12:45 PM
Tonight I will continue with my favourite of all the movies V:TESB. It better not fail me. Cos that will be a sad time.

I find your lack of faith disturbing.

Crosby87
19/12/2015, 2:30 PM
Let me know when you guys see star wars. Curious what you will think. I loved it. I didnt really buy it but I loved it.

19/12/2015, 3:32 PM
Let me know when you guys see star wars. Curious what you will think. I loved it. I didnt really buy it but I loved it.
I have seen it, fortunately before your spoiler above. Delete it.

Crosby87
19/12/2015, 7:06 PM
That was all over the place man.

19/12/2015, 7:45 PM
That was all over the place man. it wasn't here, delete it

21/12/2015, 9:43 AM
Spoiler deleted. Don't do that again, it's pig ignorant.

Crosby87
21/12/2015, 9:17 PM
how could I have listed a spoiler that at the time I wrote it only 5 people has seen the film? the president of Disney hadn't seen the film. its getting like Nazi Germany here.

21/12/2015, 10:12 PM
You got me, I've never heard that one before.

21/12/2015, 10:35 PM
how could I have listed a spoiler that at the time I wrote it only 5 people has seen the film? the president of Disney hadn't seen the film. its getting like Nazi Germany here.

I'd seen the film when you posted it, at a midnight screening. It wasn't a direct spoiler. e.g. Darth Vader is Luke's father, which gives away a massive plot point at the end of Empire Strikes Back
but what you posted did lean heavily towards a major plot point, e.g. I hope the rumours about Bruce Willis are true, that kid was helping every ghost in the film.
It's not enough to spoil a plot point, but if you think about it enough, you'll figure it out

Crosby87
22/12/2015, 5:17 PM
I didn't mean to be malicious I apologize for not thinking it through. Be honest, I'm sick of star wars and really don't care if they make anymore.

More disappointed in the new Tina Fey movie. This new "Hot MILF" Tina Fey has shoved out what made her funny, the girl next door with a scar on her face (received in a traumatic way during childhood), the self made funny Tina Fey. The Tina Fey without a hook in the biz who went to a good but not ivy league school and is not in the religion so many of her colleagues are, making it even harder. I respected her. Why does she have to be "Hot?" It's just not necessary. She's mousy. She doesn't need to shed clothing in her 40s she never would have in her 20s. It's not her thing. Her new movie finished third, losing to the obvious AND Alvin and the Chipmunks...Amy Poehler on the other hand has gotten way better looking since her SNL days. But skip it. Sisters is terrible.

NeverFeltBetter
13/07/2016, 9:28 PM
Summer of '92, on Netflix. Dramatisation of the Danish run in the 1992 Euros. It's marketed as a comedy, but isn't all that comedic, it's just a fairly bland by the numbers account of that period of Danish football, with some overdone set-pieces and lots of sentimentalism. One of those 90 minute films that feels like three hours, but maybe it was just because I knew what would happen next at every moment.

05/08/2016, 9:17 PM
Went to see the latest Bourne. It was deadly. Alicia Vikander is deadly. Deadly.

As a result i have the missus playing catch up with the other 3 (ignoring the Renner one). Finished off Supremacy tonight. Ultimatum on Sunday.

The original three are someof my favourite films and possibly the greatest trilogy...? I mean the standard across the board is excellent unlike say, the Godfather or Toy Story etc... anyway... go see the new one. It's deadly.

05/08/2016, 10:22 PM
Suicide Squad, one hour of a decent film, followed by a total car crash for another hour, then five minutes that isn't as bad.
Avoid.

09/08/2016, 2:37 PM
Went to see the latest Bourne. It was deadly.

The IT in it was appalling, particularly the first 15 minutes or so. Painful to watch. Setting that aside though, it had the wonderful fast pace of the older movies. Great fun, but I have to switch off my tech brain to watch it. :)

09/08/2016, 3:16 PM
The IT in it was appalling, particularly the first 15 minutes or so. Painful to watch. Setting that aside though, it had the wonderful fast pace of the older movies. Great fun, but I have to switch off my tech brain to watch it. :)

That's funny you said that. I had complained to the GF that it was a bit too CSI in that regard. Once I forgot about it I was able to enjoy it more.

That was the first Bourne movie she saw so I have made her watch Identity and Supremacy since. They really are quality films. I always hold that trilogy up there as possibly the best trilogy ever but looking at it it really is something.

Ultimatum is just fantastic though. I can't wait for it this week.

(It should be said I have seen it about 8 or so times at this stage. I really should stop watching it when it's on at Christmas.)